Common menu bar links

Aulavik National Park of Canada

Hiking

Overlooking the Thomsen River Overlooking the Thomsen River
© Parks Canada / James McCormick

Although there are no designated routes or trails within Aulavik National Park, the terrain is gentle enough that hiking is possible practically anywhere. The prime hiking season is from late June until mid August. During this period the weather is at its warmest, the wildflowers are blooming and there is continuous daylight.

A highlight of any trip to the park is the wildlife viewing and photographic opportunities, especially along the Thomsen River corridor. Here you will come across a variety of arctic species and encounter the highest concentration of muskoxen in the world. Hikers can also visit archaeological sites that reflect the regions fascinating history.

Your intended hiking route should be thoroughly investigated using topographic maps. You must supply a detailed description of your planned route on 1:50,000 scale before your departure to the park. Contact the Park Office in Inuvik for route suggestions and more information.

Parc national du Canada Aulavik

Randonnée pédestre

Vue de la rivière Thomsen Vue de la rivière Thomsen
© Parcs Canada / James McCormick

Bien qu'il n'existe aucun trajet désigné ou sentier à Aulavik, le terrain est assez peu accidenté et on peut faire de la randonnée presque n'importe où. La meilleure saison est de fin juin à la mi-août. C'est en effet la saison du temps le plus doux, des fleurs et du jour continu.

L'observation de la faune et les occasions de photographie sont les points saillants de toute excursion dans le parc, particulièrement dans le couloir de la rivière Thomsen. Vous y trouverez toute une gamme d'espèces arctiques et vous rencontrerez la plus grande concentration de boeufs musqués du monde. Vous pourrez également visiter des sites archéologiques qui témoignent de l'histoire fascinante de la région.

Vous devriez étudier à fond le trajet que vous comptez suivre à l'aide de cartes topographiques. Vous devez en fournir une description détaillée à une échelle de 1:50 000 avant de partir pour le parc. Communiquez avec le bureau du parc à Inuvik pour obtenir des suggestions de trajet et de plus amples renseignements.