Torngat Mountains National Park of Canada


Saglek airstrip
© Parks Canada

How to Get Here

To get to Torngat Mountains National Park, you will need to travel through either Goose Bay and/or Nain in Labrador, or Kangiqsualujjuaq in Nunavik (northern Québec).

Chartered Flights to Torngat Mountains Base Camp

The Torngat Mountains Base Camp offers packaged excursions that include air travel from Goose Bay, N.L., to Saglek, N.L., (via Nain) and boat transport from Saglek, N.L., to the Base Camp, which is located at St. John’s Harbour in Saglek Bay. Packages include round-trip air transport from Goose Bay to Saglek, boat transfer from Saglek to Torngat Mountains Base Camp & Research Station, all meals, tent accommodation, and guided excursions depending on the package purchased.

The chartered flights are available from mid-July until early September of each year. Call 1-855-TORNGAT (1-855-867-6428) extension 26 or email basecamp@ngc-ng.ca for additional information or inquires about charter schedules and availability for the upcoming season.

Getting to Goose Bay, N.L.

Both Air Labrador and Provincial Airlines fly to Goose Bay daily from St. John’s, N.L., and Deer Lake, N.L., and on selected days from Montréal, Que., (check with the airline for up to date information). Air Canada also flies direct to Goose Bay from Halifax, N.S., on a daily basis.

Getting to Nain, N.L.

Nain is located approximately 200 km south of Torngat Mountains National Park. Nain is accessible through Goose Bay, which is the hub for air traffic in Labrador.

Monday through Friday, Air Labrador and Innu Mikun each operate two Twin Otter flights to Nain from Goose Bay daily. There are no scheduled flights on Saturdays. On Sundays, both airlines operate one flight daily.

Nain is also accessible between June and November from Goose Bay via coastal boat service operated by the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. For the schedule call 1-866-535-2567 or consult the MV Northern Ranger website.

Getting to Kangiqsualujjuaq (a.k.a. George River), Que.

Kangiqsualujjuaq is located about 100 km west of the national park and is accessible through Kuujjuaq, Que., the hub for air traffic in Nunavik. First Air and Air Inuit fly daily to Kuujjuaq from Montréal. Air Inuit offers a daily Twin Otter flight from Kuujjuaq to Kangiqsualujjuaq.

Chartering Your Own Transportation to the Park

Air or boat charters from Nain are another way of accessing the park in the summer, and snowmobiles or air charters are used in the winter. Aircraft charter services are also available out of Goose Bay, Labrador, and Kuujjuaq in Nunavik. Boat charters with Inuit guides may be arranged. For more information call Parks Canada 1-888-922-1290 or the Nunatsiavut Government at (709) 922-2942. Staff can help put you in contact with local operators.

Note: If you are landing at the Saglek Airstrip with your own charter, you must contact Nasittuq Corportation for permission to land on the airstrip. They can be contacted at (709) 896-5707.

Parc national du Canada des Monts-Torngat

Comment s’y rendre

Pour vous rendre dans le parc national des Monts-Torngat, vous devrez transiter soit par Goose Bay ou Nain, au Labrador, soit par Kangiqsualujjuaq, au Nunavik (Nord du Québec).


Piste d’atterrissage de Saglekp
© Parcs Canada

Vols nolisés vers le camp de base des monts Torngat

Le camp de base des monts Torngat offre des forfaits d’excursion comprenant le vol depuis Goose Bay (T.-N.-L.) en direction de Saglek (T.-N.-L.), en passant par Nain, et le transport par bateau depuis Saglek (T.-N.-L.) en direction du camp de base situé à St. John’s Harbour, dans la baie Saglek. Les forfaits comprennent le transport aérien aller-retour de Goose Bay à Saglek, le transport par bateau de Saglek au camp de base et à la station de recherche des monts Torngat, tous les repas, le logement dans une tente et des excursions guidées, selon le forfait choisi.

Des vols nolisés sont offerts chaque année de la mi-juillet au début de septembre. Composez le 1-855-TORNGAT (1-855-867-6428), poste 26, ou écrivez à l’adresse basecamp@ngc-ng.ca pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’horaire et la disponibilité des vols nolisés de cette saison.

Pour vous rendre à Goose Bay (T.-N.-L.)

Les sociétés Air Labrador et Provincial Airlines et Deer Lake (T.-N.-L.) en direction de Goose Bay et, certains jours, des vols depuis Montréal (Qué.). Communiquez avec la compagnie aérienne pour obtenir une information à jour. Air Canada offre aussi des vols quotidiens directs depuis Halifax (N.-É.).

Pour vous rendre à Nain (T.-N.-L.)

Nain est situé à environ 200 km au sud du parc national des Monts-Torngat. Nain est accessible depuis Goose Bay, qui constitue le centre de la circulation aérienne au Labrador.

Du lundi au vendredi, les sociétés Air Labrador et Innu Mikun offrent chacune deux vols quotidiens en Twin Otter depuis Goose Bay en direction de Nain. Il n’y a pas de vols réguliers le samedi. Les deux sociétés offrent chacune un vol quotidien le dimanche.

Nain est aussi accessible de juin à novembre depuis Goose Bay grâce au service de cabotage assuré par le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’horaire, composez le 1-866-535-2567 ou consultez le site Web du MV Northern Ranger (en anglais).

Pour vous rendre à Kangiqsualujjuaq (George River, Qué.)

Kangiqsualujjuaq se trouve à environ 100 km à l’ouest du parc national et est accessible depuis Kuujjuaq (Qué.), le centre de la circulation aérienne au Nunavik. Les sociétés First Air et Air Inuit offrent des vols quotidiens depuis Montréal en direction de Kuujjuaq. Air Inuit offre un vol quotidien en Twin Otter depuis Kuujjuaq en direction de Kangiqsualujjuaq

Pour affréter votre propre transport vers le parc

Le transport affrété par avion ou par bateau depuis Nain est un autre moyen d’accéder au parc durant l’été et le transport affrété par motoneige ou par avion est utilisé en hiver. Des services d’affrètement d’avion sont offerts depuis Goose Bay, Labrador et Kuujjuaq, au Nunavik. Il est possible d’affréter un transport par bateau avec des guides inuits. Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec Parcs Canada, au 1-888-922-1290, ou le gouvernement du Nunatsiavut, au 709-922-2942. Le personnel peut vous aider à entrer en contact avec des exploitants locaux.

Remarque : Avant d’atterrir à Saglek à bord d’un avion que vous avez affrété, vous devez communiquer avec la Nasittuq Corporation pour obtenir la permission d’utiliser la piste. Vous pouvez joindre la Nasittuq Corporation au 709-896-5707.