Common menu bar links

Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site

Special Events 2016

 Parka enjoying the beach with children at Kejimkujik National Park

Tuesday, June 21
National Aboriginal Day at Kejimkujik
Celebrate Mi’kmaw culture at Kejimkujik with Parks Canada interpreters and special guests. Enjoy special tours and cultural demonstrations. 

Friday, July 1st
Canada Day at Kejimkujik
FREE ADMISSION

Celebrate Canada’s 149th birthday with FREE CUPCAKES – a perfect way to kick off the summer! Official launch of the Friends of Keji Photo Contest and the exciting 2016 Interpretation Programs. 

Saturday, July 16
Kejimkujik Arts Day on Parks Day!
Come get creative in one of Canada's most inspiring settings with local artists like Brian Muszkie as he demonstrates oil painting at Mill falls. Let the artists from NSCAD introduce you to the fine art of paper lantern making or try your hand as a chocolatier and paint with chocolate. The kids will love painting their very own petroglyphs on birch bark. Are you more of an actor or musician than a painter? Be sure to stay for a special edition of Keji's Got Talent. It's a great day to discover the inner artist in you!

July 23 & 24
Learn-to Camp at Kejimkujik
Never camped before but curious to learn about this truly Canadian tradition? This two day program will entice everyone to learn the basics of camping, from what to bring to what to eat and how to cook it. Participants will have opportunities to attend special programs and activities offered in Kejimkujik. Jointly presented with MEC (Mountain Equipment Co-op). We provide the food, know-how and even the tents and sleeping pads! Cost $44 per adult and $22 per child. 

Aug 5 to 7
Kejimkujik Dark Sky Weekend
Search Keji’s spectacular night skies for planets, galaxies, constellations and much more in Nova Scotia’s Dark Sky Preserve! There will be stories and discoveries for all ages. Camp or stay overnight close by – you don’t want to miss the show! Presented in partnership with the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC).

Aug 20 & 21
Kejimkujik Canoe Fest

For thousands of years the canoe has been the best way to travel through Kejimkujik’s inter-connected rivers, lakes and streams providing the finest canoeing experience in Atlantic Canada! Enjoy a fun-filled weekend with canoeing and kayaking demonstrations, clinics and activities – perfect for the beginner and seasoned paddler alike. Bring your own or rentals available onsite. Presented with Canoe Kayak Nova Scotia.

Friday, September 16 
Sleeping Forest Night Hike 
Reawaken yourself to the Spirits of nature during a unique experience into the heart of Keji's ancient hemlock forest. During this nighttime journey, you will meet the Old Souls of the forest. A late night snack will feature the taste of an autumn stew, along with wild teas, elixirs, and “local spirits”, to help you focus your mind on the timeless wisdom of nature and gain insight about your own path in the world.

Limit of 25 places and, as this is a licenced event, participants must be 19 years and older. The cost is $44.00 per person (taxes included) plus the park entry fee.

Contact the Kejimkujik Visitor Centre to reserve your place – 902-682-2772. When you register, you will be contacted with further details. This hike will also be offered on Thursday, October 6. Hikes start at 7pm.

Saturday, October 1
Savour the Trail at Kejimkujik
SOLD OUT!
***Waiting list available. Email your name and phone number to kejimkujik.info@pc.gc.ca***

A Feast for the Senses! Take advantage of the fall to enjoy our trails while discovering unique flavours cooked and served up in the great outdoors. Taste a variety of nature-inspired and locally sourced recipes prepared by Nova Scotia Community College Arts Students and other partners. Sample regional beers and wines and other beverages provided by local artisans. This culinary experience features the beautiful Fall scenery of Mersey River, along a 3 km walking trail.

Date
: Saturday, October 1, 2016
Time: Starts at noon with departures every 10 minutes as time slots fill up.
Location: Meet at Mill Falls Shelter
Cost: $32.80 (tax included) plus Parks Canada Entry Fee

This event is for ages 19 and older. For information call the Visitor centre at 902-682-2772. 

This event is made possible with the support of local suppliers including, Wile’s Lake Farm Market, Boxing Rock Brewery, Ironworks Distillery, Bulwark Nova Scotia Craft Cider, Annapolis Highland Vineyards, Newfoundland Chocolate Company, Union Street, Still Fired Distillery, Just Us Coffee and Van Dyk’s.

