Georgian Bay Islands National Park of Canada

Cultural Heritage

HISTORY

While hiking the trails of Georgian Bay Islands National Park, the visitor with a keen eye and vivid imagination is awestruck by the vast stretches of time taken to shape the natural history of the park. What appears to be only a hill may actually be a glacial deposit or a shoreline dating back thousands of years, and the exposed Canadian Shield rock that is today so familiar to park visitors was in fact formed many millions of years ago.

Otter Creek projectile made from Onondaga�0;A; chert, Middle Archaic period, 7,000 years ago
Figure 1: Otter Creek projectile made from Onondaga chert, Middle Archaic period, 7,000 years ago
© Parks Canada/ Collection GBINP

What is less apparent is the fact that Georgian Bay Islands National Park also preserves human cultural history as well as the more obvious natural history. Long before Beausoleil Island was a haven for tourists, it was visited and inhabited by many distinct Aboriginal peoples. Artifacts from as far back as the Middle Archaic period, 7,000 years ago, have been found, such as an Otter Creek projectile made from Onondaga chert (See Figure 1). The remains of ancient pottery, tools, and hunting implements that have been found on Beausoleil have enabled archaeologists to determine that the island was, in all probability, used as a summer camp by early hunting and gathering cultures. These include primarily a Middle Woodland site occupied by the Point Peninsula and Saugeen groups (2,400-1,300 years ago), and the Algonkian speaking Odawa (or Ottawa) of the Late Woodland Period (600-400 years ago). Several other cultures have also left evidence of their occupation on the island.

Algonkian and Wendat (Huron) people of the Georgian Bay area first experienced actual European contact in the early 1600s following Champlain's historic voyage of 1615. The first mention of one of the park's islands was made by Gabriel Sagard in 1624 describing a visit to an Algonkian village on what is believed to have been Beausoleil Island. Following European contact, the Native people experienced social turbulence and a disruption of their way of life, as a result of repeated relocation and encroachment by Europeans. New diseases were often present in communities long before the actual presence of a white man arrived. The Algonkian people returned to their traditional land farther east and finally, French missionary activity led to an encounter between the Wendat and Iroquois Confederacy which resulted in the dispersal and migration of the Wendat Nation to Quebec and to the southern United States. Most recently, however, the Wendat were welcomed back to their original territory in a ceremony after 350 years of absence by the Ojibwa nations, who now occupy the area.

The Ojibwa from the Great Lakes arrived in the Georgian Bay area in the early 18th century. Being hunters and gatherers, they had sound knowledge of the land, the medicines, and the animals. The Ojibwa became a major economic force in the fur trade and played a major role in the military force during the War of 1812. Fearing attack from the south, there was pressure on the Ojibwa to be removed from certain areas to strategically allow for routes of defence, eliminating access to their traditional travelling routes. The introduction of colonization began to change everything for the Ojibwa. In time, the Ojibwa surrendered more and more of their land until they had the rights to only a fraction of their former holdings.

By the beginning of the 19th century they had been localized in Reserves where they were encouraged to adopt the ways of "civilized" man. Written documents from the period show that politicians and religious leaders of the time wanted to "save" the Ojibwa from their traditional lifestyle of hunting and gathering by teaching them the ways of the Christian farmer. An "experiment" was set up in 1830 at Coldwater in order to promote the lifestyle of the Bible and the plough. Eventually, the experiment failed due to inferior equipment, incompetent staff, and factional infighting among the missionaries. In 1836, the people were divided under three principle chiefs and moved to different locations. One group under Chief John Assance settled on Beausoleil Island. The other two groups settled in Mnjikaning (Rama) along the shores of Lake Couchiching and Georgina Island in southern Lake Simcoe.

OJIBWA RESERVE (1836 - 1856)

On Beausoleil Island, under the leadership of Chief John Assance, the band continued to pursue an agricultural lifestyle and a Christian education. Settling at what is now Cedar Spring, a cleared meadow that is visible from the water is all that remains of the fields that were tilled here more than a century and a half ago. The settlement included 16 log houses, a church, two barns and more than 80 hectares of land cleared for growing corn and potatoes.

