Cape Breton Highlands National Park of Canada

Faults and Canyons in Cape Breton Highlands National Park

A view down the Aspy River canyon from the Cabot Trail.
The Aspy River flows along the Aspy Fault; together the two forces of nature have conspired to produce a spectacular canyon.
© Cape Breton Highlands National Park / J. Gordon

Faults result from plate tectonics. They occur where two or more continental plates push against one another, pull away from each other or slide alongside one another. As the continental plates slowly drift, pressure builds up along the fault lines. The pressure eventually builds up so much that it causes the masses of rock to slip, suddenly and often violently. We experience these sudden releases of pressure as earthquakes.

There are a number of faults in Cape Breton Highlands National Park but noticeable earthquakes are rare. The faults were probably created long ago when two continental plates met and pushed the sea floor between them upwards to form the Appalachian Mountains. Nowadays, the North American continent is moving westwards, so most of the tectonic activity occurs on the western side of the continent where the Rocky Mountains are still being pushed up today.

Faults often appear on the earth's surface as linear depressions in the land. The most spectacular fault in the park is the Aspy Fault which extends 30 kilometres from the centre of the highlands to the ocean.

Streams in the park cut down into the plateau, forming deep V-shaped canyons. Running water naturally follows depressions in the land, so several rivers in the park follow fault lines. The eroding action of the water as well as the presence of the fault combine to form very deep canyons. The Aspy River flows down the Aspy Fault line in a very dramatic canyon which can be seen from the Cabot Trail.

Three other valleys in the park that are associated with faults are the Clyburn, Grande Anse and Chéticamp River valleys. All three of these deep canyons have also been carved by glaciers in the past and are therefore U-shaped.

The canyons in Cape Breton Highlands National Park are very important for the ecosystem; they provide the sheltered valleys which the Acadian forest needs to live in. Without the valleys and canyons, the diversity of plants and animals found in northern Cape Breton would probably be much lower than it is.

Parc national du Canada des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton

Les failles et les canyons du parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton

Vue sur le canyon de la rivière Aspy depuis le Cabot Trail.
La rivière Aspy suit la faille Aspy; ensemble, ces deux forces de la nature ont produit un canyon spectaculaire.
© Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton parc national / J. Gordon

Les failles sont le résultat de la tectonique des plaques. Elles surviennent là où au moins deux plaques continentales exercent une pression l'une sur l'autre, se divisent ou se meuvent côte à côte. Pendant cette lente dérive, la pression s'intensifie le long des failles et finit par déloger des masses de roche, qui se détachent de façon soudaine et souvent avec violence. Ce relâchement soudain constitue un tremblement de terre.

Le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton est traversé de plusieurs failles, mais les tremblements de terre perceptibles sont rares. Ces failles ont probablement été créées il y a longtemps, lorsque deux plaques continentales se sont entrechoquées et qu'elles ont soulevé le fond marin qui les séparait pour former les Appalaches. De nos jours, l'Amérique du Nord dérive vers l'ouest, de sorte que l'activité tectonique tend plutôt à se concentrer du côté ouest du continent, là où les Rocheuses sont encore poussées vers le haut de nos jours.

Les failles dessinent souvent des dépressions linéaires sur la surface terrestre. La faille Aspy est sans nul doute la plus spectaculaire du parc. Elle s'étend sur 30 km depuis le centre des hautes-terres jusqu'à l'océan.

Les ruisseaux du parc dévalent le plateau en formant de profonds canyons en V. Les cours d'eau suivent naturellement les dépressions du terrain, si bien que plusieurs rivières du parc épousent le tracé des failles. L'action de l'eau et la présence de la faille se combinent pour former des canyons très profonds. La rivière Aspy coule sur la faille Aspy dans un impressionnant canyon que vous pouvez voir depuis le Cabot Trail.

Dans le parc, trois autres vallées sont associées à des failles, soit les vallées de la rivière Clyburn, de la rivière Grande Anse et de la rivière Chéticamp. Comme elles ont été sculptées par des glaciers, ces profondes gorges forment des vallées en U.

Les canyons du parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton occupent une très grande place dans l'écosystème; ils renferment les vallées abritées dont la forêt acadienne a besoin pour se perpétuer. Sans ces vallées et ces canyons, la diversité des plantes et des animaux du Nord du Cap-Breton s'en trouverait sans doute de beaucoup appauvrie.