Ukkusiksalik National Park of Canada

Activities

Hiking & Camping

Experienced guides and outfitters can lead you on day hikes along the rolling hills surrounding Wager Bay. Exciting viewing opportunities of the abundant wildlife and countless cultural sites are scattered throughout the park.
Daylight in the summer months will never limit your hiking options, but tide schedules may since the swift currents and long tidal flats influence boat access.

An experienced outfitter may be able to set up an appropriate campsite with a solar powered electric fence and a sentry. Otherwise, we only recommend the use of hard sided accommodations. Contact the park office in Repulse Bay for more options.

Boating

Getting to the park by boat with an experienced outfitter is a great Arctic adventure and a wonderful way to experience Wager Bay. It is the safest way to view polar bears and the surest way to see the abundant marine life including seals, beluga whales and occasional narwhal. Kayaking is discouraged because of the extreme polar bear risk.

Traditional Inuit Use

Ukkusiksalik is the traditional homeland of the modern Inuit who live in the area. Many of those who were born before the establishment of the local communities were raised along the shores of Wager Bay. Residents maintain living ties to the land, and it is not unusual to see Inuit families camping in the park practicing their traditional harvesting activities.

Parc national du Canada Ukkusiksalik

Activités

Randonnée et camping

Des guides et pourvoyeurs expérimentés peuvent vous accompagner lors de randonnées pédestres dans le paysage ondulé autour de la baie Wager. Vous aurez la possibilité d’observer une faune abondante et de faire l’expérience des innombrables sites culturels éparpillés un peu partout dans le parc.

Pendant les mois d’été, vos possibilités de randonné ne seront jamais limitées par la lumière du jour; cependant, les horaires des marées pourraient avoir une incidence sur vos plans étant donné que l’accès par bateau est dicté par les courants rapides et les longs bas fonds intertidaux.

Un pourvoyeur expérimenté pourrait monter un camp adéquat avec une clôture électrique à énergie solaire et une sentinelle. Sinon, nous recommandons que les campeurs n’utilisent que les abris à parois rigides. Veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de Parcs Canada à Repulse Bay où l’on pourra vous suggérer d’autres possibilités.

Navigation de plaisance

Se rendre au parc en bateau en compagnie d’un pourvoyeur chevronné constitue une aventure arctique extraordinaire permettant de faire l’expérience de la baie Wager. Il s’agit de la façon le plus sûre d’observer des ours polaires et de voir la faune marine abondante comprenant entre autres des phoques, des bélugas et, de temps à autre, des narvals. L’utilisation d’un kayak n’est pas recommandée en raison des dangers extrêmes liés aux ours polaires.

Utilisation traditionnelle du parc par les Inuits

Ukkusiksalik est le pays d’origine traditionnel des Inuits qui habitent dans la région. Beaucoup des Inuits nés avant l’établissement des collectivités locales ont été élevés le long des plages de la baie Wager. Les résidants demeurent attachés à cette terre et il n’est pas inhabituel de voir des familles inuites camper dans le parc et pratiquer leurs activités traditionnelles de récolte.