Common menu bar links

Auyuittuq National Park of Canada

Park Management

2010 Auyuittuq National Park of Canada Management Plan

Executive Summary

Auyuittuq National Park of Canada is located on Baffin Island's Cumberland Peninsula, almost entirely within the Arctic Circle in Canada's eastern arctic. At 19,089 km2, it is among the largest national parks in Canada. Auyuittuq National Park is located next to the communities of Pangnirtung and Qikiqtarjuaq in Nunavut.

The park is cooperatively managed by Inuit and Parks Canada in accordance with the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement and the Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement of Auyuittuq, Quttinirpaaq and Sirmilik National Parks.

Two key strategies will guide the work for the foreseeable future in the management of the Park. Working with local Inuit communities is central to both strategies. Each key strategy will build on existing relationships in ways that enable the Agency to better carry out its mandate and enable communities to meet their aspirations.

Key Strategy 1: Engaging communities of Pangnirtung and Qikiqtarjuaq in connecting visitors to the land, marine ecosystems and Inuit culture

This strategy focuses on working with the adjacent communities of Pangnirtung and Qikiqtarjuaq to enhance visitor experiences in Auyuittuq National Park and diversify opportunities for visitor experience. Initiatives will respond to emerging regional tourism trends and community aspirations.

Research has shown that visitors who travel to the park are interested in discovering a remote, challenging and majestic area. They also hope to interact with local communities and learn about Inuit culture. As well, emerging and new tourism audiences have been identified, including the cruise ship industry and business travellers who extend their stay in Nunavut by a few days to visit other attractions in the territory.

The visitor experience begins in the adjacent communities of Pangnirtung and Qikiqtarjuaq, where visitors receive their park orientation and provide benefits to the communities. Additional opportunities for visitor experience provide benefits to the adjacent communities of Pangnirtung and Qikiqtarjuaq, increase the connection of visitors to Inuit culture and history, and offer opportunities to enjoy the park's glaciated landscape and fiords.

This strategy takes a win/win approach, working with the communities of Pangnirtung and Qikiqtarjuaq to enhance opportunities for visitor experience and in doing so assisting the communities to benefit from tourism.

Key Strategy 2: Gathering and sharing knowledge to build connection to place

This strategy focuses on developing a common understanding of Auyuittuq National Park's ecosystems and cultural resources with Inuit. This common understanding relies on Inuit knowledge and science and builds a trusting relationship between Inuit and Parks Canada. Knowledge of the park will be shared with youth, visitors and all those involved in park management and operations. It will serve to strengthen the connection of the communities of Pangnirtung and Qikiqtarjuaq and other Canadians to Inuit culture and history and to the park's glaciated landscape and fiords. This knowledge will also contribute to education products and management actions to preserve natural and cultural resources.

Up to now, educational messages relating to the park have predominately focussed on public safety. While these messages are still needed, the communities of Pangnirtung and Qikiqtarjuaq have expressed an interest in connecting youth to the Park, to Elders and Inuit culture, and they have stressed the need to use Inuktitut place names.

This strategy aims at fulfilling these needs by gathering knowledge and developing a common understanding of the park. It emphasizes the development of interpretive materials and messages about the park's cultural resources, past and present Inuit uses of the area, and the park's glacier, tundra, freshwater, and coastal/marine ecosystems.

In an effort to make this information available to you in a timely manner, this plan is currently only available in PDF format. Should you require an alternate format or a hard copy please contact us by e-mailing: Maryse.Mahy@pc.gc.ca.

Download the 2010 Auyuittuq National Park of Canada Management Plan in English (PDF, 3.14 MB) or in Inuktitut (PDF, 3.58 MB).

Film Permits

Any commercial film project requires a permit in any national park in Canada. Contact the Nunavut Field Unit office to speak to the Visitor Experience Manager for details about a film project in Auyuittuq National Park. Permit processes are complex and can take some time – please contact us well in advance about your project.

Communication Manager
Phone: 867-975-4673
Fax: 867-975-4674.

Business Licensing

Any commercial business must have a business licence to operate within Auyuittuq National Park. Contact the Nunavut Field Unit office 867-975-4673 for details, application forms and application guides.

Parc national du Canada Auyuittuq

Gestion du parc

Plan directeur, 2010 : Parc national du Canada Auyuittuq

Sommaire

Le parc national Auyuittuq du Canada se situe dans la péninsule Cumberland de l'île de Baffin et s'étend presque entièrement dans le cercle de l'Arctique de l'Est du Canada. Il s'agit de l'un des parcs nationaux les plus vastes du Canada avec une superficie de 19 089 km2. Il est adjacent aux collectivités de Pangnirtung et de Qikiqtarjuaq du Nunavut.

Les Inuits et Parcs Canada gèrent conjointement le parc en vertu de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut (ARTN) et de l'Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuits des parcs nationaux Auyuittuq, Quttinirpaaq et Sirmilik.

