Nahanni National Park Reserve of Canada

Greater Nahanni Ecosystem

map
    Greater Nahanni Ecosystem
    Parks Canada

Park Establishment

Nahanni was set aside as a national park reserve in 1972, and was gazetted under the National Parks Act in 1976. The park will remain in "reserve" status until the Dehcho Process is completed. The Dehcho Process is the land, resource, and governance negotiations between the Dehcho First Nations, Government of the Northwest Territories, and Government of Canada.

Nahanni was protected as a park reserve after extensive public consultations about the future of Nahʔą Dehé (the South Nahanni River) as a free-flowing wilderness river. The debate directly influenced decisions about the park’s boundary. Protecting the river from a proposed hydroelectric development at Náįlįcho (Virginia Falls) was deemed a priority.

Greater Nahanni Ecosystem

The Greater Nahanni Ecosystem consists of the entire Nahʔą Dehé Ts’e Tu Zhánįlį (the South Nahanni River watershed) and an area north of the First Canyon known as the Nahanni Karst. All of the water in Nahʔą Dehé (Nahanni National Park Reserve) fell at one time or another within the river's watershed. The park’s original boundaries covered only one-seventh of the watershed’s lower portion. Most of Nahʔą Dehé’s water came from outside the park boundary. Competing land uses within the Greater Nahanni Ecosystem included mineral exploration, mining, and sport hunting. Together, they could have a cumulative impact on water quality and wildlife habitat. Research indicated that a larger park would protect habitat for large mammals such as grizzlies and caribou, protect water quality, and ensure the landscape’s ecological health.

Park Expansion

Since 1987, Parks Canada has wanted to increase the size of Nahanni National Park Reserve to better represent the Mackenzie Mountains Natural Region in the National Parks System and to enhance the park reserve’s ecological integrity.

Nahanni National Park Reserve worked with Dehcho First Nations and other land managers to develop its ecological vision for Nahʔą Dehé that included the entire watershed.

The Deh Cho Process and the Nahanni Expansion Working Group

Parks Canada worked through the Dehcho Process to achieve a national park that maintains ecological integrity and is representative of the Mackenzie Mountains.

June 2000

The Dehcho First Nations and the Government of Canada established the Nahʔą Dehé Consensus Team.

October 2002

The Government of Canada's Action Plan to Protect Canada's Natural Heritage included the goal of expanding Nahanni National Park Reserve.

June 2003

The Nahʔą Dehé Consensus Team completed an Ecological Integrity Statement, reviewed the Park Management Plan, prepared an Interim Park Management Arrangement, and a Memorandum of Understanding Respecting Park Expansion of Nahanni National Park Reserve.

February 2004

The Nahanni Expansion Working Group was formed to work on issues stemming from the Memorandum of Understanding Respecting Park Expansion of Nahanni National Park Reserve.

Through this working group, Parks Canada and Dehcho First Nations worked together to study and recommend a final boundary for Nahanni National Park Reserve within the Greater Nahanni Ecosystem.

Parks Canada originally identified three areas for expansion: the Tlogotsho Plateau, the Ragged Range and the karst lands. Since the community of Nahanni Butte expressed interest in protecting the water, the area of interest grew to include the entire South Nahanni River watershed. While most of the area of interest is in the Dehcho Region, the upper watershed is in the Sahtu Region.

Lands were set aside through an interim land withdrawal order under the Dehcho Process. Parks Canada also worked to protect the upper watershed lands into the park reserve in accordance with the Sahtu Final Agreement and the Sahtu Preliminary Draft Land Use Plan.

September 2007

The Working Group completed its feasibility studies on conservation values and mineral & energy potential in the area of interest for expansion, and recommended a new, larger boundary for Nahanni National Park Reserve.

June 2009

Nahanni National Park Reserve was expanded by more than six times its original size, to 30,000 km2 thanks to efforts from Dehcho First Nations, CPAWS, the Canadian Boreal Initiative, the Wildlife Conservation Society Canada, Mountain Equipment Co-op, and the Government of Canada.

August 2012

The establishment of Nááts’ihch’oh National Park Reserve was announced.

Nahanni National Park Reserve is to assume full National Park status under the Canada National Parks Act at the conclusion of the Dehcho Process.

Cooperative Management Approach

The Nahʔą Dehé Consensus Team will continue to develop guidelines for land use and cooperatively manage the park’s operations until the Dehcho Process is completed, and a Dehcho Final Agreement determines the permanent forum for cooperative management.

Protected areas within the Greater Nahanni Ecosystem will also function as part of a larger Protected Areas Strategy developed by the Government of the Northwest Territories, the Government of Canada, and First Nations.

A Vision for Nahʔą Dehé

(Excerpt from park management plan)

Travelling through the land of the Nahʔą Dene, who have lived on this land since time immemorial, local legends excite the imagination. Dene culture, so intimately linked to the ecology of the Nahʔą Dehé, is respected in this place of mystery, spirituality, and healing. The life sustaining waters of Nahʔą Dehé flow freely, protected through the wisdom and guidance of the Dehcho elders. Traditional subsistence harvesting continues as an integral and sustainable part of the ecosystem, occurring in accordance with Dene laws, values and principles. Dene are inseparable from the land.