Additional information
Savour the Trail starts on the Mill Falls Trail and continues on the Beech Grove Trail. The terrain is relatively flat with a few hills, and each tour is expected to take approximately 90 minutes. Note that there are no washrooms on the trail. The washrooms are located at Mill Falls Shelter and at the Visitor Centre.

Due to the nature of this event, we ask you to please leave dogs at home. We recommend that you bring a good pair of walking shoes, a bottle of water, a camera, some warm layers, and your appetite!

This is a rain or shine event. Please dress accordingly. 

Thursday, October 6
Sleeping Forest Night Hike 
Reawaken yourself to the Spirits of nature during a unique experience into the heart of Keji's ancient hemlock forest. During this nighttime journey, you will meet the Old Souls of the forest. A late night snack will feature the taste of an autumn stew, along with wild teas, elixirs, and “local spirits”, to help you focus your mind on the timeless wisdom of nature and gain insight about your own path in the world.

Limit of 25 places and, as this is a licenced event, participants must be 19 years and older. The cost is $44.00 per person (taxes included) plus the park entry fee.

Contact the Kejimkujik Visitor Centre to reserve your place – 902-682-2772. When you register, you will be contacted with further details. Starts at 7pm.

October 8 to 10
Thanksgiving Weekend at Kejimkujik
Soak up the brilliant colours of fall and enjoy what has become one of Kejimkujik’s most popular weekends of the year! Enjoy the annual Pumpkin Carving Contest, the Haunted Jaunt, and take the plunge at the annual Cold Turkey swim. It’s the perfect weekend to spend with friends and family and enjoy the cool and crisp air.


In the community: Caledonia events

Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik

Événements spéciaux 2016 

Parka qui profite de la plage avec des enfants à Kejimkujik.

Mardi 21 juin
Journée nationale des Autochtones au parc Kejimkujik

Célébrez la culture Mi'kmaq au parc Kejimkujik avec les interprètes de Parcs Canada et des invités spéciaux. Profitez de visites guidées et d’activités culturelles! 

Vendredi 1er juillet
Fête du Canada au parc Kejimkujik
ENTRÉE LIBRE

Venez célébrer le 149e anniversaire du Canada avec des PETITS GÂTEAUX GRATUITS. Voilà de quoi commencer l’été du bon pied! L’événement soulignera par ailleurs le lancement officiel du concours de photographie des Amis de Keji et les passionnants programmes d’interprétation de 2016.

Samedi 16 juillet
Journée des arts à l’occasion de la Journée des parcs à
Kejimkujik !
Laissez le paysage exceptionnel de Keji vous inspirer aux côtés d’artistes locaux tels que Brian Muszkie qui fera des démonstrations de peinture à l'huile à Mill falls. Laissez les artistes de NSCAD vous initier à l'art de fabriquer des lanternes en papier ou jouez au maître chocolatier en peignant avec du chocolat! Les enfants vont adorer graver leur propres pétroglyphes sur de l'écorce de bouleau. Êtes-vous plus enclin à la comédie ou à la musique? Restez pour une édition toute spéciale de « Keji a du talent ». Donnez libre cours à l’artiste en vous. Ne ratez surtout pas la toute première Journée des arts du parc Kejimkujik, où la nature ne manquera pas d’alimenter votre créativité! 

23 et 24 juillet
Initiation au camping au parc Kejimkujik
Vous n’avez encore jamais fait de camping, mais vous voulez en apprendre davantage sur cette tradition typiquement canadienne? Le programme de deux jours vous inculquera les bases du camping, notamment ce qu’il faut apporter ainsi que ce que l’on peut manger et comment le préparer. Les participants pourront prendre part à des activités et à des programmes spéciaux offerts au parc Kejimkujik. Le programme est offert en collaboration avec MEC (Mountain Equipment Co-op). Vous n'avez qu'à apporter votre sac de couchage et nous nous occupons du reste! Coût : 44$ par adulte et 22$ par enfant. 