Deux stratégies clés sont présentées afin d'orienter, dans un avenir assez rapproché, les travaux qui se rattachent à la gestion du parc. La collaboration avec les collectivités inuites locales s'avère cruciale dans le cadre de ces deux stratégies. Chacune tirera parti des relations actuelles afin de permettre à l'Agence de mieux accomplir son mandat et aux collectivités de réaliser leurs aspirations.

Première stratégie clé: Engager les collectivités de Pangnirtung et de Qikiqtarjuaq dans le rapprochement des visiteurs avec le territoire, les écosystèmes marins et la culture inuite

La stratégie est axée sur la collaboration avec les collectivités adjacentes de Pangnirtung et de Qikiqtarjuaq en vue d'agrémenter l'expérience du visiteur du parc national Auyuittuq et de diversifier les possibilités à cet égard. Les initiatives satisferont aux aspirations des collectivités ainsi qu'aux nouvelles tendances touristiques régionales.

La recherche a démontré que les visiteurs qui traversent le parc sont intéressés par la découverte d'une région magnifique, éloignée et exigeante. Ils espèrent également communiquer avec les collectivités locales et se familiariser avec la culture inuite. On constate la naissance d'un nouveau tourisme, notamment les croisières touristiques et les voyageurs d'affaires qui prolongent de quelques jours leur séjour au Nunavut afin de visiter les autres attractions du territoire.

L'expérience du visiteur s'amorce auprès des collectivités voisines de Pangnirtung et de Qikiqtarjuaq où ils suivent une séance d'orientation sur le parc et procurent des avantages aux collectivités. Un plus grand nombre d'occasion de visiter le parc procure des avantages aux collectivités de Pangnirtung et de Qikiqtarjuaq, augmentent le rapprochement des visiteurs à l'égard de la culture et de l'histoire inuites, et leur permet d'apprécier les fjords et les paysages glaciaires du parc.

Cette stratégie repose sur une approche bénéfique pour tous grâce à la collaboration des collectivités de Pangnirtung et de Qikiqtarjuaq en vue d'accroître les possibilités relatives à l'expérience du visiteur, et qui permettent aux collectivités de tirer parti du tourisme.

Seconde stratégie clé : Recueillir et diffuser les connaissances en vue de créer un sentiment d'appartenance à l'endroit

La stratégie met l'accent sur l'établissement d'une vision commune avec les Inuits en ce qui concerne les écosystèmes et les ressources culturelles du parc national Auyuittuq. Elle repose sur les connaissances inuites et la science et établit une relation de confiance entre les Inuits et Parcs Canada. Les connaissances relatives au parc seront partagées avec les jeunes, les visiteurs et toutes les personnes qui participent à la gestion et aux activités du parc.Elles permettront de resserrer le sentiment d'appartenance des collectivités de Pangnirtung, de Qikiqtarjuaq et d'autres Canadiens à l'égard de la culture et de l'histoire inuites, ainsi que des fjords et des paysages glaciaires du parc. Ces connaissances contribueront également à l'élaboration de produits didactiques et de mesures administratives pour la préservation des ressources culturelles et naturelles.

Jusqu'à maintenant, les messages éducationnels rattachés au parc visaient principalement la sécurité du public. Bien que ces messages demeurent indispensables, les collectivités de Pangnirtung et de Qikiqtarjuaq ont manifesté le désir de créer des liens d'appartenance auprès des jeunes envers le parc ainsi que la culture inuite et des aînés. Elles ont souligné la nécessité d'utiliser les noms de lieux inuktituts.

Cette stratégie vise à satisfaire ces besoins grâce à la réunion des connaissances et à l'établissement d'une vision commune du parc. Elle souligne l'élaboration de messages et de documents didactiques liés aux ressources culturelles du parc, à l'utilisation passée et actuelle de la région par les Inuits ainsi qu'aux écosystèmes maritimes et côtiers, aux écosystèmes d'eau douce, aux milieux humides, à la toundra et aux glaciers du parc.

Afin de rendre les renseignements disponibles de façon rapide, ce plan n'est présentement distribué qu'en format PDF. Si vous avez besoin d'un autre format ou d'une copie papier, veuillez communiquer avec nous par courriel à : Maryse.Mahy@pc.gc.ca

Téléchargez le Plan directeur 2010 : Parc national du Canada Auyuittuq en français (PDF, 3.26 Mo) ou en Inuktitut (PDF, 3.58 Mo).

Permis de tournage

Pour tourner un film à des fins commerciales dans le parc national du Auyuittuq, vous devez d'abord obtenir un permis de tournage. Comme le processus de demande peut être long, il est sage de prendre contact avec le parc bien à l'avance pour discuter de votre projet avec le gestionnaire de l'expérience du visiteur. Appelez-nous au (867) 975-4673.

Agente d'élaboration du plan directeur
No de téléphone : 867-975-4673
No de fax : 867-975-4674

Permis d'exploitation

Toutes les entreprises commerciales (y compris les guides et les pourvoyeurs) doivent obtenir un permis d'exploitation pour exercer leurs activités dans le parc national. Communiquez avec notre bureau pour obtenir un formulaire de demande et un guide du demandeur. Appelez-nous au (867) 975-4673.