Common menu bar links

Aulavik National Park of Canada

Camping

Baking under the midnight sun Baking under the midnight sun
© Parks Canada / Wayne Lynch

There are no designated campsites in the park. You may camp anywhere you like, except at archaeological sites. Whether hiking or paddling, there are an endless number of beautiful sites to choose from.

In order to protect this pristine wilderness, please practice No Trace Camping. All garbage must be packed out with you. Consult with the Park Office in Inuvik for additional advice on low-impact camping techniques.

Camping along the Thomsen River Camping along the Thomsen River
© Parks Canada / James McCormick / 2002
The winds can be very strong and prolonged in Aulavik National Park. A good quality tent, able to withstand fierce winds, is crucial for a comfortable visit.

Campfires

Campfires are not allowed in Aulavik. Use a camp stove and bottled fuel for cooking.

Scheduled aircraft do not allow passengers to carry fuel. Most types of camping fuel may be purchased in Inuvik, and some are available in Sachs Harbour. If you require specialty fuels you should check in advance with local suppliers.

Managing human waste

Managing solid human waste in an arctic tundra environment presents some unique difficulties. It is human nature to conduct toilet functions in privacy, and in a treeless landscape such as Aulavik National Park this often means finding a small drainage. However, by using a drainage you may affect water quality downstream.

Instead, select a level site well away from any water sources. Dig a small hole within the active layer of the soil. If possible, choose an organic area and afterwards burn the toilet paper before carefully burying what remains. If your group is large, it may be best to choose a communal location as opposed to many scattered sites.

Parc national du Canada Aulavik

Camping

Sous le soleil de minuit Sous le soleil de minuit
© Parcs Canada / Wayne Lynch

Il n'y a pas d'emplacements de camping désignés dans le parc. Vous pouvez camper où vous voulez, exception faite des sites archéologiques. Le choix d'endroits magnifiques est infini, que vous fassiez de la randonnée ou du canot-kayak.

Veuillez pratiquer le camping écologique afin de protéger la nature vierge. Vous devez rapporter tous vos déchets. Consultez les employés au bureau du parc à Inuvik pour obtenir des conseils et connaître tous les détails sur les pratiques à adopter.

Camping le long de la rivière Thomsen Camping le long de la rivière Thomsen
© Parcs Canada / James McCormick / 2002
Les vents peuvent être très forts et durer longtemps dans le parc national Aulavik. Il est essentiel de posséder une tente de bonne qualité capable de résister à des vents violents.

Feux de camp

Les feux de camp ne sont pas permis à Aulavik. Servez-vous d'un réchaud et de combustible en bouteille pour cuisiner. Les transporteurs aériens réguliers ne permettent pas aux passagers de transporter du combustible. Vous pouvez vous procurer la plupart des combustibles de camping à Inuvik et certains à Sachs Harbour. Si vous avez besoin d'un carburant spécialisé, veuillez vérifier d'avance auprès des fournisseurs locaux.

Gestion des matières de vidange

La gestion des matières de vidange dans la toundra arctique présente des défis particuliers. Les humains préfèrent faire leurs besoins en privé et dans un paysage sans arbre comme celui du parc national Aulavik, ils cherchent donc souvent un point de drainage. Ils peuvent toutefois avoir ainsi un impact sur la qualité de l'eau en aval.

Choisissez un endroit plat loin de toute source d'eau. Creusez un petit trou dans la couche active du sol, organique si possible, et brûlez ensuite le papier hygiénique avant d'enfouir soigneusement ce qui reste. Si votre groupe est important, il vaut mieux choisir un endroit commun au lieu de creuser de nombreux trous un peu partout.