Samedi 30 juillet
Célébration du 47e anniversaire du parc Kejimkujik
Venez célébrer le 47e anniversaire de Keji. Petits gâteaux et rafraîchissements seront au rendez-vous, mais aussi des activités amusantes pour les campeurs et les visiteurs de tous âges. Jouez au jeu d’anniversaire des Amis de Keji et courez la chance d’accéder à la célébrité grâce au populaire concours « Keji a du talent ».

Du 5 au 7 août
Fin de semaine sous le ciel étoilé du parc Kejimkujik
Venez observer le ciel étoilé de Keji et repérez y des planètes, des galaxies, des constellations et d’autres beautés célestes dans la Réserve de ciel étoilé de la Nouvelle-Écosse! Des histoires et des découvertes attendent les visiteurs de tous les âges. Pourquoi ne pas camper ou séjourner tout près du parc? Ne manquez pas ce beau spectacle présenté en partenariat avec la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada.

20 et 21 août
Festival du canot du parc Kejimkujik
Pendant des milliers d’années, le canot a été le meilleur moyen de se déplacer sur le vaste réseau de lacs, de rivières et de ruisseaux de l’actuel parc Kejimkujik, qui propose l’une des meilleures expériences de canotage du Canada atlantique! Venez passer une fin de semaine amusante et regorgeant de démonstrations, de cours pratiques et de sorties de canotage et de kayak, un choix idéal tant pour les débutants que pour les pagayeurs chevronnés. Apportez votre propre embarcation ou louez-en une sur place. L’activité est présentée en collaboration avec Canoe Kayak Nova Scotia.

Samedi 1er octobre
Randonnée des saveurs au parc Kejimkujik
COMPLET!
***Pour vous inscrire à la liste d'attente, envoyez vos nom et numéro de téléphone à kejimkujik.info@pc.gc.ca.***

Profitez des joies de l’automne en prenant part à une randonnée pédestre gourmande! En collaboration avec les étudiants du programme d’art culinaire du Nova Scotia Community College et d’autres partenaires, nous vous invitons à venir déguster des plats inspirés de la nature et d’ingrédients locaux ainsi que des breuvages fabriqués en Nouvelle-Écosse. Cette expérience culinaire de trois kilomètres se déroulera le long de la paisible rivière Mersey, où le paysage d’automne est à son meilleur. 

Date : Samedi le 1er octobre 2016
Heure : Débute à midi avec des départs aux 10 minutes selon les disponibilités
Lieu : Abri des chutes Mill
Coût : 32,80$ (taxe incluse) plus le droit d’entrée de Parcs Canada

Événement pour les personnes de 19 ans et plus seulement. Pour plus information, appelez le Centre d’accueil au 902-682-2772.

Cette activité a pu voir le jour grâce au soutien de fournisseurs locaux, dont Wile’s Lake Farm Market, Boxing Rock Brewery, Ironworks Distillery, Bulwark Nova Scotia Craft Cider, Annapolis Highland Vineyards, Newfoundland Chocolate Company, Union Street, Still Fired Distillery, Just Us Coffee et Van Dyk’s.

Informations supplémentaires
La Randonnée des saveurs débutera sur le sentier des Chutes-Mills et se poursuivra sur le sentier Beech Grove. Le terrain est relativement plat, et le parcours ne comporte que quelques pentes. Chaque groupe peut s’attendre à une promenade d’environ 90 minutes. Notez qu’il n’y a pas de toilettes sur le sentier. Les toilettes se trouvent à l’abri des chutes Mill et au Centre d’accueil.

Compte tenu de la nature de l’activité, nous vous demandons de laisser les chiens à la maison. Apportez une bonne paire de chaussures de marche, une bouteille d’eau, un appareil photo, de l’écran solaire, des vêtements chauds et… votre appétit!

L’évènement aura lieu beau temps mauvais temps, veuillez vous habiller en conséquence. 

Du 8 au 10 octobre
Fin de semaine de l’Action de grâce au parc Kejimkujik
Émerveillez-vous devant les éclatantes couleurs de l’automne pendant une des fins de semaine les plus courues de l’année au parc Kejimkujik! Participez au concours annuel de sculpture de citrouille et à la randonnée hantée, et ne manquez pas la baignade « chair de poule » annuelle. C’est la fin de semaine idéale pour passer du temps en famille ou entre amis en prenant une bonne bouffée d’air pur et frais.


Événements communautaires : Événements à Caledonia (en anglais seulement)