Common menu bar links

Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada

Geology

Erratic in Kejimkujik Lake Erratic in Kejimkujik Lake
© Parks Canada/J. Brownlie

Kejimkujik is located on the Southern Upland Region of Nova Scotia. This area is a flat plain lacking the major escarpments, mountains and valleys found in other parts of the province. However, the park contains examples of many smaller surface features created during the last glacial stage.

Giant boulders, boulder fields, long winding eskers and drumlin hills are easily observed, while kames and outwash plains are less obvious and relatively inaccessible. Following glaciation, the formation of numerous shallow lakes, connected by wandering rivers, made southwestern Nova Scotia the best canoeing country in the province.

Bedrock

Slate bedrock Slate bedrock
© Parks Canada/P. Hope

Most of the more visible landforms seen in Kejimkujik are a direct result of the last glaciation, which started approximately 100,000 to 80,000 years ago. Drumlins, shallow lakes, streams, rivers and granite boulders are all the result of glacial action. This glacial action was greatly influenced by the bedrock beneath the ice sheets. Most glacial landforms are in areas with slate bedrock, as it is soft and easily eroded.

 



Granite bedrock Granite bedrock
© Parks Canada/P. Hope

The bedrock consists of Precambrian to Ordovician period quartzite and slate, plus Devonian period granite. All of these rocks, especially quartzite, have high silica content and provide scanty amounts of nutrients to the soils that develop on them. The slate, however, is fine-grained and produces a loamy soil which yields its nutrients more quickly than the stony sandy loams and loamy sands found over the coarse-grained rocks. Most of the slaty loams occur around Kejimkujik Lake. Deep outwash sands and gravels form a band west of the lake. Elsewhere the soil landscape is dominated by the cobbly, often shallow granite or quartzite material.

Glacial Features

Drumlins

View of Kejimkujik Lake showing drumlin View of Kejimkujik Lake showing drumlin
© Parks Canada/P. Hope

Drumlins are smooth, oval hills with a steeper, blunt end facing the oncoming glacier, and a gentle slope pointing in the direction of ice movement. The drumlins in Kejimkujik all trend southeastwards, indicating the direction of the strongest ice advance was from the northwest to the southeast. They were formed when a large accumulation of eroded material was deposited underneath the ice. The glacier then continued to move up and over this material, moulding it into the streamlined drumlin shape.

Erratics

Erratic in Kejimkujik Lake Erratic in Kejimkujik Lake
© Parks Canada/P. Hope

The gently rolling hills of Nova Scotia’s interior represents the Atlantic Coast Plain, a land of folded metamorphic rock, polished and grooved by retreating glaciers that exposed stony, shallow soil and left behind erratics - huge granite boulders carried by the migrating ice then strewn about as the ice melted. Many such ice-transported boulders are strewn throughout Kejimkujik. Look for them along lakesides and trails.

Eskers

Eskers are long, sinuous ridges formed by the deposition of material in an ice tunnel carved at the base of a glacier by meltwater streams. Long eskers occur along the northern margin of Kejimkujik and also along West River.

Lake Basins

Kejimkujik is underlain by two main types of rock; a granite terrane and a sedimentary terrane comprised of slate and quartzite. The granite landscape appears as a higher upland while the sedimentary areas are lower and more level. Glaciation has stripped away ancient soils and scooped out easily eroded bedrock to form lake basins. Today, the numerous lakes, their basins scooped out as the ice retreated, comprise about 15 percent of the area.

Parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik

La géologie

Erratique au lac Kejimkujik Erratique au lac Kejimkujik
© Parcs Canada/P. Hope

Kejimkujik se situe dans la partie méridionale des hautes-terres de la Nouvelle-Écosse. C'est une région plane et dépourvue des escarpements, des montagnes et des vallées qu'on trouve ailleurs dans la province. Toutefois, le parc renferme certaines manifestations du passage des glaciers

On remarque aisément de gros blocs de granite, formant parfois des champs complets, des drumlins ainsi que des eskers, longs et sinueux. Les kames et les plaines d'épandage fluvio-glaciaire sont toutefois moins visibles et plutôt difficiles d'accès. Les nombreux lacs peu profonds qui ont résulté du passage des glaciers et les rivières qui les relient entre eux font du sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse le paradis des canoteurs de la province.

L'assise rocheuse

L’assise rocheuse d'ardoise L’assise rocheuse d'ardoise
© Parcs Canada/P. Hope

La plupart des configurations physiques du parc sont le résultat direct de la dernière période glaciaire qui a débuté voilà 100 000 à 80 000 ans. Les glaciers ont créé les drumlins, les lacs peu profonds, les ruisseaux, les rivières et les blocs de granite. Le type de roche-mère qui se trouvait sous les glaciers a en grande partie déterminé les conséquences de leur passage. Ainsi, la plupart des configurations imputables aux glaciers se trouvent dans les secteurs où la roche-mère était constituée d'ardoise tendre et érodable.

 

L’assise rocheuse d'ardoise L’assise rocheuse du granit
© Parcs Canada/P. Hope
L’assise rocheuse de Kejimkujik est constituée de quartzite qui s’est formé à partir du Précambrien jusqu’à la période de l’Ordovicien. À cela s’ajoutent de l'ardoise et du granit provenant du Dévonien. Toutes ces roches, mais en particulier le quartzite, possèdent une haute teneur en silice et ne fournissent que très peu d'éléments nutritifs aux sols qui se développent au-dessus d’eux. L'ardoise, cependant, est une pierre à grain fin et produit un sol limoneux qui apporte des éléments nutritifs plus rapidement que les loams sableux et les sables gras se trouvant au-dessus de roches à grains grossiers. La plupart des loams d’ardoise se trouvent autour du lac Kejimkujik. Le sable et le gravier entourent le lac à sa partie ouest. Ailleurs, le paysage est dominé par des sols caillouteux composés de granit peu profond et de quartzite.

Géologie glaciaire

Les drumlins

Vue du lac Kejimkujik avec drumlin Vue du lac Kejimkujik avec drumlin
© Parcs Canada/P. Hope

Les drumlins sont des collines allongées à surface lisse dont l'extrémité faisant face au mouvement du glacier est obtuse et dotée d'une pente raide, et dont l'autre extrémité présente une pente douce. Tous les drumlins du parc sont orientés vers le sud-est, ce qui laisse croire que la poussée la plus forte des glaces s'est faite du nord-ouest vers le sud-est. Les drumlins sont le résultat d'une accumulation de matériau d'érosion déposée sous le glacier et convertie ensuite en une forme typique et allongée par le passage de la masse de glace. .

Blocs erratiques

Erratique au lac Kejimkujik Erratique au lac Kejimkujik
© Parcs Canada/P. Hope

Les douces collines de l’intérieur de la Nouvelle-Écosse représentent bien les plaines de la côte Atlantique, une terre de roches métamorphiques plissées, polies et striées par le recul des glaciers qui a exposé la pierre et les sols peu profonds en laissant derrière des blocs erratiques de granite qui ont voyagé avec la migration des glaces et qui sont restés sur place après la fonte. Ces blocs sont éparpillés à Kejimkujik; vous pourrez les remarquer le long des lacs et des sentiers.

Eskers

Les eskers sont de longues crêtes sinueuses formées par le dépôt de matériaux dans un tunnel de glace sculpté par les eaux de fonte à la base d'un glacier. De longs eskers sont présents le long de la partie nord de Kejimkujik et sont aussi présents près de la rivière West.

Les bassins des lacs

Le sol de Kejimkujik est constitué de deux principaux types de roches : un terrain granitique et un terrain sédimentaire composé d'ardoise et de quartzite. Le paysage de granit apparaît de manière surélevée tandis que les zones sédimentaires sont plus basses et apparaissent sans dénivellation. La glaciation a arraché les sols anciens et a facilement creusé l’assise rocheuse érodée pour former des bassins lacustres. Aujourd'hui, les nombreux lacs dont la glace s'est retirée représentent environ 15 pour cent de la superficie du parc.