Common menu bar links

Photos and videos

Wood Buffalo National Park

Canada’s National Parks Agency is pleased to present Canada’s largest UNESCO World Heritage Site and oldest northern park.  

In order to maximize the functionality of this page, please enable JavaScript and download the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.

Wood Buffalo National Park

This short video showcases Canada’s largest UNESCO world heritage site and national park as well as its oldest northern national park. This has been created from a collection of spectacular images for your viewing enjoyment by the folks who know the place.

Android and BlackBerry users: For your own portable copy 'click' on this link WBNP English Video and save the file to your portable device   Apple product users (iPhone, iPads, etc) please click on the link, download to your local computer and upload to your device via the iTunes application.

 

 

Learning to walk is the first step toward surviving in the wild. Experience rare video footage of a newborn 20-minute-old wood bison calf taking its first steps. Scenes like this occur yearly during the spring calving season in Wood Buffalo National Park, adding to the wild population of this threatened species.

 

Dark Sky Preserve

The World’s Largest Dark Sky Preserve - Wood Buffalo National Park was designated a Canadian Dark Sky Preserve by the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC).

The Canadian Dark Sky Preserve (DSP) program is a major conservation initiative of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC) with the objective of increasing public awareness of the beauty of the night sky, the ecological relevance for nocturnal wildlife and the health benefits for mankind by conserving dark skies. Dark Sky Preserves are regions with exceptionally dark skies accessible to the general public.

The RASC states on their web release: “Wood Buffalo NP straddles the Alberta - Northwest Territories boundary and is the largest National Park in Canada, and with an area of 44,807 km2, it is larger than all dark sky sites in the world combined.”


Experience Wood Buffalo

Grosbeak Lake is part of the park’s extensive band of salt plains which cover an area of 370 km2.

Unique in Canada, they are formed by water that has percolated through underground salt deposits left by an ancient sea around 390 million years ago. Often compared to a “moonscape”, this unique salt flat is strewn with salt-corroded boulders of all shapes and sizes.



Wood Buffalo, a family experience

Accessed from a side road off Highway 5, the Salt Plains Day Use Area features a pleasant viewpoint overlooking the spectacular Salt Plains.

Look for wildlife on the plains with the high-powered telescope, and read the interpretive signs to learn about the natural history of the area. Picnic tables and fire grates are available for your use and enjoyment.

Tread lightly as you explore this fascinating landscape. Your footprints will mingle with those of animals - bears, wolves, moose, bison, foxes, and sandhill cranes among others.

Photo et vidéos


Parc national Wood Buffalo

Le réseau des parcs nationaux du Canada est heureux de présenter le plus grand site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO au Canada et le plus ancien parc dans le nord canadien.

 

Veuillez activer Javascript dans les préférences de votre fureteur pour visioner le contenu et télécharger Adobe Flash Player.

Parc national Wood Buffalo

Cette courte vidéo met en valeur le plus grand site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO et le plus grand parc national au Canada, ainsi que le plus ancien parc national dans le nord canadien. Elle représente un montage d’images spectaculaires prises par des personnes qui connaissent bien l’endroit.

Utilisateurs d’appareils Android et BlackBerry :  Vous souhaitez obtenir une copie de la vidéo sur les parcs nationaux? Pour obtenir votre propre version portable, cliquez ici. Vous pouvez la télécharger sur votre téléphone intelligent dès aujourd’hui!  Utilisateurs de produits Apple (iPhone, iPad, etc.) : Cliquez sur le lien, téléchargez la vidéo sur votre ordinateur, puis transférez celle-ci à votre appareil à l’aide de l’application iTunes.

 

 

Apprendre à marcher est la première étape de la survie dans la nature. Visionnez une vidéo exceptionnelle d’un bison des bois âgé d’à peine 20 minutes faisant ses premiers pas. Des scènes comme celle-là se produisent chaque année pendant la saison de mise bas au parc national Wood Buffalo; la population sauvage de cette espèce menacée ne cesse d’augmenter.

Réserve de ciel étoilé

La plus grande réserve de ciel étoilé au monde – Le parc national Wood Buffalo s’est vu accorder le statut de réserve de ciel étoilé du Canada par la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada (SRAC).

Le programme canadien Réserve de ciel étoilé constitue une initiative de conservation d’envergure lancée par la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada qui a pour objectif de sensibiliser davantage le public à la beauté du ciel étoilé, à la l’importance écologique de l’environnement nocturne de la faune et aux bienfaits pour la santé des humains de préserver le ciel étoilé. Les réserves de ciel étoilé sont en fait des régions où le ciel nocturne est exceptionnellement sombre et où le grand public peut l’observer.

La Société royale d’astronomie déclare sur son site Web que : « le parc national Wood Buffalo chevauche la frontière entre l’Alberta et les Territoires du Nord Ouest et est le plus grand parc national au pays. Avec sa superficie de 44 807 km2, ce parc est plus vaste que la somme de toutes les autres réserves de ciel étoilé au monde. »


Vivez Wood Buffalo

Le lac Grosbeak fait partie d'une large bande de plaines salées dans le parc qui s'étend sur 370 km2.

Ces plaines exceptionnelles au Canada se sont formées par suite de l'eau qui a circulé au travers de dépôts de sel souterrains laissés par une mer ancienne, il y a environ 390 millions d'années. Souvent comparé à un « paysage lunaire », ce platain salé unique est parsemé de roches de toutes formes et de toutes tailles érodées par le sel.



Wood Buffalo, une expérience familiale

L'aire de fréquentation diurne des Plaines-Salées offre un agréable point d'observation qui surplombe les plaines spectaculaires.

Repérez les animaux qui vivent dans ces plaines à l'aide du télescope grande puissance et lisez les panneaux d'interprétation pour en savoir plus sur l'histoire naturelle de la région.

Prenez garde en marchant lorsque vous explorez ce paysage fascinant. Vos empreintes de pas se mêleront à celles des animaux : ours, loup, orignal, bison, renard et grue du Canada, pour ne nommer que ceux là.