Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada

Backcountry Camping

"" A quiet moment in the Kejimkujik backcountry
© Parks Canada/K. Oliver

 

Spring Access – Backcountry Camping

Twenty backcountry campsites will be available from April 1, 2014 until May 15. Jeremy’s Bay Campground, Jim Charles Point Group Campground and all backcountry sites open for the season on May 16. This change will provide spring anglers and others with greater opportunity to enjoy Kejimkujik’s excellent spring fishing and outdoor recreation.

Registration

The sites listed below will operate under a first-come, first served self-registration system. A self-registration book will be set up outside the Visitor Reception Centre. No reservations will be taken. Any permits filled out for a start date that is later than the date the permit is filled out will not be honored.
Payment of $24.50/campsite/night ($55.00 for cabins) will be collected via cash or credit card in a locked box. Once deposited, all permits are non-refundable.

There are two cabins on the list; however, as the system is first come, first served, visitors should come prepared to camp.

Services

Backcountry campsites include two tent pads, a firebox, a picnic table, a pit privy and bear cables for hoisting food.
Visitors should bring a portable stove for cooking, as there may not be wood available at the site.

Road access

Access to the main park/site road remains weather-dependant as there is no winter maintenance. The main park/site road will generally be ploughed to the Visitor Centre, Monday to Friday. The opening of the gates for Eel Weir Road and the Big Dam Road is weather-dependant. They will be opened as conditions permit. The road to Jake’s Landing will be opened on April 1.

Visitor Safety

Facilities, roads and trails are not currently maintained. Parks Canada does not provide emergency services or safety patrols, and visitors must be self-sufficient in dealing with any emergency that may occur. The emergency contact number is 9-1-1; however, cellular phone coverage may not be available.

Visitors are responsible for their own safety. Visitors should be aware of changeable weather conditions and winter hazards, and have adequate information and equipment to ensure a safe visit.

Campsites available:

Ten sites are accessible by hiking (boat/canoe not required).
All sites are accessible by water (Indirect access from several of the walk-in sites).
Due to the first come, first served nature of the registration system, visitors should come prepared to camp at any of the sites, which may be at long distances.

Site #
1) Walk-in A Big Dam Lake
2) Walk-in B Big Dam Lake
3) Walk-in C Big Dam Lake
4) Walk-in D Big Dam Lake
5) 1 Big Dam Lake
6) 3 Big Dam Lake
7) 4 Big Dam Lake
8) 5 Frozen Ocean
9) 6 Frozen Ocean
10) 8 Frozen Ocean with shelter
11) 10 Little River
12) 11 Keji Lake with shelter
13) 12 Keji Lake
14) 13 Keji Lake
15) 14 Keji Lake
16) 15 Keji Lake
17) 23 Loon Lake with shelter
18) 24 Keji Lake
19) Wil-Bo-Wil Cabin Peskowesk Road/Lake
20) 37 Mason's Cabin Peskowesk Road

Backcountry guides/maps

The Kejimkujik Backcountry Guide is available locally at Mary Lake Home Hardware and in Halifax at Mountain Equipment Co-op (Granville St.), The Trail Shop (Quinpool Rd.), and Maps and More (Lower Water St.).

Fishing permits

The fishing season begins on April 1st, 2014. Fishing permits are available at...(see "Fishing" for more information).



A trip into Kejimkujik's backcountry is your chance to experience the tranquil wilderness and ancestral home of the Mi'kmaq. As you travel, by canoe or on foot, relax and slow to the pace of the natural world.

Over 80% of Kejimkujik is accessible by canoe or hiking only. Situated in beautiful wilderness settings, 46 backcountry campsites are scattered along hiking trails and canoe routes. Each site has two tent pads, a firebox, a picnic table, a pit privy, bear cables for hoisting food, and firewood. Campsites, trails, and portages enable you to travel safely without disturbing the land.







