Aulavik National Park of Canada

Activities

Paddling the Thomsen River Paddling the Thomsen River
© Parks Canada / Wayne Lynch / 1994

Aulavik National Park offers unprecedented opportunities for backcountry enthusiasts to experience the arctic. Paddlers can take a multi-week trip down the pristine, gently flowing Thomsen River. Backpackers can explore the expansive, rolling terrain where hiking is possible virtually anywhere.

This far north, the sun does not set for most of the summer season. These months of endless daylight offer visitors a unique chance to paddle or hike at any time of the day or night. The midnight sun is also accompanied by hours of soft light and long shadows – a photographer's dream.

Watching Muskoxen Watching Muskoxen
© Parks Canada / James McCormick / 2002

A highlight of any trip to Aulavik is wildlife viewing and bird watching. The open landscape and continuous light means you are certain to see a variety of species such as arctic foxes, lemmings, arctic wolves, shore and sea birds, raptors, and of course, herds of muskoxen.

Keep in mind that this is true wilderness. There are no facilities, services, established trails or campgrounds in the park. Visitors must be entirely self-sufficient and be able to handle any medical or weather-related emergency on their own.

Parc national du Canada de Aulavik

Activités

En canot sur la rivière Thomsen En canot sur la rivière Thomsen
© Parcs Canada / Wayne Lynch / 1994

Le parc national Aulavik présente aux amateurs de l'arrière-pays des occasions inégalées de faire l'expérience de l'Arctique. Les pagayeurs peuvent faire une excursion de plusieurs semaines sur la magnifique rivière Thomsen et les randonneurs peuvent explorer le vaste territoire vallonné où l'on peut marcher pratiquement n'importe où.

Le soleil ne se couche pas pendant presque toute la saison estivale. Ce jour continuel offre une occasion unique aux visiteurs de pagayer ou de marcher à n'importe quelle heure du jour ou de la nuit. Le soleil de minuit est accompagné par des heures de lumière douce et de grandes ombres – le rêve des photographes.

Observation des boeufs musqués Observation des boeufs musqués
© Parcs Canada / James McCormick / 2002

L'observation de la faune et des oiseaux est un point saillant de toute excursion dans le parc. Grâce au paysage ouvert et au jour continuel, vous verrez sûrement toute une gamme d'espèces telles que renard arctique, lemming, loup arctique, oiseaux de rivage et de mer, oiseaux de proie et, bien sûr, des hardes de boeufs musqués.

N'oubliez pas que la région est entièrement sauvage. Il n'y a ni installations ni services, sentiers ou terrains de camping dans le parc. Les visiteurs doivent être totalement autonomes et être en mesure de faire face seuls à toute urgence médicale ou toute urgence se rapportant aux conditions météorologiques.