Thousand Islands National Park of Canada

Immerse yourself in the Islands
Explore the dynamic channels of the Thousand Islands with your crew and find something to fascinate you around every bend; sunken ships, historic castles, and a landscape steeped in First Nations history.
© 1000 Islands Kayaking Company

Immerse yourself in the Islands

Escape the crowd, forget the tour boat and witness Thousand Islands National Park as few do, from the intimate perspective of a kayak. Explore the dynamic channels of the Thousand Islands with your crew and find something to fascinate you around every bend; sunken ships, historic castles, and a landscape steeped in First Nations history. Lucky paddlers may glimpse a soaring bald eagle or a family of turtles basking on a rock. Chance upon a roving park interpreter and discover elements of the park’s nature and culture up close. Tired but inspired, share the day’s stories around a crackling fire.

Plan Your Trip

Groups of islands have ideal conditions for paddling: protection from wind and lower speed limits for other boats. As well, if you choose campsites that are available on a first-come, first-served basis, paddling in groups of islands provides easy access alternative sites if one island is full.

Admiralty Islands: Mermaid, Aubrey, McDonald, Beau Rivage, Thwartway
Closest access point is the Gananoque Municipal Marina, site of 1000 Islands Kayaking Company

Lake Fleet Islands: Camelot, Endymion
Closest access points are the Gananoque Municipal Marina, site of 1000 Islands Kayaking Company and Misty Isles Lodge.

Navy Islands: Gordon, Mulcaster
Closest access points is Misty Isles Lodge.

Grenadier Island
While not a cluster of islands, has four park sites with camping at three: North, South (Central), and East Grenadier.

Closest access point is Mallorytown Landing, the mainland base of Thousand Islands National Park.

Thousand Islands Bridge, Georgina Island, Constance Island, and Hill Island
Paddling around the Thousand Islands Bridge, Georgina Island, Constance Island, and Hill Island is recommended for advanced paddlers only. The river bottlenecks here generating stronger and unpredictable currents as well as increased boat traffic.

Closest access point is a boat launch in Ivy Lea.

Camping Reservations

Thousand Islands National Park offers Parks Canada oTENTik camping accommodations on McDonald and Gordon Islands, and on the mainland at Mallorytown Landing. A number of park campsites are available for reservation. All other campsites are available on a first-come, first-served basis.

More tips

  • If you’re looking for a more tranquil experience, consider that July and August are the most popular months for visitors to Thousand Islands National Park. June and September are quieter with less boat traffic.
  • Check out our facilities and services page to pick the island that best suits your needs. Browse the availability of garbage and recycling collection, campsites, picnic shelters, wood stoves, and barbeques on different islands.
  • Docks, beaching sites, composting toilets and picnic tables are available on all serviced islands.
  • Drinking water, ice, and bathrooms with electricity and flush toilets are available on Central Grenadier Island.
  • Be sure to use a navigational chart when boating in the area.
  • Knowledgeable island attendants circulate throughout the islands to serve you and maintain facilities, sell firewood, assist with fee payment, help with concerns, and make your experience a positive one.
  • Enjoy hiking trails, campfire pits, hidden geocaches, and great swimming on the islands.

Regional Outfitters

  • 1000 Islands Kayaking Company and Misty Isles Lodge are the main regional outfitting companies offering kayak rentals. Check out their websites for more information.
  • Camping equipment rentals can be made through 1000 Islands Kayaking Company. Fully equipped camping kits or partially equipped camping kits are available.
  • The Thousand Islands Water Trail provides maps for 9 full-day and half-day routes that connect for the option of a longer trip. These maps identify access points, trip times and lengths, potential hazards, and points of natural and cultural interest. They are not replacements for accurate nautical charts.

Fees

  • See our park fees page for a full list of fees.
  • Camping must be prepaid for oTENTik accomodations and for select campsites through the Parks Canada Reservation Service.
  • Relevant fees for paddlers include beaching fees, camping fees, and firewood fees.
  • Payment options for self-registration permits:
    • At the Mallorytown Landing Visitor Centre with cash, debit, credit or a cheque made out to the Receiver General for Canada. Signs on the deposit boxes outline the fee details and instructions for self-registration.
    • Otherwise, self-register on the islands at the green deposit boxes located near most docks. Fees can be paid by cash, credit or a cheque made out to the Receiver General for Canada. Signs on the deposit boxes outline the fee details and instructions for self-registration.
  • Fees remain in the park and are used to improve facilities and services.

