Thousand Islands National Park of Canada

Park Management

Thousand Islands National Park 2010 Management Plan

PDF icon Printable Version (4.05 MB)

What is a management plan?

A park management plan is a document that sets the direction for the years ahead.  It outlines the park’s goals and the actions necessary to preserve the natural environment and provide relevant services to people.  Decisions related to land use, research, and programming are made based on the most recent management plan.  The management plan is updated every 5 years to take into consideration local, regional, and national changes in the environment, society, and economic development.

Introduction

Thousand Islands National Park of Canada
Thousand Islands National Park of Canada
© B. Morin

Since its establishment in 1904, the community has been a key component in shaping what Thousand Islands National Park (SLINP) is today. Many groups, organizations and other partners have helped Thousand Islands National Park to balance protection of the Thousand Islands area with provision of meaningful opportunities for people to continue to enjoy this unique and special place.

The years have witnessed much change locally, regionally and nationally. The pace of change in the environment and in Canadian society is increasing with rapid urbanization, increasing stress on natural ecosystems and a rising awareness of the fragile connection between a healthy ecology and a sustained quality of life.  A Management Plan is about the role the national park will play into the future to provide benefit and relevant services to Canadians and a commitment to work with communities, organizations and individuals for a sustainable future and to sustain or improve the ecological integrity of the park.

The Park Vision for 2015


© Parks Canada
Where Land Meets Water and People Live

Thousand Islands National Park is where the bones of mother earth emerge from the waters of one of the world’s great rivers. Long regarded as a sacred area and meeting place by Aboriginal people because of its natural beauty and bounty, the Thousand Islands, represented by the Park, is a legacy to be cherished, enjoyed and protected for the benefit of all. The Park is a place of beauty and a host to an immense variety of plants and wildlife that persist in a relatively healthy ecosystem. It is a model of respect and responsibility for the land that sustains all life.

Thousand Islands National Park is for the benefit, use and enjoyment of Canadians, attracting visitors to learn and experience the Park and region.  The Park is a community partner linking the efforts of many towards managing the landscape in a sustainable manner and is a catalyst to collaborative work between governments, organizations and communities. It is a regional showcase known throughout the Southern Ontario and the National Capital region for its outstanding experiences, creative and inspiring programming, progressive management of the ecosystem and leadership in stewardship. 

Thousand Islands National Park is an ambassador for Parks Canada. Aboriginal traditional knowledge and cultures are celebrated. It is a model of stewardship in action and memorable visitor experiences in a sustainable landscape.

The national parks of Canada are hereby dedicated to the people of Canada for their benefit, education and enjoyment, subject to this Act and the regulations, and the parks shall be maintained and made use of so as to leave them unimpaired for the enjoyment of future generations.

Canada National Parks Act Dedication Clause

Aboriginal Partnerships

Programs for all ages.
Programs for all ages.
© B. Morin

Aboriginal presence in this area reaches back as far as 7,000 years. The First Nations people have a profound stewardship message, based on respect and responsibility for the land. It is proposed that through partnerships, visitors and residents will learn from the Mohawks of Akwesasne about historical and contemporary use of the landscape including traditional place names and plant use.  Resource management practices, visitor experience and educational programs will be enriched through the integration of traditional Aboriginal knowledge.

For the benefit, education and enjoyment of Canadians

Programs for all ages.
Outreach education at Landon Bay Lookout.
© Parks Canada
Thousand Islands National Park is committed to preserving and celebrating the values and attributes of the 1000 Islands Region with our communities. In a rapidly urbanizing society, the Park must be responsive to the needs of urban Canadians as well as area residents and traditional users.  

There is a strong connection between people and this landscape that needs to be told.  By inviting long- time residents, river guides, area farmers and loggers and Aboriginal elders to tell their stories, visitors will learn about the natural and cultural heritage of this diverse area.  Do you have a family history or story about the 1000 Islands that you would like to share?

On the Mainland

Hiker at Jones Creek.
Hiker at Jones Creek.
© Parks Canada
Located on the doorstep of the nation’s capital and close to the major urban centres of Toronto and Montreal, SLINP is geographically well positioned to reach out and encourage our urban neighbours, our young people and new Canadians to experience a national park.  SLINP will offer many reasons for a “land-based” person to visit, to enjoy and to learn from park programs and activities.

