Common menu bar links

Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada

 Kartsland loop
Karstland Loop
© Parks Canada

Learning Experiences

When you arrive in Fort Chipewyan or Fort Smith your first stop should be the Visitor Reception Centre . Knowledgeable park staff, an audiovisual presentation and exhibits can help orient you to the park and make your stay more enjoyable.

There are several interpretive exhibits within the park. Most are wheelchair accessible.

Licensed guides and outfitters may be available for hire.

Educational programs can be organized upon request for groups of six or more. Three weeks' notice is required. Contact the Visitor Reception Centre in Fort Chipewyan or Fort Smith to book a program.


Parks Canada’s Métis Reconciliation Projects: Sharing the Métis Story

video gallery  Sharing the Métis Story
© Parks Canada
Métis people have a deep connection to Parks Canada heritage places. This understanding shapes our national parks and historic sites. A variety of impactful engagement and reconciliation projects are ongoing at Parks Canada places, giving a voice to today’s Métis communities to share their own history and culture.




The Métis of Wood Buffalo National Park

video gallery  Métis of WBNP
© Parks Canada
Explore Canada’s largest national park and one of the largest parks in the world! Wood Buffalo National Park’s on-going efforts at cooperative management have roots in the rich history of the surrounding Indigenous communities. Traditional use of certain park resources by local Indigenous groups, including Métis communities is an important part of the park's cultural history.

Parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo

Activités éducatives

Boucle Karstland
Boucle Karstland
© Parcs Canada

En arrivant à Fort Chipewyan ou à Fort Smith, vous devriez d'abord vous arrêter au centre d'accueil des visiteurs. . Vous y trouverez un personnel compétent, un montage audiovisuel et des éléments d'exposition susceptibles de vous orienter dans votre découverte du parc et de rendre votre séjour plus agréable.

Le parc comporte plusieurs aires d'interprétation , dont la plupart sont accessibles en fauteuil roulant.

Il est possible de retenir les services de guides et de pourvoyeurs autorisés.

Des programmes éducatifs peuvent être organisés pour des groupes de six personnes ou plus. Il faut en faire la demande trois semaines à l'avance à l'un des centres d'accueil des visiteurs, soit à Fort Chipewyan, soit à Fort Smith.


Projets de réconciliation avec les Métis de Parcs Canada : faire connaître l’histoire des Métis

Galerie multimédia Faire connaître l’histoire des Métis
© Parcs Canada
Les Métis ont un lien profond avec les lieux patrimoniaux de Parcs Canada. Ce lien façonne nos parcs et lieux historiques nationaux. Différents projets d’engagement et de réconciliation qui ont des effets sont en cours dans les lieux de Parcs Canada, qui donnent aux communautés métisses d’aujourd’hui l’occasion de se faire entendre et de faire connaître leur histoire et culture.



Les Métis du parc national Wood Buffalo

Galerie multimédia Métis du PNWB
© Parcs Canada
Les efforts soutenus de gestion coopérative du parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo ont leur origine dans la riche histoire des communautés autochtones environnantes. L’utilisation de certaines ressources du parc à des fins traditionnelles par des groupes autochtones locaux, notamment par les communautés métisses, constitue un aspect important de l’histoire culturelle du parc.



Le programme "Un monde sauvage à découvrir du zoo de Calgary"