Common menu bar links

Aulavik National Park of Canada

Natural environment

Aulavik National Park is a pristine arctic wilderness area located on northern Banks Island, the most westerly island in the Canadian Arctic Archipelago. The park protects an area of the Western Arctic Lowlands, a representative natural region of national significance.

To learn about past and current research and monitoring activities in Aulavik, contact the Park Office in Inuvik.

Climate

The climate of Aulavik National Park is typically arctic. The tundra is frozen and snow-covered from September until June. Summers are brief and cool. The sun does not set between mid May and late July, and there is never true darkness from late April until late August.

During the summer (mid-June to mid August), temperatures in the centre of the park range from 1°C to 20°C with a daily average of 10°C. Closer to the coast, the temperatures tend to be cooler and range from -2°C to 12°C with a daily average of 8°C. Snow and freezing temperatures can occur at any time of the year.

Aulavik is considered a polar desert. The total annual precipitation for the park is approximately 300 mm, one third of which falls as rain during the summer. On average, there are only 20 mm of precipitation in each of May, June and July and 30 mm of precipitation in August. The wind is an almost constant presence and severe winds are common.

Wildlife

Bull muskoxen fighting for dominance Bull muskoxen fighting for dominance
© Parks Canada / James McCormick

Banks Islands most abundant large mammal is, by far, the muskox. This species has experienced a dramatic increase in numbers over the last fifty years. Recent estimates (2001) place the islands muskox population at more than 68,000 and it is thought that 20% of these reside in the park. Considerable effort by Government of the Northwest Territories, Inuvialuit, and Parks Canada biologists is being directed towards understanding the growth of the muskox population and the impacts it may be having on the ecosystem.

Arctic Hare Arctic Hare
© Parks Canada / Wayne Lynch
Aulavik is also home to Peary caribou. The Banks Island population of Peary caribou was classified as endangered in 1991 due to a dramatic decline in numbers.

Recent findings suggest that while the population is low, it is considered stable and potentially recovering. Current research, led by the Government of the Northwest Territories, is looking at population levels, seasonal habitat use, range conditions, and predation, in order to better understand the population decline.

A variety of other mammals are found in Aulavik including arctic foxes, arctic wolves, ermines, arctic hares, and both brown and collared lemmings. Marine mammals along the north coast include polar bears, ringed seals, bearded seals, beluga whales and bowhead whales.

Birds

American Golden Plover American Golden Plover
© Parks Canada / Wayne Lynch

Over forty-three species of birds make seasonal use of Aulavik, though only ptarmigan and ravens are considered permanent residents. Thirty-two bird species have been recorded as breeding within the park. Breeding bird densities are generally low, with the most abundant species being: lapland longspurs, horned larks, black-bellied plovers, long-tailed jaegers and sandhill cranes. Other breeding species include: red-throated loons, yellow-billed loons, sanderlings, semipalmated sandpipers, ruddy turnstones, red phalaropes, Sabines gulls, water pipits and snow buntings.

Birds of prey in Aulavik include snowy owls, rough-legged hawks, gyrfalcons, and peregrine falcons. The abundance of these species depends greatly on the abundance of lemmings. When the multi-year lemming cycle is low, so too are the numbers of those bird and mammal species which rely upon the lemming as a primary food source.

There are two Migratory Bird Sanctuaries on Banks Island, one in the northern part of Aulavik National Park and the other covering the southwest corner of Banks Island. These two sanctuaries protect the seasonal nesting and moulting grounds of the Western Arctics 500,000 lesser snow geese. On most flights into the park you will be able to see thousands of these majestic birds across the island.

Fish

It is possible that the Thomsen River watershed is the most northerly example of a multi-species freshwater fish community. Farther north, there are only arctic char and nine spine stickleback, or single species communities of arctic char. The Thomsen watershed is home to six freshwater species: lake trout, arctic char, least cisco, lake cisco, nine spine stickleback and fourhorn sculpin. Only lake trout is an exclusively freshwater species; the other five can spend a portion of their lives in salt water.

Overall, very little is known about the ecology of char on Banks Island. The Thomsen River is noted as important spawning and nursery habitat for arctic char, and landlocked arctic char are found in several of the larger lakes in the park such as Nangmagvik.

Geography

Upper Mercy River Upper Mercy River
© Parks Canada / Wayne Lynch

Aulavik National Park contains a wide diversity of landscapes. The Thomsen River is characterized by a broad, lush valley flanked by gently undulating hills. Along the northwest coast of Aulavik, sheer cliffs rise several hundred metres from the waters of MClure Strait. The central portion of the northern coastline is dominated by Castel Bay and Mercy Bay, which cut inland as much as 15 kilometres. To the southeast of Mercy Bay, steep canyons dominate the landscape. Further south, a sparsely vegetated upland plateau rises to a height of 450 metres above sea level and forms a height of land between the Thomsen River and Prince of Wales Strait. West of Castel Bay, arid desert-like badlands predominate. The main tributary of the Thomsen River is the Muskox River. The Muskox River flows into the Thomsen from the west and is characterized by poorly drained wetlands and frost polygon features.