For Your Comfort and Safety

  • Black legged ticks, potential carriers of Lyme disease and Human Granulocytic Anaplasmosis, are common in Eastern Ontario and Thousand Islands National Park. Please visit our Ticks and Your Health page for more information on how to protect yourself.
  • Garbage and recycling service and generator use is available on limited islands. Visitors who want a more natural park experience can enjoy generator-free islands that have a pack-in, pack-out policy in place. Identify these islands on our facilities and services page.
  • To protect our forests from the Emerald Ash Borer, all firewood MUST be purchased in the park. Firewood cannot be moved into or out of the park. Collecting firewood from the forest is prohibited.
  • The water of the St. Lawrence River and other surface water in the area may carry bacteria. Water should be filtered and then treated or boiled before drinking or bring your own drinking water. For more information regarding drinking water please refer to Health Canada’s website.
  • Be sure that you are well prepared and that you have all the right gear to make every outing safe and enjoyable. Visit AdventureSmart for more details.
  • See our Visitor Safety page for complete park rules and regulations.

Parc national du Canada des Mille-Îles

Imprégnez vous de l’ambiance des îles
En explorant les cours d'eau dynamiques des Mille-Îles, vous serez émerveillé à chaque détour par des épaves, des châteaux historiques et des paysages imprégnés de l'histoire des Premières nations.
© 1000 Islands Kayaking Company

Imprégnez-vous de l’ambiance des îles

Écartez-vous de la foule, laissez le bateau d’excursion partir sans vous et voyez le parc national des Mille-Îles comme peu de gens le verront, du point de vue privilégié qu’offre un kayak. Explorez les cours d’eau dynamiques des Mille-Îles avec votre équipage. Vous serez émerveillé à chaque détour par des épaves, des châteaux historiques et des paysages imprégnés de l’histoire des Premières nations. Les pagayeurs ont parfois la chance de voir planer un pygargue à tête blanche ou d’apercevoir une famille de tortues qui se chauffe au soleil sur une roche. Vous rencontrerez peut-être un interprète itinérant du parc, qui vous fera découvrir de près des éléments naturels et culturels du parc. À la fin de la journée, fatigués mais comblés, vous pourrez partager vos aventures de la journée autour d’un feu crépitant.

Planifiez votre visite

Un archipel est un lieu idéal pour le canotage et le kayak, notamment parce qu’il offre une protection contre le vent et que la limite de vitesse des bateaux y est moins élevée qu’ailleurs.  En outre, si vous choisissez un emplacement de camping attribué selon le principe du « premier arrivé, premier servi », l'utilisation d'un canot ou d'un kayak dans les archipels vous permettra d'accéder facilement à un autre endroit lorsqu'une île est à pleine capacité.

Îles Admiralty : Mermaid, Aubrey, McDonald, Beau Rivage, Thwartway
Le point d’accès le plus près est la Gananoque Municipal Marina (anglais seulement), où se trouve 1000 Islands Kayaking Company (anglais seulement).

Îles Lake Fleet : Camelot, Endymion
Les points d’accès les plus près sont la Gananoque Municipal Marina, où se trouve 1000 Islands Kayaking Company (anglais seulement), et Misty Isles Lodge (anglais seulement).

Îles Navy : Gordon, Mulcaster
Le point d’accès le plus près est Misty Isles Lodge.

L’île Grenadier
Bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’un archipel, compte quatre secteurs dont trois contiennent des emplacements de camping : Grenadier - Nord, Grenadier - Sud (Centre) et Grenadier - Est.

Le point d’accès le plus près est Mallorytown Landing, où se trouvent les principales installations terrestres du parc national des Mille-Îles.

Pont des Mille-Îles, de l’île Georgina, de l’île Constance et de l’île Hill
Nous recommandons uniquement aux pagayeurs expérimentés de s’aventurer près du pont des Mille-Îles, de l’île Georgina, de l’île Constance et de l’île Hill puisqu’à ces endroits, la rivière se rétrécit, ce qui produit des courants forts et imprévisibles. De plus, la circulation maritime est plus lourde à ces endroits.

Le point d’accès le plus près est l’emplacement de mise à l’eau de Ivy Lea.

Réservations de camping

Le parc national des Mille-Îles offre aux visiteurs une nouvelle possibilité d’hébergement sur les îles McDonald et Gordon, de même qu’à Mallorytown Landing : les tentes oTENTik de Parcs Canada. Il est possible de réserver un certain nombre d’emplacements de camping. Tous les autres emplacements de camping sont attribués selon le principe du « premier arrivé, premier servi ».