 At the moment, the Park lacks a venue, or focal point, for engaging regional residents, its stakeholders and visitors. With the new lands on the mainland comes an incredible opportunity to create a stronger mainland presence and also provide more meaningful experiences for visitors, at the same time as involving residents, Aboriginal partners and stakeholders in a creative partnership for conservation.   The Park is proposing a meeting place to bring regional residents and visitors together to engage in a dialogue, share, listen and learn from each other.

Expanding visitor experiences. Planning new mainland trails.
Expanding visitor experiences. Planning new mainland trails.
© Parks Canada

In the near future, residents and visitors will experience the Park by hiking along the network of mainland trails under development at Jones Creek and Landon Bay, two of the most beautiful areas in the 1000 Islands. At both locations, the trails will be suitable for different skill levels and provide a variety of educational and recreational opportunities. It is proposed that experiencing the mainland of the Park will be a four-season opportunity for residents and visitors to benefit from and enjoy this national park.

While the Park can take some actions to restore ecosystem integrity on its lands, it is proposed that the most important action it can take to ensure the future health of the Park is to reach out to regional residents and continue to build a culture of conservation and sustainable use. These outreach efforts must lead to a landscape with improved habitat connectivity and an increased understanding of the need for various management actions within the Park that will improve its ecological integrityand promote sustainable communities. 

Balancing boaters' needs with resource protection.
Balancing boaters’ needs with resource protection.
© B. Morin
On the Islands

It is proposed that island users will have the choice between two different island experiences, each attractive in its own way. Following on an assessment of the needs of the boating visitors, visitor impacts and the operational capacity of the Park, we reached the conclusion that two service models will balance the needs of boaters with the ecological integrity of these precious islands.

The proposal is that the majority of Park islands will reflect the natural setting many island visitors have expressed as their preference.

  • composting toilets
  • primitive camping sites
  • a pack-in, pack-out ethic
  • self-guided trail pamphlets
  • no generator use
  • sale of firewood
  • day use docking opportunities
  • mooring buoys

Three islands, Grenadier, McDonald, and Beaurivage, will provide additional services including:

  • garbage collection sites
  • potable water
  • generator use.

In response to the concerns expressed by visitors about respecting the Park and their fellow visitor, the Park is proposing to further investigative actions that foster positive and safe use of the Park. We intend to evaluate all aspects of island access (e.g. anchoring, docking designation, docking design, etc). We have discussed increasing dock availability for day use and the safety aspect of large boats on small docks.

This approach for the islands balances the integrity of natural and cultural resources, the capacity of the Park, educational opportunities and the enjoyment and benefit of the boating visitor.

Thousand Islands National Park of Canada
© Francis / Leggo

Preserving Our Natural Legacy

Green technology- Wind turbine at Mallorytown Landing.
Green technology- Wind turbine at Mallorytown Landing.
© Parks Canada

Thousand Islands National Park is a crucial link in the Algonquin to Adirondacks Wildlife Connectivity Corridor. It is embedded in the landscape and vulnerable to what happens around it. Not surprisingly, an assessment of the state of the park determined that habitat loss and fragmentation, coupled with physical environmental changes such as climate change and the introduction of exotic species, are critical issues affecting the future well-being of the Park and region.

The Park will undertake management actions to restore and enhance ecological integrity within the park boundary as the first priority.

Composting toilet - a visitor favourite.
Composting toilet - a visitor favourite.
© Parks Canada

Accordingly we propose to:

  • research and monitor relevant ecological issues including public values, needs and desires,
  • develop appropriate action plans leading to the recovery of Species at Risk,
  • lead in the use of green technologies and stewardship practices,
  • work with regional residents and community organizations to promote stewardship on the landscape,
  • establish the Park as a centre of ecosystem science expertise in the region and as a prominent partner with other organizations on this landscape,
  • engage in habitat restoration and enhancement, control of hyper-abundant species and restoration of fire as a tool, so that the ecological condition of the landscape improves in a fashion that will persist over time,
  • provide educational opportunities to visitors and residents based on environmental citizenship, stewardship practices and sound scientific information.
Working with neighbours -planting native wildflowers at Mallorytown Landing.
Working with neighbours -planting native wildflowers at Mallorytown Landing.
© Parks Canada

We will work to develop public understanding of the fragility of ecosystems and the link between ecological health and a sustained high quality of life. With your support and assistance, we will conserve our natural heritage for future generations. 


