Common menu bar links

Tuktut Nogait National Park of Canada

Park Management

Arctic Willow Arctic Willow
© Parks Canada

Tuktut Nogait National Park was established in legislation by Parliament in 1998, encompassing 16,340 km2 in the northeast corner of mainland Northwest Territories, 170 kilometres north of the Arctic Circle. This area is part of the Inuvialuit Settlement Region (ISR) – defined by the Inuvialuit Final Agreement land claim.

The community of Paulatuk first proposed the national park in 1988, to protect the calving grounds of the Bluenose-West caribou herd. In June 1996, after 6 years of negotiations, the Tuktut Nogait Agreement was signed by Canada, the Northwest Territories, the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, the Inuvialuit Game Council, the Paulatuk Community Corporation and the Paulatuk Hunters and Trappers Committee. The agreement identifies the purpose for the park  , sets out the framework for establishment and administration of the park, and establishes a park management board.

The Tuktut Nogait Management Board advises on all aspects of park planning, operations and management. The board includes appointees from federal and territorial governments, as well as from the Inuvialuit community. The co-operative framework of the board supports an inclusive, consensus-based approach to decision making. Tuktut Nogait is one of Canada's first co-operatively managed national parks.

In 2005, an Impact and Benefit Plan was signed by Canada and the Deline Land Corporation, allowing for the expansion of Tuktut Nogait into the Sahtu Settlement Area. This expansion adds an additional 1,850 km2 to the park area and recognizes the addition of one appointee to the Tuktut Nogait Management Board by the Deline Land Corporation.

Parc national du Canada Tuktut Nogait

Gestion du parc

Arctic Willow saule arctique
© Parcs Canada

Créé en 1998 en vertu d’une loi du Parlement, le parc national Tuktut Nogait occupe une superficie de 16 340 km2 à l’extrémité nord-est de la partie continentale des Territoires du Nord Ouest. Il se trouve à 170 km au nord du cercle arctique. Ce territoire fait partie de la région désignée des Inuvialuits, laquelle est définie par la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit.

La collectivité de Paulatuk a proposé la création du parc national pour la première fois en 1988, afin de protéger le territoire de mise bas de la harde de caribous Bluenose Ouest. En juin 1996, au terme de six ans de négociations, l’Entente Tuktut Nogait a été signée par le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, la Société régionale inuvialuite, le Conseil inuvialuit de gestion du gibier, la Société communautaire de Paulatuk et le Comité des chasseurs et des trappeurs de Paulatuk. Cette entente précise la raison d’être du parc, présente le cadre à respecter pour la création et l’administration du parc et prévoit la mise sur pied d’un conseil de gestion du parc.

Le Conseil de gestion du parc national Tuktut Nogait donne des conseils sur tous les aspects de la planification, de l’exploitation et de la gestion du parc. Il est formé de représentants nommés par le gouvernement fédéral, par le gouvernement territorial et par la communauté inuvialuite. De par son cadre coopératif, le Conseil préconise une approche inclusive axée sur le consensus pour la prise de décisions. Le parc national Tuktut Nogait est l’un des premiers parcs nationaux à relever d’un régime de cogestion au Canada.

En 2005, le gouvernement du Canada et la Société foncière de Déline ont conclu une entente sur les répercussions et les avantages qui prévoit l’agrandissement du parc jusque dans la région désignée du Sahtu. Cette entente accroîtra de 1 850 km2 la superficie du parc et permettra à la Société foncière de Déline de désigner un représentant au Conseil de gestion du parc national Tuktut Nogait.