Common menu bar links

Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada

Hours of Operation

Fort Smith Visitor Reception Centre
Parks Canada Visitor Reception Centre, Fort Smith, NT
© Parks Canada / WBNP / N. Humenuk-Bourke

Wood Buffalo National Park is open year-round. All-weather road access to Fort Smith and Peace Point is maintained year-round. There are no entry or gate fees for vehicle access to the park.

The peak visitor season in the park is from the June 1st to the end of August. The Pine Lake Campground and Kettle Point Group Camp are open seven days a week during this time. Both facilities close after Labour Day. Reservations are required for the Kettle Point Group Camp.

There are two Visitor Reception Centres in Wood Buffalo National Park. The Fort Smith Visitor Reception Centre is located at park headquarters at 149 McDougal Road in Fort Smith. It is open seven days a week as of June 1, 2013 until August 30, 2013.  Hours of operation for the Fort Smith Visitor Reception Centre during the summer season are 9:00 a.m. - 6 p.m.. The rest of the year it is open from Monday to Friday and closed on weekends. Hours of operation during this period are  9:00 a.m. - 12 noon, and 1 p.m. - 5 p.m..

Fort Chipewyan Visitor Reception Centre
Parks Canada Visitor Reception Centre, Fort Chipewyan, AB
© Parks Canada / WBNP / N. Humenuk-Bourke

The Fort Chipewyan Visitor Reception Centre is located at the Fort Chipewyan Sub-Office on MacKenzie Avenue. It is open from Monday to Friday year-round, and intermittent weekends during the summer months (phone ahead). Hours of operation for the Fort Chipewyan Visitor Reception Centre are 9:00 a.m. - 12 noon, and 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.

Parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo

Heures d'ouverture

Centre d'accueil des visiteurs de Fort Smith
Centre d'accueil des visiteurs de Parcs Canada, Fort Smith (T.N.-O.)
© Parcs Canada

Le parc national Wood Buffalo est ouvert toute l'année. La route d'accès praticable en tout temps jusqu'à Fort Smith et Peace Point est entretenue à l'année. Aucun droit d’entrée n'est exigé pour entrer dans le parc.

La haute saison touristique s'étend du 1er juin à la fin août. Le camping du lac-Pine et le camping de groupe de Kettle Point sont ouverts tous les jours durant cette période, et ferment après la fête du Travail. Des réservations sont obligatoires pour utiliser le camping de groupe de Kettle Point.

Le parc national Wood Buffalo compte deux centres d'accueil des visiteurs. Celui de Fort Smith se trouve au centre administratif du parc, soit au 149 McDougal Road, à Fort Smith. Il est ouvert sept jours sur sept du 1er juin 2013 au 30 août 2013. Pendant l’été, les heures d'ouverture du centre d'accueil des visiteurs de Fort Smith sont de 9 h à 18 h. Le reste de l’année, il est ouvert du lundi au vendredi (fermé les fins de semaine), de 8 h 30 à 12 h et de 13 h à 17 h.

Centre d'accueil des visiteurs de Fort Chipewyan
Centre d'accueil des visiteurs de Parcs Canada, Fort Chipewyan (Alberta)
© Parcs Canada

Le centre d'accueil des visiteurs de Fort Chipewyan est adjacent au bureau auxiliaire de Fort Chipewyan, situé sur l’avenue MacKenzie. Il est ouvert du lundi au vendredi toute l'année et par intermittence les fins de semaine durant l'été (appeler avant de vous rendre). Les heures d'ouverture du centre d’accueil des visiteurs de Fort Chipewyan sont de 9 h à 12 h et de 13 h à 17 h.