Georgian Bay Islands National Park of Canada

Natural Heritage

Lying on the edge of the Canadian Shield, the Park islands are home to both northern and southern species of plants and animals. This "edge effect" is evident in the Park landscape. The barren, glacier-scraped rock and windswept pines that fired the imagination of the Group of Seven artists dominate the northern islands and northern Beausoleil Island. Southern Beausoleil, with its thicker soils and rich hardwood forests is very different.

Windswept pines on the rocky Canadian Shield shoreline of Georgian Bay Islands National Park of Canada 
Windswept pines on the rocky Canadian Shield shoreline of Georgian Bay Islands National Park of Canada
© Parks Canada / G. Gemmell

The islands of Georgian Bay are renowned for the variety of reptiles and amphibians they support. The park has designated four of these, including the eastern massasauga rattlesnake, as priority species requiring special protection. Beausoleil Island is one of the last refuges for the seldom seen eastern massasauga; the only snake in Ontario whose venom is poisonous and potentially dangerous. If you should spot one, do not handle or provoke the snake, and please contact Park staff. In spring, a variety of birds sweep into Georgian Bay Islands National Park in a burst of noise and colour. Pockets of pink, yellow, and purple wildflowers decorate the Park in summer, yielding centre stage to the hardwood forest, which flames with brilliant reds and yellows in autumn. In the winter, cross-country skiers look for animal tracks on icy, snow-covered Beausoleil Island.

The park at its peak: summer is a time of stunning contrasts at Georgian Bay Islands, when the sun brings out the richest colours of the landscape. On sunny days, the Bay's cobalt waters form a striking counterpart to the light blue of the sky, the pinkish rocks of the Canadian Shield, and the dark green of the park's famous windswept pines. The Cambrian Trail, in the north part of Beausoleil Island, offers especially striking views of these natural features.

WILDLIFE OF GEORGIAN BAY ISLANDS

One of the most remarkable features of the islands of Georgian Bay is the incredible variety of plants and animals which are found within a relatively small area. It is not unusual because there is a mingling of northern and southern species, those of wet and dry environments, and those associated with both limestone-based and Canadian Shield soils.

The landscape is dominated by the hard Shield rock and by a few hardy plant species suited to rigorous conditions: lichens, white pines, junipers and red oak. Yet there are also small but dense stands of sugar maple and beech. Scattered among the rock outcrops are hundreds of small bogs and ponds. More kinds of reptiles and amphibians live here than anywhere else in Canada, 33 species. In the summer, the black tem, a bird not usually found this far north, is an occasional visitor while the snowy owl, a resident of the open arctic tundra, sometimes wanders this far south in the winter.

The islands and shorelines of Georgian Bay belong to an area of mixed coniferous and hardwood forest known as the Great Lakes - St. Lawrence Forest Region. It is a transition zone between the hardwood forests which extend into the United States and the boreal forests of the Canadian north.

Georgian Bay not only lies within a climatic and forest type transitional zone, but also one of bedrock and soils. Soils developed on limestone are quite different from those of the Shield and Beausoleil has both types.

Glaciation is another factor responsible for the great variety of vegetation and animal life found here. In places, the rock has been scoured of all soil, while in others, thick deposits of till favour growth of hardwood forest. Glaciers have also been responsible for gouging out depressions which have been filled with the ponds and bogs so typical of this area.

Finally, the moderating effect of such a huge body of water, Georgian Bay, must be taken into account. While larger more protected islands may have quite a variety of wildlife, the outer wind-swept and wave-worn islets support little life. Thus on one island you may find a wide variety of orchids, or a forest carpeted with white trilliums, while not far away, another island supports only lichens and wind-resistant shrubs. Overall, however, the bay has an important warming effect which makes the plants and animal life found on its shores and islands different from those found further inland.

MAJOR HABITATS FOUND IN GEORGIAN BAY

1. OPEN EXPOSED AREAS

  • rocky outcrops
  • beaches and disturbed areas

2. WETLANDS

  • marshy and shoreline
  • bogs and beaver ponds
  • swamps and wet forests

3. MIXED FORESTS

4. OUTER ISLANDS

Parc national du Canada des Îles-de-la- Baie-Georgienne

Patrimoine naturel

Situées en bordure du Bouclier canadien, les îles du parc abritent des espèces septentrionales et méridionales de plantes et d'animaux. Cet " effet lisière " est évident dans le paysage du parc. Les rochers arides raclés par les glaciers et les pins secoués par les vents, qui ont frappé l'imagination des artistes du groupe des Sept, sont la dominante des îles nordiques et du nord de l'île Beausoleil. Le sud de l'île Beausoleil, aux sols plus épais et aux forêts riches en feuillus, est très différent.