Nahʔą Dehé protects a wilderness watershed in the Mackenzie Mountains, where fires and floods shape the land, and naturally occurring plant and animal species thrive. The park is a model of cooperative management, where excellence in the conduct of science is promoted and cultural resources are treated with care. Communities, volunteers and stakeholders are involved in the stewardship of Nahʔą Dehé, ensuring respect for the land continues into future generations.

Flying into the park, range after range of rocky peaks, vast plateaux and canyons hundreds of metres deep unfold below the wings. Watchful eyes may catch a glimpse of a grizzly passing in the bush or Dall’s sheep leaping nimbly on rocky hillsides. A moment of solitude feeling the thundering power of Náįlįcho brings a humbling realization of size. World-class opportunities abound to experience wilderness and the natural and cultural heritage of Nahʔą Dehé.

A UNESCO World Heritage Site, Nahʔą Dehé, touches and inspires people who may never dip their paddles in the waters of this Canadian Heritage River, climb through the granite rock walls or fly into this remote watershed. Nahʔą Dehé resonates in the hearts and minds of all Canadians and people of the world.

Réserve de parc national du Canada Nahanni

Écosystème de la grande région Nahanni

carte
    Écosystème de la grande région Nahanni
    Parcs Canada

Établissement du parc

Nahanni a été désignée réserve de parc national en 1972 et a été inscrite dans la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada en 1976. Le parc conservera son statut de réserve jusqu’à ce que le processus du Dehcho soit terminé. Le processus du Dehcho englobe les négociations sur les terres, les ressources et la gouvernance entre les Premières Nations du Dehcho, le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le gouvernement du Canada.

Nahanni a été protégée en tant que réserve de parc après de vastes consultations publiques au sujet de l’avenir de la Nahʔą Dehé (rivière Nahanni Sud), rivière sauvage à écoulement libre. Le débat a directement influé sur les décisions concernant les limites du parc. Il a été jugé prioritaire de protéger la rivière contre un projet de développement hydroélectrique proposé à Náįlįcho (chutes Virginia).

Écosystème de la grande région Nahanni

L’écosystème de la grande région Nahanni est composé du Nahʔą Dehé Ts’e Tu Zhánįlį (bassin hydrographique de la rivière Nahanni Sud) en entier et de la région située au nord du premier canyon, appelé le karst de Nahanni. À un moment ou l’autre, toute l’eau de Nahʔą Dehé (la réserve de parc national Nahanni) a coulé dans le bassin hydrographique de la rivière. Les limites initiales du parc ne couvraient qu’un septième de la partie inférieure du bassin hydrographique. La majorité de l’eau de Nahʔą Dehé venait de l’extérieur des limites du parc. Les utilisations concurrentes des terres dans l’écosystème de la grande région Nahanni comprennent l’exploration minérale, l’exploitation minière et la chasse sportive. Dans l’ensemble, ces activités pourraient avoir des effets cumulatifs sur la qualité de l’eau et les habitats fauniques. Selon les recherches, un plus grand parc permettrait de protéger l’habitat des grands mammifères, comme le grizzli et le caribou, de protéger la qualité de l’eau et d’assurer la santé écologique du paysage.

Agrandissement du parc

Depuis 1987, Parcs Canada voulait agrandir la réserve de parc national Nahanni afin de mieux représenter la région naturelle des monts Mackenzie au sein du réseau des parcs nationaux et d’améliorer l’intégrité écologique de la réserve de parc.

Les responsables de la réserve de parc national Nahanni ont travaillé en collaboration avec les Premières Nations du Dehcho et d’autres gestionnaires fonciers afin de présenter une vision écologique pour Nahʔą Dehé qui comprenait le bassin hydrographique entier.

Le processus du Dehcho et le Groupe de travail sur l’agrandissement de Nahanni

Parcs Canada a passé par le processus du Dehcho afin de créer un parc national qui maintient l’intégrité écologique et représente les monts Mackenzie.

Juin 2000

Les Premières Nations du Dehcho et le gouvernement du Canada ont formé l’Équipe du consensus Nahʔą Dehé.

Octobre 2002

Un des objectifs du plan d’action du gouvernement du Canada visant à protéger le patrimoine naturel du Canada était l’agrandissement de la réserve de parc national Nahanni.

Juin 2003

L’Équipe du consensus Nahʔą Dehé a rédigé un énoncé d’intégrité écologique, examiné le plan directeur du parc, et préparé un accord provisoire relatif à la gestion du parc et un protocole d’entente sur l’agrandissement de la réserve de parc national Nahanni.

Février 2004

Le Groupe de travail sur l’agrandissement de Nahanni a été créé afin d’aborder des questions découlant du protocole d’entente sur l’agrandissement de la réserve de parc national Nahanni. Par l’entremise de ce groupe de travail, Parcs Canada et les Premières Nations du Dehcho ont travaillé en collaboration en vue d’effectuer des études et de recommander des limites définitives pour la réserve de parc national Nahanni au sein de l’écosystème de la grande région Nahanni. Au début, Parcs Canada a cerné trois régions à agrandir : le plateau Tlogotsho, le chaînon Ragged et les terres karstiques. Étant donné que la collectivité de Nahanni Butte a manifesté son intérêt à protéger l’eau, la zone d’intérêt s’est élargie pour comprendre le bassin hydrographique entier de la rivière Nahanni Sud. La grande partie de la zone d’intérêt est située dans la région du Dehcho, mais la partie supérieure du bassin hydrographique est située dans la région du Sahtu. Des terres ont été mises de côté au moyen d’une ordonnance d’inaliénation provisoire des terres dans le cadre du processus du Dehcho. Parcs Canada s’est efforcé de protéger les terres de la partie supérieure du bassin hydrographique dans la réserve de parc conformément à l’Entente définitive sur le Sahtu et à la version provisoire du plan d’aménagement des terres du Sahtu.

Septembre 2007

Le groupe de travail a effectué des études de faisabilité sur les valeurs de conservation et le potentiel des ressources minérales et énergétiques dans la zone d’intérêt de l’agrandissement; il a aussi recommandé de nouvelles limites plus vastes pour la réserve de parc national Nahanni.

Juin 2009

Grâce aux efforts des Premières Nations du Dehcho, de la Société pour la nature et les parcs du Canada, de l’Initiative canadienne boréale, de la Société pour la conservation de la faune du Canada, de Mountain Equipment Co-op et du gouvernement du Canada, la réserve de parc national Nahanni a été élargie de plus de six fois par rapport à sa taille initiale pour atteindre une superficie de 30 000 km2.

Août 2012

On annonce l’établissement de la réserve de parc national Nááts’ihch’oh. La réserve de parc national Nahanni obtiendra le statut de parc national en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada à la fin du processus du Dehcho.

Approche de cogestion

L’Équipe du consensus Nahʔą Dehé continuera d’établir des lignes directrices pour l’utilisation des terres et d’assurer la cogestion des opérations du parc jusqu’à ce que le processus du Dehcho soit terminé et qu’un accord définitif du Dehcho définisse un forum permanent de cogestion.

Les zones protégées au sein de l’écosystème de la grande région Nahanni feront partie d’une stratégie plus vaste relative aux zones protégées établie par le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, le gouvernement du Canada et les Premières Nations.

Une vision pour Nahʔą Dehé

(Extrait du plan directeur du parc)

Lorsqu'on se promène sur les terres des Dénés Nahʔą, qui occupent ce territoire de temps immémorial, les légendes locales ne peuvent qu'enflammer l'imagination. La culture dénée, si intimement liée à l'écologie de Nahʔą Dehé, reçoit tout le respect qui lui est dû dans ce lieu de mystère, de spiritualité et de guérison. Les eaux de Nahʔą Dehé, essentielles au maintien de la vie, circulent librement, protégées par la sagesse et l’orientation des Aînés du Dehcho. Les activités traditionnelles d’exploitation de subsistance font partie intégrante de l’écosystème et sont autorisées conformément aux lois et aux principes dénés, afin d’en assurer la durabilité. Les Dénés sont indissociables de la terre.

Nahʔą Dehé protège un bassin hydrographique sauvage dans les monts Mackenzie où des processus naturels tels que le feu et les inondations façonnent le territoire, et où les communautés végétales naturelles et les populations d’animaux indigènes y prospèrent. Le parc est un modèle de cogestion : l’excellence de la recherche scientifique y est encouragée et les ressources culturelles y sont traitées avec soin. Les membres des collectivités, les bénévoles et d'autres intervenants participent activement et conjointement à la gérance de Nahʔą Dehé, de manière à ce que les prochaines générations continuent de respecter ces terres.

Survolant le parc, les visiteurs aperçoivent plusieurs chaînes de montagnes rocheuses, de vastes plateaux et des canyons profonds de centaines de mètres. S’ils sont vigilants, ils verront peut-être un grizzli se frayant un chemin dans les buissons ou un mouflon de Dall grimpant par bonds agiles une paroi rocheuse. Sur la rivière, la solitude favorise l’humilité et aide à prendre conscience de sa propre petitesse, en particulier lorsqu’on entend le bruit assourdissant de Náįlįcho qui nous rappelle sa puissance. Les visiteurs peuvent y vivre toute une gamme d'expériences de premier ordre et le patrimoine naturel et culturel de Nahʔą Dehé.

Site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, Nahʔą Dehé touchera et inspirera même ceux et celles qui n'auront jamais l'occasion de pagayer dans les eaux de cette rivière du patrimoine canadien, de gravir des parois de granite ou de survoler ce bassin hydrographique reculé. Nahʔą Dehé a sa place dans le cœur et dans l'âme de tous les Canadiens et peuples du monde.