Hyperabundant Species
Shoreline rehabilitation at Landing.
Shoreline rehabilitation at Landing.
© Parks Canada

A hyperabundant species is when a species’ population has grown to the point where it exceeds the capacity of the landscape to provide enough suitable habitat. Over several years of monitoring and study of white-tailed deer in the Park, it has been confirmed that the Hill Island deer population is creating significant environmental impact. The Park is analysing options for restoring ecological balance to Hill Island, which could include herd reduction as an option.

Land-Use Zoning
Critical to a variety of plant and animal species, wetlands are under pressure.
Critical to a variety of plant and animal species, wetlands are under pressure.
© Parks Canada

Land-use zoning classifies land according to resource protection requirements and ability to accommodate use. Building upon the 1998 Management Plan, it is proposed that SLINP’s zoning plan will be simplified to accurately reflect the Park’s land management objectives.  Zone 2, Wilderness Area, will be the base level of protection with Zone 1 used where sensitive resources require it and Zone 3 where services are concentrated.  The Mallorytown Landing compound would remain as a Zone 5, park service area. For more information on park zones see Parks Canada's National Parks Policy

Map
Land Acquisition

It is proposed that limited land acquisitions will be made for ecological reasons and to enhance visitor experience opportunities.  Lands will be either gifted or acquired on a willing seller, willing buyer arrangement. The lands the Park has acquired and will acquire will be brought under the protection of the Canada National Parks Act. This action creates the obligation to preserve and protect the lands for all time.

Regional Influence
View from Landon Bay Lookout.
View from Landon Bay Lookout.
© B. Morin

The fragmented land holdings of the Park are too small and too separated to be able to maintain ecological integrity on their own. It is proposed that as a core protected area in the Frontenac Arch Biosphere Reserve, Thousand Islands National Park will work collaboratively with partners, local communities, and private landowners to encourage responsible land use practices and decisions. The Park depends strongly on the surrounding communities to sustain and improve its ecological integrity.  The long-term ecological health of the region has a direct impact on everyone’s quality of life and is dependent on the support and enthusiastic engagement of landowners and residents.

International Role

The Park’s location on an international border and as a core protected area within the UNESCO designated Frontenac Arch Biosphere Reserve, positions it on an international stage. We propose to continue to work with New York State and United States conservation agencies on common issues that require international cooperation for effective solutions. The Park also proposes to continue to work closely with the Biosphere Network organizations and other stakeholders dedicated to a sustainable future.

Properties Administered by Parks Canada - Main Duck and Yorkshire Islands, Skoryna Nature Reserve at Lower Beverly Lake

The Management Plan will affirm a caretaker role for these properties that does not compromise their future.

Black-Legged Tick and Lyme Disease

Black-legged ticks and Lyme disease are now present throughout the Frontenac Arch Region. The Park will support Health Canada, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, Ontario Health Units, tourism operators and other stakeholders to raise public awareness.


Discussing the Citizen Science project with private landowners.
Discussing the Citizen Science project with private landowners.
© Parks Canada
Thousand Islands National Park of Canada
Thousand Islands National Park of Canada
© Parks Canada

Parc national du Canada des Mille-Îles

Gestion du parc

Plan directeur du parc national du Canada des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent 2010

icône PDF Version imprimable (4.1 Mo)

Qu’est-ce qu’un plan directeur?

Le plan directeur d’un parc est un document qui en établit l’orientation pour les années à venir. Il décrit les objectifs du parc et les mesures nécessaires pour préserver l’environnement naturel et fournir des services pertinents à la population. La prise de décisions touchant l’utilisation du territoire, la recherche et les programmes repose sur le plan directeur le plus récent. Il est mis à jour tous les cinq ans afin de tenir compte des changements locaux, régionaux et nationaux dans l’environnement, la société et l’économie.