Life was very difficult for the Beausoleil Band. The island proved to be quite difficult for farming; the sandy barren soil caused repeated crop failures despite their efforts. Although the fishing was very plentiful, they could not sustain themselves there, and the once independent band was forced to rely on the government for staples such as flour and pork. In 1856, the band moved west to another island in Georgian Bay, Christian Island, bringing with them the name Beausoleil First Nation. Today, Beausoleil First Nation continues to flourish as a community that has endured displacement and colonization.

A few settlers did remain on Beausoleil, eking out a life with a determined spirit.

HOMESTEADERS

"About these harsh barren islands there is an undeniable fascination..."
- A.Y. Jackson, Group of Seven

Although the majority of the band moved, some chose to remain on Beausoleil Island and continue their lives. Initially the settlers were all Ojibwa, but in time, homesteaders from other origins drifted to the island: French voyageurs, Scottish immigrants and people of the Pottawatomie Nation from the United States.

Some remained in the original village, but as the houses fell into disrepair, more and more of them built shacks and cabins in the bush where it was sheltered from the fierce winter winds. Many names in the park, Tonch Point, Tobey Dock come from the families who originally lived there. They were a tough breed of men and women who managed to squeeze a living out of this barren yet hauntingly beautiful land. They were the type of people who would walk 165 km to Toronto; who would spend the entire winter away from their families at logging camps; who would risk the unpredictable bay in canoes or haul a sled load of furs across the ice to Penetanguishene.

Among those who lived on Beausoleil Island was Joe Corbière, a French voyageur. A lilac bush still grows on the shores of Frying Pan Bay, at the spot where Joe and his wife Susan lived. Joe was a well-educated man who could read three languages: French, Ojibwa and English. Years later when he became deaf, he learned to lip-read in all three languages. According to government records, the Corbières had, in the year 1929, "a fairly good log house with a frame lean-to and a log barn. Three cows, one pig and some chickens." The Corbières also kept a large garden where they grew corn, potatoes, oats and strawberries. Joe trapped, sold furs and filled icehouses for the ever-increasing number of visitors and residents to the area.

Gradually, the homesteaders moved away. In the few years preceding the formation of the park, only three families remained: the Corbières, Tonches and the Tobeys.

The end of the independent life of the homesteaders on Beausoleil Island was foreshadowed by extension of the railroad to Collingwood, a nearby harbour town. With the railway came a new influx of settlers, and rich summer tourists. Lumber mills sprouted out of nowhere, tearing at the guts of the forests with no regard for their majestic beauty. Beausoleil Island was not left untouched by this turmoil. Timber licenses were issued between 1864 and 1921. Sand and gravel, used to build such structures as the Midland dock and the Port McNicoll grain elevators, were quarried from several sites on the island. A trestle or tramway was built to facilitate the transfer of sand from the quarry near Cedar Spring (site of the old incinerator).

There is a silver lining in every cloud even if it comes in an unlikely form. Beausoleil Island was eyed as a potential resort site at the turn of the century, but the plan was never realized because the company, which held the timber rights, had the right to refuse permission for such development.

Thus this island was saved from private interests, eventually to be set-aside for the people of Canada as a national park. When the park was established in 1929, the few families remaining on the island were supported financially in their move off the island so they could re-establish their homes elsewhere. Many chose to live in Honey Harbour, while others preferred the nearby islands. Today, many of their children, grandchildren and great grandchildren still visit or work at the park.

THE PARK

It is announced that the Dominion Government has secured twenty-nine islands in the Georgian Bay, which are to be set aside for national park purposes. These islands ... are of rare beauty and of varying sizes ... it will be a consoling thought to the public to know that they are to have retained for their use some portion of Northern Ontario's earthly paradise.
-The Globe, Jan. 8, 1930

And so it was in 1929 that Eastern Canada's third National Park was formed in what was one of the fastest-growing vacation spots in Canada. Wealthy tourists had been buying up islands in the Georgian Bay at an alarming rate and by the 1920s; Beausoleil Island was the last large island available in the Thirty Thousand Islands. Local residents, who saw the danger in total private ownership of these islands, petitioned the federal government to set aside Beausoleil as a national park. In preparation for the opening of the Park, the three remaining families were compensated and moved off the island.

Today there are more than 59 islands in the Park. Despite this seemingly large number, the total area is a mere 12 square kilometres.

Although the Park is relatively young, it has seen many changes. With the convenience of today it is easy to forget that in the 1930s going for supplies meant rowing to Penetanguishene or that two horses were listed in the inventory as Park equipment.

