Common menu bar links

Point Pelee National Park of Canada

A Park is Born

The Find

One of the most important events in the history of Point Pelee occurred with the arrival in the fall of 1882 of the young naturalist, W.E. Saunders from London, Ontario.

Yellow-breasted Chat
Yellow-breasted Chat.
© Parks Canada/CD-1879-66

What prompted Saunders' visit was the chance to hunt ducks in Point Pelee's famous marshes. What he found convinced him to give up duck hunting. He wrote:

"I was no duck hunter anyway and the wide ornithological interest of the point soon took precedence of anything else, and the shorebirds and the other migrants claimed chief attention."

Saunders, known affectionately as W.E., was so taken with his experience that he began introducing his friends to Point Pelee. Together they established the Great Lakes Ornithological Club (GLOC) which was dedicated to the study of bird migration in the Great Lakes region, especially at Point Pelee. They built a clubhouse near the present location of the Visitor Centre and named it "The Shack." From there they explored a nesting colony of yellow-breasted chats and recorded blue-winged warblers and chuck-will's Windows, all firsts in Canada.

A New National Park
Historical Image
Members of the Great Lakes Ornithological Club gather outside their club house, "the shack." They are: (left to right) Wallace, Swales, Saunders, Taverner (bottom) and Fleming.
© Parks Canada/CD-0277-49

In the evenings, as they discussed their day's findings, they must have considered the possibility of Point Pelee being set aside as a bird sanctuary. In 1911, one of their members, Percy Taverner, became Canada's first Dominion Ornithologist. Four years later he proposed to the newly formed Federal Commission of Conservation that Point Pelee be declared a national park.

But Travernor and his friends were not alone in this idea. Club members had befriended local bird enthusiast Jack Miner. "Wild Goose Jack," as he was sometimes called, had become famous because of his sanctuary for Canada Geese in Kingsville, Ontario.

In 1913, W.E. convinced Jack to visit Point Pelee. Jack later wrote a letter to the Leamington Post in which he left little doubt of his enthusiasm for Point Pelee and the idea of it becoming a Park:

"Last May I was finally persuaded to spend a day at Point Pelee, and although it rained nearly all the time I was there, yet I scarcely knew it, for I was trying to look in all directions at once, as I saw the greatest variety of trees and shrubs that stand in any one place in Ontario. In fact I spent this day in the prettiest 'natural park' I ever saw.

Let us hear from you and let us combine our forces and keep Point Pelee out of the hands of unlimited wealth and preserve it for our children's children."

But Jack went even further. He mustered support from four prominent Leamington men: Cole Cullen, Fred Moss, George Jackson, and Forest Conover. In turn, they persuaded two Essex County Wildlife Protection Associations to join the cause. Because of his prestige, Jack was delegated to make a personal representation to the Prime Minister of Canada, Sir Robert Borden.

This local support, and the evidence presented by Tavernor and the Great Lakes Ornithological Club about the unique nature of this part of Canada and its need to be protected, convinced the federal government that action was justified.

On May 29th, 1918, an Order-in-Council was passed creating Point Pelee National Park.

Reproduced with permission of The Friends of Point Pelee, from Where Canada Begins by James Robertson Graham.

Parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée

La naissance d'un parc

La découverte

L'un des principaux événements de l'histoire de la pointe Pelée se produisit quand un jeune naturaliste de London (Ontario), W.E. Saunders, la visita pour la première fois à l'automne 1882.

Paruline polyglotte
Paruline polyglotte
© Parcs Canada/CD-1879-66

Saunders était venu chasser le canard dans les fameux marais de la pointe. Mais il découvrit quelque chose qui lui fit renoncer à son projet. Voyez ce qu'il écrivit à ce sujet :

« Je n'avais plus du tout envie de chasser le canard; la richesse ornithologique de la pointe était plus importante que tout le reste, seuls les oiseaux des rivages et les oiseaux migrateurs réussissaient à capter mon attention. »

Saunders, appelé affectueusement W.E., fut tellement enchanté de sa découverte qu'il entraîna des amis à la pointe Pelée. Avec eux, il créa un club d'ornithologues, le Great Lakes Ornithological Club (GLOC), dont la mission principale consistait à étudier la migration des oiseaux dans la région des Grands Lacs, en particulier à la pointe Pelée. Le club construisit un pavillon près de l'endroit où s'élève aujourd'hui le centre d'accueil du parc; il le baptisa " The Shack ". Le club étudia entre autres une colonie de parulines polyglottes; il fut le premier à rapporter l'observation de parulines à ailes bleues et d'engoulevents de Caroline, au Canada.

Un nouveau parc national
Image historique
Des membres du Great Lakes Ornithological Club, devant " The shack ", leur pavillon. Dans l'ordre habituel, Wallace, Swales, Saunders, Taverner (partie inférieure) et Fleming.
© Parcs Canada/CD-0277-49

Quand ils se rencontraient, les ornithologues qui autrefois découvraient la pointe Pelée devaient discuter de la possibilité de transformer ce territoire en un refuge d'oiseaux. En 1911, l'un d'eux, Percy Taverner, devint le premier ornithologue du Dominon. Quatre ans plus tard, il proposa à la Commission fédérale de la conservation, qui venait d'être créée, que la pointe Pelée soit classée parc national.

D'autres personnes souscrivaient à l'idée de Taverner et de ses camarades. Jack Miner, par exemple, à qui les membres du club ornithologique avait donné leur amitié. Miner habitait la région et aimait beaucoup les oiseaux; il s'était rendu célèbre en aménageant un refuge pour les bernaches du Canada à Kingsville (Ontario).

En 1913, W.E. Saunders convainquit Jack Miner de visiter la pointe Pelée. Dans une lettre envoyée au Leamington Post, Miner montre clairement son engouement pour la pointe Pelée et son approbation enthousiaste de l'idée d'en faire un parc national:

« En mai dernier, je me suis enfin laissé convaincre d'aller passer une journée à la pointe Pelée. Il a plu presque tout le temps, mais je ne m'en suis presque pas rendu compte tellement mon esprit était absorbé par tout ce que je découvrais à gauche et à droite, par la grande variété des arbres et des arbrisseaux, unique en Ontario. Cette journée-là, j'ai découvert un " parc naturel ", le plus beau que j'ai jamais visités. Je vous invite à vous associer à nous et à agir pour que la pointe Pelée garde ses ressources pour notre bénéfice et celui de nos enfants

Miner ne s'arrêta pas en si bon chemin. Il obtint l'appui de quatre citoyens éminents de Leamington : Cole Cullen, Fred Moss, George Jackson et Forest Conover. Ces derniers convainquirent les associations de protection de la faune du comté d'Essex d'épouser la cause des ornithologues. En raison de son prestige, c'est Miner qu'on chargea de soumettre une présentation personnelle au premier ministre du Canada, sir Robert Borden.

Cet appui du milieu et les démonstrations convaincantes de Tavernor et du Great Lakes Ornithological Club au sujet du caractère unique de la pointe Pelée et de la nécessité de la protéger, convainquirent le gouvernement fédéral qu'il fallait faire quelque chose.

Le 29 mai 1918, un décret portant création du parc national de la pointe Pelée fut pris.

Reproduit de Where Canada Begins, par James Robertson Graham, avec la permission des Friends of Point Pelee.