In the past, glaciers covered the majority of the park, resulting in features such as terminal moraines, eskers, and drumlins. The lack of these features in the very northwest corner of Aulavik National Park suggests that area may not have been glaciated.

Some of the oldest rock formations found in the park (350 million years old) represent a marine reef, thought to have formed offshore of an ancient seacoast. Fossil life forms, such as gastropods (snails), brachiopods (lamp shells), corals, and crinoids (feather stars) can be found in this ancient reef east of the Thomsen River.

Vegetation

Woolly Lousewort Woolly Lousewort
© Parks Canada / Wayne Lynch

Banks Island is treeless. Indeed, the tallest plant, the arctic willow, generally grows no higher than your shin. More than 150 species of flowering plants have been documented in Aulavik. While the growing season is very brief, the continuous sunlight from late May until late July provides enough energy for the vegetation to carry out its annual cycle. The growing season peaks in early July when a myriad of colours from a variety of flowering plants carpets the valleys and hillsides. The most vibrant growth occurs on the south facing slopes of hills that are sheltered from the wind and have the greatest exposure to the intense summer sun. By late July most of the herbs have gone to seed and the grasses have cured. Autumn in early August witnesses the low arctic willows turning orange for a brief period before the onset of another arctic winter.

Parc national du Canada Aulavik

Milieu naturel

Le parc national Aulavik est une zone vierge et sauvage de l'Arctique située dans le nord de l'île Banks, l'île la plus à l'ouest de l'archipel Arctique. Le parc protège une aire naturelle des basses-terres de l'Arctique de l'Ouest représentative et d'importance nationale.

Communiquez avec le bureau du parc à Inuvik pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les activités de recherche et de surveillance à Aulavik.

Climat

Le climat du parc national Aulavik est celui de l'Arctique. La toundra est gelée et recouverte de neige de septembre à juin. Les étés sont courts et frais. Le soleil ne se couche pas de la mi-mai à fin juillet et il ne fait jamais vraiment noir de fin avril à fin août.

L'été (de mi-juin à mi-août), la température au centre du parc varie de 1° C à 20 °C et la moyenne est de 10° C. Plus près de la côte, il fait plus frais et la température va de -2° C à 12° C avec une moyenne de 8° C. Il peut neiger et geler en tout temps.

Aulavik est considéré comme un désert polaire. Les précipitations annuelles y sont d'environ 300 mm, dont un tiers sous forme de pluie l'été. Elles n'atteignent en moyenne que 20 mm en mai, en juin et en juillet respectivement et 30 mm en août. Le vent est presque constant et souvent violent.

Faune

Boeufs musqués luttant pour dominer Boeufs musqués luttant pour dominer
© Parcs Canada / James McCormick

Le boeuf musqué est de loin le gros mammifère le plus abondant sur l'île Banks et sa population a connu une très forte augmentation depuis cinquante ans. Les estimations récentes (2001) indiquent qu'il y a plus de 68 000 boeufs musqués sur l'île et probablement 20 % de ce total dans le parc. Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, les Inuvialuit et les biologistes de Parcs Canada déploient des efforts considérables afin de comprendre la croissance de la population de boeufs musqués et ses incidences potentielles sur l'écosystème.

Lièvre arctique Lièvre arctique
© Parcs Canada / Wayne Lynch

Aulavik abrite aussi le caribou de Peary. La population de l'île Banks a été déclarée en péril en 1991 en raison de sa diminution spectaculaire. Les études récentes donnent à penser que la population est peu élevée mais stable et peut-être en voie de récupérer. Des recherches menées actuellement par le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest se penchent sur les niveaux de l'eau, l'utilisation de l'habitat saisonnier, les conditions de l'aire de distribution géographique et la prédation afin de mieux comprendre ce déclin.

On trouve toute une gamme d'autres mammifères à Aulavik, notamment le renard arctique, le loup arctique, la belette, le lièvre arctique, le lemming brun et le lemming variable. Parmi les mammifères marins le long de la côte nord, notons l'ours polaire, le phoque annelé, le phoque barbu, le bélouga et la baleine boréale.

Oiseaux

Pluvier bronzé Pluvier bronzé
© Parcs Canada / Wayne Lynch

Plus de 43 espèces d'oiseaux font une utilisation saisonnière d'Aulavik. Seuls le lagopède et le corbeau sont des résidents permanents. On a relevé 22 espèces d'oiseaux nichant dans le parc. La densité de ces oiseaux est généralement peu élevée, les espèces les plus abondantes étant le bruant lapon, l'alouette hausse-col, le pluvier argenté, le labbe à longue queue et la grue du Canada. Parmi les autres espèces, mentionnons le plongeon catmarin, le plongeon à bec blanc, le bécasseau sanderling, le bécasseau semipalmé, le tournepierre à collier, le phalarope à bec large, la mouette de Sabine, le pipit spioncelle et le bruant des neiges.