Autres conseils

  • Si vous êtes davantage à la recherche de tranquillité, sachez que c’est en juillet et en août que le parc national des Mille-Îles accueille le plus de visiteurs. Le parc est moins fréquenté en juin et en septembre, et la circulation maritime y est moins intense.
  • Consultez notre page des installations et services pour choisir l’île qui répond le mieux à vos besoins. Cette page contient des renseignements sur la collecte des déchets et des matières recyclables, les terrains de camping, les abris de pique-nique, les poêles à bois et les barbecues sur chaque île.
  • Toutes les îles avec service comprennent des quais, des emplacements d’échouage, des toilettes à compostage et des tables à pique-nique.
  • On trouve de l’eau potable, de la glace et des prises électriques sur l’île Grenadier-Centre.
  • Veuillez utiliser des cartes hydrographiques lorsque vous naviguez dans le secteur du parc.
  • Des préposés qui connaissent bien les îles circulent pour vous servir, entretenir les installations, vendre du bois à brûler, vous aider à payer les droits, vous aider en cas de problème et vous aider à vivre une expérience agréable.
  • Profitez de sentiers de randonnée pédestre d’activités de géocachette et d’excellents lieux de baignade autour des îles.

Pourvoyeurs régionaux

  • 1000 Islands Kayaking Company (anglais seulement) et Misty Isles Lodge (anglais seulement) sont les principales pourvoiries de la région. Elles offrent la location de kayaks. Consultez leurs sites Web pour en savoir davantage.
  • Des locations d'équipement pour camper peuvent être faites à travers 1000 Islands Kayaking Company (anglais seulement). Des locations équipées entièrement ou partiellement, dépendamment aux besoins des locataires.
  • Thousand Islands Water Trail (anglais seulement) propose les cartes de 9 trajets d’une journée ou d’une demi-journée que l’on peut combiner pour effectuer un trajet plus long. Ces cartes précisent les points d’accès, la durée et la longueur des trajets, les risques possibles ainsi que les points d’intérêt naturels et culturels. Ces cartes ne doivent en aucun cas se substituer à de véritables cartes hydrographiques.

Droits

  • La liste complète des droits se trouve à la page de la tarification du parc.
  • Les droits qui concernent les pagayeurs sont les droits d’échouage, les droits de camping et le prix du bois à brûler.
  • Il est possible de payer d’avance lors de la réservation d’une tente oTENTik ou d’un emplacement de camping déterminé par l’intermédiaire du Service de réservation de Parcs Canada.
  • Options de paiement des permis:
    • Au Centre d’accueil à Mallorytown Landing avec de l'argent comptant, carte de débit ou de crédit ou d'un chèque à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada.
    • Sinon, votre enregistrement sur les îles peut être fait au coffre vert situé près des quais. Les frais peuvent être payés par carte de crédit, par argent contant ou par chèque à l'ordre du Receveur général du Canada.
  • Les droits perçus sont réinvestis dans le parc et servent à améliorer les installations et les services.

Consignes à respecter pour assurer votre confort et votre sécurité

  • La tique à pattes noires, qui peut être porteuse de la bactérie responsable de la maladie de Lyme et de l'anaplasmose granulocytaire chez l’être humain, est commune dans l’Est de l’Ontario et au parc national des Mille-Îles. Veuillez consulter notre page Les tiques et votre santé pour en savoir davantage sur les façons de vous protéger.
  • Consultez notre page des installations et services pour choisir l’île qui répond le mieux à vos besoins. Cette page indique pour chaque île si l’utilisation des génératrices est permise et contient des renseignements sur la collecte des déchets et des matières recyclables, les emplacements de camping, les abris de pique-nique, les poêles à bois et les barbecues.
  • Pour protéger nos forêts de l’agrile du frêne, tout le bois doivent être achetés dans le parc. Le bois ne peut pas être déplacé dans ou à l'extérieur du parc. La collecte du bois de la forêt est interdite.
  • L’eau du fleuve Saint-Laurent et des autres étendues d’eau de la région peut contenir des bactéries. L’eau devrait être filtrée et traitée ou bouillie avant d’être consommée ou apportez de l’eau potable. Pour obtenir plus d’information sur l’eau potable, consultez le site Web de Santé Canada.
  • Assurez-vous que vous êtes bien préparé pour avoir une sortie sécuritaire et agréable. Visitez AventureSmart pour plus de détails.
  • Consultez notre page Sécurité des visiteurs pour connaître l’ensemble des règles et des règlements du parc.