Point Pelee National Park of Canada

Swimming

Swimming
Take a refreshing swim at Point Pelee, which boasts the longest continuous natural beach in Essex County. Enjoy the smooth sand and build sandcastles on the west and east sides of the peninsula framed by 20km of sandy beach. Northwest Beach and West Beach are two of the most popular beach access areas, which offer washrooms, change rooms and picnic facilities.
Parc visitor surfing at Northwest Beach Parc visitor surfing at Northwest Beach .
© Parks Canada

For your safety, please supervise children closely and never swim alone. Do not enter the water at any of the park's beaches during strong wave surges as undertows and rip currents can endanger even strong swimmers. To avoid tragedies, it is illegal to enter the water beyond the posted red warning signs at the park's most southern tip area. Capture that moment of standing at the most southern point of mainland Canada safely from the sand or forest's edge.

Tip Safety Sign
Posted red warning signs.
© Parks Canada

To ensure that the water at public beaches is safe for swimming, the Windsor-Essex County Health Unit monitors public beaches on a weekly basis throughout the summer and provides beach count for Northwest Beach at Point Pelee. Call the Beach Hotline at 519-258-2146 ext. 426 or check the beach count online for updates on Lake Erie water quality results.

Once the E.coli bacteria count exceeds 100 (E.coli/100 ml) swimming is not recommended. If the E. coli count is higher than 1000, it is NOT SAFE for swimming and the beach is CLOSED.

Parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée

Baignade

Swimming
Venez vous baigner dans l'eau fraîche de la pointe Pelée et profiter de la plus longue plage naturelle du comté d'Essex. Venez construire des châteaux de sable sur les 20 km de plage qui bordent les rives est et ouest de la péninsule. Les plages Northwest et West sont parmi les plus populaires et vous trouverez des toilettes, des vestiaires et des aires de pique-nique.
Visiteur du parc à la plage Northwest Visiteur du parc à la plage Northwest.
© Parks Canada

Pour des raisons de sécurité, ne perdez pas vos enfants de vue et ne vous baignez jamais seul. N'entrez pas dans l'eau, dans aucune des plages du parc, lorsque les vagues déferlent, car les flots de fond ainsi que les courants de retour sont dangereux même pour les meilleurs nageurs. Pour prévenir toute tragédie, il est interdit d'entrer dans l'eau au-delà de la zone délimitée par des panneaux d'avertissement rouges. Savourez plutôt l'instant où vous vous trouverez au point le plus méridional de la partie terrestre du Canada, bien à l'abri sur le sable ou à l'orée du boisé.

Panneaux d'avertissement rouges.
Panneaux d'avertissement rouges.
© Parks Canada

Pour s'assurer de la qualité des eaux de baignade, l'Unité sanitaire du comté de Windsor–Essex prélève des échantillons toutes les semaines pendant l'été et diffuse les résultats pour la plage Northwest de la pointe Pelée. Pour connaître le résultat des analyses les plus récentes des eaux de baignade du lac Érié, appelez au 519–258–2146, poste 426 (Beach Hotline) or cliquez ici (en anglais seulement).

Si le nombre de bactéries E.coli par 100 ml dépasse le seuil de 100, la baignade est contre-indiquée. Si ce nombre dépasse le seuil de 1000, il est DANGEREUX de se baigner et la plage est FERMÉE.