Cape Breton Highlands National Park of Canada

The Acadian Forest Region: Home of the Sugar Maple

An aerial view down the Aspy Valley which shows the sometimes abrupt transition between light green Acadian forest foliage and dark green Boreal forest foliage.
The transition from Acadian Forest (light green foliage) in the sheltered valleys to Boreal Forest (dark green foliage) on the plateau can be quite abrupt.
© Cape Breton Highlands National Park / J. Pleau

The Acadian Forest Region occurs in isolated pockets in the lowland coastal fringes and deep, sheltered valleys. Stands of trees in this forest region are separated by the mountains. Cape Breton Highlands National Park protects only about 10% of the Acadian forest in the northern Cape Breton ecosystem .

Map showing the location and extent of the Acadian forest in Cape Breton Highlands National Park.
Map showing the location and extent of the Acadian forest in Cape Breton Highlands National Park.
© Cape Breton Highlands National Park
Trees of the Acadian Forest
A view from the Cabot Trail overlooking leafy hardwood Acadian forest.
The Acadian Forest in the Aspy Valley is composed almost purely of hardwoods. In other parts of the Acadian Forest, there may be a mixture of hardwoods and softwoods.
© Cape Breton Highlands National Park / J. Steeves

The mature Acadian forest is composed of mixed hardwoods and softwoods. The composition of individual stands can vary considerably, ranging from pure hardwood valleys to various mixtures of hardwood and softwood species. Characteristic Acadian forest tree species growing in Cape Breton include sugar maple, yellow birch, American beech, balsam fir and eastern hemlock. Red spruce, red oak, white ash, white pine and ironwood are common trees in other Acadian forests but are not common in northern Cape Breton. Several hardwood trees such as American beech, white elm and sugar maple reach the northeastern limit of their ranges in northern Cape Breton.

Wild Bounty
A view of the Acadian forest understory. Enough sunlight reaches the forest floor to support lush vegetation.
More open and fertile than the Boreal Forest, the Acadian Forest floor provides habitat for many different types of ground plants.
© Parks Canada / Cape Breton Highlands National Park

The Acadian forest is rich in species and has a luxurious undergrowth of shade-tolerant small trees, low shrubs and ground plants. Lichens grow on trees and rocks within the Acadian forest and mosses can be found on trees, rocks and the forest floor. Mature Acadian forest trees can be very large, with trunks reaching up to a metre across. Hardwood seedlings and saplings dot the shady forest floor, waiting for an older tree to fall so they can take its place. A tree that makes it to maturity may live 100 to 300 years.

Early-blooming wildflowers share the forest floor with the hardwood saplings, taking advantage of what sunlight they can get before the huge trees overhead leaf out. Typical plants of the Acadian forest floor include sensitive fern, striped maple, snowberry and trailing arbutus. A few plants more common in the eastern United States can also be found here. These include rose-twisted stalk, Dutchman's breeches and toothwort.

Characteristic animals found in the Acadian Forest Region include white-tailed deer, red fox, bobcat, deer mouse, masked shrew, red-eyed vireo, blue jay, American redstart and American robin.

Old-growth Hardwood Forests
A view under the canopy of an old-growth hardwood forest.
Old-growth hardwood forests are uncommon in eastern Canada because of extensive logging and clearing for arable land. Cape Breton Highlands National Park is proud to protect a section of old-growth hardwood forest within its boundaries.
© Cape Breton Highlands National Park / E. Wallace

The Grande Anse Valley of Cape Breton Highlands National Park is internationally recognized for its old-growth stands of hardwood trees, especially for its nearly pure stands of sugar maple.

The presence and protection of old-growth hardwood forests within the park is important for several reasons. First of all, very little old-growth hardwood forest remains in eastern North America due to extensive logging. Secondly, they are home to many different species and provide critical habitat for several specialized plants and animals including the catbird, "southern" plants such as Dutchman's breeches, and certain lichens such as lungwort. Thirdly, the hardwood forests in northern Cape Breton are naturally isolated in valleys and coastal lowlands. These lowland forests are further disturbed by human settlement, tourism infrastructure and clear-cutting. The presence of the park allows a portion of old-growth hardwood forest to remain in a relatively natural state for our generation and future generations to enjoy.

The old growth hardwood forest in the Grande Anse valley may be suffering from air pollution caused by all the traffic passing through the valley. Currently the park is monitoring levels of ozone in the area.

Parc national du Canada des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton

La région forestière acadienne : la chanson des érables

Cette vue aérienne de la vallée de l'Aspy montre le passage parfois très rapide de la forêt acadienne au feuillage vert tendre à la forêt boréale aux aiguilles vert foncé.
On peut passer très rapidement de la forêt acadienne (vert tendre) dans les vallées protégées à la forêt boréale (vert foncé) du plateau.
© Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton parc national / J. Pleau

La région forestière acadienne comprend des peuplements isolés dans les basses terres de la frange côtière et dans les profondes vallées protégées. Ces peuplements sont coupés les uns des autres par les montagnes. Le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton protège seulement 10 % de la forêt acadienne dans l'écosystème du nord du Cap-Breton .