There have been deeper changes as well. In early Park days, firewood was cut from within the Park; wolves and porcupines were shot; mosquitoes and weeds were heavily sprayed. Today, none of these things are done, reflecting a growing recognition that if these islands are to remain places of natural beauty for years to come, there must be as little interference with natural cycles as possible.

"Wisdom is not a knowledge of many things, but the perception of the underlying unrelated facts."
- John Burnet

Parc national du Canada des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne

Patrimoine Culturel

HISTOIRE

En parcourant les sentiers du parc national des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne, le visiteur à l'oeil vif et à l'imagination fertile est stupéfait de constater tout le temps qu'il a fallu pour façonner l'histoire naturelle du parc. Ce qui semble n'être qu'une colline peut en fait être un dépôt glaciaire ou un littoral qui remonte à des milliers d'années, et le rocher de surface du Bouclier canadien que les visiteurs du parc connaissent si bien s'est en fait formé il y a de nombreux millions d'années.

Projectile du ruisseau Otter en silex onondaga de la période archaïque moyenne, il y a sept mille ans
Figure 1: Projectile du ruisseau Otter en silex onondaga de la période archaïque moyenne, il y a sept mille ans
© Parcs Canada/ Collection PNIBG

Parcs CanadaFigure 1: Projectile du ruisseau Otter en silex onondaga de la période archaïque moyenne, il y a sept mille ans.
Ce qui est moins apparent est le fait que le parc national des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne préserve également l'histoire culturelle ainsi que l'histoire naturelle qui y est plus évidente. Bien avant que l'île Beausoleil ne devienne un paradis pour les touristes, ses côtes sont visitées et habitées par beaucoup de peuples autochtones. On a trouvé des artefacts qui datent de la période archaïque moyenne, il y a sept mille ans, comme ce projectile du ruisseau Otter en silex onondaga (voir la figure 1). Les vestiges de poterie ancienne, d'outils et d'instruments de chasse trouvés sur l'île Beausoleil ont permis aux archéologues d'établir que l'île servait, selon toute probabilité, de camp d'été aux peuples primitifs qui vivaient de la chasse et de la cueillette. C'est le cas d'un site du Sylvicole moyen occupé par les groupes de la Péninsule et de Saugeen (2 400-1 300 ans) et les Odawas (ou Ottawas) de langue algonquienne du Sylvicole Terminal (600-400 ans). Plusieurs autres cultures ont également laissé des traces de leur occupation.

Les Algonquiens et les Wendats (Hurons) de la région de la baie Georgienne ont été les premiers à entrer véritablement en contact avec les Européens au début des années 1600, à la suite du voyage historique de Champlain en 1615. C'est Gabriel Sagard qui mentionne pour la première fois l'une des îles du parc en 1624 lorsqu'il décrit une visite à un village algonquien situé sur ce qu'on croit être l'île Beausoleil. Après le contact avec les Européens, les Autochtones connaissent une période de turbulence sociale et une perturbation de leur mode de vie en raison de nombreux déplacements et de l'empiétement des Européens. Il y a souvent de nouvelles maladies dans les communautés longtemps avant l'arrivée de l'homme blanc. Les Algonquiens retournent à leur terre ancestrale plus à l'est et enfin, les missionnaires français contribuent à la rencontre entre les Wendats et la Confédération iroquoise, qui entraîne la dispersion de la nation wendat et sa migration vers Québec et le Sud des États-Unis. Il n'y a pas longtemps toutefois, les Wendats ont retrouvé leur territoire d'origine après 350 ans d'absence au cours d'une cérémonie organisée par les nations ojibways qui occupent maintenant la région.

Les Ojibways des Grands Lacs arrivent dans la région de la baie Georgienne au début du XVIIIe siècle. Chasseurs et cueilleurs, ils connaissent la terre, les produits médicinaux et les animaux. Ils deviennent d'importants intervenants économiques dans le commerce des fourrures et jouent un rôle militaire important au cours de la Guerre de 1812. Craignant une attaque du sud, on exerce des pressions sur les Ojibways pour qu'ils se retirent de certaines régions pour qu'on puisse y aménager des voies stratégiques de défense, ce qui les prive de leurs itinéraires traditionnels. La colonisation marque le début du changement pour les Ojibways. À mesure que les années s'écoulent, ils cèdent de plus en plus de terres jusqu'à ce qu'ils ne détiennent des droits que sur une petite fraction de leurs avoirs fonciers antérieurs.

