Nahanni National Park Reserve of Canada

Managing Nahanni

The role of Canada's system of national parks is to protect representative natural areas of Canadian significance. Today, this system includes 42 national parks and national park reserves. Parks Canada is also responsible for commemorating Canada's cultural heritage and includes a system of over 900 national historic sites, numerous heritage rivers, heritage canals and heritage railway stations.

Mountain Valley
Mountain valley
© Parks Canada / J.W.Borcoman

National parks and historic sites characterize our country and define who we are as Canadians. They are also important beyond our nation's boundaries by helping Canada fulfill international agreements such as the Convention on Biological Diversity and the World Heritage Convention.

National parks belong to the people of Canada, and Canadians have a right to determine the management of these special places. This right is enshrined in the Canada National Parks Act .

The primary opportunity for Canadians to express their views on the future of the parks and sites is through the preparation of park management plans. Park management plans set the overall direction for a specific park and provide a framework for action over a 15-year period, with reviews every five years. When completed, park management plans are approved by the Minister responsible for national parks and tabled in Parliament. In 2010, a new management plan was completed for Nahanni National Park Reserve of Canada.

Naha Dehô Concensus Team
Naha Dehé Concensus Team
© Parks Canada

Dehcho First Nations and Canada have been involved in self-governance and land/resource planning negotiations for several years. The negotiations are known as the Dehcho Process. Through the Dehcho Process, in June 2000, Parks Canada and the Dehcho First Nations created the Naha Dehé Consensus Team. The Naha Dehé Consensus Team was given four primary tasks, and these included:

  1. prepare an Ecological Integrity Statement,
  2. complete a review of the Park Management Plan,
  3. prepare an Interim Park Management Arrangement, and
  4. prepare a Memorandum of Understanding Respecting Park Expansion.

When these tasks were completed in 2003, the role of the Naha Dehé Consensus Team shifted and this group is now dedicated to the ongoing cooperative management issues associated with the Interim Park Management Arrangement.

The public will be given various opportunities to provide input to the future direction of Nahanni National Park Reserve. These opportunities will extend to local, regional and national venues.

If you are interested in reviewing the management plan, please contact us.

National Parks Policy | Panel on Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks | More What's New | Information on the Yukon to Yellowstone Initiative | Progress Report on Natural Heritage Initiatives in Canada's North

Réserve de parc national du Canada Nahanni

Gestion de Nahanni

Le réseau des parcs nationaux du Canada a pour but de protéger les zones naturelles représentatives d'importance nationale. À l'heure actuelle, il compte 42 parcs nationaux et réserves de parc national. Parcs Canada a également pour tâche de commémorer le patrimoine culturel du Canada et veille sur un réseau constitué de plus de 900 lieux historiques nationaux, de nombreuses rivières et canaux du patrimoine et de gares ferroviaires patrimoniales.

Vallée de montagne
Vallée de montagne
© Parcs Canada / J.W.Borcoman

Les parcs et lieux historiques nationaux caractérisent le Canada et définissent l'identité canadienne. Ils jouent également un rôle important au-delà des frontières nationales en aidant le Canada à remplir les engagements qu'il a pris dans le cadre d'ententes internationales comme la Convention sur la diversité biologique et la Convention du patrimoine mondial.

Les parcs nationaux appartiennent au peuple canadien, et les Canadiens ont le droit d'influer sur la gestion de ces endroits spéciaux. Ce droit leur est consacré dans la Loi sur les parcs nationaux .

Les Canadiens ont avant tout l'occasion de faire connaître leurs opinions sur l'avenir des parcs et lieux historiques du pays au moment de la préparation des plans directeurs des parcs. Les plans directeurs des parcs énoncent l'orientation générale d'un parc en particulier et fournissent un cadre d'intervention pendant une période de 15 ans. Ils prévoient également des examens tous les cinq ans. Une fois terminés, les plans directeurs sont approuvés par le ministre responsable des parcs nationaux et déposés au Parlement. En 2010, un nouveau plan directeur a été rédigé pour la réserve de parc national du Canada Nahanni.

L'Équipe de concensus Naha Dehé
L'Équipe de concensus Naha Dehé
© Parcs Canada

Depuis plusieurs années, l'autonomie gouvernementale et la planification des terres/ressources font l'objet de négociations entre les Premières nations du Deh Cho et le Canada. Les négociations sont connues sous le nom de Processus du Deh Cho. En juin 2000, dans le cadre de ce processus, Parcs Canada et les Premières nations du Deh Cho ont créé l'Équipe de consensus Naha Dehé. Cette équipe avait quatre tâches principales, c'est à dire :

  1. préparer un énoncé d'intégrité écologique;
  2. examiner le plan directeur du parc;
  3. préparer une entente provisoire relativement à la gestion du parc;
  4. préparer un protocole d'entente relativement à l'agrandissement du parc.

Lorsqu'elle a terminé ces tâches en 2003, l'Équipe de consensus Naha Dehé a réorienté ses activités; elle traite maintenant des questions courantes de cogestion découlant de l'entente provisoire relativement à la gestion du parc.

Le public aura maintes occasions d'influencer l'orientation de la réserve de parc national Nahanni. Ces occasions seront offertes à l'échelle nationale, régionale et locale.

Si vous voulez étudier l'ébauche du plan directeur, veuillez nous contacter.

Politique sur les parcs nationaux | Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada | Autre « Quoi de neuf » |
Information sur le projet « Yukon to Yellowstone » | Sommaire des nouveaux projets de conservation du patrimoine naturel dans le Nord du Canada