Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada

Honouring A Cultural Landscape

In 1994, Parks Canada and the Mi’kmaq First Nation made a submission to the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada recommending that Kejimkujik National Park be designated a National Historic Site of Canada. The recommendation stated that:

“...the cultural landscape of Kejimkujik National Park, which attests to 4000 years of Mi’kmaq occupancy of this area, and which includes petroglyph sites, habitation sites, fishing sites, hunting territories, travel routes and burials, is of national historic significance...”


Cultural landscapes give us a sense of place, and bring to light our relationship with the land over time. Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site allows us to celebrate the wonderful union of cultural landscape and natural environment, while honouring the outstanding contribution of the Mi’kmaw people to our national heritage.

Commemoration

Plaque unveiling, 2000 Plaque unveiling, 2000
© Parks Canada

As a result of its rich cultural landscape, Kejimkujik was designated a National Historic Site in 1995, making it the first National Park to have this dual status. Two commemorative bronze plaques – one in English and French and the other in Mi'kmaw – were created to commemorate the designation, and were unveiled on Treaty Day, October 1st, 2000. Parks Canada commissioned a monument to hold the plaques, and asked the Mi'kmaw Network to select a design. The design submitted by Jean Augustine-McIsaac was deemed most fitting. In the artist's own words:

"The form of the proposed monument was developed to represent the Mi'kmaw people and their history in the Kejimkujik area in as meaningful a way as possible. For this reason, each image used for the monument's features is drawn from the Mi'kmaw petroglyphs located within [Kejimkujik]."


Commemorative monument Commemorative monument
© Parks Canada

The overall shape for the two-metre high monument is based on the traditional woman's peaked hat - a recurring theme in Kejimkujik's petroglyphs. Given the labour required to create these images, their frequency is a strong argument for their importance to the matriarchal Mi'kmaw culture. The monument is bordered with a repetitive curvilinear design, which was a common motif in clothing and art, and is representative of how the peaked cap would have been decorated.

The eight-pointed star adjacent to the plaques is a symbolic representation of the Mi'kmaw nation. The figures within the points represent both men and women, real and mythical, from the Mi'kmaw nation of the past. In addition, because the star is still used in contemporary Mi'kmaw culture, a link is also made between the past and the present.

Below the plaques are four framed petroglyph images, chosen to represent themes common in Mi'kmaw daily life. An image of the mythical Kulloo bird represents the rich Mi'kmaw story-telling tradition, which played an active role in their everyday life. A hunting scene features a long-vanished caribou, once a mainstay of the Mi'kmaw diet. A fishing scene depicts two men in a canoe, in pursuit of a porpoise. Finally, a single handprint, with superimposed images of male and female headdress, was chosen to represent the Mi'kmaw family unit.

* Note: the National Historic Site designation does not include the Kejimkujik Seaside.

Preservation and Presentation

All locations within Kejimkujik that bear witness to the presence of the Mi’kmaq are special places. They are a source of pride and identity for today’s Mi’kmaw people. Collectively, they are also the reason why Kejimkujik (inland) has the distinction of being the only National Park in Canada to become a National Historic Site in its entirety. These sites, therefore, are monitored on an ongoing basis by a dedicated Aboriginal patrol staff, to ensure that visitors do not disturb the sites accidentally.

The petroglyphs are exposed to the elementsand are slowly fading away. Efforts are being made to preserve and record them. However, accidental damage and deliberate vandalism have completely obliterated some of these irreplaceable artifacts long before their time. The areas around some sites are therefore restricted areas, so that they can be protected for future generations.

Mik'maw history program Mik'maw history program  Mi'kmaw history programs 
© Parks Canada

Kejimkujik offers several ways to discover more about the culture and history of the Mi’kmaw people. Regular programs, in the form of guided walks and slide presentations, present topics such as the Mi’kmaw lifestyle and traditional medicines. Throughout the summer, visitors can walk through a recreation of a traditional encampment, and regular guided tours of the petroglyphs are also offered, so that visitors have the opportunity to see, touch and learn more about these reminders of times long ago. Visitor Center staff, bulletin boards, and the Kejimkujik Visitor Guide provide information regarding programs currently being offered.

Parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik

Hommage à un paysage culturel

En 1994, Parcs Canada et la Première nation Mi’kmaq ont demandé à la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada de reconnaître le parc national Kejimkujik comme lieu historique national. La Commission a en effet recommandé au gouvernement que :

« le paysage culturel du parc national Kejimkujik, qui témoigne de 4 000 ans d’occupation de la région par les Mi’kmaq et qui comprend des sites de pétroglyphes, d’habitation, de sépulture et de pêche, des territoires de chasse et des voies de déplacement, soit désigné d’importance historique nationale ».


