Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada

Winter Activities

The northern boreal forest is characterized by long, cold dark winters. During January and February it is not unusual to have the thermometer dip to extremes of -40°C. Between December and January daylight is limited to about seven hours a day.

Winter
Winter
© Parks Canada

The best time for winter activities is in late winter and early spring. The longer days and slightly warmer temperatures in late March and April are ideal for enjoying outdoor activities such as cross-country skiing or snowshoeing. Please note that there are no tracked ski trails in the park and recreational snowmobiling is prohibited.

One winter activity that is gaining in popularity is viewing of the Aurora Borealis or northern lights. Wood Buffalo is ideally situated in an area of intense aurora activity. Spectacular light shows are common on clear nights throughout the winter.

Wildlife such as bison, wolves, lynx, snowshoe hares, owls and ptarmigans are sometimes seen along the winter road . However, although their tracks may be abundant in the snow, the wild animals themselves are elusive and actual sightings are usually random.

Parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo

Activités hivernales

La forêt boréale du Nord se caractérise par des hivers longs, froids et sombres. En janvier et février, il n'est pas rare que le thermomètre tombe jusqu'à - 40 °C et, entre décembre et janvier, il n'y a que sept heures quotidiennes de lumière diurne.

L'hiver
L'hiver
© Parcs Canada

Le meilleur moment pour pratiquer des activités hivernales se situe donc à la fin de l'hiver et au début du printemps. Les jours plus longs et les températures un peu plus clémentes de la fin mars et d'avril offrent les conditions idéales pour s'adonner à des activités de plein air comme le ski de fond ou la raquette. Veuillez prendre note qu'il n'existe aucune piste de ski aménagée dans le parc et que la motoneige de loisir y est interdite.

L'observation des aurores boréales est une activité hivernale qui gagne de plus en plus en popularité. Le parc est situé dans une région aux innombrables aurores boréales, et les jeux de lumières spectaculaires sont courants durant les nuits d'hiver sans nuages.

Les animaux sauvages comme les bisons, les loups, les lynx, les lièvres d'Amérique, les chouettes et les lagopèdes s'approchent parfois de la route d'hiver . Cependant, même si leurs pistes sont nombreuses dans la neige, les animaux fuient la compagnie humaine, et c'est habituellement par hasard que le visiteur peut les observer.