Common menu bar links

Aulavik National Park of Canada

Paddling

Thomsen River Thomsen River
© Parks Canada / Wayne Lynch / 1994

The heart of Aulavik National Park is the Thomsen River, one of the most northerly navigable waterways in North America. This slow flowing river runs north through the park for 160 kilometres. Rated Class 1, it has no rapids or obstructions and can easily be paddled by canoe or kayak. The Thomsen River valley is the most lush area in the park and is home to an abundance of wildlife.

Paddling the Thomsen River Paddling the Thomsen River
© Parks Canada / Wayne Lynch / 1994

River trips typically start at headwater lakes, or at the parks southern boundary, or at Green Cabin, and usually end at Muskox River or Castel Bay. The trip takes two to three weeks, depending on your start and end points. This allows for a few bad weather days, and time to take advantage of the incredible hiking along the river corridor.

The river may be iced over until mid June and by early August the lower reaches may be too shallow to float a canoe. Thus, the best time to paddle the Thomsen is late June to late July.

Hazards

The wind in the Thomsen River Valley can be strong and relentless. Summer winds blow predominantly from the north creating frequent headwinds for paddlers. At times, considerable waves can be generated, slowing progress and making travel dangerous.

Access

Loading canoes onto a Twin Otter plane Loading canoes onto a Twin Otter plane
© Parks Canada

The only way to access Aulavik for a river trip is by aircraft. The maximum load a Twin Otter aircraft might manage is 3 or 4 nested canoes, 8 people and their gear. If you choose to use folding boats, the aircraft may accommodate more people and gear. Discuss the maximum load thoroughly with your aircraft charter company when planning your trip.

It is also important to discuss suitable landing sites with your pilot for starting and ending your trip. Ultimately, landing locations are up to the discretion of the aircraft pilot and may be affected by current weather conditions, snow cover and water levels.

Guided paddling excursions on the Thomsen River are available through a licensed outfitter. For private trips, canoes may be available for rent from an outfitter in Inuvik. For more information on these companies, paddling the Thomsen, or for a copy of the Thomsen River Guide, please contact the Park Office in Inuvik.

Parc national du Canada de Aulavik

Canotage

Rivière Thomsen Rivière Thomsen
© Parcs Canada / Wayne Lynch / 1994

Au coeur du parc national Aulavik coule doucement la rivière Thomsen, l'une des voies navigables les plus au nord en Amérique. Elle traverse le parc vers le nord sur 160 km. De classe 1, elle ne présente pas de rapides ou d'obstacles et on peut facilement la descendre en canot ou en kayak. La vallée de la Thomsen est la région la plus riche du parc et abrite une faune abondante.

En canot sur la rivière Thomsen En canot sur la rivière Thomsen
© Parcs Canada / Wayne Lynch / 1994

Les excursions sur la rivière débutent généralement aux lacs nourriciers, à la limite sud du parc ou à Green Cabin et se terminent habituellement à Muskox River ou Castel Bay. Le voyage dure deux à trois semaines selon le point de départ et d'arrivée. Ceci tient compte de quelques jours de mauvais temps et de randonnées formidables dans le couloir fluvial.

La rivière peut être gelée jusqu'à la mi-juin et au début août certains passages peuvent être trop peu profonds pour un canot. Par conséquent, le meilleur moment pour pagayer sur la rivière Thomsen est de fin juin à fin juillet.

Dangers

Le vent dans la vallée de la Thomsen peut être fort et implacable. L'été, il souffle surtout du nord et crée de fréquents vents contraires pour les pagayeurs, ainsi que de grosses vagues qui ralentissent la progression et rendent le canotage dangereux.

Loading canoes onto a Twin Otter plane On charge des canots dans un Twin Otter
© Parcs Canada / Wayne Lynch

Accès

On ne peut avoir accès au parc Aulavik que par aéronef pour faire une excursion sur la rivière. Un Twin Otter peut transporter environ 3 ou 4 canots, 8 personnes et leur matériel, ou davantage si vous décidez d'utiliser des embarcations pliantes. Discutez de la charge maximale en détail avec votre compagnie d'affrètement lorsque vous planifiez votre voyage.

Il est également important de discuter de lieux d'atterrissage adéquats avec votre pilote pour le début et la fin de votre expédition. C'est le pilote qui finit par choisir les points d'atterrissage, qui peuvent changer selon les conditions météorologiques, le manteau neigeux et les niveaux d'eau.

Un pourvoyeur autorisé organise des excursions guidées sur la rivière Thomsen. On peut également louer des canots à Inuvik. Veuillez communiquer avec le bureau du parc à Inuvik pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur ces entreprises ou le canotage sur la Thomsen ou pour se procurer un exemplaire du Guide de la rivière Thomsen .