Introduction

Parc national du Canada des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent
Parc national du Canada des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent
© B. Morin

Depuis sa création en 1904, la communauté a toujours joué un rôle clé dans le développement du parc national des Mille-Îles (PNISL) tel qu’on le connaît aujourd’hui. Beaucoup de groupes, d’organisations et d’autres partenaires ont aidé le parc national des Mille-Îles à trouver l’équilibre entre la protection de la région des Mille-Îles et le fait de permettre à la population de continuer à profiter de cet endroit exceptionnel.

Au fil des ans, le parc a connu beaucoup de changements à l’échelle locale, régionale et nationale. Les changements dans l’environnement et dans la société canadienne s’accélèrent avec l’urbanisation rapide, le stress croissant sur les écosystèmes naturels et la prise de conscience de la fragilité du lien entre la santé écologique et la qualité de vie durable. Le plan directeur traite du rôle que jouera le parc national dans l’avenir pour ce qui est d’offrir aux Canadiens des avantages et des services pertinents; il porte aussi sur son engagement à travailler avec les communautés, les organisations et les individus à la préparation d’un avenir durable et au maintien ou à l’amélioration de l’intégrité écologique du parc.

Vision : Le parc en 2015


© Parks Canada
Un milieu de vie à la rencontre de la terre et de l’eau

Le parc national des Mille-Îles est l’endroit où les os de la Terre, notre Mère, émergent des eaux de l’un des plus grands fleuves du monde. Longtemps considérée comme une région sacrée et un lieu de rencontre pour les Autochtones en raison de sa beauté naturelle et de sa richesse, la région des Mille-Îles, représentée par le parc, est un héritage qu’il faut chérir, apprécier et protéger pour le bénéfice de tous. Le parc est un lieu de beauté et l’hôte d’une immense diversité de plantes et d’animaux qui évoluent dans un écosystème dont la santé est relativement bonne. C’est un modèle de respect et de responsabilité envers la terre qui permet le maintien de la vie.

Le parc national des Mille-Îles a été créé pour permettre aux Canadiens d’apprécier nos richesses naturelles et d’en profiter, et pour attirer les visiteurs afin qu’ils tirent un apprentissage et une expérience enrichissante de la région. Partenaire de la communauté, le parc unit les efforts de beaucoup de gens en vue d’assurer la gestion du paysage de manière durable et favorise la collaboration entre les gouvernements, les organisations et les communautés. C’est aussi une vitrine régionale connue dans tout le Sud de l’Ontario et dans la région de la capitale nationale pour ses expériences exceptionnelles, ses programmes créatifs et inspirants, sa gestion progressive de l’écosystème et son leadership en matière d’intendance.

Le parc national des Mille-Îles est un ambassadeur pour Parcs Canada. On y célèbre le savoir traditionnel et la culture des Autochtones. Il est un modèle d’intendance par son action et par les expériences mémorables qu’il offre aux visiteurs au sein d’un paysage durable.   

Les parcs sont créés à l’intention du peuple canadien pour son agrément et l’enrichissement de ses connaissances; ils doivent être entretenus et utilisés conformément à la présente loi et aux règlements de façon à rester intacts pour les générations futures

Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada  – disposition sur l’usage public des parcs

Partenariats avec les Autochtones

Programmes pour tous les âges.
Programmes pour tous les âges.
© B. Morin

La présence des Autochtones dans cette région remonte à 7000 ans. Les Premières nations nous livrent un profond message d’intendance, fondé sur le respect et la responsabilité à l’égard de la terre. Nous proposons que, par le biais de partenariats, les visiteurs et les résidents apprennent des Mohawks d’Akwesasne les usages qu’ils faisaient autrefois du paysage et ceux qu’ils en font aujourd’hui, notamment les noms des lieux traditionnels et l’utilisation des plantes. Les pratiques de gestion des ressources, l’expérience du visiteur et les programmes éducatifs seront enrichis par cette intégration du savoir traditionnel autochtone.

