Common menu bar links

Point Pelee National Park of Canada

Monarch Migration

Monarch Migration Fact Sheet (PDF, 1.7 Mb)

For a few special days each autumn, Point Pelee is a temporary home to thousands of migrating monarch butterflies. As soon as favourable conditions occur, they begin one of nature's greatest journeys by crossing Lake Erie. They cannot linger, for their destination is some 3000 km further south in the mountains of central Mexico! Why would this tiny insect make such a monumental journey? The answer lies in the monarch's food plant.

Monarchs and Milkweed

Monarchs
Monarchs
© Parks Canada

Milkweed is the only plant that monarch caterpillars eat. It is believed that both milkweed and monarchs evolved in the tropical regions of Mexico. As the milkweed adapted and its range extended, the monarch followed. Milkweed is abundant and widespread in Ontario thus allowing monarch populations to greatly expand each summer. All milkweed plants contain poisons known as cardiac glycosides. Monarch larvae are not affected by the poisons, but store them in their bodies and pass them on to the adults. Most birds that attempt to eat adults or larvae vomit and learn to associate this unpleasant experience with the bright patterns of the adults and larvae and thus soon learn to avoid them.

Monarch Programs

During the autumn migration, the Visitor Centre provides special programs on monarch migration: family migration hike on Saturday and Sunday’s throughout September, and a summary chart for the migration period, theatre programs and special exhibits.

Why Point Pelee?

The Great Lakes are a significant barrier to the monarchs' migration. As they move south, they search for shorter ways across the lake and the Pelee peninsula provides an excellent start! Point Pelee's shape funnels the monarchs to the tip. If the weather is cold, they will roost in trees and wait for warmer temperatures and favourable winds to cross the lake. If the weather is warm, they will often go directly across the lake without stopping in the park.

Monarch Watching

Monarch migration at Point Pelee is dependent on weather conditions and is, therefore, highly unpredictable. It may take you half a dozen visits before you catch a sizeable concentration.

Here are a few tips:

  • Large movements often occur with cold fronts. Cold temperatures, southerly winds or rain often hold the monarchs here.

  • Viewing is best from late August until early October and generally peaks in September.

  • The Tip area is where most concentrations occur. Roosting is best observed very early in the morning.

  • Roosting monarchs are difficult to spot. Bring binoculars, look high in the trees in areas sheltered from wind and remember, the roosting monarchs resemble dead leaves.

  • While searching for monarchs, keep an eye out for other colourful butterflies!

*A butterfly checklist is available at the Nature Nook Book Store for a small fee.

Monarch

The Discovery

Ancient Native legends have told of waves of monarch butterflies heading southward in the autumn. For thousands of years, their destination was unknown. In 1975, the monarchs' overwintering grounds were officially discovered by Dr. Fred Urquhart of the University of Toronto. Following reports of butterflies he and others had tagged in Canada, Dr. Urquhart was led to the evergreen forests high in the volcanic mountains of central Mexico. There he discovered the monarch.

The Mountain Hideaway

Monarch Migration Map
© Parks Canada

Tens of millions of monarchs arrive at their wintering grounds each autumn. Here, they hang on the trees in such numbers that they bend the boughs. The cold winter temperatures cause the monarchs to become almost dormant. This allows them to live off their previously stored energy. Monarchs do not become active again until February, when the drive to reproduce carries them northward.

Monarch Lifecycle
© Parks Canada

The Migration Mystery

The monarch migration cycle is a mystery. Through the summer there are two, possibly three, generations raised in Ontario. The life cycle from egg to adult can take only a month, however, most large butterflies take about 45 days (see the life cycle). The generations that emerge in late summer and autumn are somehow triggered to become migratory.

These monarchs overwinter in Mexico and mate there in early spring. On their way north, eggs are laid on fresh milkweed and the adult dies some time thereafter. A few monarchs that have overwintered in Mexico return to Ontario (during May), an incredible journey of 3000 kilometres. However, it is the generation that is produced between Mexico and Canada that returns in numbers, mainly in June.

Monarch Migration Calendar

Click here

How can you help conserve the monarch?

  • Plant a butterfly garden to provide habitat for monarchs to feed and lay eggs.

  • Participate in a public program to learn more about monarchs.

  • Support environmental laws to protect the monarch in Canada, the United States, and Mexico.

  • Contribute to monarch research, conservation and education projects.

  • Support the monarch as the designated national insect of Canada.

  • Help to protect milkweed, the monarch caterpillars' only food source.

Parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée

Migration des monarques

Version imprimable de la fiche d'information de migration des monarques (PDF, 2.2Mb)

Pendant quelques journées spéciales chaque automne, la pointe Pelée devient un refuge temporaire pour des milliers de monarques en migration. Dès que le temps s'y prête, les monarques traversent le lac Érié. Ils ne peuvent rester longtemps à la pointe parce que leur destination finale est à quelque 3 000 km plus au sud, dans les montagnes du centre du Mexique! Quelle peut bien être la raison qui incite ce petit insecte à entreprendre un si long voyage? La plante qui l'alimente détient la clé de ce mystère.

