Auyuittuq National Park of Canada

Geology

Thor Peak
Thor Peak
© Parks Canada / Christian Kimber

Visitors to Auyuittuq will likely be awed by the impressive display of rock in the park - from the sheer rock faces of granite peaks, to ragged tumbles of giant boulders, and endless deposits of glacial debris. A key feature of the park is the Penny Ice Cap, a vast, 6000 km2 expanse of ice and snow. Outlet glaciers - rivers of ice, some of which are up to 25 km long - radiate from the ice cap in several directions.

Early Geological History

Baffin Island forms the northeastern edge of the Precambrian or Canadian Shield, the ancient stable core of the North American continent. The Precambrian era is the oldest period of geological time, going from 570 million years ago back more than 3.5 billion years to the oldest rocks known on the planet. Most Precambrian rocks have been metamorphosed (altered by intense heat and pressure) at various times during this period. The end product of metamorphism is granite.

In the Auyuittuq - Cumberland Peninsula region, the oldest rocks were formed around 2.8 billion years ago, and metamorphosed into granite about 2.5 billion years ago. Early in the Paleozoic era, around 550 million years ago when life forms were first spreading across the earth, the eastern Arctic was covered by a shallow sea and thick layers of marine sediments were deposited over the bedrock. Around 60 million years ago, a major upheaval occurred as continental drift caused the separation of Baffin Island and Greenland. The Cumberland Peninsula was uplifted and subsequent erosion removed most of the sediments, exposing the bare rock once again. The mountain peaks left in the park today are the highest on Baffin Island, as well as some of the highest in the Canadian Shield.

Effects of Glaciation

Highway Glacier from Mount Battle
Highway Glacier from Mount Battle
© Parks Canada

Auyuittuq's unique and spectacular landscape can be attributed to the more recent erosive influences of ice and glaciation. The area has been scoured by both continental ice (the Laurentide Ice Sheet of the Wisconsin glaciation, which began its retreat from the area around 8000 years ago), and localized alpine or cirque glaciers. It is thought that the northwest portion of the Penny Ice Cap might be a remnant of the Laurentide Ice Sheet.

Along the coast, glaciers have incised the valley floors below sea level, creating deep, narrow fiords with vertical walls up to 900 m in height.

Glacial features that can be seen in the park include:

  • Moraines - ridges or mounds formed by rock debris that were transported by moving ice and deposited at the margins of glaciers. End moraines show the farthest point of a glacier's advance, while lateral moraines show the location of the glacier's sides.
  • Cirques - bowl-like hollows carved out by glaciers in the tops of mountains. Some cirques are ice-free, while others are still occupied by glaciers. Many of the park's sharp mountain peaks and ridges were carved by cirque glaciers.
  • Sand Deposits - Created by the erosive actions of ice, wind, and water. Sand and other fine particles are carried by the wind from moraines and outwash deposits.
  • Perched Boulders - Large boulders sitting atop small rocks, deposited by retreating glaciers
  • Talus or Scree Slopes - cone-shaped accumulations of rocks pried loose from steep glacier-scoured valley walls by frost action. Active talus slopes are unstable and could be dangerous to hikers. Rock surfaces that are lichen-free provide clues that the slope is still active and prone to fresh rockfall.

Geological Points of Interest in Auyuittuq:

  • Akshayuk Pass (Akshayuk Akutinga) - This 97 km ice-free trough cuts through the mountains between Cumberland Sound and Davis Strait. Carved out by the continental glaciers of the last ice age, it has been used as a traditional travel corridor by the Inuit for thousands of years. Today it is the park's most popular hiking destination.
  • Mount Overlord (Pangniqtup Qingua) - This majestic peak (1490 m) stands as a sentinel guarding the southern entrance to Akshayuk Pass. Below Overlord, where Pangnirtung Fiord meets the Weasel River, tides can fluctuate up to 10 metres.
  • Crater Lake (Aqulutaqrusiq) - This beautiful, circular, greenish-blue lake is perched on the west side of the Weasel River, approximately 5 km southwest of the Windy Emergency Shelter. From the main trail, it is hidden by a circular ridge of gravel and sand which surrounds it. This ridge is the end moraine of the glacier above the lake. It marks the limit of the glacier's last advance, which occurred about 100 years ago. Now that the glacier has melted back, the moraine acts as a natural dam, collecting sediment-laden meltwaters from the glacier. To view the lake, climb from the main trail to a higher elevation.
  • The Arctic Circle (Ukiuqtaqtuup) - This imaginary line, marked by a monument along the trail, is at the latitude of 66º 33 ½' North. At any point along the line there are 24 hours of daylight on June 21, and 24 hours of dark on December 21.
  • Schwartzenbach Falls (Qulitasaniakvik) - This white torrent of water, located on the west of the Weasel River across from the Arctic Circle, plunges 660 metres down a steep mountainside to the Weasel River. Its Inuktitut name means "the place to get caribou skins". Long ago, Inuit hunters climbed past these falls to look for caribou in the valleys beyond.
  • Thor Peak (Qaisualuk) - Approximately 27 km down the trail from Overlord, near the Thor checkpoint, Thor Peak can be seen soaring 1675 metres above the valley floor. Named after the Norse god of thunder, it has a cliff face of 1 km, the longest uninterrupted cliff face in the world.
  • Summit Lake (Tasiruluk) - This large lake marks the highest point in Akshayuk Pass. Like Crater Lake, it was formed by the pooling of glacial meltwaters in an end moraine. Glacial waters from this lake flow both north and south into the Owl and Weasel rivers, dropping 500 metres before reaching the Arctic Ocean.
  • Mount Asgard (Sivanitirutinguak) - Located near the summit, this distinctive mountain (2015 m) is one of the park's most famous. Rising from surrounding glaciers, the flat top of its two cylindrical towers has been a goal for mountaineers from around the world.
  • Turner and Highway Glaciers (Auyuittuit) - These glaciers radiate outwards from the Penny Ice Cap like enormous tentacles. In imperceptibly slow motion, these great rivers of ice creep down from the high plateau of the park's interior towards the valley floor, pulled by gravity and the weight of the ice.
  • Owl River Valley (Inatiavaluk) - This scenic tundra valley lies in the northern half of Akshayuk Pass between Glacier Lake and North Pangnirtung Fiord. This area is not hiked as much as the southern half of the pass. Here the landscape is permanently frozen except for a thin layer on the surface. Hikers should be cautious when traversing the mud along the Owl River since some sections may thaw deeply enough to create waist-deep quagmires with dangerous quicksand-like properties. The valley was named after the snowy owls which might be seen during years of high lemming populations. Antlers on the valley floor tell of earlier times when the rich tundra vegetation provided habitat for caribou herds.
  • Penny Highlands - The park is dominated by these ancient peaks of Precambrian granite. Reaching heights of up to 2100 m, they are the highest on Baffin Island, as well as the highest in the Canadian Shield. Most of the highlands are covered by the solid ice of the Penny Ice Cap, which is 300 m thick and covers an area of 6000 km2.

Parc national du Canada Auyuittuq

Géologie

Pic Thor
Pic Thor
© Parcs Canada / Christian Kimber

Les visiteurs qui séjournent dans le parc national Auyuittuq seront probablement émerveillés par l'impressionnante diversité des roches dans le parc - depuis les parois verticales des pics de granit jusqu'aux amoncellements irréguliers de rochers géants, en passant par les immenses dépôts de débris glaciaires. Le parc est dominé par la calotte glaciaire Penny, une vaste étendue de glace et de neige de 6 000 km2. Des glaciers émissaires - des rivières de glace, dont certains font jusqu'à 25 km de longueur - en rayonnent dans toute les directions.

Histoire géologique

L'île de Baffin marque l'extrémité nord est du Bouclier précambrien (également appelé Bouclier canadien), roche ancienne qui forme le noyau stable du continent nord américain. Le Précambrien, l'époque la plus reculée sur le plan géologique, couvre une période allant de 570 millions d'années à 3,5 milliards d'années avant notre ère. C'est de cette époque que datent les roches les plus anciennes de la planète. La plupart des roches du Précambrien se sont métamorphosées (ont été modifiées par une chaleur et une pression intenses) à diverses étapes au cours de cette période. Le résultat final de cette métamorphose est le granit.

Dans la région du parc national Auyuittuq et de la péninsule Cumberland, les roches les plus anciennes ont été formées il y a environ 2,8 milliards d'années, et elles se sont métamorphosées en granit quelque 300 millions d'années plus tard. Tôt dans l'ère du Paléozoïque, il y a environ 550 millions d'années, lorsque les formes de vie commençaient à se multiplier sur la planète, la partie est de l'Arctique était ensevelie sous une mer peu profonde, et d'épaisses couches de sédiments marins se sont peu à peu déposées sur le substrat. La région a subi un important bouleversement il y a environ 60 millions d'années, lorsque la dérive des continents a entraîné la séparation de l'île de Baffin et du Groenland. La péninsule Cumberland a été soulevée, et la plupart des sédiments qui s'étaient accumulés sur le substrat se sont érodés, exposant à nouveau la roche nue. Les montagnes du parc sont les plus élevées de l'île de Baffin, et elles figurent également parmi les plus hautes du Bouclier canadien.

Effets de la glaciation

Le glacier Highway tel que vu de Mont Battle
Le glacier Highway tel que vu de Mont Battle
© Parcs Canada

Le paysage spectaculaire du parc national Auyuittuq n'a d'égal nulle part ailleurs. Ce sont les glaces et les récentes glaciations qui l'ont façonné. En effet, la région a été sculptée à la fois par l'inlandsis Laurentidien (nappe glaciaire continentale datant de la glaciation du Wisconsin qui a entamé son recul il y a environ 8 000 ans) et par des glaciers alpins ou glaciers de cirque. Les chercheurs pensent que la partie nord ouest de la calotte glaciaire Penny serait un vestige de l'inlandsis Laurentidien.

Le long de la côte, les glaciers ont entaillé le creux des vallées jusqu'en dessous du niveau de la mer, créant des fjords étroits, encaissés par des parois verticales pouvant faire 900 m de hauteur.

Voici quelques vestiges de l'époque glaciaire qu'il est encore possible d'observer dans le parc :

  • Moraines - monticules formés de débris rocheux qui ont été charriés par la glace en mouvement. Les moraines frontales ou moraines terminales marquent la limite de la dernière progression du glacier. Les moraines latérales, elles, révèlent la largeur du glacier.
  • Cirques - creux en forme de cuvettes sculptés par les glaciers au sommet des montagnes. Certains cirques sont libres de glace, tandis que d'autres sont encore occupés par un glacier. Bon nombre des crêtes et des pics aigus du parc ont été façonnés par des glaciers de cirque.
  • Dépôts de sable - sable et autres particules fines qui, sous l'action érosive de la glace, du vent et de l'eau, se détachent des moraines et des dépôts de délavage avant d'être emportés par le vent.
  • Blocs perchés - gros rochers déposés sur de petites roches par des glaciers en retrait.
  • Talus d'éboulis ou clapiers - amoncellements en forme de cône, créés par des roches qui, sous l'effet du gel, se sont détachées des versants affouillés par les glaciers. Les talus d'éboulis actifs sont instables et peuvent être dangereux pour les randonneurs. L'absence de lichens sur les roches indique que le talus est encore actif et qu'il est sujet à un éboulement.
  • Col Akshayuk (Akshayuk Akutinga) - Cette dépression exempte de glace, qui fait 97 km de longueur, trace un sillon dans les montagnes entre la baie Cumberland et le détroit de Davis. Sculpté par les glaciers continentaux de la dernière glaciation, ce col sert de corridor de déplacement aux Inuits depuis des millénaires. Aujourd'hui, c'est la destination de prédilection des randonneurs du parc.
  • Mont Overlord (Pangniqtup Qingua) - Ce pic majestueux (1 490 m d'altitude) se dresse en sentinelle devant l'entrée sud du col Akshayuk. En aval du mont Overlord, là où le fjord Pangnirtung rencontre la rivière Weasel, les marées peuvent fluctuer de 10 m.
  • Lac Crater (Aqulutaqrusiq) - Ce splendide lac circulaire de couleur bleu-verdâtre est perché sur le côté ouest de la rivière Weasel, à environ 5 km au sud ouest du refuge d'urgence du Lac Windy. Du sentier principal, il est caché à la vue par le monticule circulaire de gravier et de sable qui l'entoure. Cet amoncellement de sédiments est en fait la moraine terminale du glacier qui surplombe le lac. Il marque la limite de la dernière progression du glacier, survenue il y a environ 100 ans. Maintenant que le glacier s'est à nouveau retiré, la moraine agit comme un barrage naturel, qui recueille les eaux de fonte chargées de sédiments du glacier. Pour voir le lac, il faut grimper sur un promontoire à partir du sentier principal.
  • Cercle arctique (Ukiuqtaqtuup) - Cette ligne imaginaire, marquée par un monument en bordure du sentier, se trouve à une latitude de 66º 33,5' nord. Tous les points situés sur ce parallèle jouissent de 24 heures de clarté le 21 juin et sont plongés dans l'obscurité pendant 24 heures le 21 décembre.
  • Chutes Schwartzenbach (Qulitasaniakvik) - Ce torrent d'eau blanche, qui coule à l'ouest de la rivière Weasel, de l'autre côté du cercle arctique, dévale une paroi escarpée de 600 m jusqu'à la rivière Weasel. Le nom inuktitut de cette cascade signifie le lieu où obtenir des peaux de caribous. Il y a longtemps, les chasseurs inuits escaladaient ce versant à la recherche de caribous dans les vallées situées en amont des chutes.
  • Pic Thor (Qaisualuk) - Sur le sentier, à une distance d'environ 27 km au delà du mont Overlord, près du poste de contrôle du Pic Thor, le Pic Thor se dresse, bien à la vue, à 1 675 m d'altitude. Baptisée ainsi en souvenir du dieu norois du tonnerre, cette montagne se reconnaît à sa muraille de 1 km de longueur, la paroi rocheuse ininterrompue la plus longue du monde.
  • Lac Summit (Tasiruluk) - Ce grand lac marque le point culminant du col Akshayuk. Comme le lac Crater, il a été formé par l'accumulation de l'eau de fonte glaciaire dans une moraine terminale. Les eaux glaciaires de ce lac coulent vers le nord et vers le sud pour se jeter dans les rivières Owl et Weasel, décrivant une chute de 500 m avant d'atteindre l'océan Arctique.
  • Mont Asgard (Sivanitirutinguak) - Située près du sommet, cette montagne à la forme bien particulière (2 015 m) figure parmi les plus célèbres du parc. Dominant les glaciers environnants, ses deux tours cylindriques au sommet plat attire dans le parc des alpinistes du monde entier.
  • Glaciers Turner et Highway (Auyuittuit) - Ces glaciers rayonnent de la calotte glaciaire Penny comme d'énormes tentacules. En apparence stationnaires, ces immenses rivières gelées, tirées par le poids de la glace et par la gravité, descendent lentement le haut plateau de l'intérieur du parc pour gagner le creux de la vallée.
  • Vallée de la rivière Owl (Inatiavaluk) - Cette jolie vallée de toundra occupe la moitié nord du col Akshayuk, entre le lac Glacier et le fjord North Pangnirtung. Ce secteur est moins fréquenté par les randonneurs que la moitié sud du col. Ici, le sol est gelé en permanence, sauf pour une mince couche de surface. Les randonneurs doivent faire attention en traversant la zone boueuse en bordure de la rivière Owl. À certains endroits, le sol peut dégeler à des profondeurs suffisantes pour créer des bourbiers dangereux où ils peuvent s'enfoncer jusqu'à la taille, comme dans des sables mouvants. La vallée doit son nom (owl signifie hibou en français) aux harfangs des neiges qui y font leur apparition pendant les années où les populations de lemmings connaissent un essor. Les bois de cervidés qui parsèment le fond de la vallée témoignent d'une époque où la riche végétation de la toundra servait d'habitat à des hardes de caribous.
  • Hautes terres de Penny - Le parc est dominé par ces anciens pics de granit du Précambrien. Ces sommets, qui peuvent atteindre 2 100 d'altitude, sont les plus élevés de l'île de Baffin et du Bouclier canadien. La plupart de ces hautes terres sont ensevelies sous une solide couche de glace de la calotte glaciaire Penny, qui fait 300 m d'épaisseur et qui recouvre une étendue de 6 000 km2.