Pour l’agrément et l’enrichissement des connaissances des Canadiens

Programs for all ages.
Programme de diffusion externe au belvédère de la baie Landon.
© B. Morin

Le parc national des Mille-Îles s’engage à préserver et à célébrer les valeurs et les atouts de la région des Mille-Îles avec les communautés locales. Dans une société qui s’urbanise rapidement, le parc doit réagir rapidement aux besoins des Canadiens des milieux urbains ainsi qu’à ceux des résidents et des utilisateurs traditionnels.


Un lien puissant unit les gens à ce paysage et il faut le dire. En invitant des résidents de longue date, des guides de rivières, des agriculteurs, des travailleurs forestiers et des Aînés autochtones à raconter leur histoire, les visiteurs en apprendront davantage sur le patrimoine naturel et culturel de cette région diversifiée. Avez-vous une histoire de famille ou une anecdote à nous faire partager au sujet des Mille-Îles?
Sur la partie continentale
Randonneur au ruisseau Jones.
Randonneur au ruisseau Jones.
© Parcs Canada

Situé aux abords de la capitale nationale et à proximité de grands centres urbains tels que Toronto et Montréal, le PNISL est géographiquement bien placé pour toucher à la fois les citadins, les jeunes et les néo-Canadiens et pour les inciter à vivre l’expérience de la visite d’un parc national. Le PNISL a beaucoup à offrir aux visiteurs terrestres afin qu’ils tirent de la satisfaction et des connaissances des programmes et des activités du parc.

En ce moment, le parc n’a pas de point central, de lieu de réunion pour mobiliser les résidents, les intervenants et les visiteurs. L’acquisition de terres sur le continent est l’occasion idéale de renforcer la présence du parc sur la terre ferme et d’offrir aux visiteurs plus d’expériences mémorables tout en impliquant les résidents, les partenaires autochtones et les intervenants dans un partenariat créatif en matière de conservation. Le parc propose l’aménagement d’un lieu de réunion pour permettre aux résidents et aux visiteurs de se rencontrer et d’engager le dialogue, d’échanger, d’écouter et d’apprendre les uns des autres.

Améliorer les expériences offertes aux visiteurs. Planifier de nouveaux sentiers sur la terre ferme.
Améliorer les expériences offertes aux visiteurs. Planifier de nouveaux sentiers sur la terre ferme.
© Parcs Canada

Dans un proche avenir, résidents et visiteurs feront l’expérience du parc en faisant de la randonnée pédestre dans les sentiers continentaux dont l’aménagement est en cours à Jones Creek et à Landon Bay, deux des plus beaux secteurs des Mille-Îles. Aux deux endroits, les sentiers conviendront à des marcheurs de différents niveaux et offriront diverses activités éducatives et récréatives. Il est proposé que les activités de la partie continentale du parc soient offertes durant toute l’année aux résidents et aux visiteurs, qui pourront ainsi profiter davantage de ce parc national.

Même si le parc peut adopter certaines mesures pour restaurer l’intégrité écologique des écosystèmes sur ses terres, il est proposé que la mesure la plus importante à prendre pour assurer la santé du parc à long terme soit de sensibiliser les résidents et de continuer à bâtir une culture de la conservation et de l’utilisation durable des ressources. Ces efforts de diffusion externe doivent mener à l’amélioration de la connectivité entre les habitats à l’intérieur du paysage et à une meilleure compréhension de la nécessité de mesures de gestion variées à l’intérieur du parc. Ces efforts doivent finalement aboutir à l’amélioration de l’intégrité écologique et à la promotion des communautés durables. 

Assurer l'équilibre entre les besoins des plaisanciers et la protection des ressources.
Assurer l’équilibre entre les besoins des plaisanciers et la protection des ressources.
© B. Morin
Sur les îles

Il est proposé que les utilisateurs insulaires aient le choix entre deux différentes expériences, chacune étant aussi attrayante que l’autre à sa manière. À la suite d’une évaluation des besoins des plaisanciers visitant le parc, des impacts de la présence de visiteurs et de la capacité opérationnelle du parc, nous avons mis au point deux modèles de services qui constituent un juste milieu entre les besoins des plaisanciers et l’intégrité écologique de ces précieuses îles.

