Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada

Birds

American bittern American bittern
© Parks Canada/S. Lunn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Approximately 178 bird species are found within Kejimkujik. These include the common loon, Barred owl, warblers, woodpeckers, as well as northerly and southerly species.

Common loon

Common loon Common loon
© Parks Canada/G. Corbett

The common loon can be heard calling at night on many of our lakes. The nesting success of loons has been monitored for many years by the Canadian Wildlife Service and park staff. Visit our research section for more information about loons.
Find out about Keji’s LoonWatch program



Barred owl

Barred owl Barred owl
© Parks Canada/P. Hope

This is Kejimkujik's most common owl and can frequently be heard calling in and around the Jeremys Bay campground. These owls nest successfully in many woodland habitats throughout the park.





Warblers

Canada warbler Canada warbler
© Parks Canada/J. Graham

Approximately 20 species of warblers occupy Kejimkujik's forests and raise their young there. Warblers help the forests by destroying vast numbers of insects. This generally occurs during the summer months, when the birds are most numerous.




Woodpeckers

Pileated woodpecker Pileated woodpecker
© Parks Canada/J. Pleau

Six species of woodpecker have been known to occur in the park. The Pileated woodpecker is one of Kejimkujik’s most striking birds. Keji's mature hardwood forests and abundance of large trees is a good area for them. These habitats provide ample nesting sites and food sources for this uncommon woodpecker.




Southerly Species

Scarlet tanager Scarlet tanager
© Parks Canada/J. Graham
Our southern species generally are found in the park’s hardwood forests. These species include the Scarlet tanager, Great crested flycatcher, which has been proven to breed, and the Wood thrush, which is recorded sporadically. All are rare birds in Nova Scotia.




Northerly Species

Gray jay Gray jay
© Parks Canada/P. Hope

Kejimkujik is home to several boreal bird species. Within the dense softwood forests of Kejimkujik, inquisitive species such as the Boreal chickadee, Red-breasted nuthatch, Spruce grouse and Gray jay may be found.

 

 

Piping Plover - Kejimkujik Seaside

Piping Plover - Kejimkujik Seaside Piping plover
© Parks Canada

The Piping plover is a small, lightly coloured plover with a single dark neckband. It nests right on the sand and cobbles of the beach. It lays four eggs that blend in perfectly with the sand and seashells.

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) has declared the piping plover "endangered". It is therefore considered a "Species at Risk." Staff and volunteers perform nesting surveys and restoration of plover habitat.

Parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik

Les oiseaux

Le butor d'Amérique Le butor d'Amérique
© Parcs Canada /S. Lunn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Quelque 200 espèces d’oiseaux ont été recensées à Kejimkujik. Vous y retrouverez notamment des huards, des chouettes, des parulines, des pics et plusieurs autres espèces boréales et méridionales.

Le huard à collier

Le huard à collier Le huard à collier
© Parcs Canada/G. Corbett 

Le huard à collier possède un appel mélancolique au cœur de la nuit sur plusieurs lacs du secteur. Depuis plusieurs années, le taux de reproduction du huard à collier fait l'objet d'études de la part du Service canadien de la faune et des employés du parc.
Renseignez-vous sur le programme ObservationHuards de Kejimkujik

La chouette rayée

La chouette rayée La chouette rayée
© Parcs Canada/P. Hope

Il s’agit de l'espèce de chouette la plus fréquente au parc. La chouette rayée fait souvent entendre son hululement aux campeurs de la baie Jeremy. Les chouettes rayées nichent dans plusieurs secteurs boisés de Kejimkujik.




Les parulines

La paruline du Canada La paruline du Canada
© Parcs Canada/J. Graham

Le parc est l'hôte d’environ 20 espèces différentes de parulines qui font leur nid dans les forêts avoisinantes et y grandissent. Durant les mois d'été, lorsqu’elles sont présentes en grand nombre, une armée de parulines envahit les forêts pour faire la lutte aux nombreux insectes qui s'y trouvent.



Les pics

Le Grand pic Le Grand pic
© Parcs Canada/J. Pleau

Pas moins de six espèces de pics ont été observées dans le parc Kejimkujik. Le plus remarquable est sans nul doute le « grand pic ». La région lui fournit des forêts de feuillus matures et de grands arbres en abondance, autant de nourriture et de lieux de nidification dont raffole cet oiseau rare.

 



Espèces méridionales

Le tangara écarlate Le tangara écarlate
© Parcs Canada/J. Graham

Les forêts de feuillus qui peuplent le parc Kejimkujik attirent les espèces d'oiseaux méridionaux. Le tyran huppé se reproduit dans le parc et y fait son nid. On y retrouve également le tangara écarlate et la grive des bois s’y présente à l’occasion. Toutes ces espèces sont rares en Nouvelle-Écosse.

 


Espèces boréales

Le geai du Canada Le geai du Canada
© Parcs Canada/P. Hope 

Le parc Kejimkujik abrite plusieurs espèces d'oiseaux boréaux. Ses forêts de résineux attirent nombre d'espèces comme la mésange à tête brune, la sittelle à poitrine rousse, le tétras du Canada et le geai du Canada.





Le pluvier siffleur - Kejimkujik Bord de mer

Le pluvier siffleur Le pluvier siffleur
© Parcs Canada

Le pluvier siffleur est un petit oiseau de rivage aux couleurs pâles, avec un collier noir. Il niche directement sur le sable et les galets. La femelle pond quatre œufs, au pied des dunes, qui se fondent parfaitement dans le sable et les coquillages.

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a déclaré le pluvier siffleur une espèce « en voie de disparition ». Il est donc une « espèce en péril ». Des employés et bénévoles font des études sur la nidification des pluviers et la restauration de l’habitat.