Common menu bar links

Cape Breton Highlands National Park of Canada

Cars parked at a scenic look-off along the Cabot Trail

Sightseeing along the Cabot Trail

Some of the most spectacular views in Atlantic Canada

One-third of the celebrated Cabot Trail runs through the national park and for picturesque views, it is one of the most visited regions in Canada. Cabot Trail sightseeing is one of the most popular activities offered by the national park. Numerous look-offs provide ample opportunities to admire the striking beauty of the landscape. A park pass is required to tour this section of the Cabot Trail.

Each exhibit in the park has a different story to tell.

Sightseeing map of Cape Breton Highlands National Park
Exhibit map for Cape Breton Highlands National Park
© Parks Canada


La Bloc

La Bloc
La Bloc 
© Parks Canada

With its rocky cliffs and jagged shoreline, this area doesn't look like an ideal spot for a fishing village. Yet over thirty French families once lived here and made their living from the sea. They even had a cannery. Colourful panels depict the history of the area as you enjoy the great ocean views. It is also a picnic area, so pack a lunch and linger awhile.



Cap Rouge Exhibit

Cap Rouge
A view of the western coastline from Cap Rouge 
© Parks Canada

Here is a rare opportunity to observe the basic rock types that make up the entire earth's crust—sedimentary, igneous and metamorphic. Spectacular coastal views complement this exhibit.



The Veteran's Monument

Veteran's Monument Look-off
The world-famous views from the look-off at the Veterans Monument 
© Parks Canada

During the Parks Canada centennial year in 1985, this plaque was placed here by the Department of Veteran's Affairs to recognize the contribution of Canadians who died overseas during the World Wars. A similar plaque was unveiled in a national park in each province. The monument stands guard over a commanding view of the western coastline.



The Fishing Cove Look-off

Fishing Cove
Fishing Cove can be seen from high atop MacKenzie Mountain 
© Parks Canada

Take in the view! 335 metres (1,000 ft) below you lie a small cove and grassy clearing at the base of MacKenzie Mountain which was once a fishing village. Here, the Scottish settlers fished in the Gulf waters and traded with the French for supplies. Fishing Cove is now the site of the only designated wilderness campsite in the park. Camping is restricted to a small number of people at any one time in order to preserve the wilderness experience and reduce impact on the environment. You must register to camp; bring your own camp stove and drinking water. Remember, it's a long way down but there is a shorter alternate route back up.



MacKenzie Mountain Look-off - The Highland Plateau

Highland Plateau
Interpretive panels provide information on the formation of the Highland Plateau 
© Parks Canada

Over 90% of the Park's surface area is Highlands Plateau. These seemingly flat-topped mountains are part of what makes this park unique. They make up the largest remaining tract of wild land left in Nova Scotia. With an average elevation of 400 m (1,300 ft), the plateau is a harsh land cut with valleys and pocketed with shallow lakes and bogs. Learn about the bedrock that has resisted change for millions of years, the MacKenzie River as it winds its way through the canyon below or just enjoy the view of the highland plateau as it stretches out before you.



MacKenzie Mountain Look-off - The Gulf of St. Lawrence

Gulf of St. Lawrence
A picturesque look-off overlooking the Gulf of St. Lawrence 
© Parks Canada

It is difficult to discuss the land around you without paying attention also to the water that reaches its shores. The Gulf of St. Lawrence, a strategic waterway Canadian throughout history, still plays a vital role in transportation and in the migration of marine mammals. The waters are warmer and less salty than the Atlantic Ocean. The ocean floor in the Gulf is not unlike the dry land around you—its features are just given different names because they are underwater. The floor is cut by "troughs" (valleys) and has "shelves" (plateaus). The ebb and flow of the Gulf currents are of great interest. Creating a nursery for a variety of fish species, the currents also have an effect on all five provinces that they border. One quarter of the total Canadian fish catch comes from these waters.



MacKenzie Mountain Look-off - Whales

Whales
Catch a glimpse of whales from this look-off on MacKenzie Mountain 
© Parks Canada

Want to go whale watching? You can actually do it from here! Keep your eyes on the ocean—look for plumes of vapour as whales surface in the Gulf. You'll find a colour exhibit of whales, species of fish, their food sources, various sea birds and life on the ocean floor at this look-off.



