Sirmilik National Park of Canada

How to Get There

Arctic seasons and your trip

A Note about Time and Place

Access to Sirmilik National Park is from either Pond Inlet or Arctic Bay. Local outfitters may be hired in either community to provide boat or snowmachine transportation to the park. Iqaluit is the hub for air traffic in Nunavut.

To Iqaluit, Nunavut

First Air Ltd. and Canadian North fly direct to Iqaluit from Montreal, Ottawa & Yellowknife

Travel from Iqaluit to Pond Inlet or Arctic Bay (via Nanisivik)

First Air offers scheduled flights from Iqaluit to both Pond Inlet and Arctic Bay (via Nanisivik). Kenn Borek Air offers scheduled flights to Pond Inlet.

To Sirmilik National Park

Travel to and from Sirmilik, from either Pond Inlet or Arctic Bay, can be arranged with local outfitters. Outfitters will take you to and from the park by either boat or snowmachine, depending on the season. In Pond Inlet, staff of the Nattinnak Visitor Centre can help you make the necessary arrangements with local outfitters, call (867) 899-8226. Outfitter charges vary and should be discussed with the outfitter being hired. For more information on Arctic Bay, call (867) 439-8483.

Arctic seasons and your trip

The polar marine climate means long cold winters and short cool summers. Although you will be treated to endless daylight from May to August, the sun is absent from the sky December and January. July is the warmest month, with an average high of 11° C. In January the average high is a chilly -30° C. Spring brings strong winds and, although the park receives very little precipitation, late summer is often cloudy. In winter, loss of daylight and the presence of sea ice can make for extremely cold weather.

Ice, wind, tide and weather conditions may also affect your access plans.

  • Boat travel is only possible when the ocean is ice-free, normally between mid-July and mid-October. Wind conditions can be very treacherous and unpredictable. Boaters and kayakers may have to wait out the rough water, sometimes for several days.
  • During ice break up (late June - early July) and freeze up (late October - early November), travel to the park is impossible. If your plans include travel to the park around these times, please phone to check ice conditions. Or, check the Canadian Ice Service page of the Environment Canada web site.

A Note about Time and Place

For thousands of years the ancestors of Inuit traveled in this place. They knew that their survival depended on their obedience to the dictates of the land and its weather. If the wind blew and the temperature plummeted, they stopped and found shelter, and continued when the land became kinder again. Inuit travelers to this day let the weather, the seasons and the rhythms of the land set their travel schedules.

This is a harsh land. Travelers may find that their personal itineraries are in conflict with the schedule dictated by wind, cold, and storm. Wise northern travelers will learn from Inuit and adjust their travel to the natural rhythms of the land they are visiting.

These travelers will leave time in their itineraries in case they need to sit for days in a tent waiting for winds to abate. They will have extra food, and reserves of patience. They will plan an extra day or three in their trips in case storms and poor visibility prevent connecting aircraft from flying. They understand the unpredictable nature of Arctic weather, and even revel in the chance to let nature set their schedule instead of a clock.

Most of all, wise northern travelers take the unparalleled opportunity to experience the life of a small northern community. They consider the extra time they have allowed for their northern adventure to be not only a safety buffer, but an essential and exciting part of their northern experience. If you come north with an inflexible schedule, you run the risk of remembering your once-in-a-lifetime trip only for its frustrations. But come prepared to accept the Arctic on its own terms--and it will open its heart to you.

Parc national du Canada Sirmilik

Comment vous y rendre

Les saisons de l'Arctique

Un mot sur le temps et l'endroit

Pour accéder au parc national Sirmilik, il faut d'abord se rendre à Pond Inlet ou à Arctic Bay. Les visiteurs peuvent faire appel à des pourvoyeurs qui assurent des services de transport en bateau ou en motoneige entre ces collectivités et le parc. Iqaluit est le carrefour du transport aérien au Nunavut.

Jusqu'à Iqaluit (Nunavut)

Les sociétés aériennes First Air Ltd. et Canadian North offrent des vols directs jusqu'à Iqaluit à partir de Montréal, d'Ottawa, de Yellowknife et de Nuuk, au Groenland.