Le harfang des neiges, la buse pattue, le faucon gerfaut et le faucon pèlerin comptent parmi les oiseaux de proie d'Aulavik. L'abondance de ces espèces dépend largement de l'abondance des lemmings. Lorsque le cycle pluriannuel du lemming est à son point bas, la population des oiseaux et des mammifères qui dépendent du lemming comme source principale de nourriture est également peu élevée.

Il existe deux refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs sur l'île Banks, l'un dans la partie nord du parc national Aulavik et l'autre dans le coin sud-ouest de l'île. Ils protègent tous deux le site de nidification et de mue saisonnier des 500 000 petites oies des neiges de l'Arctique de l'Ouest. Quand vous prendrez l'avion pour vous rendre dans le parc, vous verrez très probablement des milliers de ces oiseaux majestueux sur l'île.

Poissons

Il est possible que le bassin collecteur de la rivière Thomsen représente la communauté de plusieurs espèces de poissons d'eau douce la plus au nord. Encore plus au nord, on ne trouve que l'omble chevalier et l'épinoche à neuf épines ou des communautés d'une seule espèce d'omble chevalier. Le bassin collecteur de la Thomsen abrite six espèces de poissons d'eau douce : touladi, omble chevalier, cisco sardinelle, cisco de lac, épinoche à neuf épines et chaboisseau à quatre cornes. Seul le touladi est exclusivement d'eau douce; les cinq autres peuvent passer une partie de leur vie dans l'eau salée.

Dans l'ensemble, on connaît très peu l'écologie de l'omble sur l'île Banks. La rivière Thomsen est considérée comme un habitat de frai et de croissance important pour l'omble chevalier, et l'on retrouve cette espèce confinée aux eaux intérieures dans plusieurs grands lacs du parc tels le lac Nangmagvik.

Géographie

Rivière Mercy supérieure Rivière Mercy supérieure
© Parcs Canada / Wayne Lynch

Le parc national Aulavik contient toute une gamme de paysages. La rivière Thomsen est caractérisée par une large et riche vallée flanquée de douces collines. Le long de la côte nord-ouest d'Aulavik, des falaises se dressent à des centaines de mètres au-dessus des eaux du détroit de M‘Clure. La partie centrale de la côte nord est dominée par Castel Bay et Mercy Bay, qui s'avancent jusqu'à 15 km à l'intérieur des terres. De profonds canyons dominent le paysage au sud-est de Mercy Bay. Plus au sud, un plateau peu végétalisé surplombe la mer de 450 mètres et forme une ligne de crête entre la rivière Thomsen et le détroit du Prince-de-Galles. À l'ouest de Castel Bay, ce sont les bad-lands arides qui prédominent. Le principal affluent de la Thomsen est la rivière Muskox, qui se jette dans la Thomsen à l'ouest et est caractérisée par des zones humides mal drainées et des traits de polygone gélival.

Les glaciers recouvraient la plus grande partie du parc par le passé et on y trouve donc des moraines terminales, des eskers et des drumlins. L'absence de ces caractéristiques dans le coin nord-ouest du parc national Aulavik donne à penser que cette région n'était peut-être pas englacée.

Certaines des plus vieilles formations rocheuses dans le parc (350 millions d'années) représentent un récif marin qui s'est probablement formé au large d'un ancien littoral marin. On trouve des fossiles de gastropodes (petits escargots), brachiopodes (« lampes à huile »), coraux et crinoïdes (comatules) dans cet ancien récif à l'est de la rivière Thomsen.

Végétation

Pédiculaire laineuse Pédiculaire laineuse
© Parcs Canada / Wayne Lynch

Il n'y a pas d'arbres sur l'île. La plus grande plante, le saule arctique, n'atteint généralement pas votre genou. On a documenté plus de 150 espèces de plantes phanérogames à Aulavik. La saison de croissance est très courte mais le jour continu de fin mai à fin juillet fournit suffisamment d'énergie pour assurer le cycle annuel de la végétation. La saison de croissance est à son apogée au début juillet, lorsque les vallées et les flancs des collines sont tapissés de fleurs multicolores. Ce sont les versants exposés au sud qui connaissent la plus grande croissance car ils sont à l'abri du vent et reçoivent le plus de soleil. À la fin juillet, la plupart des herbes ont produit leurs graines et les graminées ont séché. À l'automne, soit au début d'août, les saules arctiques revêtent brièvement un manteau orange avant la venue de l'hiver.