The Lone Shieling

Lone Shieling
The Lone Shieling, a Scottish crofter's hut nestled in an old-growth forest 
© Parks Canada

This is one of the most protected areas of the park. The 350-year-old sugar maple trees are just part of this virgin forest which is also home to rare animals like the rock vole and Gaspé shrew.

What will catch your eye first is the Lone Shieling itself. An exhibit tells the story of why it's here in our highlands and what it was used for in the highlands of Scotland. The 20-minute walking trail is the only access permitted in this old growth hardwood forest, so please stay on the trail to reduce trampling damage.


North Mountain Look-off - The Aspy Fault

Aspy Fault
A photographer takes advantage of the spectacular views and fall colours overlooking the Aspy Fault 
© Parks Canada

A fault is a crack or fracture in the earth's crust. The Aspy Fault runs inland for about 40 kilometres (24 miles). Land masses move and separate along fault lines. By studying them and comparing rock types, geologists can determine what land masses might once have been connected. Cape Breton may have been joined to Africa at one time. The panels show the fault lines in Cape Breton and how the land formed over time. Find out how a hanging valley is formed.


North Mountain Look-off - The Beulach Ban Falls

Beulach Ban Falls
Beulach Ban Falls can be seen from a look-off on North Mountain 
© Parks Canada

Watch the waterfalls in the Aspy Valley below you as the river winds its way to the Atlantic. The name "Beulach Ban" is Gaelic, a language spoken by the original Scottish settlers. When you reach the base of the mountain, you can drive to the falls. This is a particularly nice area in the autumn when the foliage changes colour. A small picnic area allows for a tranquil lunch.


Lakie's Head Look-off

Lakie's Head
Stop and admire some great views from Lakie's Head 
© Parks Canada

A great spot to watch for whales breaching off shore. Depending on the season, the signs will either explain lobster fishing in the area or how to identify a particular kind of whale. Another panel identifies the sea birds that flit about the coastline. During lobster season, you can watch as fishermen haul up their traps and remove the tasty catch.



Middle Head Exhibit

Middle Head
Catch a glimpse of Ingonish Beach from the look-off on Middle Head, near the Keltic Lodge 
© Parks Canada

This four-panel display gives visitors a bit of natural history of the Middle Head and surrounding areas. How did this rocky headland survive? How did the piles of smooth round stones get on the beach? Which are the plants capable of living here in the relentless wind and pounding surf? The sound of the Herring Gull is common but keep your eye out for guillemots and cormorants, too.

La Bloc Cap Rouge Veteran's Monument Fishing Cove Look-off MacKenzie Mountain Look-off - The Gulf of St. Lawrence MacKenzie Mountain Look-off - The Highland Plateau MacKenzie Mountain Look-off - Whales Lone Shieling North Mountain - Aspy Valley North Mountain - Beulach Ban Falls Lakie's Head Middle Head Salmon Pools Le Chemin du Buttereau Le Buttereau Acadian Le vieux chemin du Cap-Rouge Corney Brook Skyline Bog Benjie's Lake Fishing Cove MacIntosh Brook Lone Shieling Broad Cove Mountain Warren Lake Franey Branch Pond Look-off Coastal Jack Pine Jigging Cove Glasgow Lakes Look-off Middle Head Clyburn Valley Freshwater Lake Freshwater Lake Look-off Green Cove

Parc national du Canada des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton

Véhicules garés à un belvédère panoramique le long du Cabot Trail

Les visites panoramiques le long du Cabot Trail

Parmis les vues les plus spectaculaires au Canada atlantique

Le tiers du célèbre Cabot Trail traverse le parc national, ce qui en fait l'une des régions les plus courues au Canada pour ses vues pittoresques. En fait, les visites panoramiques constituent l'une des activités les plus populaires qu'offre le parc national, lequel, doté de nombreux belvédères, permet d'admirer des paysages d'une saisissante beauté. Un laissez-passez du parc est obligatoire pour circuler sur la section du Cabot Trail qui se trouve dans le parc.

Chaque exposition présentée le long de la route qui traverse le parc raconte une histoire différente.
Carte - Tourisme le long du Cabot Trail
Carte du parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton illustrant l'emplacement des expositions
© Parcs Canada


La Bloc

La Bloc
La Bloc
© Parcs Canada

Avec ses falaises rocheuses et sa côte découpée, l'endroit ne se prête guère à l'établissement d'un village de pêcheurs; il y en avait pourtant un! Jadis, une trentaine de familles acadiennes vivaient ici de la pêche. Il y avait même une conserverie. Vous découvrirez l'histoire de l'endroit en lisant les panneaux illustrés, et vous aurez une vue imprenable sur l'océan. C'est aussi une aire de pique-nique, alors, apportez votre dîner et restez-y plus longtemps.



