Point Pelee National Park of Canada

Developing the Land

Protecting Point Pelee

The same early surveyors who noted the presence of Native camps at Point Pelee in the 1790s, also reported forests along the northwest shore of Lake Erie, containing timber suitable for the masts and spars of the British fleet. In order to protect these tall, straight pines and oaks from damage by settlers, the British set aside certain areas as naval reserves.

The southernmost 1 554 hectares (3 840 acres) of the Pelee Peninsula were accorded naval reserve status in the late 1790s. The boundaries of the reserve were established in Abraham Iradell's 1799 survey. Interestingly, over 100 years later, these same boundaries were used to define the limits of Point Pelee as a national park.

The Squatters
Historical Image
The DeLaurier homestead as it appeared at the turn of the century. Note the curved header over the door in the shed. Its shape suggests that it was salvaged¸ from a shipwreck, indicating that the DeLauriers, like many poorer settlers, let nothing go to waste.
© Parks Canada/CD-0277-52

Surveyors reported that between "Round O" (Rondeau) and "Point Pele" (Point Pe lay) there were 311 square kilometres (120 square miles) of swamp and morasses. In their opinion all of them were "perilous, thickety places" and the water throughout them was "stagnant and ruinous."

Neither these "incurable marshes," nor the penalties for trespassing on naval reserve land stopped settlement on Point Pelee. The arrival in the early 1830s of the DeLauriers, LaFleurs, and a few other families, ushered in the era of the "squatters," the first white settlement within the Point Pelee Naval Reserve.





Fishing
Historical Image
Point Pelee fishermen mend their nets at one of the Park's early commercial fisheries.
© Parks Canada

The waters around Point Pelee were well known for their abundance of fish. The "pointers," as the squatters came to be known, took full advantage of this. At first their catch went mostly to fill their own needs, but later they followed the example of the Americans and began commercial fishing.

By 1891, 22 commercial fisheries were operating from the naval reserve, but many were short-lived. Ten years later, over-fishing and other environmental stresses had brought about the decline of the most marketable fish: the lake trout, whitefish, and lake herring.



Farming

The pointers (squatters) cleared small plots on which they grew basic foods such as potatoes, beans and corn. Later as commercial fishing declined the pointers turned more and more to cash crops. They cleared more land, in some cases even levelled the rolling dunes. Vineyards were planted, and it was reported that they produced enough grapes each season to keep them supplied with wine. Asparagus and peaches did well too, but the crop for which Point Pelee became best known for was apples, with its Jonathan variety winning many agricultural prizes.

Pointers also kept livestock, mainly cattle and pigs, which they let roam. Visitors to Point Pelee in 1911 reported that they were "surprised by the number of hogs and cattle they saw roaming there, a practice which had (apparently) been indulged in for a long time." They continued, "... hogs could even be found in the drier parts of the marsh, uprooting trees and tearing sod, while cattle browsed on the trees and shrubs of the Peninsula."

Historical Image
Two of the Moody family's children find fun in riding on a pig, just one of Point Pelee's livestock.
© Parks Canada

Roving livestock and the clearing of the land obviously had a dramatic impact on Point Pelee's natural communities. But these "agricultural improvements" appear to have been a major factor in the government's decision, in the 1880s, to allow the naval reserve residents to purchase their land. This was a major victory for the squatters. They had pressed for over a decade to get the government to sell.





Hunting

The first European explorers to visit Point Pelee reported, "the woods are open and full of game. Bear, deer, wild turkey, beaver, passenger pigeon and ruffled grouse are abundant."

Reinforcing this, in 1721, Charlevoix noted:

"There are a great number of bears in this part of the country and last winter more than 400 were killed on Point Pelee alone. They are fatter and of better flavour than the most savory pigs of France."

Historical Image
Champion swan hunters, Bert and Max Girardin, pose with their bag, typical of the large numbers of waterfowl shot each year from Point Pelee marshes. Bert remained a fine hunter even after the loss of his left arm in an earlier hunting accident.
© Parks Canada

It is hard to believe that there could be so many bears in an area as small as Point Pelee. Perhaps what Charlevoix was describing was the kill for all of Essex County. Whatever the case, by the time settlers arrived on Point Pelee, much of the wild game was gone. What survived still remained an important source of food.

