Ukkusiksalik National Park of Canada

Visitor Safety

Visitors must travel with an experienced guide or outfitter. A guided group traveling in this park must carry appropriate gear, be self-reliant and able to handle any medical or wildlife-related emergency.

Careful pre trip planning is essential. Please contact the Parks Canada office in Repulse Bay (867) 462-4500 or the Field Unit office in Iqaluit (867) 975-4673 or visit the park website at www.pc.gc.ca for detailed pre trip information.

Parks Canada search and rescue capabilities are limited and there can be lengthy delays due to weather and lack of available aircraft. Take every precaution to keep yourself out of danger. We highly recommend bringing a GPS and an Iridium satellite phone. All high arctic communication systems may be unreliable.

Polar bears are far more abundant in Ukkusiksalik than in most other National Parks in the Arctic. Several encounters are likely on any trip. Because of this extreme danger, visitors must travel in the park with a properly equipped and trained guide who is experienced in polar bear country.

Parc national du Canada Ukkusiksalik

Sécurité des visiteurs

Les visiteurs doivent voyager avec un guide expérimenté ou un pourvoyeur. Les visiteurs qui voyagent en groupe guidé doivent apporter l’équipement approprié, être autosuffisants et être en mesure de répondre aux urgences médicales ou aux urgences liées à la faune.

Il est essentiel de bien planifier votre voyage. Pour obtenir des précisions sur la planification, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de Parcs Canada à Repulse Bay (867) 462-4500 ou avec le bureau de l’unité de gestion à Iqaluit (867) 975-4673, ou encore consultez le site Internet du parc, à l’adresse suivante : www.pc.gc.ca .

Les services de recherche et de sauvetage de Parcs Canada sont très limités, et ils peuvent tarder à venir en raison du temps qu’il fait ou parce qu’il n’y a pas d’avion ou d’hélicoptère sur place. Prenez toutes les précautions nécessaires pour éviter le danger. Nous vous recommandons fortement de transporter un GPS et un téléphone satellite Iridium. Dans l’Extrême- Arctique, les systèmes de communication ne sont pas toujours fiables.

Les ours polaires sont plus nombreux dans le parc Ukkusiksalik que dans la plupart des autres parcs nationaux de l’Arctique. Il est probable que vous croisiez plusieurs ours pendant une randonnée. Étant donné ce danger extrême, les visiteurs du parc doivent voyager avec un guide qui est bien équipé et entraîné et qui a l’expérience du pays des ours polaires.