Wil-Bo-Wil exterior Wil-Bo-Wil
© Parks Canada

New Backcountry Cabin

Wil-Bo-Wil offers visitors a new way to experience Keji’s backcountry. The replica cabin is available for use in August 2013 for $55 per night. Contact the Visitor Centre to book your stay at Wil-Bo-Wil.




Backcountry canoeing © Parks Canada / D. Wilson

Getting Started

Begin your trip planning by consulting this website and the Friends of Keji website. Become familiar with the reservation policy, gear requirements and considerations, and guidelines for your stay here in Kejimkujik. Then you can phone the Visitor Centre staff at (902) 682-2772 for more information, trip planning, and to make reservations. Purchase Kejimkujik's Backcountry Guide and Map, available from the Visitor Centre.

The number of people, in one group, who may stay at a single backcountry campsite is limited, and most accommodate a maximum of six people. This keeps impact and erosion within acceptable limits, and controls the number of people in the backcountry so that everyone can experience the tranquility and solitude they seek. To accomodate family groups, Campsites C (Big Dam Lake), 7 (Frozen Ocean Lake), and 12 (Ritchie Island, Kejimkujik Lake), are available for 10 people (maximum of 6 adults).


Backcountry Campsite Reservation Policy

  • Reservations for the summer season are taken from the first Monday in May and may be made by telephone (902) 682-2772, or in person at the Kejimkujik Visitor Centre, 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. daily. We regret that we cannot accept reservations by mail, email or fax.
  • Reservations can be made up to 60 days in advance of the start date of your trip. Subject to this condition, there is no limit to the number of reservations you can make for yourself or others, provided that the deposit is paid, and the complete booking information is provided for each.
  • Each reservation must be secured by a NON-REFUNDABLE reservation fee and the first night's camping fee. Payment for any remaining nights of the reservation is made when you pick up your backcountry camping permit at the Visitor Centre upon arrival at Kejimkujik.
  • Each reservation includes all sites reserved consecutively for ONE backcountry trip (fourteen night maximum). Each site may be booked for a maximum of two consecutive nights between June 20 and Labour Day, and four consecutive nights in other seasons.
  • Deposits for telephone reservations must be made by Visa, MasterCard or American Express. Cash or cheques are accepted only for reservations made in person.
  • If you cannot make your trip at the time you have reserved, you will be refunded the first night's camping fee (less the reservation fee), as long as you notify the Visitor Centre no less than two days preceding your reserved date of arrival. If you wish to make a change or an addition to your reservation, you will be required to pay a new reservation fee, but your pre-payment of the camping fee will be credited to your new reservation. Reservations not claimed on the scheduled date of arrival will be cancelled by noon of the following day with the first night's camping fee forfeited.
Backcountry campsite © Parks Canada / N. Bembridge

Trip Planning

Remember, your safety is your responsibility.

  • Be familiar with the use of all your equipment
  • Be realistic about your abilities; plan for your least-experienced group member; provide for extra time and provisions
  • Be prepared for emergencies, medical or otherwise
  • Ensure you have enough daylight time to safely arrive at your designated campsite.
  • We suggest traveling on the lakes in the morning to avoid windy afternoon conditions.
  • More safety considerations

Equipment

Essential:

  • topographical map such as Kejimkujik's Backcountry Guide, available at the Visitor Centre. Travelers in the woods should carry with them a map and compass and know how to use them. A GPS unit is a good additional tool but doesn't take the place of map and compass.
  • drinking water or water purification (tablets, pump filters). Never assume that any water source in the backcountry is safe to drink.
  • axe to make kindling from the firewood provided on your site
  • portable camp stove for cooking. Be aware that open fires may be banned in dry conditions.