"Much of the time was spent hunting and at that time there was almost an unlimited supply to be had. Deer lived on Point Pelee in large numbers and thousands were killed by settlers and used for food."

As can be expected in such a small area, hunting had a devastating effect on many of Point Pelee's animals, especially the larger mammals. Indications are that by the late 1800s, deer had been completely wiped out. Today's herd may be the result of a reintroduction from the surrounding countryside in the 1940s.

Trapping
Historical Image
Trapping at Point Pelee.
© Parks Canada/CD-0277-26

Muskrats were special to the pointers. To them "hunting rats" was a sport. Not only were their muskrats pelts an important source of money, but they were also welcome on the dinner table. "Rats" were generally taken in March when their fur was at its prime. In April, an auction was held in Point Pelee to which each trapper brought his pelts.

During the years preceding the declaration as a national park, 10 000 pelts were taken from the marsh each spring.

Reproduced with permission of The Friends of Point Pelee, from Where Canada Begins by James Robertson Graham.

Parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée

L'appropriation du territoire

La protection de la pointe Pelée

Les arpenteurs qui les premiers signalèrent l'existence de campements indiens à la pointe Pelée dans les années 1790, dirent aussi avoir vu sur le rivage nord-ouest du lac Érié des forêts offrant du bois propre à la construction de mâts et espars pour la flotte britannique. Pour éviter que les colons n'endommagent ces beaux grands pins et chênes, les Britanniques créèrent des zones soumises à un régime spécial, les réserves maritimes.

Peu avant 1800, un territoire de 1 554 hectares (3 840 acres) situé dans la partie la plus au sud de la péninsule fut transformé en une réserve maritime dont les limites furent déterminées par l'arpenteur Abraham Iradell en 1799. Plus d'un siècle plus tard, quand on créa le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée, on lui donna les mêmes limites.

Les squatteurs
Image historique
La ferme DeLaurier au tournant du siècle. Le linteau chantourné de la porte de la grange provient peut-être d'une épave. Les DeLaurier, comme beaucoup de colons pauvres, ne laissaient rien d'utile se perdre.
© Parcs Canada/CD-0277-52

Les arpenteurs avaient indiqué qu'on trouvait, entre « Round O » (Rondeau) et « Point Pele » (Point Pe lay), 311 km2 (120 mi2) de marais qui étaient tous, selon eux, des « endroits dangereux, impénétrables » dont les eaux étaient " stagnantes et en dégradation ".

Ni les marais dangereux ni les amendes imposées à ceux qui entraient illégalement dans les réserves maritimes ne mirent un frein au peuplement de la pointe Pelée. Au début des années 1830, l'arrivée des DeLaurier, des LaFleur et de quelques autres familles marqua le début de l'époque des " squatteurs ", qui créèrent le premier établissement blanc dans la réserve maritime de la pointe Pelée.




La pêche
Image historique
Des pêcheurs de la pointe Pelée réparent leurs filets. Ils travaillaient pour l'une des premières entreprises de pêche commerciale de la péninsule.
© Parcs Canada

Les eaux entourant la pointe Pelée étaient réputées pour l'abondance de leurs poissons; les squatteurs surent profiter de cette richesse. Au début, ils pêchaient surtout pour satisfaire leurs besoins; mais ils finirent par imiter les Américains et pratiquer la pêche commerciale.

En 1891, on dénombrait 22 entreprises de pêche commerciale dans la réserve maritime, mais beaucoup d'entre elles étaient éphémères. Dix ans plus tard, les populations des poissons les plus commercialisables (touladis, grands corégones, ciscos de lac) avaient diminué, victimes de la surpêche et de stress environnementaux.

L'agriculture

Les squatteurs défrichèrent des petites parcelles de terrain sur lesquelles ils cultivèrent des produits de base comme des pommes de terre, des fèves et du maïs. Quand la pêche commerciale perdit de son importance, ils se tournèrent de plus en plus vers les cultures commerciales. Ils défrichèrent d'autres terrains; on en vit même quelques-uns niveler des dunes ondulantes. Des vignes furent plantées; on a dit qu'elles donnaient assez de raisins pour satisfaire les besoins en vin de la population. Les récoltes d'asperges et de pêches étaient bonnes elles aussi. Mais la culture qui contribua le plus à étendre la renommée de la pointe Pelée est celle des pommiers, grâce surtout à la variété Jonathan qui valut beaucoup de prix agricoles aux pomiculteurs.

Image historique
Deux des enfants de la famille Moody s'amusent à monter un porc appartenant au cheptel de la pointe Pelée.
© Parcs Canada

Les squatteurs pratiquaient aussi l'élevage; ils élevaient surtout des bovins et des porcs, qu'ils laissaient errer. Ils semblent avoir adopté cette pratique assez tôt puisqu'en 1911 déjà des visiteurs purent voir à la pointe Pelée, à leur grande surprise, beaucoup de porcs et de bovins allant au hasard. Ces personnes précisèrent avoir observé des porcs jusque dans les parties les moins humides du marais, où ils déracinaient les arbres et arrachaient l'herbe, ainsi qu'avoir vu des bovins brouter des arbres et des arbrisseaux.

Les animaux, qui broutaient, et les hommes, qui défrichaient, ont modifié considérablement les communautés naturelles de la pointe Pelée. Il semble que ces « améliorations agricoles » aient été l'un des facteurs qui ont commandé la décision, prise par le gouvernement dans les années 1880, de permettre aux habitants de la réserve d'acheter la terre qu'ils occupaient. Cette décision représentait une victoire très importante pour les squatteurs, qui pressaient le gouvernement de la prendre depuis plus de dix ans.

La chasse

Les premiers explorateurs européens qui visitèrent la pointe Pelée rapportèrent que « les forêts y étaient claires et débordantes de gibier » et que « les ours, les chevreuils, les dindons sauvages, les castors, les tourtes et les gélinottes à fraise y abondaient ».

En 1721, François-Xavier Charlevoix renchérit :

« Il y a un grand nombre d'ours dans cette partie du pays; l'hiver dernier, plus de 400 ont été tués à la pointe Pelée seulement. Ces ours sont plus gras que les porcs de la France, et leur chair est plus savoureuse. »

Image historique
Deux chasseurs de cygnes chevronnés, Bert et Max Girardin. En voyant leur sac, on devine que de grandes quantités d'individus du gibier d'eau des marais de la pointe Pelée étaient abattus chaque année. Bert Girardin a perdu le bras gauche dans un accident de chasse, mais il est toujours un excellent fusil.
© Parcs Canada

Il est difficile de croire qu'un si grand nombre d'ours vivaient dans un espace aussi petit que la pointe Pelée. Dans son texte, Charlevoix parlait peut-être du nombre d'animaux abattus dans l'ensemble du comté d'Essex. Quoiqu'il en soit, quand les colons arrivèrent à la pointe Pelée, il ne restait plus grand-chose de son gibier, qui devait toutefois demeurer une importante source de produits alimentaires.

«La chasse était la principale activité. La quantité d'animaux pouvant être pris était presque illimitée. La population de chevreuils de la pointe Pelée était abondante; on en tuait par milliers, pour se nourrir.»

C'était à prévoir : dans un territoire si petit, la chasse a eu un effet dévastateur sur beaucoup d'espèces animales, en particulier sur les gros mammifères. À la fin du XVIIIe siècle, par exemple, il n'y avait plus aucun chevreuil à la pointe Pelée, peut-on croire. Les chevreuils qu'on y rencontre aujourd'hui sont peut-être des descendants d'individus des environs qui auraient adopté la pointe Pelée dans les années 1940.

Le piégeage
Image historique
Le piégeage à la pointe Pelée.
© Parcs Canada/CD-0277-26

Pour les squatteurs, les rats musqués étaient une proie spéciale qu'ils chassaient avec plaisir. Ces rongeurs étaient non seulement une source de revenus importante (à cause de leur peau), mais aussi un animal bon à manger. On les chassait généralement en mars, le mois où leur fourrure est la plus belle. En avril, les piégeurs mettaient leurs peaux aux enchères, à la pointe Pelée.

Avant la création du parc national, les chasseurs récoltaient 10 000 peaux chaque année.

Reproduit de Where Canada Begins, par James Robertson Graham, avec la permission des Friends of Point Pelee.