Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada

Wildlife Viewing

Wood Buffalo National Park is home to many species of wildlife typical of the northern boreal forest. Bears, wolves, moose, lynx, marten, wolverines, foxes, beavers and snowshoe hares are but a few of the wild mammal species found. Common bird species include sandhill cranes, hawks, eagles and owls.

Wolf in meadow
Wolf in meadow
© Parks Canada / Ken Houseman

Despite their abundant presence, the wild animals of the park are elusive. Tracks and scats can be seen along hiking trails and roads, but actual sightings are often random and due to chance.

The park is perhaps best known for its free-roaming wild bison herd, the largest self-regulating bison herd in the world. The bison wander freely through the forests and plains of the park. Although they can sometimes be viewed along the park roads, like the other wild animals they are often elusive and sightings cannot be guaranteed.

Another interesting species is the red-sided garter snake. The most northerly known hibernaculum of this species is located at the Salt River Day-use Area in the park. Every spring, towards the end of April, the snakes make an above-ground appearance for mating prior to migrating to their summer feeding grounds.

The park protects the last remaining wild nesting area of the endangered whooping crane, as well as some nesting sites of the threatened peregrine falcon. Due to their remoteness and fragile nature, there is no public access to these sites.

Snowgeese
Snowgeese
© Parks Canada / C.Wershler

Birdwatchers may be interested in the Peace-Athabasca Delta, one of the largest inland freshwater deltas in the world. Migratory birds from all four North American flyways pass through the delta in the spring and fall. The delta may be accessed by water from the isolated community of Fort Chipewyan. Motorized access is restricted in some areas. Contact the Visitor Reception Centre for more information.


Key Spots for Wildlife Viewing:

Salt Plains Viewpoint

Salt Plains
Salt Plains
© Parks Canada

Grosbeak Lake(access from Salt River Trail, South Loop)

Grosbeak Lake
Birdwatching at Grosbeak Lake
© Parks Canada / W.Lynch

Sweetgrass

Meadows at Sweetgrass
Bison in the meadows at Sweetgrass
© Parks Canada / W.Lynch

Parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo

Observation de la faune

Le parc national Wood Buffalo abrite de nombreuses espèces d'animaux typiques de la forêt boréale du Nord : ours, loups, orignaux, lynx, martres, carcajous, renards, castors et lièvres d'Amérique, voilà seulement quelques exemples des mammifères que vous pouvez y admirer en pleine nature. Il ne faut pas oublier non plus des espèces communes d'oiseaux comme la grue du Canada, le faucon, l'aigle et la chouette.

Loup dans une clairière
Loup dans une clairière
© Parcs Canada / Ken Houseman

En dépit de leur grand nombre, les animaux du parc fuient l'être humain, et si le visiteur peut parfois apercevoir des pistes et des excréments le long des sentiers de randonnée et des routes, il est rare de pouvoir observer les animaux eux-mêmes et, le cas échéant, il s'agit d'un heureux hasard.

Le parc est réputé pour son troupeau de bisons sauvages en liberté, le plus important troupeau du monde avec autorégulation. Les bêtes circulent librement dans les forêts et les plaines; il arrive qu'on les voie le long des routes, mais elles craignent l'être humain, et rien ne garantit que le visiteur en rencontrera.

Une autre espèce intéressante est la couleuvre rayée, dont le gîte d'hibernation le plus septentrional connu se trouve dans l'aire de fréquentation diurne de la rivière Salt. Chaque printemps, vers la fin avril, les serpents sortent du sol pour s'accoupler avant de migrer vers leur aire de nutrition estivale.

Le parc protège les derniers vestiges d'aires de nidification à l'état sauvage de la grue du Canada, espèce en danger de disparition, de même que certains sites de nidification du faucon pèlerin, espèce menacée. En raison de leur caractère isolé et fragile, ces sites ne sont pas ouverts au public.

Oies des neiges
Oies des neiges
© Parcs Canada / C.Wershler

Les observateurs d'oiseaux trouveront sans doute le delta Paix-Athabasca des plus intéressants, car il s'agit d'un des plus vastes deltas intérieurs d'eau douce du monde. Les oiseaux migrateurs qui empruntent une des quatre voies migratoires d'Amérique du Nord traversent le delta au printemps et à l'automne. L'accès peut se faire par voie d'eau à partir de Fort Chipewyan, bien que les embarcations à moteur soient sujettes à restrictions dans certains endroits. Communiquez avec le centre d'accueil des visiteurs pour obtenir plus d'information.


Emplacements de choix pour l'observation de la faune :

Poste d'observation des plaines salées

Plaines salées
Plaines salées
© Parcs Canada

Lac Grosbeak(accès à partir du sentier de la rivière Salt, boucle Sud)

Lac Grosbeak
Ornithologie au lac Grosbeak
© Parcs Canada / W.Lynch

Prairies à Sweetgrass

Prés de Sweetgrass
Bisons dans les prés à Sweetgrass
© Parcs Canada / W.Lynch