Common menu bar links

Tuktut Nogait National Park of Canada

How to Get There

man looking at cliffs through binoculars Visitor looking through binoculars
© Parks Canada

Accessing the Park

Inuvik is the largest community in the region and is serviced daily by scheduled aircraft from southern Canada. Aklak Air is presently the only scheduled aircraft carrier serving the community of Paulatuk. Scheduled flights between Inuvik and Paulatuk are currently on Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday. Schedules may be subject to change. There are no roads or trails leading directly to Tuktut Nogait from Paulatuk.


Accessing the park by land

Tuktut Nogait National Park is bordered on the north and west by privately-owned Inuvialuit lands. Visitors entering the park overland from the north or the west must cross these lands. Visitors crossing Inuvialuit lands are welcomed by the Inuvialuit, provided that they treat the lands with respect and that they do not interfere with Inuvialuit use and enjoyment of the lands. Visitors planning to fish on Inuvialuit lands must first register with the Paulatuk Hunters and Trappers Committee (PHTC) (http://www.pc.gc.ca/eng/pn-np/nt/tuktutnogait/visit/tourism.aspx).

  • The Hornaday River is a scenic and helpful navigation aid for visitors accessing Tuktut Nogait by land. The Hornaday River delta is 15 kilometres by land from Paulatuk. Visitors can follow the west bank of the Hornaday River for approximately 40 km to the boundary of Tuktut Nogait where they can enter the park.

Contact the Parks Canada office in Inuvik for assistance with land travel options.


Accessing the park by water

The coastline of Darnley Bay in the Amundsen Gulf is an attractive starting point for many visitors wishing to hike into Tuktut Nogait, particularly the Brock and Hornaday River Deltas. Boat shuttle services are periodically offered by local operators to carry visitors between Paulatuk and the coastal shores to the northwest of the park. Contact theParks Canada office in Inuvik for assistance with boat shuttle options.


Accessing the park by air

There are no ground based landing-strips, only water based landings are permitted in Tuktut Nogait. Known water base landings include, but are not limited to: Uyarsivik Lake/ Cache Lake, Canoe Lake, Long Lake, One Island Lake, Seven Island Lake, Akluk Lake, Brock Headwater Lakes and Hornaday Lake. Charter aircraft may be arranged from Norman Wells and sometimes Inuvik.

A free Parks Canada Aircraft Landing Permit will be issued when you register with Parks Canada. Aircraft charter companies will ask for your landing permit before leaving. It is an offense under the Canada National Parks Act to land a plane without a permit or to operate an aircraft charter company without a current National Parks Business License for Tuktut Nogait National Park.

AIRCRAFT COST SHARING LIST

Most access to Tuktut Nogait National Park is by charter aircraft. As this can be very costly, most groups try to split their charters with other groups traveling to and from Tuktut Nogait National Park. If your dates are flexible and you would like to try to cost share, Parks Canada keeps a list of people who are interested in sharing or splitting charters.

It is the responsibility of individuals or groups using the list to contact each other and make any arrangements. Parks Canada bears no responsibility for the outcome of cost-sharing arrangements that are made through this list. If this would be of interest, please contact the Parks Canada office in Inuvik.


Map of Tuktut Nogait and Region Map of Tuktut Nogait and Region
© Parks Canada

Map of Tuktut Nogait Map of Tuktut Nogait
© Parks Canada

Parc national du Canada Tuktut Nogait

Comment s'y rendre

Visiteur observant au moyen de jumelles Visiteur observant au moyen de jumelles
© Parcs Canada

Accès au parc


Inuvik, la plus grande collectivité de la région, est desservie quotidiennement par des vols réguliers en provenance du Sud du Canada. La société Aklak Air est actuellement le seul transporteur qui assure des liaisons régulières avec le hameau de Paulatuk. Elle offre des vols réguliers entre Inuvik et Paulatuk le mardi, le mercredi et le vendredi. Cet horaire pourrait changer sans préavis. De Paulatuk, il n’y a ni route ni sentier qui mène directement au parc national Tuktut Nogait.