Au début du XIXe siècle, ils sont réinstallés dans des réserves où ils sont encouragés à adopter les us et coutumes des peuples dits " civilisés ". Des documents de l'époque révèlent que les politiciens et les chefs religieux d'alors veulent " sauver " les Ojibways du mode de vie traditionnel reposant sur la chasse et la cueillette en leur enseignant celui du fermier chrétien. En 1830, on tente une " expérience " à Coldwater pour promouvoir le style de vie de la Bible et l'exploitation de la terre. L'expérience échoue en raison de l'équipement inadéquat, du personnel incompétent et des luttes intestines entre les missionnaires. En 1836, le peuple se divise en trois groupes dirigés chacun par un grand chef, qui s'installent à des endroits différents. Un groupe, dirigé par le chef John Assance, s'installe sur l'île Beausoleil. Les deux autres s'établissent à Mnjikaning (Rama) sur les rives du lac Couchiching et sur l'île Georgina dans la partie sud du lac Simcoe.

RÉSERVE OJIBWAY (1836-1856)

Sur l'île Beausoleil, la bande dirigée par le chef John Assance continue de vivre de l'agriculture et de recevoir une éducation chrétienne. Elle s'établit à l'endroit maintenant appelé Source aux Cèdres où il ne reste des champs cultivés il y a plus de cent cinquante ans qu'un pré visible de la rive. L'établissement comprend seize maisons de pièce sur pièce, une église, deux granges et plus de quatre-vingts hectares de terre défrichée où poussent le maïs et les pommes de terre.

La vie est très difficile pour la bande sur l'île Beausoleil. C'est un endroit peu propice à l'agriculture. Malgré les efforts déployés, les sols arides et sablonneux ne donnent, année après année, que de bien piètres récoltes de maïs. Malgré l'abondance du poisson, la bande ne parvient plus à subvenir à ses besoins et, jadis autonome, doit s'en remettre au gouvernement pour ce qui est des aliments de base comme la farine et le porc. En 1856, la bande s'installe sur une autre île de la baie Georgienne située à l'ouest, l'île Christian, et conserve le nom de Première nation Beausoleil. Ses descendants forment aujourd'hui une communauté bien vivante, qui a su résister aux déplacements et à la colonisation.

Quelques colons sont demeurés sur l'île Beausoleil, subsistant pauvrement mais avec détermination.

LES PIONNIERS

" Ces îles arides et rudes ont une indéniable puissance d'envoûtement... "
- A.Y. Jackson, Groupe des sept

Bien que la majorité des membres de la bande quittent les lieux, certains d'entre eux choisissent de squatter dans l'île Beausoleil. Au début, les pionniers sont tous Ojibways, mais avec le temps, des colons d'autres origines dérivent en quelque sorte jusqu'à l'île : voyageurs français, immigrants écossais et Potawatomis venus des États-Unis.

Certains restent dans le village d'origine, mais à mesure que les maisons tombent en ruine, de plus en plus d'habitants se construisent des baraques et des cabanes dans les boisés qui les protègent des vents violents d'hiver. Beaucoup des noms désignant des lieux ou des aménagements dans le parc rappellent les premières familles qui vivaient sur ces terres, comme la pointe Tonch ou le débarcadère Tobey. C'est une race forte de femmes et d'hommes qui réussissent à vivre de cette terre aride, mais d'une beauté tellement fascinante. Ils sont de ceux qui peuvent parcourir 165 kilomètres à pied pour se rendre à Toronto; passer tout l'hiver loin de leur famille dans les chantiers; traverser la baie imprévisible en canot ou tirer un traîneau de fourrures sur la glace jusqu'à Penetanguishene.

Parmi les habitants de l'île Beausoleil se trouve un " voyageur " français, Joe Corbière. Un lilas pousse encore sur les rives de la baie Frying Pan, à l'endroit où vivaient Joe et Susan Corbière. Joe est un homme instruit qui lit trois langues : le français, l'ojibway et l'anglais. Devenu sourd, il apprend à lire ces trois langues sur les lèvres. Selon des dossiers du gouvernement, les Corbière possèdent, en 1929, " une maison de pièce sur pièce tout à fait convenable dotée d'un appentis, et une grange aussi de pièce sur pièce; trois vaches, un cochon et quelques poules ". Les Corbière ont également un grand potager où poussent du maïs, des pommes de terre, de l'avoine et des fraises. Joe trappe, vend des fourrures et remplit les glacières pour répondre aux besoins du nombre croissant de visiteurs et de résidants de la région.