La proposition est que la majorité des îles du parc reflètent l’environnement naturel que beaucoup de visiteurs ont dit préférer.

  • toilettes à compostage
  • sites de camping rustique
  • obligation de rapporter ses déchets
  • brochures pour sentiers autoguidés
  • génératrices interdites
  • achat possible de bois de feu
  • possibilité d’amarrage diurne
  • bouées d’amarrage

Trois îles (Grenadier, McDonald et Beaurivage) offriront d’autres services, notamment :

  • sites de collecte de déchets;
  • eau potable;
  • utilisation possible d’une génératrice.

En réponse aux préoccupations exprimées par les visiteurs concernant le respect du parc et des autres visiteurs, le parc propose d’approfondir ses recherches sur la façon de favoriser une utilisation convenable et sécuritaire du parc. Nous prévoyons évaluer tous les aspects de l’accès aux îles (désignation des zones d’ancrage et d’amarrage, aménagement des quais, etc.). Nous avons discuté de la possibilité d’affecter danvantage de quais à l’utilisation diurne et des aspects liés à la sécurité concernant les grandes embarcations amarrées à des petits quais.

Cette approche concernant les îles permet un équilibre entre l’intégrité des ressources naturelles et culturelles, la capacité du parc, les possibilités éducatives et l’agrément des plaisanciers.

Parc national du Canada des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent
© Francis / Leggo

Préserver notre héritage naturel

Technologie verte – éolienne à Mallorytown Landing.
Technologie verte – éolienne à Mallorytown Landing.
© Parcs Canada

Le parc national des Mille-Îles est un élément crucial du corridor faunique Algonquin-Adirondacks. Il fait partie intégrante du paysage et est vulnérable à tout ce qui se passe autour. Comme on peut s’y attendre, une évaluation de l’état du parc a permis d’établir que la perte et la fragmentation de l’habitat, combinées aux changements environnementaux physiques comme le changement climatique et l’introduction d’espèces exotiques, sont des enjeux de taille qui ont une incidence sur le bien-être futur du parc et de la région. Le parc adoptera des mesures de gestion prioritaires pour restaurer et améliorer l’intégrité écologique à l’intérieur de ses limites.

Les toilettes à compostage sont appréciées des visiteurs.
Les toilettes à compostage sont appréciées des visiteurs.
© Parcs Canada

En conséquence, nous proposons :

  • d’étudier et de surveiller les enjeux écologiques pertinents, y compris les valeurs, les besoins et les désirs du public;
  • d’élaborer les plans d’action appropriés en vue du rétablissement des espèces en péril;  
  • de nous porter chefs de file en matière d’utilisation de technologies vertes et de saines pratiques d’intendance;
  • de travailler avec les résidents et les organismes communautaires à promouvoir l’intendance du paysage;
  • de consacrer la vocation du parc comme centre d’expertise scientifique en matière d’écosystème dans la région et comme partenaire de choix avec d’autres organisations liées à ce paysage; 
  • de nous engager dans la restauration et l’amélioration des habitats, le contrôle des espèces surabondantes et le rétablissement du feu comme outil de gestion du parc, afin d’améliorer à long terme l’état écologique du paysage; 
  • d’offrir aux visiteurs et aux résidents des possibilités éducatives fondées sur l’écocivisme, des pratiques d’intendance écologiques et de l’information scientifique fiable.
Collaborer avec les voisins – planter des fleurs sauvages à Mallorytown Landing.
Collaborer avec les voisins – planter des fleurs sauvages à Mallorytown Landing.
© Parcs Canada

Nous allons aider le public à comprendre la fragilité des écosystèmes et des liens entre la santé écologique et la qualité de vie durable. Avec votre appui et votre aide, nous allons conserver notre patrimoine naturel pour les générations futures. 


