Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada

Fire Programs: Frequently Asked Questions

Do you have a BURNING question? Search through our Frequently Asked Questions for an answer. Can’t find what you’re looking for? Then ask our experts!


What is a Fire Danger Level?

The fire danger level is a tool that is used to determine how easy it is to ignite vegetation, how difficult a fire may be to control and how much a fire may spread. Each level has a distinct definition:

danger_level What is the danger level?
© Parks Canada

Low (Blue): Under low fire danger conditions, new wildfire starts are unlikely. Any fires burning under these conditions will be of low intensity and will usually self-extinguish.

Moderate (Green): Under moderate fire danger conditions, fires generally spread along the surface of the ground with the occasional tree or clump of trees igniting. Ground crews with conventional firefighting equipment such as a backpack pump can usually contain these fires.

High (Yellow): Fires burning under high fire danger conditions can ignite easily, spread quickly and be challenging for ground crews to control. Please keep campfires small and in designated fire pits, completely extinguish your campfire, and dispose of cigarettes in appropriate receptacles.

Extreme (Red): Fires will ignite easily, spread furiously, and burn intensely under extreme fire danger conditions. Wildfires burning under these conditions will be very difficult for fire fighters to control. Fire bans may be implemented.


Can I visit the park while a wildfire or prescribed fire is happening?

Yes. Prescribed fires are planned so they do not conflict with any public activities. As well, prescribed fires are conducted in weather conditions that disperse smoke away from developed areas as much as possible. Although smoke may be seen and smelled from various areas, park staff plan and control these fires to ensure they do not impact visitors. However, visitors may be asked to refrain from certain types of back country activities in key locations during certain phases of the prescribed fire.

Parks Canada provides advanced warning prior to, and during prescribed fires as well as up to date information on wildfires and potential impacts. Visitors and local residents can call the park at (867) 621-0136 for fire updates.


If I spot a wildfire in the park, what should I do?

Parks Canada provides advanced warning prior to and during prescribed fires to all visitors and local residents. However, wildfires can be quite unpredictable and can spread quickly in various directions. It is essential that you do not try to extinguish the fire yourself, but rather keep a safe distance and follow these three steps:

Observe: Take note of where the fire is located. Also, take note of what the fire is doing. Do you see flames? If so, is it mostly on the ground or at the top of the trees? What colour is the smoke? How much smoke is there? (i.e. a column of smoke or is a whole area hazy with smoke?). This information will greatly assist in deciding what equipment and resources the fire crews need to get to the fire as quickly as possible.

Report: Inform park staff as soon as possible about the wildfire’s location and observations. You can call the park office at: (867) 621-0136 and speak to the Resource Conservation office, or go to the visitor’s centre or kiosk.

Stay Alert: Wind can carry burning ambers great distances and smoke can cover an area quickly. Park staff will provide you with directions for the safest route to take to avoid any fire hazards.


How long does it take to see the benefits of fire?

You can see the benefits of fire almost immediately. Soil receives an instant boost of nutrients and new types of vegetation sprout within a few weeks of the fire. A variety of herbs, shrubs and tree saplings flourish, providing abundant browse for moose and hares. Fallen trees that die as a result of the fire provide habitat for small mammals and insects, which in turn attract other predatory species. For several years after the fire, the diversity of plants and animals found within burned areas is usually much higher than that of mature forests.


Natural Processes


Forces of change shape our natural landscapes. Some forces, like the gradual uplift of the mountains, act slowly. Others such as fire, flood, windstorms, avalanches and insect outbreaks can rapidly restructure ecosystems. Although we often view natural disturbances as destructive, they play a crucial role in keeping ecosystems healthy.

