Common menu bar links

Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada

Weather

Summers in the Wood Buffalo region are very short, but with long days. Temperatures generally range between 10°C and 30°C. Although most summers are quite warm and dry, there are occasional years when the summer weather pattern shifts to cool and wet. Extremes in seasonal temperatures can be experienced at any time of the year.

Fall foliage
Fall foliage
© Parks Canada / M-10/156-3

Autumn tends to be cool, windy and dry. Early autumn (early to mid-September) is an ideal time to visit the park as the insects are fewer and the trees are brilliant with colourful foliage. Intermittent snowfalls can be expected starting in October. Fall freeze-up usually starts around the end of October or early November.

Winters tend to be moderate through December. January and February are generally the coldest months, with temperatures dipping down to -40°C. Temperatures gradually warm in March and April as the days get longer. Spring break-up usually starts around the end of April or early May.

Average Annual Precipitation 214 mm rainfall, 149 cm snowfall
July Mean High 22.5 °C
July Mean Low 9.5 °C
January Mean High -21.7 °C
January Mean Low -31.8 °C

Weather forecasts for Fort Chipewyan

Weather forecasts for Fort Smith

Parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo

Météo

L'été dans la région de Wood Buffalo est très court, mais les jours sont longs. Les températures oscillent généralement entre 10°C et 30°C. Bien que la plupart des étés soient chauds et secs, il arrive certaines années que le temps change pour devenir frais et humide. Des variations extrêmes des températures saisonnières peuvent survenir en tout temps.

Feuillage d'automne
Feuillage d'automne
© Parcs Canada / M-10/156-3

L'automne est généralement frais, venteux et sec. Le début de l'automne (du début à la mi-septembre) reste le moment idéal pour visiter le parc, car les insectes sont moins nombreux et la forêt arbore son feuillage automnal. On peut s'attendre à des chutes de neige intermittentes en octobre, et le premier gel arrive habituellement vers la fin octobre ou le début novembre.

En général, l'hiver n'est pas trop rigoureux en décembre. Janvier et février sont les mois les plus froids avec des températures qui chutent à - 40 °C. L'air se réchauffe graduellement en mars et en avril, période où les jours s'allongent également. La fonte des neiges se produit vers la fin avril ou le début mai.

Précipitations annuelles moyennes 214 mm de pluie, 149 cm de neige
Température moyenne la plus chaude en juillet 22,5 °C
Température moyenne la plus froide en juillet 9,5 °C
Température moyenne la plus chaude en janvier -21,7 °C
Température moyenne la plus froide en janvier -31,8 °C

Prévisions météorologiques pour Fort Chipewyan

Prévisions météorologiques pour Fort Smith