Common menu bar links

Thousand Islands National Park of Canada

What's New

Prescribed fire scheduled for May 8th on Gordon Island

The park is planning to conduct a prescribed fire on Gordon Island May 8th, 2015, based on weather conditions. The fire, approximately 5 hectares, will begin the process of restoring the island back to a mostly deciduous red oak forest. As this is an early season fire, smoke direction will be influenced by the spring winds, which will be blowing from the south-west, pushing the smoke north east. Depending on wind strength and other weather factors, there is a potential for some smoke from the fire to reach the mainland north-east of Gordon Island at ground level. Most smoke is expected to be confined to 500 metres around Gordon Island.

Riverside oTENTik camping

Wake up to sunlight glinting on water, a panorama of green islands, and a full day of family adventure ahead. Five new oTENTik roofed accommodations at Mallorytown Landing provide the perfect base for exploring the Thousand Islands. Nearby: park visitor centre, hiking trails, and a 37-km paved bicycle trail. Bring your sleeping bag, cooking equipment and food, and we’ll provide the rest – including a beautiful waterfront view!

Parks Canada oTENTik accommodations and campsites can also be reserved on park islands.

Camping Equipment Rentals

Equipped Campsites
Thousand Islands National Park is working in partnership with 1000 Islands Kayaking Company to provide tents, sleeping mats and cooking equipment to encourage a new generation of campers.

Insect superheroes at the Visitor Centre

With over one million species discovered to date, insects are phenomenally successful. They are real superheroes and have developed some terrific adaptations and strategies that allow them to live almost everywhere and to be incredibly effective at defending, feeding and reproducing themselves. Explore the amazing world of insects and meet live specimens from Montreal’s Insectarium at Thousand Islands National Park’s Mallorytown Landing visitor centre.

Insectarium logo Canadian Heritage logo

Club Parka

Parka is the proud founder of Club Parka, a series of activities that encourage you to explore, discover, learn and have fun! Aimed at children aged 1 to 5 and their families. Take part in picking Parka’s path and finding her way through the maze, explore with Parka, colour her picture, do Parka puzzles, and play eye spy with Parka.

Parks Canada Xplorers²

Xplorers² is designed for teens, but don't let age hold you back. Whether you're artistic, athletic, goofy, or just plain curious, there's a challenge for you. Do any or all of the challenges during your visit. If you like a challenge, snap a photo or video, and share it with friends. Connect with other Xplorers using the hashtag #XPLR2.

Stay Connected!

     

 More News

Parc national du Canada des Mille-Îles

Quoi de neuf

Un brûlage dirigé doit avoir lieu 8 mai sur l’île Gordon

Le parc prévoit effectuer un brûlage dirigé sur l’île Gordon le 8 mai 2015, selon les conditions météorologiques. Le feu, d’une superficie d’environ 5 hectares, lancera le processus de restauration d’une forêt principalement feuillue et composée de chênes rouges sur l‘île. Comme il s’agit d’un feu de début de saison, la direction de la fumée sera influencée par les vents printaniers qui souffleront du sud-ouest et pousseront la fumée vers le nord-est. Selon la force des vents et autres facteurs météorologiques, une partie de la fumée pourrait atteindre le continent au nord-est de l’île Gordon, au niveau du sol.

Camping « oTENTik » en bordure de rivière

Le soleil du matin qui scintille sur la rivière, un paysage d’îles couvertes de verdure et une journée complète d’aventures en famille : voilà ce qui vous attend! Les cinq nouveaux abris oTENTik à toit rigide de Mallorytown Landing sont la base idéale pour explorer les Mille-Îles. Sans oublier, à proximité, le centre d’accueil du parc, les sentiers de randonnée et une piste cyclable de 37 km. Apportez votre sac de couchage, votre matériel de cuisine et vos provisions, nous nous occupons du reste, dont la vue sur le magnifique paysage au bord de l’eau!

Il est également possible de réserver les oTENTiks et les emplacements de camping de Parcs Canada sur les îles du parc.

Location d'équipement pour camper

Camping Equipe
Le parc national des Mille-Îles travaille en partenariat avec 1000 Islands Kayaking Company (anglais seulement) pour fournir des tentes, des nattes de couchage et du matériel de cuisine pour encourager une nouvelle génération de campeurs.

Les insectes, ces superhéros

Jusqu’à présent, les scientifiques ont recensé plus d’un million d’espèces d’insectes – il va sans dire que ces animaux connaissent un succès phénoménal. Véritables superhéros, les insectes ont développé de formidables stratégies et moyens d’adaptation qui leur permettent de vivre à peu près n’importe où ainsi que de se défendre, de se nourrir et de se reproduire avec une efficacité étonnante. Explorez l’univers fascinant des insectes et faites la connaissance de spécimens vivants de l’Insectarium de Montréal au Centre d’accueil de Mallorytown Landing, dans le parc national des Mille-Îles.

Logo de Insectarium Logo Patrimoine canadien

Club Parka

Parka est le fier fondateur du club Parka, qui propose des activités diverses pour inciter les enfants à explorer, découvrir et apprendre en s’amusant! Le club s’adresse aux enfants de 1 à 5 ans et à leurs familles. Choisis l’itinéraire de Parka et aide la à sortir du labyrinthe, explore avec Parka et colorie son portrait, fais des casse tête Parka et joue au jeu de l’espion avec Parka.

Programme Xplorateur² de Parcs Canada

Le programme Xplorateur² s’adresse aux adolescents mais l’âge ne doit pas être un obstacle. Que vous soyez artiste, sportif, original ou simplement curieux, vous trouverez un défi à relever. Relevez tous les défis que vous voulez pendant votre visite. Si vous aimez particulièrement une des épreuves proposées, prenez une photo ou faites une vidéo et partagez la avec vos amis. Entrez en contact avec d’autres Xplorateurs à l’aide du mot clic #XPLR2.

Restez branché !

Autres actualités