Fire As A Force Of Change

Through time, fire has acted in synergy with other natural processes to shape ecosystems on many levels. Humans, too, have used fire for millennia to improve habitat for game animals or to stimulate food production. Here are a few ways fire continues to affect the landscape:
  • Creating Mosaics and Diversity
    fire mosaic Forest Diversity
    © Parks Canada
    Fire produces a mosaic of different ages and types of plants. Fires typically burn across the land with varying intensities and effects on vegetation due to differences in terrain, winds and the amount of fuel present. This creates a range of habitats that support diverse wildlife.
  • Nourishing Soil The high mineral content in ash improves soil nutrients. This flush of nutrients, along with warm soil conditions, can increase soil’s microbial activity and plant regrowth. Periodic fire reduces the build up of dead wood, branches and plant litter.   This lessens the risk of extremely large, hot fires that can damage soil fertility and result in erosion.
  • Plant Survival Where wildfires occur regularly (as in Canada’s boreal forests and much of the Rocky Mountain forests), plants have evolved successful adaptations for surviving fire. Some plants actually need fire to reproduce. Plant adaptations to fire include increased seed release, increased flowering and fruiting, fire resistant bark and buds, and resprouting from underground root systems.
  • Wildlife Survival
    In the short term, wildlife can die, be displaced or even be attracted to fire. The responses to fire are as different as the animals themselves. Some animals survive by outrunning fire or by going underground. Some may perish, usually by suffocation.  In the long term, fire increases the variety of habitats across a landscape. It also increases the abundance of habitats and food sources for animals like moose, grizzly bears, warblers, woodpeckers, and meadow voles. In some grassland areas, fire restores habitat by pushing back invading brush and trees. Natural processes act as nature’s recycler, rejuvenator and re-arranger. Vegetation killed by a natural disturbance decays, releasing and recycling nutrients to other plants. Surviving plants are re-invigorated, while the open spaces that natural processes create are quickly rejuvenated by new or recolonizing plant life. On a landscape level, natural processes rearrange plant communities by creating a patchwork of different ages and species. This patchwork creates habitat for more species of wildlife. This brings variety to the ecosystem, making it more resilient.

 


Can fire have a negative impact?

Fire does impact wildlife, habitat as well as people, but it is essential to understand that the long term benefits greatly outweigh the short-term impacts. Wildfires can lead to highway and railway closures, restrictions on recreational activities, and have impacts on human health and property. In the ecosystem, some plants and trees will not survive the intense heat and flames. Some animals may be displaced while others may not be able to get out of harm’s way or may succumb to the smoke. Heavy rains following a fire can wash ash sediments into streams and ponds, impacting fish and aquatic invertebrates.

Although these short term effects are always a concern, forest fires are about rejuvenation, not destruction. Fire is a natural process that brings many benefits to the ecosystem and wildlife. It produces new habitats for wildlife and an abundance of new vegetation. Research has shown that ecosystems have more biodiversity within the first 5-10 years after a fire than mature forests.

Managing fires is a question of balance: knowing when to contain, when to extinguish a fire to minimize damages, or when to initiate prescribed fires to help restore natural processes and prevent large destructive fires. In all cases, Wood Buffalo staff use the best knowledge and research available to achieve a healthy balance.

Canada's national parks were created to protect examples of our natural land-scapes.  In the far reaching words of the 1930 National Parks Act, "parks shall be maintained and made use of so as to leave them unimpaired for future generations." Traditionally, we have viewed national parks as pristine areas protected by their boundaries from outside influences. Today, a different approach is needed. No protected areas remain untouched by human activities. Many parks contain highways and developments. Even remote areas are influenced by long-range pollutants and global warming. Outside parks, much of the landscape is devoted to forestry, agriculture and expanding human settlement. Clearly, national parks cannot be fully protected by lines drawn on a map. Few parks contain complete or unaltered ecosystems. They are part of larger landscapes and depend on the ecological well-being of these areas. Today, we need a conservation approach that recognises the connections between humans and ecosystems. Ecosystem management is such an approach.


What is an ecosystem?

An ecosystem is a community of plants and animals and the processes, like the flow of energy through food chains, that link them to each other and to the physical environment. The term 'ecosystem' comes from the Greek 'oikos' and means 'home system'. Home for a beetle may be a rotting log; home for a grizzly, a territory of thousands of square kilometres. Ecosystems can be large or small; a region, a watershed, or even a single tree. Regardless of size, these systems contain a tremendous variety of species and habitats. Ecosystems continually change over time. Some changes are slow; for example, the gradual adjustment of vegetation to climate fluctuations. Other events, like fire, flood or drought may cause rapid changes. Ecosystems are resilient; they can adjust to natural disturbances and con-tinue to function.

What do we mean by ecosystem integrity?