Exposition de Cap-Rouge

Cap Rouge
Une vue de la côte ouest, à partir de Cap-Rouge 
© Parcs Canada

L'exposition vous offre une rare occasion d'observer les principaux types de roches qui forment l'écorce terrestre — les roches sédimentaires, magmatiques et métamorphiques. Les points de vue spectaculaires de la côte viennent enrichir cette exposition.



Le monument aux anciens combattants

Le monument aux anciens combattants
Les vues mondialement connues à partir du belvédère du Monument aux anciens combattants 
© Parcs Canada

Lors de l'année du centenaire de Parcs Canada, en 1985, le ministère des Anciens Combattants a installé une plaque commémorative à cet endroit en reconnaissance de la contribution des Canadiens morts outre-mer au cours des deux guerres mondiales. Une plaque semblable a été dévoilée dans un parc national de chaque province. Le monument domine la vue imprenable sur la côte ouest.



Belvédère de l'Anse Fishing

Anse Fishing
L'Anse Fishing telle que vue du haut du mont MacKenzie 
© Parcs Canada

Profitez du panorama grandiose! 335 mètres (1 000 pieds) plus bas, soit au pied du mont MacKenzie, il y a une petite anse et un petit pré où se trouvait jadis un village de pêcheurs. À cet endroit, les colons écossais pratiquaient la pêche dans les eaux du golfe; ils échangeaient leurs prises avec les Acadiens contre divers produits.

Anse Fishing est l'emplacement du seul terrain de camping dit « sauvage » du parc. Un petit nombre de campeurs seulement sont autorisés à camper à la fois afin de préserver le caractère sauvage de l'expérience et pour réduire l'impact sur l'environnement. Vous devez vous inscrire pour y camper et apporter votre réchaud de camping et une provision d'eau potable. Attention, la descente est longue, mais il y a un autre chemin plus court pour remonter.



Belvédère du mont MacKenzie - le plateau des hautes-terres

Le plateau des hautes-terres
Les panneaux d'interprétation fournissent des renseignements sur la formation du plateau des hautes-terres 
© Parcs Canada

Le plateau des hautes-terres couvre plus de 90 % de la superficie du parc. Ces monts en apparence aplatis donnent au parc son cachet unique et constituent la plus vaste étendue de terres sauvages en Nouvelle-Écosse. D'une altitude moyenne de 400 m (1 300 pieds), le plateau est très accidenté, profondément entaillé par des vallées et parsemé de lacs peu profonds et de tourbières. Découvrez la roche-mère qui a résisté au changement pendant des millions d'années, regardez la rivière MacKenzie qui se fraie un chemin au fond d'une gorge profonde ou profitez de la vue sur le plateau qui s'étend devant vous.



Belvédère du mont MacKenzie - le golfe du Saint-Laurent

Le golfe du Saint-Laurent
Un belvédère pittoresque qui donne sur le golfe du Saint-Laurent 
© Parcs Canada

Il est difficile de parler du paysage qui vous entoure sans prêter aussi attention à l'eau qui baigne les côtes. Le golfe du Saint-Laurent, voie navigable qui a joué un rôle stratégique à travers l'histoire, joue toujours aujourd'hui un rôle essentiel dans le transport et dans la migration des mammifères marins. Les eaux du golfe sont plus chaudes et moins salées que celles de l'Océan atlantique. Comme le paysage qui vous entoure, le fond marin comprend des plateaux et des fosses (vallées). Les courants du golfe affectent la côte de cinq provinces et créent un milieu propice où vivent toutes sortes d'espèces de poissons. Un quart de tous les poissons pêchés au Canada proviennent de ces eaux.



Belvédère du mont MacKenzie - les baleines

Belvédère du mont MacKenzie - Les baleines
Vous verrez peut-être des baleines depuis ce belvédère du mont MacKenzie
© Parcs Canada

Vous voulez faire une excursion d'observation des baleines? Pas besoin d'aller bien loin, car vous pouvez observer des baleines de cet endroit! Scrutez attentivement l'océan, à la recherche des jets de vapeur qu'elles projettent à la surface de l'eau. Ce belvédère vous propose une exposition en couleur consacrée aux baleines, aux poissons et à leurs sources de nourriture, ainsi qu'à divers oiseaux marins et à la vie sur le fond de l'océan.



