Common menu bar links

Sable Island National Park Reserve

Visitor Information

Hiker looking over Sable Island dunes Hiker looking over Sable Island dunes
© Parks Canada

Sable Island National Park Reserve is a place to be awed by the power of nature. It is an extremely isolated location, and access to it is determined by constraints of weather and geography. Visitor experience opportunities are similar to other remote national parks in Canada, where there are few visitor facilities and the wilderness of the site constitutes an important feature of the experience.

As a visitor to Sable Island, you must be self-reliant and responsible for your own safety. You should be prepared for weather delays accessing or departing the island. Visitors are responsible to make their own transportation arrangements to Sable Island, and most visits are day trips. Visitors either arrive by air charter or come ashore from private vessels that are anchored offshore.

All visitors are required to register in advance of their trip. The visitor season for Sable Island National Park Reserve is June to the end of October.

The information in this section provides you with essential safety information and important guidelines for your visit. Parks Canada considers researchers, contractors, government employees, journalists and independent travelers to be visitors to Sable Island.

Réserve de parc national de l'île de Sable

Information aux visiteurs

Vue des dunes de l’île de Sable Vue des dunes de l’île de Sable
© Parcs Canada

La réserve de parc national de l’île-de-Sable est un endroit idéal pour se laisser émerveiller par la force de la nature. C’est un endroit particulièrement isolé, et l’accès y est déterminé par des contraintes météorologiques et géographiques. Les possibilités d’expérience du visiteur qui s’offrent à l’île de Sable sont semblables à celles des autres parcs nationaux éloignés situés au Canada, où les installations pour les visiteurs sont peu nombreuses, alors que les étendues sauvages constituent un aspect important de l’expérience.

En tant que visiteur de l’île de Sable, vous devez être autonome et assumer la responsabilité de votre propre sécurité. Vous devez vous attendre à ce que des vols à destination et en provenance de l’île soient retardés en raison des conditions météorologiques. Les visiteurs doivent prendre eux-mêmes les dispositions requises pour leur déplacement à destination de l’île de Sable et la plupart des visites sont des excursions d’une journée. Les visiteurs arrivent par vol nolisé ou débarquent de bateaux privés ancrés au large.

Tous les visiteurs doivent s’enregistrer avant leur voyage. La saison touristique de la réserve de parc national de l’île-de-Sable commence en juin et se termine à la fin d’octobre.

Cette section contient des renseignements de sécurité essentiels et d’importantes lignes directrices à suivre durant votre visite. Parcs Canada considère les chercheurs, les entrepreneurs, les fonctionnaires, les journalistes et les voyageurs indépendants comme des visiteurs.