Peu à peu, les colons quittent les lieux. Quelques années avant la création du parc, seules trois familles habitent encore l'île, soit les Corbière, les Tonch et les Tobey.

La prolongation du chemin de fer vers Collingwood - ville portuaire située tout près - présage la fin de la vie autonome des squatteurs de l'île Beausoleil. Le chemin de fer amène un afflux de colons et de riches estivants. Les scieries poussent comme des champignons, détruisant les forêts sans égard à leur majestueuse beauté. L'île Beausoleil n'est pas épargnée. Des permis d'exploitation forestière sont délivrés entre 1864 et 1921. Le sable et le gravier, utilisés pour construire le quai de Midland et les élévateurs à grains de Port McNicoll, sont extraits de carrières creusées en maints endroits de l'île. Pour faciliter le transport du sable depuis la carrière située à proximité de la Source aux Cèdres (lieu de l'ancien incinérateur), on construit un convoyeur sur chevalets.

À quelque chose malheur est bon, même si ce n'est pas toujours évident. Au tournant du siècle, on pressent en l'île Beausoleil un lieu de vacances privilégié. Toutefois, ce projet ne voit pas le jour parce que la compagnie qui détient les droits d'exploitation forestière a aussi le droit de refuser l'autorisation d'un tel aménagement.

Ainsi, cette île est sauvée des exploitants privés pour être remise, plus tard, aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes, aménagée en parc national. Lorsque le parc est établi en 1929, les quelques familles qui y vivent encore reçoivent une aide financière pour quitter l'île et s'installer ailleurs. Bon nombre choisissent Honey Harbour tandis que d'autres préfèrent les îles avoisinantes. Aujourd'hui, nombreux sont leurs enfants, petits-enfants et arrière-petits-enfants à visiter encore le parc ou à y travailler.

LE PARC

" On annonce que le gouvernement fédéral a acquis vingt-neuf îles de la baie Georgienne, qui seront réservées pour les fins d'un parc national. Ces îles (...) aux dimensions variées, sont d'une rare beauté (...) le grand public aura la consolation d'avoir désormais à sa disposition une partie du paradis terrestre du Nord de l'Ontario. "
The Globe, 8 janvier 1930 (traduction libre)

C'est donc en 1929 que le troisième parc national de l'Est du Canada est établi; il devient rapidement l'un des lieux de vacances les plus recherchés du Canada. Des touristes riches achètent des îles de la baie Georgienne à un rythme effarant et, en 1920, l'île Beausoleil est la dernière grande île de Trente Mille Îles qui n'est la propriété de personne. Percevant le danger que représente l'appartenance de toutes les îles à des intérêts privés, les résidants locaux présentent une pétition au gouvernement fédéral demandant à ce dernier de réserver à l'île Beausoleil la vocation de parc national. Avant l'ouverture du parc, les trois familles vivant encore dans l'île reçoivent une indemnisation et quittent les lieux.

Le parc compte actuellement plus de 59 îles. Bien que ce nombre paraisse élevé, la superficie totale n'est que de 12 kilomètres carrés.

Même si le parc n'a pas encore beaucoup d'années d'existence, il a subi de nombreux changements. Tous les services offerts aujourd'hui nous font oublier que dans les années trente, il fallait se rendre en canot à Penetanguishene pour s'approvisionner ou que deux chevaux étaient consignés dans l'inventaire de l'équipement du parc.

Il y a eu d'autres changements encore plus profonds. Dans les premiers temps, on coupait le bois à brûler dans les forêts du parc; on tuait les loups et les porcs-épics; on épandait beaucoup d'insecticide pour éliminer les moustiques et les mauvaises herbes. Aujourd'hui, on n'agit plus de la même façon parce que l'on sait que ces îles ne conserveront leur beauté naturelle que dans la mesure où les cycles naturels seront perturbés le moins possible.

" La sagesse n'est pas la connaissance de beaucoup de choses, mais la perception de l'unité sous-jacente des extrêmes opposés. "
- John Burnet (traduction libre)