Equipment Checklist

To help plan your trip:

  • The Kejimkujik Backcountry Guide is available by calling the Visitor Centre, at Jake's Landing Rentals, and in Halifax at Mountain Equipment Co-op (Granville St.), The Trail Shop (Quinpool Rd.), and Maps and More (Lower Water St.).
  • Keji-A Guide to Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site, produced by the Friends of Keji, is available at By The Mersey Gift Shop in the park's Visitor Centre, and at selected bookshops.
  • Paddling the Tobeatic, by Andrew L. Smith
  • Paddle Lunenburg-Queens, by Sheena Masson
  • Paddle Annapolis County, by Annapolis County Department of Recreation

Learn more about outdoor activity planning:


Backcountry Regulations

Even with a reservation, you must register for Backcountry camping at the Visitor Centre, and return your permit at the end of your trip. You should consult with the staff at Kejimkujik in regard to current and long-range weather forecasts, known hazards, policies, regulations, and available safety information.

Kejimkujik is dedicated to preserving nature and fostering an understanding of sound camping practices. To ensure an enjoyable wilderness experience, now and in the future, please observe the following regulations and practices:

  • Pets must be kept on a leash at all times. Pets are a threat to wildlife, and wildlife can hurt pets. We recommend that they not be taken into the backcountry.
  • A Kejimkujik National Park Fishing license is required for fishing. See "Fishing" for details about licenses and regulations.
  • Never store food in your tent. Raccoons, bears, and other animals are attracted to food and food waste. Food should be sealed and stored using the food storage devices on each campsite.
  • A fireplace is provided for evening fires at each campsite. Open fires may be built in these fireplaces only. Please build small fires to conserve firewood.
  • You may camp only on designated campsites, pitching your tent on tent pads provided.
  • Firearms are prohibited within Kejimkujik.
  • You may not gather any wood, bark, or kindling from the forest. Burn only the firewood provided. Make your kindling from this firewood. Be sure to bring an axe or hatchet.
  • Do not burn garbage. You must bring all your waste back out with you. Sorting stations are available at the various backcountry parking areas.

National Park Regulations apply at Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada.

Parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik

Camping dans l'arrière-pays

"" Un moment calme dans l'arrière-pays de Kejimkujik
© Parcs Canada/K. Oliver

 

Accès au printemps – Camping dans l’arrière-pays

Vingt emplacements de camping en arrière-pays seront disponibles du 1er avril jusqu'au 16 mai 2014, moment où le terrain de camping de la baie Jeremy, le terrain de camping collectif de la pointe Jim Charles et tous les emplacements de camping en arrière pays ouvriront pour la saison. Ce changement offrira aux pêcheurs à la ligne notamment l'occasion idéale de profiter de l'excellente saison de pêche du printemps et de loisirs en plein air au parc Kejimkujik.

Inscription

Les emplacements énumérés ci-dessous seront gérés à l'aide d'un système d'auto-inscription de type « premier arrivé, premier servi ». Un registre d'auto-inscription sera installé à l'extérieur du centre d'accueil des visiteurs. Aucune réservation ne sera possible. Tout permis rempli qui indique une date de début ultérieure à la date à laquelle il a été rempli ne sera pas honoré.
Le paiement de 24,50 $ par nuit/par emplacement de camping (ou 55 $ pour les cabanes) sera recueilli en espèces ou par carte de crédit dans une boîte verrouillée.
Deux cabanes figurent sur la liste; mais puisqu'on applique le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi, les visiteurs devraient amener avec eux tout ce dont ils ont besoin pour faire du camping, au besoin. Une fois les montants déposés, les permis sont non remboursables.
Deux cabanes figurent sur la liste; mais puisqu'on applique le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi, les visiteurs devraient amener avec eux tout ce dont ils ont besoin pour faire du camping, au besoin.

Services

Les emplacements de camping en arrière-pays incluent deux tabliers de tente, un panier à braise, une table à pique-nique, une toilette sèche et des câbles de hissage pour mettre la nourriture à l'abri des ours.
Les visiteurs devraient apporter un réchaud portatif pour faire la cuisine, puisqu'il est possible qu'il n'y ait aucun bois à brûler sur place.