Pins balayés par le vent sur les côtes rocheuses du parc national du Canada des Îles-de-la-Baie- Georgienne, terrain typique du Bouclier canadien. 
Pins balayés par le vent sur les côtes rocheuses du parc national du Canada des Îles-de-la-Baie- Georgienne, terrain typique du Bouclier canadien.
© Parks Canada / G. Gemmell
Les îles de la baie Georgienne sont renommées pour leur grande variété de reptiles et d'amphibiens. Les responsables du parc ont désigné quatre espèces, dont le massasauga, à protéger en priorité. L'île Beausoleil est l'un des derniers refuges du massasauga, que l'on voit rarement. C'est en effet le seul serpent en Ontario dont le venin est toxique, et même dangereux. Alors, si vous en apercevez un, ne le touchez pas et ne le provoquez pas; veuillez informer le personnel du parc de sa présence. Au printemps, une variété d'oiseaux envahit le parc national des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne dans une explosion de bruits et de couleurs. Des massifs de fleurs sauvages roses, jaunes et violettes décorent le parc en été, cédant la place aux rouges et aux jaunes flamboyants de la forêt de feuillus à l'automne. Pendant l'hiver, les skieurs de fond peuvent observer les pistes d'animaux dans l'île Beausoleil glacée, couverte de neige.

Le parc à son meilleur : l'été est l'époque des contrastes les plus étonnants dans les îles de la baie Georgienne, le soleil faisant ressortir les plus riches couleurs du paysage. Les jours ensoleillés, le bleu cobalt de l'eau contrebalance le bleu clair du ciel, la teinte rosée des rochers du Bouclier canadien et le vert intense des pins du parc battus par le vent. Le sentier Cambrian, dans le nord de l'île Beausoleil, offre des vues particulièrement saisissantes de ces beautés naturelles.

LA FAUNE ET LA FLORE DES ÎLES DE LA BAIE GEORGIENNE

L'une des particularités les plus remarquables des îles de la baie Georgienne est l'incroyable variété de plantes et d'animaux que l'on trouve dans cette région relativement petite. La présence simultanée d'espèces septentrionales et méridionales, d'espèces des milieux humides et des milieux secs, d'espèces des sols calcaires et des sols du Bouclier est tout à fait exceptionnelle.

Le paysage est façonné par le roc dur du Bouclier canadien et caractérisé par quelques espèces de plantes rustiques adaptées à ces conditions rigoureuses : le lichen, le pin blanc, le genévrier et le chêne rouge. Mais on y trouve également des peuplements restreints, mais denses, d'érables à sucre et de hêtres à grandes feuilles. Des centaines de petites tourbières et de petits étangs sont disséminés dans les affleurements rocheux. Un plus grand nombre de reptiles et d'amphibiens - 33 espèces - vivent en ces lieux que nulle part ailleurs au Canada. Fait inusité, la sterne noire, oiseau qu'on ne voit habituellement pas aussi au nord, vient faire une visite occasionnelle en été, et le harfang des neiges, résidant de la grande toundra arctique, s'y montre parfois l'hiver.

Les îles et les rives de la baie Georgienne font partie d'une aire de forêt de conifères et d'arbres feuillus mélangée, connue sous le nom de Forêt des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent. C'est une zone de transition entre les forêts d'arbres feuillus qui s'étendent jusqu'aux États-Unis et les forêts boréales du Nord du Canada.

La baie Georgienne se trouve non seulement dans une zone de transition climatique de type forestier, mais aussi dans une zone de substratum rocheux et de sols. Les sols calcaires sont bien différents de ceux du Bouclier, et dans l'île Beausoleil, les deux types sont présents.

La glaciation est un autre facteur qui a favorisé la diversification de la végétation et de la faune que l'on trouve en ces lieux. En certains endroits, le roc a été décapé de tout sol, tandis qu'ailleurs, d'épais dépôts de till facilitent la croissance de forêts d'arbres feuillus. Les glaciers ont aussi contribué à creuser des dépressions comblées par les étangs et les tourbières qui caractérisent cette région.

En dernier lieu, l'effet modérateur d'une aussi grande masse d'eau, la baie Georgienne, doit être pris en compte. Bien que les plus grandes îles, mieux protégées que les plus petites, soient susceptibles d'abriter une faune et une flore diversifiées, dans les îlots balayés par les vents et usés par les vagues, la vie est restreinte. Par conséquent, dans une île, vous pouvez apercevoir une variété d'orchidées, ou une forêt tapissée de trilles grandiflores, alors que dans une autre île pas très loin, seuls les lichens et des arbrisseaux résistants au vent survivent. Dans l'ensemble, la baie a un effet de réchauffement important, ce qui explique que les plantes et les animaux du littoral et des îles diffèrent de ceux qui se trouvent plus profondément à l'intérieur des terres.

PRINCIPAUX HABITATS DANS LA BAIE GEORGIENNE

1. AIRES DÉNUDÉES OUVERTES

  • affleurements rocheux
  • plages et aires perturbées

2. MILIEUX HUMIDES

  • marais
  • tourbières et étangs de castors
  • marécages et forêts ombrophiles
  • littoraux marécageux

3. FORÊTS MÉLANGÉES

4. ÎLES PÉRIPHÉRIQUES