Cette carte du parc national des Hautes-Terres du Cap Breton Canada montre la forêt acadienne et son étendue.
Cette carte du parc national des Hautes-Terres du Cap Breton Canada montre la forêt acadienne et son étendue.
© Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton parc national
Les représentants de la forêt acadienne
Ici, le Cabot Trail domine un peuplement densément feuillu de la forêt acadienne.
Dans la vallée de l'Aspy, la forêt acadienne se compose essentiellement de feuillus. Ailleurs, elle peut comprendre un mélange de feuillus et de conifères.
© Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton parc national / J. Steeves

La forêt acadienne adulte comprend un mélange de feuillus et de conifères. Les différents peuplements ont une composition qui peut varier considérablement. Dans certaines vallées, on ne trouve que des feuillus au lieu d'un mélange aux proportions variables. Au Cap-Breton, les représentants les plus fréquents de la forêt acadienne comprennent l'érable à sucre, le merisier, le hêtre américain, le sapin baumier et la pruche. Ailleurs, dans d'autres forêts acadiennes, on pourra voir l'épinette rouge, le chêne rouge, le frêne blanc, le pin blanc et l'ostryer de Virginie. Le nord du Cap-Breton représente la limite nord-est pour plusieurs feuillus, comme le hêtre américain, l'orme blanc et l'érable à sucre.

Une végétation luxuriante
La forêt acadienne n'est pas que des arbres. La lumière du jour y est suffisante pour assurer la croissance d'une végétation luxuriante.
Le tapis de la forêt acadienne est plus aéré et plus riche que le tapis de la forêt boréale, ce qui favorise la présence d'une grande diversité de végétaux au sol.
© Parks Canada / Cape Breton Highlands National Park

La forêt acadienne est très diversifiée et présente un épais tapis de petits arbres, de buissons et de plantes d'ombre. Les lichens poussent sur les arbres et les roches, de même que les mousses qui se retrouvent aussi au sol. Dans les peuplements adultes, les arbres sont parfois très grands et leurs troncs peuvent mesurer un mètre de diamètre. Des plantules et des arbrisseaux parsèment le tapis forestier ombrageux, attendant que s'abatte un arbre adulte pour profiter de l'éclaircie et grandir à leur tour. L'arbre vigoureux peut vivre de 100 à 300 ans dans la forêt acadienne.

Des fleurs sauvages hâtives côtoient les arbrisseaux et profitent de tout l'ensoleillement possible avant l'épanouissement du feuillage qui formera un parasol pendant le reste de la belle saison. Les végétaux représentatifs de la forêt acadienne comprennent l'onoclée sensible, le bois barré, le chiogène hispide et l'épigée rampante. La forêt acadienne abrite aussi quelques végétaux plus courants dans l'est des États-Unis, comme le streptope rose, la dicentre à capuchon et la dentaire.

Pour ce qui est de la faune, le région forestière acadienne est l'habitat du cerf de Virginie, du renard roux, du lynx roux, de la souris sylvestre, de la musaraigne cendrée, du viréo aux yeux rouges, du geai bleu, de la paruline flamboyante et du merle d'Amérique.

Les peuplements anciens de feuillus
Sous le couvert des arbres matures d'une forêt ancienne.
Les peuplements anciens sont rares dans l'est du Canada, en raison d'une exploitation forestière intensive et du déboisement pour l'agriculture. Le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton peut se vanter de protéger de formidables peuplements anciens de feuillus.
© Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton parc national / E. Wallace

La vallée de Grande Anse du parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton est réputée mondialement pour ses peuplements anciens de feuillus et plus particulièrement pour une forêt très homogène d'érables à sucre plus que centenaires.

La protection des peuplements anciens de feuillus est pleinement justifiée. Premièrement, il reste très peu de ces témoins naturels du passé dans l'est de l'Amérique du Nord, en raison d'une exploitation forestière intensive. Deuxièmement, les peuplements anciens recèlent des espèces diversifiées et sont l'habitat de plusieurs végétaux et animaux particuliers, comme le moqueur chat, la dicentre à capuchon (une plante méridionale) et le lichen pulmonaire pour n'en nommer que quelques-uns. Enfin, les forêts de feuillus du nord du Cap-Breton sont isolées naturellement les unes des autres, dans des vallées et dans les basses terres de la frange côtière. Les forêts des basses terres sont fragilisées par les activités humaines, l'infrastructure touristique et les coupes à blanc. Le parc national assure la protection et la conservation la plus naturelle possible des peuplements anciens de feuillus pour les générations actuelles et à venir.

Il se peut que la forêt ancienne de la vallée de Grande Anse souffre de la pollution imputable à la circulation routière dans la vallée. C'est pourquoi le personnel du parc national surveille les niveaux d'ozone dans la région.