Accès routier

L’accès au chemin principal du parc/lieu dépendra des conditions météorologiques puisqu'il n'est pas entretenu en hiver. Il sera toutefois généralement déneigé jusqu'au centre d'accueil des visiteurs, du lundi au vendredi. Les chemins Eel Weir et Big Dam ne seront rouverts que lorsque les conditions météorologiques le permettront. Le chemin vers Jake's Landing sera ouvert à compter du 11 avril.

Sécurité des visiteurs

Les installations, les routes et les sentiers ne sont pas entretenus actuellement. Parcs Canada n'offre pas de services d'urgence et n'effectue pas de patrouilles de sécurité. Les visiteurs doivent donc être en mesure de faire face par leurs propres moyens à toute urgence éventuelle. Le numéro à composer en cas d’urgence est le 9-1-1; la zone pourrait toutefois ne pas être desservie par un réseau de téléphonie cellulaire.

Les visiteurs du parc doivent assurer eux-mêmes leur sécurité. Ils doivent se méfier des conditions météorologiques variables et des dangers de l’hiver, et être suffisamment informés et équipés pour demeurer en sécurité tout au long de leur visite.

Emplacements de camping disponibles

Dix emplacements de camping sont accessibles à pied (bateau/canot non requis).
Tous les sites sont accessibles par bateau (accès indirect à partir de plusieurs emplacements à accès piéton). Puisqu'on applique le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi, les visiteurs devraient être prêts à faire du camping dans tous les emplacements, y compris ceux qui sont éloignés.

Emplacements

No de l'emplacement
1) Emplacement à accès piéton A du lac Big Dam
2) Emplacement à accès piéton B du lac Big Dam
3) Emplacement à accès piéton C du lac Big Dam
4) Emplacement à accès piéton D du lac Big Dam
5) 1 lac Big Dam
6) 3 lac Big Dam
7) 4 lac Big Dam
8) 5 lac Frozen Ocean
9) 6 lac Frozen Ocean
10) 8 lac Frozen Ocean avec abri
11) 10 rivière Little
12) 11 lac Keji avec abri
13) 12 lac Keji
14) 13 lac Keji
15) 14 lac Keji
16) 15 lac Keji
17) 23 lac Loon avec abri
18) 24 lac Keji
19) Cabane Wil-Bo-Wil, chemin/lac Peskowesk
20) 37 - cabane Mason, chemin Peskowesk

Guide/carte de l'arrière-pays

Le Guide de l'arrière-pays de Kejimkujik est disponible aux magasins Marys Lake Home Hardware (Caledonia) et à Halifax à Mountain Equipment Co-op (rue Granville), The Trail Shop (rue Quinpool) et Maps and More (rue Lower Granville).

Permis de pêche

La saison de pêche débute le 1er avril 2014. On peut se procurer un permis de pêche au... (voir "La pêche" pour plus de détails)





Un séjour dans l'arrière-pays à Kejimkujik est l'occasion rêvée de faire l'expérience de la tranquillité de la forêt et des terres ancestrales des Mi'kmaq. Que vous soyez en canot ou à pied, détendez-vous et mettez-vous au rythme de la nature.

Plus de 80 pour cent du territoire de Kejimkujik est uniquement accessible en canot ou à pied. Situés dans un cadre naturel enchanteur, 46 emplacements de camping sont répartis le long des sentiers de randonnée et des itinéraires de canotage. Chaque emplacement comprend deux tabliers de tente, un foyer, une table à pique-nique, une toilette sèche, un câble à provisions et du bois à brûler. Les emplacements de camping, les sentiers et les itinéraires de portage vous permettent de visiter Kejimkujik de façon sécuritaire sans nuire à la nature.








L'extérieur de la cabane Wil-Bo-Wil Wil-Bo-Wil
© Parcs Canada

Nouvelle cabane dans l'arrière pays

Wil-Bo-Wil offre aux visiteurs un nouveau moyen de découvrir l'arrière pays de « Keji ». La cabane reconstruite est à louer depuis août 2013 au prix de 55 $ par nuit. Pour réserver votre séjour à Wil Bo Wil, il vous suffit de communiquer avec le Centre d'accueil.