Ecosystem integrity is a little like human health. The state of health, or integrity, is one where the body, or ecosystem, is complete and functions properly. To have integrity, an ecosystem must have all its native species, complete food webs and naturally functioning ecological processes. Moreover, it must be able to persist over time. Just as people under stress may develop disease, ecosystems under stress can suffer damage. Human activities can stress ecosystems by making rapid changes they cannot adjust to. Symptoms such as the loss of a species or the inability to retain nutrients may signal the breakdown of ecosystem integrity.

What is biodiversity?

Biodiversity (short for biological diver-sity) refers to the variety of life. It occurs at different levels:

  • Species diversity refers to the variety of plant and animal species found in an area. It is important for ecosystem functioning because if one species disappears, so may others that depend on it.
  • Genetic diversity refers to the variation among individuals of the same species. Populations that are genetically diverse can adapt to changing conditions. For example, some individual pines have the ability to resist pine beetle attacks. This means at least some trees will survive beetle epidemics.
  • Landscape diversity refers to the variety of biological communities in a landscape. Fire contributes to landscape diversity by creating a mosaic of different ages and types of vegetation. This variety of habitats, in turn, supports many different kinds of animals. Around the world, biodiversity is declining in response to human activities. Not only species, but entire ecosystems are disappearing. National parks are becoming increasingly important in the global effort to conserve biodiversity, but they cannot do it alone!

What is Ecosystem Management?

Instead of focusing exclusively inside park boundaries or on a particular species, ecosystem management bases decisions on an understanding of the ecosystem as a whole. The goal of ecosystem management is ecological integrity, which includes sustaining native biodiversity. The Canada National Parks Act now makes this a mandated responsibility. Ecosystem Management is a holistic approach. It recognises that the well-being of parks, as well as human communities, depends on the ecological state of larger landscapes. Ecosystem management involves working with other agencies and groups. It considers the social and economic needs of a region within the framework of preserving ecosystem integrity. We do not completely understand ecosystems,  yet still must make decisions. Managers are guided by current information. This may come from science or traditional knowledge. Actions are monitored and the approach is adapted as new information becomes available. To succeed, ecosystem management relies on social consensus. It is based on a set of values that regards humans as part of interconnected living systems. Ecosystem management provides an opportunity for humans to understand and fit in with nature. In doing so, it strives to ensure the long term survival of the great diversity of life on this planet.


How does smoke from forest fires affect park visitors and local communities?

Smoke affects people in varying degrees: people with existing heart or respiratory diseases are more susceptible to the smoke’s effects. There may also be an increased risk to older adults, children and pregnant women.

Fire managers make every attempt to ignite prescribed fires on days with good vertical ventilation (Upward movement of air, that helps create a straight smoke column) to minimize the impact of smoke on visitors and residents. Unlike prescribed fires, wildfires often burn during poor venting conditions and release more unpredictable amounts of smoke. If a fire burns for days or weeks, it is hard to predict where the smoke will go.

Parks Canada provides advanced warning prior to, and during prescribed fires as well as up to date information on wildfires and potential impacts. Visitors and local residents can call the park at (867) 621-0136 for fire updates.

Parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo

Programme de gestion des incendies: Foire aux questions

Une question vous « brûle » les lèvres? Consultez notre foire aux questions pour y obtenir une réponse! Si vous n’arrivez pas à trouver ce que vous cherchez, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nos spécialistes!


Qu’est ce que l’indicateur de danger d’incendie?

danger_level Qu’est ce que l’indicateur de danger d’incendie?
© Parcs Canada

L’indicateur de danger d’incendie est un outil qui permet de déterminer dans quelle mesure un incendie de forêt peut facilement éclater, être maîtrisé et se propager. Voici une explication des différents degrés :

Danger bas (Bleu): Lorsque le danger d’incendie est bas, il est peu probable qu’un nouvel incendie se déclenche. Le feu est alors de faible intensité et s’éteint généralement de lui même.

Danger modéré (Vert) : Lorsque le danger d’incendie est modéré, le feu se propage généralement au sol et peut embraser un arbre ou un bosquet ici et là. Les pompiers peuvent habituellement contenir l’incendie à l’aide d’appareils traditionnels, comme un extincteur dorsal.

Danger élevé (Jaune) : Lorsque le danger d’incendie est élevé, le feu peut s’allumer facilement, se propager rapidement et être difficile à maîtriser pour les équipes sur le terrain. C’est pourquoi les visiteurs du parc doivent allumer leur feu de camp dans un foyer prévu à cet effet, bien le contenir, l’éteindre complètement à leur départ et jeter leurs mégots de cigarettes dans les contenants appropriés.

Danger extrême (Rouge) : Lorsque le danger d’incendie est extrême, le feu se déclenche très facilement, se propage à grande vitesse et brûle avec beaucoup d’intensité. Les incendies de forêt sont alors très difficiles à maîtriser. Il peut être interdit d’allumer un feu dans ces conditions.


Puis-je visiter le parc lorsqu’on y mène un brûlage dirigé?

Oui. Les brûlages dirigés sont planifiés de façon à ce qu’ils ne nuisent à aucune activité publique. Ils sont réalisés dans des conditions météorologiques qui favorisent le plus possible la dispersion de la fumée loin des zones aménagées. Bien qu’il soit possible de voir et de sentir la fumée à divers endroits, le personnel du parc s’efforce de planifier et de maîtriser les feux de façon à ce qu’ils ne nuisent pas aux visiteurs. Il se peut cependant que l’on interdise aux visiteurs de pratiquer certaines activités dans l’arrière pays pendant certaines étapes du brûlage dirigé.

Parcs Canada donne des avertissements avant et pendant les brûlages dirigés et fournit des renseignements à jour sur les incendies de forêts et leurs répercussions possibles. Les visiteurs et les habitants de la région peuvent communiquer avec le parc au (867) 621-0136 pour en savoir davantage.


Que dois je faire si je suis témoin d’un incendie dans le parc?

Parcs Canada donne aux visiteurs et aux habitants de la région des avertissements avant et pendant les brûlages dirigés. Cependant, les incendies de forêt peuvent être très imprévisibles et se propager rapidement dans diverses directions. Si vous êtes témoin d’un incendie, n’essayez pas de l’éteindre vous même; tenez vous plutôt à une distance sécuritaire et suivez les étapes suivantes :

Observez l’incendie : Prenez note de l’endroit où se trouve l’incendie et attardez vous au comportement du feu. Voyez vous des flammes? Si oui, brûlent elles surtout au sol ou à la cime des arbres? De quelle couleur est la fumée? Quelle quantité de fumée voyez vous? Est ce qu’une colonne de fumée s’échappe de l’endroit, ou est ce que la région entière est enveloppée de fumée? Cette information aidera grandement les pompiers à déterminer l’équipement et les ressources dont ils auront besoin pour éteindre l’incendie le plus rapidement possible.

Signalez l’incendie : Communiquez avec le personnel du parc le plus rapidement possible pour lui faire part de l’emplacement de l’incendie et de vos observations. Vous pouvez joindre l’administration du parc au (867) 621-0136 et parler au responsable de la conservation des ressources, ou encore vous rendre au centre d’accueil des visiteurs ou au kiosque.

Soyez vigilant : Le vent peut transporter des tisons sur une longue distance et la fumée peut rapidement envelopper la région. Le personnel du parc vous montrera la route la plus sécuritaire à prendre pour vous éloigner de l’incendie.


Combien de temps faut il pour observer les bienfaits d'un incendie?

On peut observer les bienfaits de l’incendie presque immédiatement. À la suite d’un incendie, le sol reçoit un supplément d’éléments nutritifs et laisse croître de nouveaux végétaux en quelques semaines seulement. Il apparaît alors une foule d’herbes, d’arbustes et de jeunes arbres qui fournissent une nourriture abondante pour les orignaux et les lièvres. Les arbres brûlés qui tombent au sol forment un habitat pour les petits mammifères et les insectes, qui attirent à leur tour d’autres espèces prédatrices. Ainsi, pendant plusieurs années, les régions brûlées comprennent généralement une diversité d’espèces animales et végétales bien supérieure à celle des forêts adultes.


Processus naturels

Les forces du changement façonnent les paysages. Certaines, comme le soulèvement graduel des montagnes, exercent leur action lentement. D’autres, comme les incendies, les inondations, les tempêtes de vent, les avalanches et les infestations d’insectes, peuvent restructurer les écosystèmes en très peu de temps. Même si elles sont souvent considérées comme des éléments destructeurs, les perturbations naturelles jouent un rôle crucial dans la santé des écosystèmes.

Les trois «R »

Les processus naturels recyclent, rajeunissent et réorganisent la nature. La végétation tuée par une perturbation naturelle se décompose, libérant des nutriments qui sont recyclés par d’autres plantes. Les plantes survivantes sont revigorées, tandis que les clairières créées par les processus naturels sont vite recolonisées par de nouvelles plantes. À l’échelle du paysage, les processus naturels réorganisent les communautés végétales en créant un assemblage hétéroclite de plantes d’espèces et d’âges différents. Cette mosaïque crée des habitats pour un plus grand nombre d’espèces fauniques. Grâce à cette diversification, l’écosystème acquiert une plus grande capacité d’adaptation.

Le feu, agent de changement

Effets sur la diversité forestière Effets sur la diversité forestière
© Parcs Canada

De tout temps, le feu agit en synergie avec d’autres processus naturels afin de façonner divers éléments de l’écosystème. Les humains ont eux aussi recours au feu depuis des millénaires pour améliorer l’habitat du gibier ou pour stimuler la production de nourriture. Voici quelques moyens par lesquels le feu modèle le paysage : Accroissement de la diversité. Le feu produit des communautés de plantes d’espèces et d’âges différents. D’habitude, il brûle à des intensités variables les différentes parcelles qui se trouvent sur son passage. Ses effets sur la végétation varient en fonction du relief, des vents et de la quantité de combustible. Il en résulte tout un éventail de milieux qui soutiennent une faune variée.

  • Réduction du combustible: Les feux périodiques réduisent la quantité de bois mort, de branches et de litière végétale, ce qui diminue les risques de brasiers énormes qui compromettent la fertilité du sol et entraînent de l’érosion.

  • Engraissement du sol: La cendre, qui contient beaucoup de minéraux, enrichit les substances nutritives du sol. Cet apport de nutriments sur un sol chaud peut stimuler l’activité microbienne et favoriser la croissance de nouvelles plantes.

  • Survie des plantes: Dans les régions où les incendies sont courants (comme dans les forêts boréales du Canada et dans une bonne partie des forêts des Rocheuses), les plantes ont développé des moyens d’adaptation pour survivre au feu. Certaines plantes ont en fait besoin du feu pour se reproduire. Les moyens d’adaptation sont très variés : libération d’un plus grand nombre de graines, production accrue de fleurs ou de fruits, écorce et bourgeons résistants au feu et germination à partir de racines souterraines.

  • Survie des animaux: À court terme, le feu peut faire mourir des animaux ou les chasser de leur territoire. Certaines espèces sont même attirées par les parcelles récemment brûlées. Les réactions au feu sont aussi différentes que les espèces fauniques elles-mêmes. Certains animaux survivent en fuyant ou en se cachant sous la terre. D’autres meurent, habituellement de suffocation. À long terme, le feu accroît la diversité des habitats. Il créé aussi des sources de nourriture pour des espèces comme l’orignal, le grizzli, les parulines, les pics et le campagnol des prés. Dans certaines parcelles de prairie, le feu régénère l’habitat en repoussant les broussailles et les arbres qui cherchent à envahir le territoire.

Donner libre cours aux processus naturels

Les parcs nationaux jouent un rôle crucial, celui de préserver la santé des écosystèmes, y compris toutes leurs composantes et les processus naturels qui en font partie. Parcs Canada travaille de concert avec d’autres organismes et avec les collectivités avoisinantes afin de préserver le rôle des processus naturels dans le paysage.


Le feu peut il avoir des effets négatifs?

S’il est vrai que le feu a des répercussions sur les espèces sauvages et leur habitat ainsi que sur les gens, il faut comprendre que ses avantages à long terme l’emportent largement sur ses effets à court terme. Parmi les effets négatifs, on note la fermeture d’autoroutes et de voies ferrées, l’imposition de restrictions quant aux activités récréatives et les impacts sur la santé humaine et les biens matériels. Il arrive également qu’un certain nombre de plantes et d’arbres ne survivent pas à la chaleur intense des flammes. De plus, certains animaux peuvent être déplacés alors que d’autres peuvent succomber à la fumée ou à la chaleur. Enfin, les fortes pluies qui suivent un incendie peuvent jeter les sédiments de cendres dans les ruisseaux et les étangs, ce qui peut avoir des conséquences sur les poissons et les invertébrés aquatiques.

Bien que ces répercussions ne soient pas négligeables, les incendies de forêt représentent une force rajeunissante et non destructrice. Le feu est un processus naturel qui apporte de nombreux bienfaits à l’écosystème et à la vie sauvage. Il produit de nouveaux habitats pour les espèces animales ainsi qu’une nouvelle végétation abondante. Les recherches montrent que la biodiversité des écosystèmes est supérieure à celle des forêts adultes dans les cinq à dix années suivant un incendie de forêt.

La gestion du feu est une question d’équilibre : il faut pouvoir déterminer s’il convient de maîtriser les incendies, de les éteindre pour en réduire les dégâts ou de les allumer volontairement pour contribuer à rétablir les processus naturels et contrer leurs effets destructeurs. Dans tous les cas, le personnel du parc national Wood Buffalo met à profit les meilleures connaissances et recherches disponibles pour conserver un état d’équilibre dans le parc.


La gestion par écosystème

Les parcs nationaux du Canada ont été créés pour protéger des exemples de paysages naturels. La Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada adoptée en 1930 contient à cet égard un énoncé d’une portée considérable : « Les parcs [...] doivent être entretenus et utilisés de façon à demeurer intacts pour les générations futures ». La croyance populaire veut d’ailleurs que les parcs nationaux soient des endroits vierges protégés des influences extérieures par leurs « frontières ».

Aujourd’hui, il faut se faire une nouvelle conception des parcs, car toutes les aires protégées subissent les effets des activités humaines. Beaucoup de parcs sont traversés par des routes, ou renferment des zones d’aménagement ou des habitations. Même les régions très éloignées ne sont pas épargnées par la pollution, encore moins par le réchauffement de la planète. À l’extérieur des parcs, la majeure partie du paysage est occupée par des forêts exploitées, des terres agricoles et des zones d’habitation humaine de plus en plus vastes. On ne peut évidemment pas protéger les parcs nationaux uniquement avec des lignes tracées sur une carte. Il y a peu de parcs qui renferment des écosystèmes intégraux, ou dont les écosystèmes n’ont pas été modifiés. Chacun des parcs n’est qu’un élément d’un ensemble, d’un paysage; chaque parc dépend de la santé écologique de ce paysage. Il faut que les plans de conservation tiennent compte des relations et des interactions entre les êtres humains et les écosystèmes; la gestion par écosystème est une approche qui répond à cette nécessité.

Qu’est-ce qu’un écosystème?

Un écosystème est une unité écologique composée de plantes et d’animaux, à l’intérieur de laquelle se déroulent des processus (comme le transfert d’énergie de la chaîne alimentaire). Ces processus qui lient les plantes et les animaux les uns aux autres, les lient aussi à leur milieu physique. Le terme « écosystème » vient du grec « oikos », qui signifie « maison ». Une maison, un habitat, ce peut être une souche d’arbre pour un insecte comme le dendroctone du pin; ce peut être un territoire de plusieurs milliers de kilomètres carrés pour un ours grizzly. Il y a donc de grands écosystèmes et de petits écosystèmes; une région, un bassin hydrographique, un arbre, ce sont tous des écosystèmes. Mais qu’ils soient petits ou grands, les écosystèmes renferment une grande variété d’espèces et d’habitats. Les écosystèmes se transforment sans arrêt. Certains changements se font lentement. C’est le cas de l’adaptation des végétaux aux variations climatiques. D’autres surviennent rapidement, résultat d’un incendie, d’une inondation ou d’une sécheresse, par exemple. Malgré les chocs qu’ils subissent, les écosystèmes peuvent se maintenir en état d’équilibre (on dit qu’ils sont résilients); ils peuvent s’adapter aux perturbations naturelles, écologiques.

 

Qu’est-ce qu’on entend par intégrité des écosystèmes?

L’intégrité d’un écosystème, c’est un peu comme la santé d’un être humain : elle se caractérise d’abord et avant tout par un fonctionnement régulier et harmonieux. Un écosystème intact, c’est un écosystème qui est représenté par toutes ses espèces indigènes et tous ses réseaux alimentaires. C’est un système où les processus écologiques se déroulent normalement et qui est en mesure de perdurer. Les êtres humains qui subissent des stress peuvent développer des maladies. Chez les écosystèmes, les stress peuvent aussi causer des dommages. Les activités humaines peuvent stresser les écosystèmes en leur imposant des changements rapides auxquels ils ne peuvent pas s’adapter. Des symptômes comme la perte d’espèces ou l’incapacité de conserver des nutriments peuvent indiquer qu'un écosystème est en train de se dégrader.

 

Que signifie le terme biodiversité?

La biodiversité (ou diversité biologique), c’est la variété des organismes vivants dans un milieu. Ce terme désigne plusieurs réalités :
  • La diversité des espèces c’est la variété des végétaux et des animaux dans un milieu. Elle est importante pour le fonctionnement des écosystèmes, parce que la disparition d’une espèce peut entraîner celle de beaucoup d’autres espèces qui dépendent de la première.
  • Le terme diversité génétique désigne la variété des individus qui forment une espèce. La diversité génétique facilite l’adaptation aux changements. Par exemple, il y a des pins qui résistent aux assauts des dendroctones du pin; ces individus survivront si l’espèce est attaquée de façon épidémique.
  • La diversité des paysages est la variété des communautés biologiques dans un paysage. Les incendies favorisent la diversité des paysages en créant une mosaïque composée de divers végétaux de tout âge. À leur tour, les habitats variés abritent plusieurs types de végétaux et d’animaux. Aux quatre coins du monde, les activités humaines diminuent la biodiversité. Ce ne sont pas seulement des espèces qui s’éteignent; des écosystèmes entiers disparaissent aussi. Les parcs nationaux constituent un moyen de plus en plus important de protéger la biodiversité de notre planète. Mais cela ne suffit pas!

 

Qu’est-ce que la gestion par écosystème?

La gestion par écosystème est une approche axée sur l’ensemble d’un écosystème. Ce n’est pas une approche de gestion dirigée seulement vers le territoire d’un parc ou vers des espèces données. Elle permet plutôt de fonder les décisions sur les connaissances qu’on a de l’ensemble de l’écosystème dont on s’occupe et qui peut déborder largement les limites d’un parc.

C’est une mission que Parcs Canada est maintenant formellement tenu de remplir en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada..

La gestion par écosystème est une approche globale. Elle est fondée sur le fait que le bien-être des parcs, comme celui des populations humaines, dépend de la santé écologique des territoires situés au-delà de leurs frontières. La gestion par écosystème nous oblige à collaborer avec d’autres organisations ou groupes, ainsi qu’à tenir compte des besoins sociaux et économiques de la région à laquelle appartient l’écosystème. Même si nous n’avons pas une connaissance parfaite des écosystèmes, nous devons prendre des décisions. Les gestionnaires fondent leurs actions sur des travaux scientifiques ou des connaissances transmises de génération en génération. Ces actions font l’objet de contrôles; l’acquisition de nouvelles informations peut amener les gestionnaires à modifier leur façon de penser ou de faire. Pour qu’elle donne les résultats escomptés, la gestion par écosystème doit reposer sur un consensus social. Elle est fondée sur des valeurs selon lesquelles les êtres humains sont des éléments de systèmes vivants qui ont des relations entre eux et des interactions avec leur milieu. La gestion par écosystème aide les êtres humains à comprendre la nature et à vivre harmonieusement avec elle. Enfin, la gestion par écosystème contribue à assurer la pérennité de la grande variété des espèces qu’abrite notre planète.

 


En quoi la fumée des incendies de forêt peut elle affecter les visiteurs du parc et les collectivités locales?

La fumée touche les gens à divers degrés, mais ceux qui souffrent de troubles cardiaques ou respiratoires sont plus vulnérables. Le risque d’effets indésirables peut également être accru chez les personnes âgées, les enfants et les femmes enceintes.

Les responsables de la gestion du feu s’efforcent toujours d’allumer les feux dirigés lorsque la ventilation verticale (mouvement de l’air vers le haut qui favorise la création d’une colonne de fumée droite) est suffisante de façon à réduire au minimum les effets indésirables de la fumée sur les visiteurs et les habitants. Contrairement aux feux dirigés, les incendies naturels brûlent souvent lorsque la ventilation est faible et laissent ainsi échapper des quantités de fumée variables. Si un incendie naturel brûle pendant des jours ou des semaines, il sera difficile de prévoir la trajectoire de la fumée.

Parcs Canada donne des avertissements avant et pendant les brûlages dirigés et fournit des renseignements à jour sur les feux de forêts et leurs répercussions possibles. Les visiteurs et les habitants de la région peuvent communiquer avec le parc au (867) 621-0136 pour en savoir davantage.