Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada

Interpretation Activities

You can enrich your experience at Kejimkujik by participating in interpretive events during your visit. Interpreters will share with you Kejimkujik's stories and nature's secrets on daily guided outings and evening programs from late June until Labour Day. These programs are planned to appeal to visitors of all ages.


Visitor Reception Centre

Make your first stop the Visitor Reception Centre, located on the main parkway one kilometre inside the park. Familiarize yourself with local plants and animals through the various interpretive displays, games, and pamphlets. Get a close-up look at fish, listen to bird songs, or test your skills assembling one of our wildlife puzzles. During your visit, you can watch a short audiovisual program, which will introduce many of Kejimkujik's special features.

Guided Walks

Explore a woodland trail with an Interpreter to see, first-hand, some of the special features of the Keji. Interpreters present leisurely walks, which vary from 1 to 1½ hours duration. You may learn about what makes each of Kejimkujik's forests special, take part in an investigation of the homes and habits of animals, or join an "old time" guide from the past who presents the flavour of the area's history.

As you travel along the trail, the Interpreter will relate stories of the plants and animals that make this place their home. These periodic stops will enable you to get a closer look at some of the many wonders of the natural world. Each walk may present the opportunity to see wildlife or to discover unusual plants.

Evening Programs

Each night at dark, when the lights at the outdoor theatre dim, Keji Interpreters will entertain you as they bring Kejimkujik to the big screen. With slides, props, drama, or comedy, Interpreters present a wide range of topics about Keji's natural and human history.

Perhaps you'll travel hundreds of years back in time to hear tales of the earlier inhabitants of this area, or even thousands of years to learn about the forces of nature that shaped the Kejimkujik landscape. Or, maybe you'll explore Keji through the eyes of one of its furry, scaly, or feathery residents should some costumed characters pay a visit to the theatre. The possibilities are endless, but each and every program is designed to stimulate the interest of visitors of all ages. So round up the family and join us each night at the outdoor theatre for 45 minutes of fun and learning!


Back
to "Activities" page
back

Parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik

Activités d'interprétation

Vous pouvez enrichir votre visite au parc national Kejimkujik en participant aux activités d'interprétation. Tous les jours, de la fin juin à la fête du Travail, les guides interprètes partageront avec vous les secrets de la nature et les légendes de Kejimkujik pendant les excursions guidées et les présentations en soirée. Ces programmes sont destinés aux visiteurs de tout âge.


Centre d'accueil

Arrêtez-vous d'abord au Centre d'accueil, situé sur le chemin principal du parc à un kilomètre de l'entrée. Initiez-vous aux plantes et aux animaux du parc à l'aide des expositions, des jeux et des dépliants. Regardez de près un poisson, écoutez des chants d'oiseau, ou testez votre dextérité en faisant un de nos casse-tête sur la faune. Regardez une courte présentation audiovisuelle sur les caractéristiques de Kejimkujik.


Promenades guidées

Explorez un sentier forestier avec un guide interprète pour voir quelques-uns des traits distinctifs du parc. Ces promenades guidées se font à un rythme tranquille et durent entre une heure et une heure et demie. Découvrez pourquoi chacune des forêts de Kejimkujik est spéciale, partez à la recherche des abris et habitats des animaux, ou accompagnez un guide " d'autrefois " qui vous donnera la saveur de l'histoire de la région.

Pendant la promenade, le guide s'arrêtera pour vous raconter des anecdotes sur les plantes et les animaux qui font de ce parc leur demeure. Vous aurez donc le temps d'examiner quelques-unes des merveilles du monde naturel. Chaque promenade vous donnera l'occasion de voir la faune ou de découvrir des plantes hors de l'ordinaire.


Programmes en soirée

Tous les soirs, à la tombée de la nuit, les lumières du théâtre en plein air s'éteignent doucement et nos interprètes vous montrent Kejimkujik au grand écran. En se servant de diapositives, d'accessoires, de comédies ou de drames, ils vous présentent les multiples visages du patrimoine naturel et culturel du parc.

Vous remonterez peut-être des centaines d'années dans le passé pour écouter les légendes des premiers habitants de la région, ou même des milliers d'années pour découvrir les forces qui ont façonné le paysage de Kejimkujik. Ou, si par hasard des personnages en costume visitent le théâtre, vous verrez peut-être le parc à travers les yeux d'un de ses résidents qui rampent, qui volent et qui marchent à quatre pattes. Les possibilités sont multiples, mais chaque programme a pour but de piquer la curiosité des spectateurs de tout âge. Donc, ramassez tous les membres de la famille et venez nous joindre au théâtre en plein air. On vous promet 45 minutes à la fois amusantes et instructives.


Retour
à la page «Activités»
retour