En canot en milieu sauvage © Parcs Canada / D. Wilson

Avant votre séjour

Commencez vos préparatifs en consultant ce site web et celui de l'association coopérante Friends of Keji. Familiarisez-vous avec le processus de réservation, l'équipement nécessaire et les lignes directrices pour votre séjour à Kejimkujik. N'hésitez pas à appeler le centre d'accueil au 902-682-2772 pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, planifier votre itinéraire et faire vos réservations. Procurez-vous le guide et la carte de l'arrière-pays de Kejimkujik au centre d'accueil.

La plupart des emplacements de camping peuvent accueillir au plus six personnes. L'objectif est de limiter les répercussions sur l'environnement et l'érosion, ainsi que de contrôler le nombre de personnes dans l'arrière-pays afin que tous puissent trouver la tranquillité et la solitude qu'ils recherchent. Pour rendre service aux familles, les emplacements C (lac Big Dam), 7 (lac Frozen Ocean) et 12 (île Ritchie, lac Kejimkujik) peuvent accueillir des groupes de 10 personnes (avec un maximum de 6 adultes).


Réservation d'emplacements de camping dans l'arrière-pays

  • Les réservations pour la saison estivale se font à compter du premier lundi de mai, soit par téléphone au 902-682-2772, soit en personne au centre d'accueil, tous les jours de 9 h 00 à 16 h 00. Nous nous excusons de ne pas pouvoir accepter de réservation par courrier, courriel ou télécopieur.
  • Les réservations peuvent être faites jusqu'à 60 jours avant la date du début de votre séjour. Il n'y a pas de limite quant au nombre de réservations que vous pouvez faire pour vous ou pour d'autres, tant que l'acompte est versé et que les renseignements demandés sont fournis pour chaque réservation.
  • Chaque réservation doit être garantie par les droits de réservation NON REMBOURSABLES et les droits de camping pour la première nuitée. Le paiement des autres nuitées se fait à la remise de votre permis de camping au centre d'accueil en arrivant à Kejimkujik.
  • La réservation comprend tous les emplacements réservés de façon consécutive pour UN séjour dans l'arrière-pays (maximum de quatorze nuitées). Chaque emplacement peut être réservé pour un maximum de deux nuitées consécutives du 20 juin à la fête du Travail, et pour un maximum de quatre nuitées consécutives le reste de l'année.
  • Les acomptes pour les réservations téléphoniques doivent être faits par VISA, MASTERCARD ou AMERICAN EXPRESS. L'argent comptant et les chèques ne sont acceptés que pour les réservations faites en personne au centre d'accueil du parc.
  • Si vous ne pouvez séjourner à Kejimkujik aux dates que vous avez réservées, nous vous rembourserons la première nuitée (moins les droits de réservation) à condition que vous informiez le centre d'accueil au moins deux jours avant la date prévue de votre arrivée. Si vous souhaitez modifier ou prolonger votre réservation, vous devrez verser de nouveaux droits de réservation, mais vos droits de camping prépayés seront utilisés comme crédit pour votre nouvelle réservation. Si vous ne vous présentez pas à la date d'arrivée prévue, la réservation sera annulée le jour suivant à midi et vous perdrez vos droits de camping.
Emplacement de camping dans l'arrière-pays
© Parcs Canada / N. Bembridge

Planification de votre séjour

N'oubliez pas que vous êtes responsable de votre sécurité.

