Common menu bar links

Thousand Islands National Park

Prescribed Fire at Thousand Islands National Park

The Thousand Islands are home to a number of unique and rare environments. Some of the distinctive flora of the area is the result of fire associated forest communities. For many years effective fire suppression has kept fire out of these forests. While this provides protection for values at risk in the area, it also has an impact on local forests. For example, red oak and pitch pine benefit from occasional fire that prepares seedbeds and removes competing vegetation.

Recognizing the negative effects of fire suppression on park ecosystems and species, and acknowledging the park’s role in ensuring values continue to be protected from wildfire , Parks Canada has instituted a program of prescribed fire to restore its’ forests. This program partially targets the emblematic pitch pine, an icon of the Thousand Islands landscape. Pitch pine is a rare species of tree in Canada, only found in Leeds County, Ontario and in a small area in Quebec.

Fires have been conducted at the following sites in Thousand Islands National Park:

  • Georgina Island, 2009. 2 hectares. This fire in a mature pitch pine stand prepared a suitable seedbed for a new generation of trees.
  • Gordon Island, 2010 and 2015. 5 hectares each time. This fire targeted vegetation that was suppressing the ability of oak seedlings to establish in a mature red oak stand. A Second fire was required to kill off competing vegetation.
  • Mallorytown Landing, 2011. 1 hectare. This fire was designed as an experiment to test the effectiveness of fire in regenerating pitch pine compared to other mechanical means of creating a seedbed.
  • Camelot Island, 2014. 2 hectares. Much like the Georgina Island fire this site was burned in order to stimulate regeneration in mature pitch pine.
A sign on Gordon Island instructing visitors on how they can get invloved
Gordon Island Prescribed Fire Monitoring
© Parks Canada

As result of this prescribed fire program, more pitch pine and red oak seedlings have been counted than since monitoring began in the early 1970s. In order to continue to re-establish a new cohort of these special pine and oak species more fires are being planned in the park over the next number of years.

Thousand Islands National Park’s fire initiatives are supported by the Parks Canada national fire management division and local municipal fire departments.

For more information on the Prescribed Fire program at Thousand Islands National Park please contact park staff at 613-923-5261.

A call for your assistance!

Thousand Islands National Park is recruiting help to monitor the effects of its most recent fire on Gordon Island. A photo-monitoring station has been set up so that park visitors can document the regeneration of this oak forest. Is simple; find the sign on the island, follow the instructions, and tweet the photo.

Flames along an island shoreline
Fire in the understory of mature Pitch Pine on Georgina Island in 2009
© Parks Canada

A park staff member using a drip torch to ignite a fire
Parks Canada firefighter using hand torch to ignite fire at Gordon Island in 2010
© Parks Canada

Smoke rises among the trees
Smouldering fire at the Mallorytown Landing Prescribed Fire
© Parks Canada

View of a fire on an island from the air
A prescribed fire burns on Camelot Island creating the space for a new generation of Pitch Pine, 2014
© Parks Canada

Parc national des Mille-Îles

Brûlage dirigé au parc national des Mille-Îles

Les Mille Îles abritent un grand nombre d’environnements rares et uniques. Certaines des espèces végétales propres à la région sont le fruit de communautés forestières associées au feu. Or, pendant de nombreuses années, la suppression efficace des incendies a tenu le feu à l’écart de ces forêts. Bien que cette suppression ait offert une protection aux valeurs en péril de la région, elle a également eu un impact sur les forêts de l’endroit. Par exemple, le chêne rouge et le pin rigide tirent profit des feux occasionnels qui préparent les lits de germination et éliminent les autres végétaux concurrents.

Compte tenu des effets négatifs de la suppression des feux sur les écosystèmes et les espèces des parcs, et reconnaissant le rôle du parc pour ce qui est de continuer à protéger certaines valeurs contre les feux échappés, Parcs Canada a instauré un programme de brûlages dirigés afin de restaurer ses forêts. Ce programme cible en partie le pin rigide, emblématique du paysage des Mille Îles. Le pin rigide est une espèce rare au Canada et on trouve cet arbre uniquement dans le comté de Leeds, en Ontario, et dans une petite région du Québec.

Des brûlages dirigés ont été effectués dans les sites suivants du parc national des Mille Îles :

  • Île Georgina, 2009. 2 hectares. Ce brûlage dans un peuplement de pins rigides à maturité a préparé un lit de germination convenable pour une nouvelle génération d’arbres.
  • Île Gordon, 2010 et 2015. 5 hectares chaque fois. Ce brûlage ciblait la végétation qui empêchait les semis de chênes de s’établir dans un peuplement de chênes rouges à maturité. Un second brûlage s’est avéré nécessaire pour éliminer les végétaux concurrents.
  • Mallorytown Landing, 2011. 1 hectare. Ce brûlage était conçu comme une expérimentation visant à vérifier l’efficacité du feu à régénérer le pin rigide par rapport à d’autres méthodes mécaniques de création d’un lit de germination.
  • Île Camelot, 2014. 2 hectares. Tout comme pour l’île Georgina, ce site a été incendié pour stimuler la régénération dans les peuplements de pins rigides à maturité.
Un signe sur l'île Gordon instruire les visiteurs sur la façon dont ils peuvent se invloved
Surveillance d’un brûlage dirigé sur l’île Gordon
© Parcs Canada

À la suite de ce programme de brûlage dirigé, des semis de pins rigides et de chênes rouges ont été comptés en plus grand nombre par rapport à l’époque où la surveillance a débuté au début des années 1970. Afin de continuer à rétablir une nouvelle cohorte de ces espèces particulières de pin et de chêne, d’autres brûlages sont prévus dans le parc au cours des prochaines années.

Les initiatives de brûlage dirigé dans le parc national des Mille Îles sont appuyées par la division nationale de gestion du feu et les services d’incendie locaux.

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur le programme de brûlages dirigés dans le parc national des Mille Îles, veuillez communiquer avec le personnel du parc au 613-923-5261.

Nous avons besoin de votre aide!

Le parc national des Mille Îles aimerait avoir de l’aide pour surveiller les effets de ses plus récents brûlages sur l’île Gordon. Une station de surveillance photo a été aménagée afin que les visiteurs du parc puissent documenter la régénération de cette forêt de chênes. C’est très simple : trouvez le panneau indicateur sur l’île, suivez les instructions, et diffusez la photo sur Twitter.

Flames long d'un rivage de l'île
Brûlage dans le sous étage d’un peuplement de pins rigides à maturité sur l’île Georgina en 2009
© Parcs Canada

Un membre du personnel du parc à l'aide d'une torche pour allumer un incendie
Pompier de Parcs Canada se servant d’une torche pour allumer l’incendie sur l’île Gordon en 2010
© Parcs Canada

La fumée monte dans les arbres
Feu couvant sur le site d’un brûlage dirigé à Mallorytown Landing.
© Parcs Canada

Vue d'un incendie sur une île de l'air
Un brûlage dirigé sur l’île Camelot crée l’espace nécessaire pour la régénération du pin rigide en 2014
© Parcs Canada