Les monarques et l'asclépiade (herbe à ouate)

Monarques
Monarques
© Parcs Canada

L'asclépiade est la seule plante dont se nourrissent les chenilles des monarques. On croit que la plante et le papillon proviennent tous deux des montagnes du Mexique. Lorsque l'asclépaide s'est adaptée et que son territoire s'est étendu, les papillons l'ont suivie. L'asclépiade est abondante et répandue en Ontario, d'où la prolifération des monarques en été. Toutes les herbes à ouate contiennent des poisons appel&eacutes glycosides cardiaques. Les chenilles des monarques ne sont pas affect&eacutees par ces poisons, mais elles les emmagasinent et les transmettene aux monarques adultes. La plupart des oiseaux qui tentent de manger les adultes ou les chenilles vomissent et apprennent à associer cette expérience désagréable aux coloris vifs des adultes et des chenilles et donc à les éviter.

Programmes sur les monarques

Lors de la migration d'automne, le Centre d'accueil offre des programmes spéciaux sur la migration du monarque: les randonnées de migration de la famille le samedi et le dimanche tout au long de Septembre, un tableau récapitulatif pour la période de migration, programmes de théâtre et des expositions spéciales.

Pourquoi la Pointe-Pelée?

Les Grands Lacs sont un obstacle important à la migration des monarques. Au moment de la migration vers le sud, ces derniers cherchent un chemin plus court pour traverser le lac. La pointe Pelée est alors un excellent point de départ! La forme en entonnoir canalise les monarques vers la pointe. S'il fait froid, les papillons restent dans les arbres jusqu'à ce qu'il fasse plus chaud et que les vents soient favorables à la traversée du lac. S'il fait chaud, souvent ils ne s'arrêteront même pas à la pointe.

Observation des monarques

La migration des monarques à la Pointe-Pelée épend des conditions météorologiques, d'où sa grande imprévisibilité. Il vous faudra peut-être venir à la pointe une demi-douzaine des fois pour observer une contentration assez importante de monarques.

Voici quelques conseils à ce sujet :

  • Les mouvements importants de monarques sont souvent liés aux fronts froids. Le froid, les vents du sud et la pluie retiennent souvent les monarques au parc.

  • Le meilleur moment pour observer les monarques est de la fin d'août au début d'octobre, septembre étant le mois privilégié.

  • La plupart des concentrations se situent à la pointe. Pour observer les monarques posés dans les arbres, il vaut mieux venir le matin.

  • Il n'est pas facile d'apercevoir les monarques qui sont posés sur les branches. Apportez vos jumelles, regardez le haut des arbres dans les endroits protégés du vent et n'oubliez pas que les monarques au repos ressemblent à des feuilles mortes.

  • Pendant que vous cherchez les monarques, ne ratez pas les autres papillons colorés!

  • Vous pouvez vous procurer une liste de contrôle des papillons à peu de frais ála librairie.

Monarque

La découverte

Selon d'anciennes légendes, des vagues de monarques faisaient la migration vers le sud à l'automne. Leur destination est restée inconnue pendant des milliers d'années. En 1975, le professeur Fred Urquhart de l'Université de Toronto a découvert le lieu où hivernent les monarques. Grâce à des rapports sur des monarques qu'il avait marqués au Canada, le professeur Urquhart s'est rendu jusque dans les forêts à feuilles persistantes dans le haut des montagnes volcaniques du centre du Mexique. C'est là qu'il a trouvé les monarques.

Le refuge dans les montagnes

Carte de migration
© Parcs Canada

Des dizaines de millions de monarques arrivent à leur lieu d'hivernage chaque automne. Là, ils sont si nombreux à se poser sur les branches, que ces dernières plient sous leur poids. Les froides températures hivernales placent les papillons dans un état d'engourdissement, ce qui leur permet de subsister grâce à l'energie qu'ils ont accumulée. Les monarques redeviennent actifs seulement vers la fin de février, lorsque le besoin de se reproduire les incite à retourner dans le nord.

Le cycle de la vie d'un monarque
© Parcs Canada

Le mystère de la migration

Le cycle migratoire du monarque demeure mystérieux. Deux ou trois générations de monarques se succèdent pendant l'été en Ontario. Il suffit parfois d'un mois à l'oeuf pour se transformer en adulte, quoique la mutation, chez les grands papillons,prend en général 45 jours (voir le schéma du cycle de vie du monarque). La génération née vers la fin de l'été et à l'automne, on ne sait trop comment, à entreprendre la migration.

Cette génération passe l'hiver au Mexique et s'y reproduit au début du printemps. Pendant le voyage vers le nord, les papillons pondent leurs oeufs sur de jeunes plants d'asclépaide et meurent peu après. Qeulques monarques demeurés trop longtemps au Mexique regagnent l'Ontario (en mai), franchissant 3000 kilomètres. Toutefois, c'estla génération née des oeufs pondus entre le Mexique et le Canada qui revient en grand nombre, principalement en juin.

Le cycle migratoire du monarque

Cliquez ici

Comment pouvez-vous aider à préserver le monarque?

  • Plantez des asclépiades dans votre jardin pour que les monarques puissent venir se nourir et pondre leurs oeufs.

  • Participez à un programme d'information publique pour en apprendre plus sur ces papillons.

  • Appuyez les lois environnementales qui visent la protection de cet insecte au Canada, aux États-Unis et au Mexique.

  • Aidez à protéger l'asclépaide, la seule source d'alimentation du monarque.

  • Contribuez aux projets de recherche, de conservation et de sensibilisation sur les monarques.

  • Appuyez les pressions exercées pour que le monarque soit reconnu comme l'insecte national désigné de Canada.