Les paysages culturels nous donnent un sentiment d’appartenance, nous font découvrir les liens qui nous unissent à la terre au fil du temps. Le parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik nous permet de célébrer l’union merveilleuse entre le paysage culturel et l’environnement naturel tout en rendant hommage à l’exceptionnelle contribution du peuple mi’kmaq à notre patrimoine national.

Commémoration

Dévoilement de la plaque commémorative, 2000 Dévoilement de la plaque commémorative, 2000
© Parcs Canada

En raison de son paysage culturel unique, Kejimkujik à été désigné lieu historique national en 1995. Il devenait ainsi le premier parc national au Canada à porter cette double appellation. Deux plaques commémoratives en bronze – une en anglais et en français et l’autre en mi’kmaw – ont été créées pour reconnaître l’évènement, et dévoilées le Jour anniversaire du traité, soit le 1er octobre 2000. Parcs Canada a commandé un monument pour présenter les plaques, et a chargé le Mi’kmaq Network du choix du concept. C’est la proposition de Jean Augustine-McIsaac qui a été jugée la plus intéressante. L’artiste décrit sa réflexion :

« La forme du monument proposé a pour objet de représenter le peuple mi’kmaq et son histoire dans la région de Kejimkujik de manière aussi significative que possible. À cette fin, chaque image utilisée sur le monument est tirée des pétroglyphes mi’kmaq qu’on trouve dans [Kejimkujik]. »
Le monument commémoratif Le monument commémoratif
© Parcs Canada

La forme générale choisie pour le monument, qui mesure plus de deux mètres de hauteur, évoque le chapeau pointu traditionnel porté par les femmes, un des thèmes qui reviennent souvent dans les pétroglyphes de Kejimkujik. Vu le temps requis pour graver ces images, cette fréquence est très révélatrice de l’importance de ce chapeau dans la culture matriarcale mi’kmaq. Le monument est bordé d’un motif curviligne répétitif, qu’on trouvait couramment sur les vêtements et œuvres d’art, et qui est représentatif de la manière dont auraient été ornés les chapeaux.

L’étoile à huit pointes adjacente aux plaques est une représentation symbolique de la nation mi’kmaq. Les visages sur les pointes représente des hommes et des femmes, réels ou mythiques, de la nation mi’kmaq d’autrefois. Et comme l’étoile subsiste dans la culture mi’kmaq contemporaine, un lien est ainsi établi entre le passé et le présent.

Sous les plaques, on peut voir quatre pétroglyphes encadrés, choisis pour représenter des scènes de la vie quotidienne des Mi’kmaq. Une image de l’oiseau Kulloo mythique illustre la riche tradition de légendes mi’kmaq, qui a joué un rôle important dans leur vie. Une scène de chasse montre un caribou, espèce disparue de Kejimkujik, qui a déjà été un élément important de l’alimentation des Mi’kmaq. Dans une scène de pêche, deux hommes en canot pourchassent un marsouin. Enfin, le dernier dessin, représentant une main sur laquelle sont superposés des chapeaux d’homme et de femme, symbolise l’unité familiale mi’kmaq.

* Remarque : L’appellation « lieu historique national » ne s’applique pas au secteur du Bord de mer.

Préservation et mise en valeur

Tous les endroits au sein du parc et lieu historique Kejimkujik qui témoignent de la présence des Mi’kmaq sont uniques. Ils sont une source de fierté et d’identité pour le peuple mi’kmaq. Ensemble, ils expliquent pourquoi Kejimkujik est le seul parc national canadien entièrement classé lieu historique national. Des patrouilleurs autochtones dévoués surveillent ces sites en permanence pour s’assurer que les visiteurs ne les perturbent pas accidentellement.

Les pétroglyphes sont exposés aux élémentset s’estompent peu à peu. Des efforts sont déployés pour les recenser et les conserver. Toutefois, en raison de dommages accidentels et d’actes de vandalisme, certains de ces artéfacts irremplaçables ont été prématurément effacés. C’est pourquoi on a restreint l’accès aux zones entourant les pétroglyphes, afin qu’ils puissent être protégés pour les générations futures.

Programme d'histoire mi'kmaw Programme d'histoire mi'kmaw  Programmes d'histoire mi'kmaw
© Parcs Canada

Kejimkujik offre plusieurs façons de découvrir la culture et l’histoire du peuple mi’kmaq. Diverses activités, comme des promenades guidées et des diaporamas, permettent d’explorer le mode de vie des Mi’kmaq, leur médecine traditionnelle et leur spiritualité. En été, les visiteurs peuvent se promener dans un campement traditionnel (reconstitution). Des visites guidées des sites abritant les pétroglyphes sont aussi proposées, pour que les visiteurs puissent voir et toucher ces témoignages des temps passés, et en apprendre davantage à leur sujet.

Les visiteurs peuvent se renseigner sur les activités auprès du personnel du centre d’accueil, ou consulter les panneaux d’affichage et le guide du visiteur du parc Kejimkujik.