Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada

Activities

Experiences to discover

Delectable Tastes of Salt

Delectable Tastes of Salt Delectable Tastes of Salt
© Parks Canada


Relax and watch the sun rise over the plains in Wood Buffalo National Park. Look for a wood bison or a whooping crane as you glimpse the contrast of the colour of the red samphire against the whiteness of the salt in the Salt Plains. Feel the sensation of powdery crystals under bare feet and sample the brine from an underground river.

 

 

 

 

Living Large in the North

Living Large in the North Living Large in the North
© Parks Canada / C. McDonald


Feel a cool mist rising from the water. Stand on the shore and watch wood bison, ducks, swans and geese feed. Nearby, the endangered whooping crane nest. In this impressive expanse of the Peace-Athabasca Delta, the largest freshwater inland delta in northeastern Alberta. You’ll experience the renewing force of this remote northern wilderness with its intricate landscapes and fascinating culture.

Witness the Aurora

Witness the Aurora Witness the Aurora
© Parks Canada / L.Naraway


Look up and see a dazzling panorama. Swirling bands of pale green, red and purple dancing across the darkening late summer sky will hold you spellbound. Watch from the bow of an expedition cruise ship or through the door of your tent. Whichever you prefer, find yourself a front row seat to nature’s dramatic sky spectacle.

Meet the People Who Call the Arctic Home

Meet the People Who Call the Arctic Home Meet the People Who Call the Arctic Home
© Parks Canada / R. Buchanan


Your adventure begins when you leave behind your daily life to discover the way people live in the north. Be sure to allow time in your itinerary to rub shoulders with local people and staff. You can expect a warm welcome! At Parks Canada’s visitor centres in the communities adjacent to the parks, you’ll learn about these fascinating northern cultures.

 

 

 

 

 

Other activities in Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada

Western Canada Visitors Guide

Northern Canada Visitors Guide

All Parks Canada's Visitor's Guide

Parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo

Activités

Expériences à votre portée

Un délicieux goût de sel

Un délicieux goût de sel Un délicieux goût de sel
© Parcs Canada


Détendez-vous et regardez le soleil se lever sur les plaines du parc national Wood Buffalo. Partez à la recherche d’un bison des bois ou d’une grue blanche tout en admirant le contraste de la salicorne rouge sur le tapis de sel blanc qui recouvre les plaines salées. Sentez ces cristaux poudreux sous vos pieds nus et goûtez l’eau hypersaline d’une rivière souterraine.

 

 

 


La grande vie dans le Grand Nord

La grande vie dans le Grand Nord
La grande vie dans le Grand Nord
© Parcs Canada / C. McDonald


Debout sur le rivage, dans la brume matinale, observez le bison des bois, le canard, le cygne et l’oie venus se nourrir tout près du nid de la grue blanche d’Amérique, menacée de disparition. Dans l’immensité du delta intérieur d’eau douce Paix-Athabasca, vous serez éblouis par la vitalité sans cesse renouvelée de cette nature boréale, ces paysages à couper le souffle et la culture fascinante des habitants.

Offrez-vous les aurores boréales

Offrez-vous les aurores boréales
Offrez-vous les aurores boréales
© Parcs Canada / L.Naraway


Levez les yeux pour admirer un spectacle hors du commun. Le tourbillon des lumières vert pâle, rouge et pourpre dans l’obscurité naissante du ciel estival vous laissera bouche bée. Que ce soit sur le pont d’un navire de croisière ou à la porte de votre tente, vous serez aux premières loges pour apprécier le plus beau spectacle que le ciel nordique peut offrir.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Venez faire la connaissance des habitants de l’Arctique

Venez faire la connaissance des habitants de l’Arctique Venez faire la connaissance des habitants de l’Arctique
© Parcs Canada / R. Buchanan


L’aventure commence quand vous oubliez le quotidien pour vivre au rythme des gens du Nord. Prévoyez du temps pour côtoyer les résidents et le personnel, ils vous accueilleront à bras ouverts! Dans les centres d’accueil des visiteurs de Parcs Canada des communautés adjacentes, vous en apprendrez davantage sur ces fascinantes cultures nordiques.

D'autres activités au parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo

Guide du visiteur de l’Ouest canadien et du Nord Canadien

Tous les guides du visiteur de Parcs Canada