Common menu bar links

Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada

How to Get There

By Road:

Wood Buffalo National Park straddles the Northwest Territories - Alberta border. Park headquarters are in Fort Smith, NT. All-weather road access is available year-round via the MacKenzie Highway. The MacKenzie Highway links to Highway 5 near Hay River, NT, providing access to the park and Fort Smith. Like many highways in the NT, Highway 5 is mostly hard-packed gravel. There is no all-weather road access to Fort Chipewyan.

Map of Wood Buffalo National Park
Locations of visitor facilities in Wood Buffalo National Park
© Parks Canada / PNWB / Christina Kaeser

Depending on conditions, a winter road may be open for approximately three months during the winter. This road connects Fort Smith with Fort Chipewyan and Fort McMurray in Alberta. Because of the large distances and potentially dangerous conditions, special precautions are needed for safe travel on the winter road. Contact the Visitor Reception Centre in Fort Smith or Fort Chipewyan for updated information on winter road conditions within the park.

By Air:

Edmonton is the hub for commercial air travel to the north. Commercial flights are available to both Fort Smith and Fort Chipewyan from Edmonton. Air charters are available between Fort Smith and Fort Chipewyan. Contact a travel agent for details.

By Water:

For experienced wilderness travellers, water access by boat or canoe is possible between Fort McMurray, Fort Chipewyan and Fort Fitzgerald. Motorboat access is allowed along the major river corridors: Athabasca River, Rivière des Rochers, Quatre Fourches River, Peace River and Slave River. Please refer to the Guide to Waterways In and Around Wood Buffalo National Park for further information about the river corridors. Park Use permits are required for any overnight stays in the backcountry.

Regional setting of Wood Buffalo National Park
Regional setting of Wood Buffalo National Park
© Parks Canada / PNWB / Christina Kaeser

Road Distances from Fort Smith

Yellowknife, NWT
748 km
Hay River, NWT
270 km
AB / NWT border
381 km
High Level, AB
572 km
Edmonton, AB
1310 km
Fort Chipewyan, AB *
228 km
Fort McMurray, AB *
508 km
* : Winter road only

Parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo

Comment s'y rendre

En automobile :

Le parc national Wood Buffalo chevauche la frontière entre les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et l'Alberta. L'administration du parc se trouve à Fort Smith (T.N.-O.). Il est possible de se rendre en véhicule toute l'année en empruntant la route du Mackenzie, qui rejoint la route 5 près de Hay River (T.N.-O.), et donne ainsi accès au parc et à Fort Smith. À l'instar de nombreuses routes des Territoires, la route 5 se présente surtout sous forme de gravier tassé. Il n'existe aucune voie d'accès ouverte à l'année jusqu'à Fort Chipewyan.

Carte du parc national Wood Buffalo
Emplacements des installations pour les visiteurs au parc national Wood Buffalo.
© Parcs Canada / Parc national Wood Buffalo/ Christina Kaeser

Selon les conditions météorologiques, une route d'hiver peut être ouverte pendant environ trois mois. Elle lie Fort Smith à Fort Chipewyan et à Fort McMurray, en Alberta. En raison des grandes distances à parcourir et des conditions dangereuses, parfois certaines précautions particulières sont nécessaires pour se déplacer en toute sécurité sur cette route d'hiver. Communiquez avec le centre des visiteurs d'accueil à Fort Smith ou à Fort Chipewyan pour obtenir des renseignements à jour sur l'état de la route d'hiver dans le parc.

En avion :

Edmonton constitue le centre des voyages commerciaux aériens vers le Nord. Des vols commerciaux quittent Edmonton à destination de Fort Smith et de Fort Chipewyan. Des vols nolisés sont aussi offerts entre Fort Smith et Fort Chipewyan. Consultez votre agent de voyages pour plus de détails.

Par voie d'eau :

L'accès par canot ou bateau est également possible pour les excursionnistes d'expérience entre Fort McMurray, Fort Chipewyan et Fort Fitzgerald. Les bateaux à moteur sont autorisés le long des grands corridors : rivière Athabasca, rivière des Rochers, rivière Quatre Fourches, rivière de la Paix et rivière des Esclaves. Veuillez vous reporter au Guide des cours d'eau du parc national Wood Buffalo et des environs pour plus de renseignements sur ces corridors. Un permis d'accès est obligatoire pour passer la nuit dans l'arrière-pays du parc.

Emplacement régional du parc national Wood Buffalo
Emplacement régional du parc national Wood Buffalo
© Parcs Canada / Parc national Wood Buffalo/ Christina Kaeser

Distances routières à partir de Fort Smith

Yellowknife (T.N.-O.)
748 km
Hay River (T.N.-O.)
270 km
AB / T.N.-O. (frontière)
381 km
High Level (Alberta)
572 km
Edmonton (Alberta)
1310 km
Fort Chipewyan (Alberta) *
228 km
Fort McMurray (Alberta) *
508 km
* : ( route d'hiver seulement)