Common menu bar links

Point Pelee National Park of Canada

Carolinian Zone

Geography and the moderating effects of Lake Erie have allowed southern plants and animals to flourish at Point Pelee.

Beach Habitat
Beach Habitat
© Parks Canada/CD-0444-91

French explorers of what we today call Southwestern Ontario, reported this region's unusually small number of coniferous trees. Today's naturalists are more surprised by what is here rather than what is not. The vast forest of deciduous trees in which these early explorers found themselves, was in fact the northern end of a broad belt which extends from the coastal zone of the Carolinas, northward between the Mississippi River and the Appalachian Mountains, to southern Ontario.

Early scientists called this region the Carolinian zone. Now, it is more generally referred to as the eastern deciduous forest, except in Canada where the term Carolinian is still popular because of its southern flavour.

Red Cedar Savannah Habitat Red Cedar Savannah Habitat
© Parks Canada/CD-3991-13

The plants and animals of Canada's Carolinian zone are found only in a narrow band. The northern boundary of this band follows the 8°C (46°F) isotherm (that is a line which defines an area in which the average daily temperature for the year is 8°C). Temperature, then, is a major factor in limiting the northward expansion of this unusual region.

Intrusion of the 8°C isotherm into Canada at this point is the result of two major factors. The first is geographical position. Southwestern Ontario extends south to the 42nd parallel, making it the southernmost tip of Canada. This contributes to its warmer climate, but "lake effect" is even more important.

Forest Habitat
Forest Habitat
© Parks Canada/CD-3991-73

Southwestern Ontario is almost completely surrounded by the Great Lakes. Large bodies of water like this are hard to heat and, once heated, are slow to cool. Consequently, they tend to cushion temperature peaks cutting off the high and low extremes. As a result, the Canadian Carolinian zone stays much warmer throughout the winter than a similar location such as Laramie, Wyoming, in the centre of the continent, even though they are at the same latitude.

Compared to the massive size of Canada, the Canadian Carolinian zone is very small. Altogether, it represents less than one-quarter of one percent of the total land mass of the country. Despite its small size, it is an area which is characterized by tremendous variety. Found here are more rare species of plants and animals than in any other region of Canada.

Marsh Habitat
Marsh Habitat
© Parks Canada/CD-4263-40

There are over 70 species of trees alone. Nowhere else in Canada are there more species of reptiles (27) and amphibians (20). The zone is also home to 50 species of spiders and insects not found elsewhere in Canada. Acadian flycatchers, Carolina wrens, blue-gray gnatcatchers, red-bellied woodpeckers, and yellow-breasted chats are at the northern limit of their breeding range. But many Canadians call the Carolinian zone home, too. As a result, much of the land has been cleared for cities and used as farm land.

In Essex County, about three percent of the total area remains wooded. The largest natural area in the county lies within the boundaries of Point Pelee National Park. Interwoven throughout the Park's 20-square-kilometre (8-square-mile) landscape is a patchwork of marsh, forest, fields, and beaches, producing a complexity of life that is unequalled, even in Canada's larger National Parks.

Parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée

Zone carolinienne

La géographie et les effets modérateurs du lac Érié ont permis à des plantes et des animaux méridionaux de prospérer à la pointe Pelée.

Habitat de plage
Habitat de plage
© Parcs Canada/CD-0444-91

Les explorateurs français de ce que nous appelons aujourd'hui le sud-ouest de l'Ontario ont noté le nombre étonnamment bas de conifères dans cette région. Les naturalistes d'aujourd'hui sont davantage étonnés par ce qu'on y trouve que par ce qui en est absent. La vaste forêt d'arbres à feuilles caduques qu'avaient connue les premiers explorateurs était en fait l'extrémité septentrionale d'une large région qui s'étend de la zone côtière des Carolines vers le nord, entre le Mississipi et les Appalaches, jusqu'au sud de l'Ontario.

Les premiers scientifiques ont donné à cette région le nom de zone carolinienne. Maintenant, on l'appelle plus communément forêt de feuillus de l'est, sauf au Canada, où l'appellation forêt carolinienne demeure populaire à cause de sa connotation méridionale.

Habitat de savane de genévriers rouges Habitat de savane de genévriers rouges
© Parcs Canada/CD-3991-13

Les plantes et les animaux de la zone carolinienne du Canada ne se retrouvent que dans une bande étroite. La limite nord de cette bande suit l'isotherme 8 °C (46 °F) (c'est-à-dire une ligne définissant un secteur où la température quotidienne moyenne pour l'année est de 8 °C (46 °F)). La température est donc un facteur important limitant l'expansion vers le nord de cette région très particulière.

L'avancée de l'isotherme 8 °C (46 °F) au Canada à cet endroit est le résultat de deux facteurs importants. Le premier est la position géographique. Le sud-ouest de l'Ontario atteint au sud le 42e parallèle, ce qui en fait la région la plus méridionale du Canada. Cela explique en partie que le climat y soit plus chaud, mais l'influence des lacs est encore plus importante.

Habitat de forêt
Habitat de forêt
© Parcs Canada/CD-3991-73

Le sud-ouest de l'Ontario est presque entièrement entouré par les Grands Lacs. Ces vastes étendues d'eau sont difficiles à réchauffer, et, une fois chaudes, elles se refroidissent lentement. Par conséquent, elles ont tendance à atténuer les écarts de température, l'hiver comme l'été. Donc la zone carolinienne canadienne demeure beaucoup plus chaude tout au long de l'hiver qu'un endroit semblable tel que Laramie (Wyoming), au centre du continent, pourtant situé à la même latitude.

Par rapport à l'immensité du Canada, la zone carolinienne canadienne est très petite. En tout, elle ne constitue que moins d'un quart de 1 pour cent de la masse terrestre totale du pays. En dépit de sa petitesse, c'est une région caractérisée par une très grande diversité. On y trouve plus d'espèces rares de plantes et d'animaux que dans toute autre région du Canada.

Habitat de marais
Habitat de marais
© Parcs Canada/CD-4263-40

On y dénombre plus de 70 espèces d'arbres. Nulle part ailleurs au Canada on ne trouve davantage d'espèces de reptiles (27) et d'amphibiens (20). La zone abrite également 50 espèces d'araignées et d'insectes absentes du reste du Canada. Le moucherolle vert, le troglodyte de Caroline, le gobe-moucheron gris-bleu, le pic à ventre roux et la paruline polyglotte sont à la limite septentrionale de leur aire de reproduction. Mais de nombreux Canadiens habitent aussi la zone carolinienne, de sorte qu'une grande partie du territoire a été défrichée pour l'agriculture et qu'on y a construit des villes.

Dans le comté d'Essex, environ trois pour cent de la superficie totale demeure boisée. La plus grande zone naturelle du comté se trouve dans les limites du parc national de la Pointe-Pelée. Les 20 kilomètres carrés du parc sont une mosaïque de marais, de forêts, de champs et de plages à la richesse écologique telle que les plus grands parcs nationaux du Canada ne parviennent même pas à l'égaler.