Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada

A Mi’kmaw History

Step back in time...

Welcome to one of Canada’s most unique places – a park of great natural beauty that echoes with the footsteps of ancient history.

While Kejimkujik has been a popular national park for more than four decades, its importance to the Mi’kmaw people is based on millennia of ancestral history. For many centuries, this particular part of Nova Scotia where Kejimkujik now lies was a place of encampments, fish weirs, hunting territories, portages, trails, and burial grounds.

A cultural landscape is a geographic area that includes both cultural and natural resources associated with a historic event or group of people. The cultural landscape at Kejimkujik attests to the presence of the Mi’kmaq since time immemorial, and the presence of the petroglyphs lends a silent voice to the lives of those who made their home in this area.

Kejimkujik is a national historic site and the land is the keeper of the stories and the memories of the Mi’kmaq of long ago. Here the rivers tell of the canoes that passed this way and many shoreline areas tell of the camps built for millennia by the early Mi’kmaw. Even the rocks along the lakeshores have stories upon them.

The Early People

Mi'kmaq man and wigwam Mi'kmaq man and wigwam
© Parks Canada

The earliest known traces of human occupancy in Atlantic Canada date back more than ten thousand years. Evidence of this is found in Debert, Nova Scotia. We refer to these people as ‘Palaeoindians,’ the Saqiwe’k L’nuk. They came into the Maritimes around the end of the last great ice age, following large game animals such as the caribou as they expanded into the land revealed by the retreating glaciers.

The earliest evidence of people in the Kejimkujik area dates to about 3000-4000 years ago. This time period is called the Late Archaic, the Mu Awsami Saqiwe’k. Exciting new discoveries along the Mersey River, south of Kejimkujik, indicate that earlier Archaic people used these waterways as much as 6000 years ago. Here they lived a semi-nomadic lifestyle, moving from place to place as they followed the cycle of the seasons in search of food and resources. Over the millennia they developed the distinctive culture, traditions, and language of today’s Mi’kmaq.

The Stopping Place

Mi'kmaw people and traditional canoes Mi'kmaw people and traditional canoes
© Parks Canada


With its abundance of caribou, moose, freshwater fish, and other staple foods, the Kejimkujik area made an ideal living site for part of the year. Other parts of the year were spent at the coasts gathering saltwater fish and shellfish. The Mi’kmaq used the complex system of rivers and lakes as they traveled between the south and north coasts, with Kejimkujik a regular stop at the center of the network.

 

Mi'kmaq artifacts Mi'kmaq artifacts
© Parks Canada
Fishing weir site Fishing weir site
© Parks Canada

Because the Mi’kmaq lived in harmony with nature, they left very little imprint on the land. However, careful research has uncovered the remains of seasonal camps, burial grounds, fish weirs, portages, and trails, whose traces are still present throughout Kejimkujik. In all, over 60 sites have been identified in this area, dating between the Late Archaic and Colonial periods. Numerous artifacts have also been recovered from within the national park and national historic site. All of these provide vital clues to the nature of the cultural landscape of the area.

History Written in Stone

Mi'kmaq petroglyphs Mi'kmaq petroglyphs
© Parks Canada

The most noticeable traces left by the early Mi’kmaq are the engravings they created in the glacially polished slate outcrops found at several locations around lakeshores. Referred to as ‘petroglyphs’  (carvings in stone), these images are an invaluable resource for understanding the history and lives of the Mi’kmaw ancestors. There are over 500 individual petroglyphs within Kejimkujik National Historic Site, making it one of the largest collection of such images in eastern North America. These petroglyphs are a unique and important component in the cultural landscape.

Petroglyph image of peaked hat Petroglyph image of peaked hat
© Parks Canada

Perhaps some of the most important images portray men and women wearing the traditional clothing of the time. In some cases, these images show highly detailed double-curve designs decorating the clothing. Foremost among these images is the unique peaked hat traditionally worn by Mi’kmaw women. Over 60 petroglyphs depict these peaked hats, suggesting the importance of women in Mi’kmaw society.

Petroglyph image of porpoise hunt by canoe Petroglyph image of porpoise hunt by canoe
© Parks Canada

Several culturally unique images depict the distinctive Mi’kmaw ocean-going canoe. Built with raised sides, and sometimes rigged with a small sail, this type of canoe was designed for use at sea, and it is seen in several petroglyphs in pursuit of porpoises and other large mammals in the ocean. Another remarkable group of images bear the signatures of the artists written in Mi’kmaw script. While theirs was primarily an oral culture, Mi’kmaw Elders tell of a seldom used written language, and the Kejimkujik petroglyphs provide some of the only surviving examples.

Parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik

Histoire du peuple Mi’kmaq

Remonter dans le temps

Bienvenue à l’un des endroits les plus exceptionnels du Canada, un parc d’une grande beauté naturelle qui nous ramène aux sources de l’histoire.

Si Kejimkujik est un parc national de renom depuis plus de quatre décennies, l’importance qu’il revêt aux yeux des Mi’kmaq a son origine dans des millénaires d’histoire ancienne. Cette partie de la Nouvelle-Écosse a abrité, pendant plusieurs siècles, campements, barrages à poisson, lieux de chasse, portages, sentiers et sépultures.