Le Lone Shieling

Lone Shieling
Le Lone Shieling, une cabane de fermier écossais nichée dans un forêt ancienne 
© Parcs Canada

Il s'agit de l'un des endroits les plus protégés du parc. Les érables à sucre vieux de 350 ans ne sont qu'une des essences qui composent cette forêt vierge, où vivent également des animaux rares comme le campagnol des rochers et la musaraigne de Gaspé.

Vous allez remarquer tout de suite la hutte de berger ou le Lone Shieling. Une exposition vous explique à quoi ce type d'abri servait dans les hautes-terres d'Écosse. La seule façon autorisée de vous rendre dans cette forêt ancienne de feuillus est de suivre le sentier pédestre (20 minutes). Restez sur le sentier afin de limiter les dommages dûs au piétinement.



Belvédère du mont North - la faille d'Aspy

La faille d'Aspy
Un photographe profite des vues spectaculaires et des couleurs d'automne de la faille d'Aspy 
© Parcs Canada

Une faille est une cassure ou fracture de l'écorce terrestre. La faille d'Aspy s'étend à l'intérieur des terres sur environ 40 kilomètres (24 milles). Les masses continentales bougent et se séparent le long des lignes de faille. En étudiant ces lignes et en comparant les types de roches, les géologues peuvent déterminer les blocs qui ont pu faire partie de la même masse. Autrefois, il se peut que le Cap-Breton ait fait partie de l'Afrique. Les panneaux montrent les lignes de faille au Cap-Breton et expliquent leur formation dans le temps. Découvrez comment une vallée suspendue se forme.


Belvédère du mont North - les chutes Beulach Ban

Les chutes Beulach Ban
Les chutes Beulach Ban peut être vues d'un belvédère sur le mont North 
© Parcs Canada

Admirez les chutes qui se déversent dans la vallée et la rivière Aspy qui serpente vers l'océan Atlantique. Le nom « Beulach Ban » vient du gaélique, langue parlée par les premiers colons écossais. Une fois au pied du mont, vous pouvez vous rendre aux chutes en voiture. Cet endroit est particulièrement beau à l'automne, quand les feuillages changent de couleurs. Vous pouvez déjeuner tranquillement dans la petite aire de pique-nique.


Belvédère de Lakie's Head

Lakie's Head
Arrêtez et admirez les superbes vues du Lakie's Head
© Parcs Canada

Un endroit idéal pour observer des baleines au large. Selon la saison, les panneaux expliqueront soit la pêche au homard dans la région ou la façon d'itentifier une sorte particulière de baleine. Un autre panneau identifie les oiseaux de mer qui volètent le long du littoral. Pendant la saison de la pêche du homard, vous pouvez voir les pêcheurs qui remontent les cages et en retirent leurs prises savoureuses.



Exposition de Middle Head

Middle Head
Voyez la plage d'Ingonish à partir du belvédère du Middle Head, près du Keltic Lodge
© Parcs Canada

Quatre panneaux racontent l'histoire naturelle de Middle Head et des environs. Comment se fait-il que ce promontoire rocheux a subsisté? Comment les tas de galets ronds et lisses sur la plage se sont-ils formés? Quelles plantes peuvent survivre dans ce milieu balayé sans cesse par les vents et les vagues ? Vous entendrez certainement le cri du goéland argenté. Vous pourrez peut-être aussi apercevoir des guillemots et des cormorans.

La BlocCap RougeLe monument aux anciens combattantsBelvédère d'Anse FishingBelvédère du mont MacKenzie - Le golfe du Saint-LaurentBelvédère du mont MacKenzie - Le plateau des hautes-terresBelvédère du mont MacKenzie - Les baleinesLone ShielingMont North - La faille d'AspyMont North - Les chutes Beulach BanLakie's HeadMiddle HeadSalmon PoolsLe Chemin du ButtereauLe ButtereauL'AcadienLe vieux chemin du Cap-RougeRivière à LazareSkylineLa tourbièreLac Benjie'sAnse FishingRuisseau MacIntoshLone ShielingMont Broad CoveLac WarrenFraneyBelvédère de l'étang BranchLittoralPin grisAnse JiggingBelvédère des lacs GlasgowMiddle HeadVallée de la ClyburnLac FreshwaterBelvédère du lac FreshwaterAnse Green