  • Assurez-vous de savoir comment votre équipement fonctionne.
  • Soyez réaliste par rapport à vos capacités. Prévoyez en fonction du membre le moins expérimenté de votre groupe. Prévoyez aussi plus de temps et de provisions que nécessaire.
  • Soyez prêt pour les urgences, médicales ou autres.
  • Prévoyez vos déplacements de façon à arriver à votre emplacement le jour.
  • Nous vous suggérons de naviguer sur les lacs en matinée pour éviter le vent, plus fréquent en après-midi.
  • Mesures de sécurité additionnelles

Équipement

Essentiel :

  • carte topographique, comme le Guide de l'arrière-pays de Kejimkujik, que vous pouvez vous procurer au centre d'accueil. Les personnes qui prévoient aller dans les bois devraient avoir avec eux une carte et une boussole, et devraient savoir comment s'en servir. Un appareil GPS peut être utile, mais il ne remplace pas une carte et une boussole.
  • eau potable et filtres ou pastilles pour purifier l'eau, car il ne faut jamais tenir pour acquis que l'eau dans l'arrière-pays est propre à la consommation.
  • hache, pour faire du bois d'allumage avec le bois à brûler fourni à votre emplacement.
  • réchaud portatif et combustible pour la cuisson. Veuillez noter que les feux en plein air peuvent être interdits en période de sécheresse.

Liste d'équipement  


Documents de référence pour la planification de votre séjour

Vous pouvez vous procurer le Guide de l'arrière-pays de Kejimkujik en appelant au centre d'accueil du parc, à Jakes Landing Rentals et à Halifax à Mountain Equipment Co-op (rue Granville), The Trail Shop (rue Quinpool) et Maps and More (rue Lower Granville).

  • Vous pouvez vous procurer le livre Keji: A Guide to Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site à la boutique de cadeaux By The Mersey (en anglais seulement) au centre d'accueil du parc et dans certaines librairies.
  • Paddling the Tobeatic, par Andrew L. Smith
  • Paddle Lunenburg-Queens, par Sheena Masson
  • Canoe Annapolis County, par le Service des loisirs du comté d'Annapolis

Pour connaître d'autres trucs utiles pour la planification d'activités à l'extérieur, consultez les sites ci-dessous :

Règlement applicable dans l'arrière-pays

Même avec une réservation, vous devez vous inscrire pour le camping dans l'arrière‑pays au centre d'accueil. Renseignez-vous auprès du personnel sur les prévisions météo à court et à long terme, les dangers connus, les politiques, les règlements et les mesures de sécurité.

Kejimkujik est déterminé à protéger la nature et à valoriser des pratiques de camping sensées. Pour bien profiter du milieu sauvage, maintenant et dans l'avenir, veuillez respecter les règles et les pratiques ci-dessous.

  • Les animaux de compagnie doivent être tenus en laisse en tout temps. Ils constituent une menace pour les animaux sauvages, et ceux-ci peuvent les blesser. Nous vous recommandons de ne pas emmener d'animaux de compagnie dans l'arrière-pays.
  • Un permis de pêche dans Kejimkujik est nécessaire pour pêcher. Voir "La pêche" pour les détails sur les permis et les règlements.
  • Ne rangez pas de provisions dans votre tente. Les ratons laveurs, les ours et d'autres animaux sont attirés par les aliments et les ordures. La nourriture doit être scellée et rangée dans les installations d'entreposage de provisions se trouvant sur chaque emplacement de camping.
  • Chaque emplacement de camping comporte un foyer. Les feux en plein air doivent être faits uniquement dans ces foyers. Veuillez vous en tenir à de petits feux pour économiser le bois.
  • Vous ne pouvez camper qu'aux emplacements désignés, en installant votre tente sur le tablier conçu à cette fin.
  • Les armes à feu sont interdites dans le parc.
  • Il est interdit de ramasser du bois mort ou des branches dans la forêt. Brûlez uniquement le bois qui est fourni à cet effet, que vous pouvez couper pour en faire du bois d'allumage. N'oubliez pas d'apporter une hache.
  • Ne brûlez pas vos déchets; vous devez les rapporter avec vous. Vous trouverez des postes de tri des déchets dans les stationnements de l'arrière-pays.

Les règlements des parcs nationaux s'appliquent au Parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik.