Common menu bar links

Nahanni National Park Reserve of Canada

Hydrology

The South Nahanni River originates in the Selwyn Range of the Mackenzie Mountains, 200 km northwest of the western park boundary. It is characterized by a strong seasonal fluctuation in flow. River flows are dominated by the spring thaw, with a peak discharge in June followed by relatively high flow levels in July, August and September. During summer, the river is also susceptible to flash floods due to precipitation. The water levels are low in the autumn and winter months. The South Nahanni's average gradient within the park is 1.4 m per kilometre.

Fourth Canyon and river
Fourth Canyon and river
©Parks Canada / J.Butterhill / 12.120.03.02(35)

The Flat River is the the main tributary of the South Nahanni, and the second largest river in the park. Originating in the Selwyn Range, its average gradient of 2.28 m per kilometre is 60% steeper than that of the South Nahanni.The Rabbitkettle River, which also originates in the Selwyns, is the second largest tributary of the South Nahanni.

Most of the South Nahanni watershed consists of steep mountain valleys, glacial debris and old lake bed deposits. Rivers and streams are the dominant aquatic features of Nahanni National Park Reserve. In general, peak flows occur in late June as a result of snow-melt at higher elevations. Discharge declines over the summer months but is significantly influenced by precipitation. Many streams are seasonal, and the contribution of groundwater to stream flows is unknown.

There are relatively few lakes in the park. The four largest lakes range in size from 61 to 345 hectares. All other lakes are smaller, with sizes less than 25 hectares. Standing water in the park varies from unproductive high glacial meltwater basins at high elevations, to shallow, slightly more productive lakes at low elevations. As a result of this variety, the diversity of species may vary from lake to lake. Shallow low-elevation lakes generally support a greater diversity of aquatic fauna than higher elevation lakes, although many do not contain fish. The open water season is relatively short in Nahanni.

Nahanni National Park Reserve presents a unique challenge for the management and protection of its aquatic resources. One factor is the park's northern latitude which influences the productivity of aquatic life in the rivers, lakes and streams. Slower fish growth in the north increases the potential that populations may be depleted due to overfishing. Another factor is that the park protects only a small portion (one-seventh) of the entire South Nahanni watershed. This increases the risk of adverse effects on aquatic species due to upstream resource extraction activities or other developments beyond the park boundary. To help mitigate some of these concerns, park staff work closely with outside stakeholders within the Greater Nahanni Ecosystem .

Réserve de parc national du Canada Nahanni

Hydrologie

La rivière Nahanni Sud prend sa source dans la chaîne Selwyn, dans les monts Mackenzie, à 200 km au nord-ouest de la limite occidentale du parc. Elle se caractérise par une forte fluctuation de débit selon les saisons. Ses flots sont dominés par le dégel au printemps et son débit atteint son paroxysme en juin. Le débit est relativement élevé en juillet, août et septembre. Pendant l'été, la rivière est susceptible de déborder à cause des précipitations. Le niveau d'eau est faible en automne et en hiver. La pente moyenne de la Nahanni Sud dans les limites du parc est de 1,4 m par km.

Canyon Fourth et rivière
Canyon Fourth et rivière
©Parcs Canada / J.Butterhill / 12.120.03.02(35)

La rivière Flat est le principal affluent de la Nahanni Sud et la deuxième rivière du parc en importance. Elle aussi prend naissance dans la chaîne Selwyn et sa pente moyenne est de 2,28 m par km, soit 60 p. 100 plus forte que celle de la Nahanni Sud. Quant à la rivière Rabbitkettle, il s'agit du deuxième affluent de la Nahanni Sud en importance. Comme les deux premières, elle prend sa source dans la chaîne Selwyn.

Le bassin hydrographique de la Nahanni Sud consiste en vallées montagneuses escarpées, débris glaciaires et sédimentation de lit d'anciens lacs. Les rivières et cours d'eau constituent le principal attrait aquatique de la réserve de parc national Nahanni. En général, c'est à la fin de juin que le débit atteint sa hauteur maximale, résultat de la fonte des neiges dans les hautes terres. Le débit ralentit pendant la belle saison, mais est largement tributaire des précipitations. De nombreux cours d'eau sont saisonniers et l'influence des eaux souterraines sur leur débit est inconnue.

Le parc compte relativement peu de lacs. Les quatre plus grands varient en taille de 61 à 345 hectares. Tous les autres sont de moindre taille, certains ne dépassant pas les 25 hectares. Les plans d'eau stagnante vont des bassins d'eau de fonte glaciaire en altitude, improductifs, aux lacs peu profonds, légèrement plus productifs, à basse altitude. Étant donné cette variété, la diversité des espèces varie d'un lac à l'autre. En général, les lacs peu profonds, situés à faible altitude, abritent une faune aquatique plus diversifiée que les lacs situés en altitude, bien qu'ils soient nombreux à ne pas contenir de poissons. À Nahanni, la saison des eaux libres est relativement brève.

La réserve de parc national Nahanni représente un défi unique en matière de gestion et de protection des ressources aquatiques. Un des facteurs en présence est la situation boréale du parc, laquelle influence la productivité de la vie aquatique dans les rivières, lacs et cours d'eau. La croissance plus lente des poissons au nord, par exemple, augmente leur sensibilité à la surpêche. Un autre facteur réside dans le fait que le parc ne préserve qu'une petite partie (un septième) du bassin de la Nahanni Sud. En effet, le risque que les espèces aquatiques soient exposées aux effets négatifs d'activités d'extraction en amont ou d'autres activités au-delà des limites du parc s'en trouve augmenté. Pour atténuer les répercussions de ces activités, le personnel du parc travaille en étroite collaboration avec des partenaires extérieurs, au sein de l'Écosystème de la grande région Nahanni .