Tuktut Nogait National Park of Canada

Orientation, Registration and De-Registration

For visitor safety, it is mandatory that all visitors participate in an orientation session, register with Parks Canada and obtain a permit prior to accessing the park and to de-register upon completion of the trip.

Reserve a time with staff at the Parks Canada office in Inuvik to go through the orientation and registration process. Allow about one hour for orientation and registration.

Hornaday River Hornaday River
© Parks Canada / C.Bucher

Orientation

The orientation process is aimed at reducing the number of safety incidents, reducing environmental impacts, increasing awareness and understanding of the park and the associated natural and cultural heritage. During the orientation process, Parks Canada staff will provide you with information on the hazards present in the park, risks associated with your planned activities, the current route conditions, weather, water levels, area closures, park regulations, bear safety, points of interest along your proposed route, backcountry etiquette expectations and more.

Registration

Before or during the registration process your party will provide:

  • group member contact information (names and addresses);
  • the name, address and phone number of an emergency contact for each group member;
  • a list of your equipment (the brand, number, colour, model of boats, tent, radio, and sat phone number);
  • information about the type of activity you will undertake;
  • your detailed itinerary;
  • your planned de-registration date (the date you plan to leave the park)
  • payment of the Northern Park Backcountry Excursion / Camping Fee*

canoe in rapids Running rapids
© Parks Canada

At the end of the registration and orientation process Parks Canada will provide the party with a:

  • Free aircraft landing permit if applicable
  • Northern Park Backcountry Excursion/Camping Permit**

  • *Fees are charged at most national parks. Most of the money raised through admission fees remains in the national park where it is collected. This means that every time you visit a national park you are investing in its future—and in a legacy for future generations.

    **The annual Northern Park Backcountry Excursion/Camping Permit is valid for the following national parks:
    Vuntut, Nahanni, Aulavik, Ivvavik, Tuktut Nogait, Auyuittuq, Quttinirpaaq, Sirmilik,

    De-registering your trip:

    Your de-registration date is the day that you anticipate leaving the park and contacting the Parks Canada staff to de-register. It is essential that your planned de-registration date be as accurate as possible. A search and rescue response may be initiated when a group has failed to de-register and an initial investigation suggests a group is overdue or when a distress signal is reported. In the case of an overdue group, a physical search may not occur until at least 48 hours after the de- registration date has passed. The information that you provide to Parks Canada staff during the registration process, such as a detailed description of your itinerary and equipment, becomes very important should a rescue be required.

    To de-register contact the staff at the Parks Canada office in Inuvik either in person or by leaving a message on the phone indicating which party you are de-registering. If you wish to speak to a Parks Canada staff person, please call during office hours, or contact the duty officer.

    Users who fail to de-register place an unnecessary burden on limited search and rescue capabilities potentially making them unavailable for a real emergency and place rescue staff in unnecessary danger.

    Remember to de-register!

    IN AN EMERGENCY CALL

    THE DUTY OFFICER AT 867-777-4893

    THIS NUMBER IS MONITORED 24 HOURS A DAY

    (June – August)

Parc national du Canada Tuktut Nogait

Orientations, inscription et confirmation du retour

Par mesure de sécurité, les visiteurs doivent obligatoirement assister à une séance d’orientation, s’inscrire auprès de Parcs Canada et obtenir un permis avant d’entrer dans le parc. Ils doivent également signaler leur retour une fois leur excursion terminée.

Communiquez avec le personnel du bureau de Parcs Canada à Inuvik afin de réserver une date et une heure pour la séance d’orientation et d’inscription. Prévoyez environ une heure pour ce processus.

La rivière Hornaday La rivière Hornaday
© Parcs Canada / C.Bucher

Orientation

La séance d’orientation vise à réduire le nombre d’incidents liés à la sécurité, à diminuer les impacts sur l’environnement ainsi qu’à sensibiliser les visiteurs à la raison d’être du parc et à la valeur de son patrimoine naturel et culturel. Pendant la séance d’orientation, le personnel de Parcs Canada vous fournira des renseignements sur les dangers présents dans le parc, les risques associés aux activités que vous comptez pratiquer, l’état actuel du parcours que vous avez choisi, les conditions météorologiques, les niveaux d’eau, les fermetures de secteur, les règlements du parc, la sécurité au pays des ours, les points d’intérêt le long de votre parcours, l’étiquette à respecter dans l’arrière-pays et plus encore.

Inscription

Avant ou pendant l’inscription, votre groupe doit fournir ce qui suit :

  • coordonnées des membres du groupe (noms et adresses);
  • nom, adresse et numéro de téléphone d’une personne à contacter en cas d’urgence pour chaque membre du groupe;
  • liste de votre équipement (marque, nombre, couleur, modèle d’embarcation, tente, radio et numéro de téléphone satellite);
  • type d’activité que vous comptez entreprendre;
  • itinéraire détaillé;
  • date de retour prévue (date où vous comptez quitter le parc);
  • droit d’excursion/de camping dans l’arrière-pays des parcs nationaux du Nord*
Canoe dans des rapides Canoe dans des rapides
© Parcs Canada

À la fin de la séance d’inscription et d’orientation, Parcs Canada fournira ce qui suit à votre groupe :

  • permis d’atterrissage gratuit, s’il y a lieu;
  • permis d’excursion/de camping dans l’arrière-pays des parcs nationaux du Nord.**

    *La plupart des parcs nationaux exigent des droits d’entrée. La somme versée en guise de droit d’entrée est en grande partie réinvestie dans le parc national où elle a été perçue. Ainsi, chaque fois que vous visitez un parc national, vous investissez dans son avenir – et dans un legs pour les générations futures.

    **Le permis annuel d’excursion/de camping dans l’arrière-pays des parcs nationaux du Nord est valable pour les parcs nationaux suivants : Vuntut, Nahanni, Aulavik, Ivvavik, Tuktut Nogait, Auyuittuq, Quttinirpaaq et Sirmilik.

    Confirmation du retour

    La date de retour correspond à la date où vous comptez quitter le parc et prendre contact avec le personnel de Parcs Canada pour signaler votre retour d’excursion. Votre date de retour prévue doit être la plus exacte possible. Une opération de recherche et de sauvetage pourrait être amorcée si un groupe omet de signaler son retour et qu’une enquête préliminaire donne à conclure qu’il manque à l’appel ou si un signal de détresse est capté. Dans le cas d’un groupe manquant à l’appel, il se peut que l’opération de recherche ne débute que 48 heures après la date de retour prévue. Les renseignements que vous fournissez au personnel de Parcs Canada pendant votre inscription, par exemple une description détaillée de votre itinéraire et de votre équipement, prennent toute leur importance lorsqu’une opération de sauvetage devient nécessaire.

    Pour signaler votre retour, communiquez avec le bureau de Parcs Canada à Inuvik, soit en vous y rendant en personne, soit en laissant un message sur le répondeur pour indiquer que votre groupe est de retour. Si vous souhaitez parler à un employé de Parcs Canada, téléphonez pendant les heures d’ouverture ou appelez l’agent de service.

    Les visiteurs qui omettent de confirmer leur retour imposent un fardeau inutile à une équipe de recherche et de sauvetage dont les ressources sont limitées. Ils risquent aussi de la rendre indisponible pour une urgence réelle et de la placer inutilement dans une situation dangereuse.

    N’oubliez pas de signaler votre retour!

    EN CAS D’URGENCE

    APPELEZ L’AGENT DE SERVICE AU

    867-777-4893 SERVICE ASSURÉ 24 HEURES SUR 24

    (de juin à août)