Un paysage culturel est une étendue géographique comprenant des ressources culturelles et naturelles associées à un évènement historique ou à un groupe de personnes. Le paysage culturel de Kejimkujik atteste la présence des Mi’kmaq depuis des temps immémoriaux, et les pétroglyphes parlent au nom de ceux qui ont habité cette région.

Kejimkujik est un lieu historique national, et la terre est porteuse des histoires et des souvenirs des Mi’kmaq des temps passés. Ici, les rivières témoignent des canots qui les ont parcourues, et les rivages parlent des campements construits par des Mik’maq au fil des millénaires. Même les roches, le long des rivages lacustres, recèlent des histoires

Les premiers occupants

Homme Mi'kmaq et wigwam Homme Mi'kmaq et wigwam
© Parcs Canada

Les plus anciennes traces de la présence de l’homme au Canada atlantique remontent à 10 000 ans et se trouvent à Debert, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Ces habitants, connus sous le nom de Paléoindiens ou Saqiwe’k L’nuk, sont arrivés dans les Maritimes à la fin de la dernière grande période glaciaire, à la poursuite de gros gibier comme le caribou, qui pénétrait plus loin dans les terres nouvellement exposées par le retrait des glaciers.

Sur le territoire de Kejimkujik, les plus anciennes traces de la présence d’un peuple datent de 3000 à 4000 ans. Cette époque se nomme l’Archéen tardif, ou Mu Awsami Saqiwe’k. De nouvelles découvertes fascinantes le long de la rivière Mersey, au sud de Kejimkujik, indiquent que des peuples de l’Archéen précoce naviguaient déjà sur ce cours d’eau il y a plus de 6000 ans. Ces peuples semi-nomades se déplaçaient d’un endroit à l’autre au gré des saisons, en quête de nourriture et de ressources. Au cours du millénaire, ils ont développé la culture, les traditions et le langage des Mi’kmaq d’aujourd’hui.

Un lieu d’escale

Peuple Mi'kmaw et canots traditionnels Peuple Mi'kmaw et canots traditionnels
© Pars Canada

L’abondance des caribous, des orignaux, des poissons d’eau douce et d’autres aliments de base dans la région de Kejimkujik en faisait un endroit idéal à habiter une partie de l’année. Les Mi’kmaq passaient le reste du temps sur les côtes, pour y pêcher des poissons de mer ainsi que des mollusques et des crustacés. Ils se servaient du réseau complexe de rivières et de lacs pour se déplacer entre les côtes sud et nord, s’arrêtant régulièrement au centre du réseau, à Kejimkujik.




Des artefacts Mi'kmaq Des artefacts Mi'kmaq
© Parcs Canada
Barrage de Pêche Barrage de Pêche
© Parcs Canada

Comme les Mi’kmaq vivaient en harmonie avec la nature, ils ont laissé peu de traces de leur passage. Des recherches minutieuses ont toutefois dévoilé des vestiges de campements saisonniers, de sépultures, de portages et de sentiers un peu partout à Kejimkujik. En tout, plus de 60 sites, datant de la période archaïque supérieure à la colonisation, ont été découverts. De nombreux artéfacts ont aussi été trouvés. Tous ces indices nous renseignent sur la nature du paysage culturel de la région.

Une histoire gravée dans la pierre

Des pétroglyphes Mi'kmaq Des pétroglyphes Mi'kmaq
© Parcs Canada

Les traces les plus visibles laissées par les premiers Mi’kmaq sont des gravures faites sur des affleurements d’ardoise polie par les glaciers que l’on trouve à plusieurs endroits sur les rives des lacs. Appelés « pétroglyphes » (gravures dans la pierre), ces dessins sont une source d’information précieuse pour comprendre l’histoire et le mode de vie des ancêtres des Mi’kmaq d’aujourd’hui. On trouve plus de 500 pétroglyphes individuels dans le lieu historique national Kejimkujik, ce qui en fait une des plus grandes collections de ce type de vestiges en Amérique du Nord. Ces pétroglyphes sont des éléments uniques et essentiels du paysage culturel.

Image de chapeau pointu Image de chapeau pointu
© Parcs Canada
Les dessins les plus importants sont sans doute ceux où l’on voit des hommes et des femmes portant des vêtements traditionnels. Dans certains cas, des motifs en double courbe très détaillés ornent ces vêtements. Les chapeaux pointus, portés par les femmes mi’kmaq, sont aussi très présents. Plus de 60 pétroglyphes représentent ces chapeaux, ce qui semble montrer l’importance des femmes dans la société mi’kmaq.

Image de la chasse de marsouin par canot Image de la chasse de marsouin par canot
© Parcs Canada

Plusieurs images, uniques sur le plan culturel, représentent le canot de mer propre aux Mi’kmaq. Ce type de canot, aux côtés élevés et parfois gréé d’une petite voile, était conçu pour le canotage en mer; on l’aperçoit sur plusieurs pétroglyphes, à la poursuite de marsouins et d’autres grands mammifères marins. Un autre groupe de dessins remarquables porte les signatures des artistes en écriture mi’kmaq. Même si la culture mi’kmaq est principalement orale, les Aînés parlent d’un langage écrit, rarement utilisé. Les pétroglyphes de Kejimkujik sont les seuls exemples connus.