Espèces surabondantes
Réhabilitation des berges à Mallorytown Landing.
Réhabilitation des berges à Mallorytown Landing.
© Parcs Canada

Une espèce surabondante est une espèce dont la population a atteint une abondance telle qu’elle excède la capacité du milieu à lui fournir un habitat convenable et suffisant. Après plusieurs années de surveillance et d’étude du cerf de Virginie dans le parc, on a conclu que la population de cerfs de l’île Hill a un impact environnemental considérable. Le parc analyse des options visant à restaurer l’équilibre écologique de l’île Hill, notamment d’éventuelles mesures de réduction de la harde.

Zonage des terres
Essentiels à la survie de diverses espèces végétales et animales, les milieux humides subissent des pressions.
Essentiels à la survie de diverses espèces végétales et animales, les milieux humides subissent des pressions.
© Parcs Canada

Le zonage est une démarche de classification des terres conforme aux exigences de protection des ressources et à la capacité de chaque endroit à composer avec la vocation qu’on lui attribue. En se fondant sur le plan directeur de 1998, il est proposé que le plan de zonage du PNISL soit simplifié de manière à refléter avec précision les objectifs de gestion des terres du parc. La zone 2, réserve intégrale, sera le niveau de protection fondamental; la zone 1 servira à protéger des ressources vulnérables; la zone 3 sera créée où les services seront concentrés. La composante Mallorytown Landing demeurera zone 5, aire de service du parc. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez nos politiques sur les parcs nationaux.

Carte
Acquisition de terres

Nous proposons que l’acquisition de terres se fasse uniquement à des fins écologiques ou d’amélioration des expériences offertes aux visiteurs.
Les terres seront cédées ou acquises par entente de gré à gré. Les terres dont le parc a fait ou fera l’acquisition seront placées sous la protection de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada. Cette mesure entraînera l’obligation de préserver et de protéger ces terres pour toujours.

Influence régionale
Vue depuis le belvédère de la baie Landon.
Vue depuis le belvédère de la baie Landon.
© B. Morin

Les terres fragmentées que possède le parc sont trop petites et trop isolées les unes des autres pour permettre le maintien de l’intégrité écologique sans aide extérieure. Nous proposons qu’à titre de principale aire protégée au sein de la réserve de la biosphère de l’Arche de Frontenac, le parc national des Îles‑du‑Saint-Laurent travaille en collaboration avec des partenaires, les communautés locales et les propriétaires fonciers de la région à encourager les décisions et les pratiques responsables en matière d’utilisation des terres. Le parc est hautement tributaire des communautés environnantes pour ce qui est du maintien et de l’amélioration de l’intégrité écologique de ses écosystèmes. À long terme, la santé écologique de la région a un impact direct sur la qualité de vie de ses habitants et dépend de l’appui, de l’enthousiasme et de l’engagement des propriétaires fonciers et des résidents.

Rôle international

L’emplacement du parc sur une frontière internationale et en plein cœur de la réserve de la biosphère de l’Arche de Frontenac (UNESCO) lui confère une visibilité internationale. Nous proposons de continuer à travailler en collaboration avec les organismes de conservation de l’État de New York et des États-Unis à des enjeux communs qui nécessitent une coopération internationale pour arriver à des solutions efficaces. Le parc propose également de poursuivre son étroite collaboration avec les organisations du réseau des réserves de la biosphère et d’autres intervenants voués au développement durable.

Propriétés administrées par Parcs Canada - Îles Main Duck et Yorkshire, et zone de conservation de Skoryna au lac Beverly inférieur

Le plan directeur confirmera le rôle du parc comme gardien de ces propriétés afin que leur avenir ne soit pas compromis. 

Tique occidentale à pattes noires et maladie de Lyme

La tique occidentale à pattes noires et la maladie de Lyme sont maintenant présentes dans toute la région de l’Arche de Frontenac. Le parc, dans un effort collectif de sensibilisation du public, appuiera Santé Canada, le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario, les bureaux de santé de l’Ontario, les exploitants d’entreprises touristiques ainsi que d’autres intervenants.


Discussions sur le projet d'écocivisme avec des propriétaires fonciers.
Discussions sur le projet d’écocivisme avec des propriétaires fonciers.
© Parcs Canada
Parc national du Canada des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent
Parc national du Canada des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent
© Parcs Canada