Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada

Forest islands and ponds

Forest islands

Single trees growing in low bog Islands of trees
© Parks Canada

As you look over flat bogs and barrens, islands of trees poke up in the distance. Stunted and twisted, these Balsam fir and White spruce grow close to the ocean’s edge, withstanding even the salt spray. Zones of deeper, more well-drained soil are found here, which is more conducive to tree growth than the sterile, water-logged peat of bogs. Also, where the land slopes down steeply towards sheltered bays, in the lee of the predominant winds, trees grow higher.

Ponds

Seaside pond Seaside pond
© Parks Canada/P. Hope

The Seaside has several small ponds. Many of them are found along the shore or at the ends of headlands. Little more than a pile of gravel and cobbles separates them from the Atlantic Ocean. Fresh water comes only from rain seepage from the boggy basins surrounding each pond. The salinity of the pond water can vary quite a bit from pond to pond and from season to season. Some even dry up during the summer. The water in these shallow ponds is very dark and contains high amounts of dissolved organic compounds such as tannic acids. While no real brooks flow in or out of them, you can often see their dark-stained water seeping through the beach gravel on the seaward side of the cobble berms. The water is very acidic, ranging from 3.9 to 4.9 on the pH scale. These can be difficult places for aquatic life to live.

Green maidenhair algae and Burweed may cover the bottoms of the brackish ponds. Fish like Sticklebacks and Mummichogs are well adapted to living in water where the salinity fluctuates. The mud around the edges may show traces of great blue herons who have come fishing. Black ducks use these ponds for raising their broods. Gulls also flock here to rest and look for food or shelter from ocean storms.

There are a few inaccessible freshwater ponds inland. Far from the direct influence of the sea, common Nova Scotia amphibians can be found. Green frogs, Northern leopard frogs, and Spring peepers migrate from inland and sometimes live in these dark and acidic waters. Generally, because of these conditions, and the cool nature of the climate, frogs and other amphibians are not abundant in Kejimkujik Seaside.



Return to Coastal Habitats menu

Parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik

Îlots forestiers et étangs

Les îlots forestiers

Des arbres individuels qui poussent des tourbières Des îlots d’arbres
© Parcs Canada

Si vous regardez au-delà des landes et des tourbières, des îlots d’arbres se dressent au loin. Ces sapins baumiers et épinettes blanches rabougris et tordus poussent près du bord de l’océan, résistant même à l’embrun salé. On trouve ici des zones de sol profond et bien drainé qui sont plus favorables à la croissance des arbres que la mousse stérile et gorgée d’eau des tourbières. De plus, là où le sol descend en pente raide vers des baies abritées situées sous les vents dominants, les arbres poussent plus haut.

Les étangs

Un étang au bord de mer Un étang au bord de mer
© Parcs Canada/P. Hope

Kejimkujik Bord de mer compte plusieurs petits étangs, dont beaucoup se trouvent le long du rivage ou à l’extrémité de promontoires. Souvent, seul un tas de gravier et de galets les sépare de l’océan Atlantique. Aucune eau douce ne ruisselle jusqu’aux étangs, si ce n’est de l’eau de pluie qui suinte des bassins marécageux entourant chacun d’eux. La salinité de l’eau peut varier considérablement d’un étang à l’autre et d’une saison à l’autre. Certains étangs s’assèchent l’été. Leur eau est très foncée et elle contient des quantités élevées de matières organiques dissoutes, comme des acides tanniques. Même si aucun véritable ruisseau ne s’en écoule ou ne s’y jette, on peut souvent voir l’eau foncée des étangs suinter dans le gravier du rivage du côté des bermes de galets donnant sur la mer. Il s’agit d’une eau très acide, dont le pH varie de 3,9 à 4,9. Ces milieux sont donc peu propices à la vie aquatique.

Les algues chevelues vertes et les rubaniers peuvent couvrir le fond des étangs saumâtres. Des poissons comme les épinoches et les choquemorts vivent très bien dans une eau dont la salinité varie. Dans la vase qui entoure le bord des étangs, on peut distinguer les traces des grands hérons venus pêcher là. Les canards noirs élèvent leurs petits dans ces plans d’eau et les goélands viennent s’y reposer, y chercher de la nourriture ou s’y abriter des tempêtes océaniques.

L’intérieur des terres présente quelques étangs d’eau douce inaccessibles. On peut y trouver, loin de l’influence directe de la mer, des amphibiens communs en Nouvelle-Écosse. Ici des grenouilles vertes, des grenouilles léopards et des rainettes crucifères migrent de l’intérieur et vivent même parfois dans ces eaux acides et foncées. En règle générale, on trouve peu de grenouilles et d’autres amphibiens à Kejimkujik Bord de mer, en raison des conditions et du climat frais qui y règnent.



Retour au menu des habitats côtiers