Accès au parc par voie terrestre 

Le parc national Tuktut Nogait est délimité au nord et à l’ouest par les terres privées des Inuvialuits. Les visiteurs qui entrent dans le parc par voie terrestre depuis le côté nord ou le côté ouest doivent traverser ces terres. Les Inuvialuits n’ont aucune objection à ce qu’ils le fassent, pourvu qu’ils traitent le territoire avec respect et qu’ils évitent d’entraver les activités des Inuvialuits. Les visiteurs qui comptent pêcher sur les terres des Inuvialuits doivent d’abord s’inscrire auprès du Paulatuk Hunters and Trappers Committee (PHTC).

  • La rivière Hornaday est un cours d’eau panoramique qui peut servir de repère aux visiteurs pénétrant dans le parc par voie terrestre. Le delta de la Hornaday se trouve à 15 kilomètres de marche de Paulatuk. Il suffit ensuite de longer la berge ouest de la rivière sur une quarantaine de kilomètres pour gagner la limite du parc national Tuktut Nogait.

Accès au parc par bateau

Le littoral de la baie Darnley, dans le golfe d’Amundsen, représente un point de départ attrayant pour de nombreux visiteurs qui souhaitent faire de la randonnée dans le parc national Tuktut Nogait, en particulier dans les deltas des rivières Brock et Hornaday. Des exploitants locaux offrent périodiquement des services de taxi nautique pour transporter les visiteurs entre Paulatuk et le littoral nord-ouest du parc. Prenez contact avec le bureau de Parcs Canada à Inuvik  pour obtenir des conseils au sujet des possibilités de transport par bateau.

Accès au parc voie aérienne

Il n’y a aucune piste d’atterrissage dans le parc; seuls les amerrissages sont autorisés. Parmi les plans d’eau connus qui se prêtent bien à un amerrissage, citons les suivants : lac Uyarsivik (lac Cache), lac Canoe, lac Long, lac One Island, lac Seven Island, lac Akluk, lacs d’amont de la rivière Brock et lac Hornaday. Il est possible d’organiser des vols nolisés à partir de Norman Wells et parfois d’Inuvik.

Parcs Canada vous remet gratuitement un permis d’atterrissage au moment de votre inscription. Les compagnies d’affrètement d’aéronefs vous demanderont votre permis d’atterrissage avant de partir. Il est interdit en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada de poser un aéronef sans permis ou d’exploiter une entreprise d’affrètement d’avion sans un permis d’exploitation en règle pour le parc national Tuktut Nogait.

LISTE DE PARTAGE DES COÛTS DU TRANSPORT AÉRIEN

La plupart des visiteurs accèdent au parc national Tuktut Nogait par vol nolisé. Comme l’affrètement d’un avion peut se révéler très coûteux, la plupart des groupes s’efforcent de partager leur vol avec d’autres groupes qui voyagent à destination ou en provenance du parc national Tuktut Nogait. Parcs Canada tient une liste de personnes qui bénéficient d’une certaine souplesse dans le choix de leurs dates de voyage et qui souhaiteraient partager les coûts de leur transport.

Il incombe aux personnes et aux groupes qui se servent de cette liste de communiquer les uns avec les autres et de prendre les dispositions nécessaires. Parcs Canada décline toute responsabilité liée au résultat des ententes de partage des coûts conclues grâce à cette liste. Si la possibilité de partager un vol nolisé vous intéresse, faites inscrire votre nom sur la liste en communiquant avec le bureau de Parcs Canada à Inuvik .

Carte de Tuktut Nogait et de la région Carte de Tuktut Nogait et de la région (disponible en anglais seulement)
© Parcs Canada

Carte de Tuktut Nogait Carte de Tuktut Nogait (carte disponible en anglais seulement)
© Parcs Canada