D'Iqaluit à Pond Inlet ou à Arctic Bay (par Nanisivik)

First Air Ltd. offre des vols réguliers d'Iqaluit à Pond Inlet et à Arctic Bay (via Nanisivik). Kenn Borek Air offre pour sa part des vols réguliers jusqu'à Pond Inlet.

Jusqu'au parc national Sirmilik

Pour le trajet entre Pond Inlet ou Arctic Bay et le parc national Sirmilik, vous pouvez faire appel aux pourvoyeurs de la région. Ils vous y amèneront par bateau ou par motoneige, selon la saison. À Pond Inlet, le personnel du Centre d'accueil Nattinnak peut vous aider à prendre les dispositions nécessaires avec un pourvoyeur. Pour vous prévaloir de ce service, composez le (867) 899-8226. Les tarifs exigés varient selon les pourvoyeurs. Il est important d'aborder la question avec eux avant de retenir leurs services. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les pourvoyeurs d'Arctic Bay, appelez le bureau du hameau au (867) 439-8483.

Les saisons de l'Arctique

Le climat polaire marin est caractérisé par des hivers longs et froids et par des étés courts et frais. Vous pouvez vous attendre à jouir d'une clarté incessante de mai à août, mais sachez que le soleil est complètement absent en décembre et en janvier. Juillet est le mois le plus chaud, et le maximum oscille autour de 11 °C. En janvier, le maximum atteint la glaciale température de -30 °C. Le printemps amène des vents forts, et, si le parc reçoit très peu de précipitations, le temps y est souvent nuageux à la fin de l'été. En hiver, l'obscurité constante et la présence de glace marine peuvent engendrer du temps extrêmement froid.

Les glaces, les vents, la marée et les conditions météorologiques peuvent contrecarrer vos projets.

  • Les déplacements par bateau sont possibles uniquement lorsque l'océan est libre de glace, soit normalement de la mi juillet à la mi octobre. Le vent peut être traître et imprévisible. Boaters and kayakers may have to wait out the rough water, sometimes for several days.
  • Pendant la débâcle (de la fin de juin au début de juillet) et la prise des glaces (de la fin d'octobre au début de novembre), le parc devient inaccessible. Si vous comptez vous rendre dans le parc durant cette période, téléphonez pour vous informer de l'état des glaces. Vous pouvez aussi consulter la page du Service canadien des glaces du site web d'Environnement Canada.

Un mot sur le temps et l'endroit

Pendant des millénaires, les ancêtres des Inuits ont parcouru ce territoire. Ils savaient que, pour survivre, ils devaient se plier aux volontés de la nature et des éléments. Si le vent soufflait et que la température chutait, ils s'arrêtaient pour trouver refuge et poursuivaient leur route uniquement lorsque le temps redevenait clément. Encore aujourd'hui, les voyageurs inuits se laissent régir par le temps, les saisons et la nature.

La vie est dure en Arctique. Les voyageurs s'apercevront peut-être que leurs itinéraires entrent en conflit avec le rythme imposé par le vent, le froid et la tempête. Dans le Nord, il faut faire preuve de sagesse et, comme les Inuits, s'adapter aux caprices de la nature.

Les voyageurs prévoiront donc du temps dans leur itinéraire pour le cas où ils devraient se réfugier dans leur tente pendant des jours dans l'attente d'une accalmie. Ils disposeront de provisions supplémentaires et auront de la patience en réserve. Ils prévoiront quelques journées de plus pour le cas où une tempête ou une mauvaise visibilité les empêcherait de faire une correspondance. Ils sauront que le temps est imprévisible dans l'Arctique, et ils prendront même plaisir à laisser la nature, plutôt que les aiguilles d'une montre, établir leur horaire.

Surtout, les visiteurs auront une occasion en or de faire l'expérience de la vie dans une petite communauté nordique. Les quelques jours de plus qu'ils auront prévus pour leur aventure nordique seront pour eux non seulement un tampon de sécurité, mais aussi une facette essentielle et stimulante de l'expérience qu'ils seront amenés à vivre dans le Nord. Si vous avez un horaire rigide, vous courez le risque de garder de cette excursion exceptionnelle le souvenir d'une série de frustrations. Mais, si vous arrivez prêt à accepter l'Arctique tel qu'il est, il vous ouvrira son cœur.