Terra Nova National Park of Canada

Yours to Discover: Newman Sound Prior to 1957

Newman Sound, 1939
Newman Sound, 1939
© Province Archives, 1939

The 402km2 of land that is now Terra Nova National Park of Canada was once home to shipbuilding operations, sawmills, and several small communities. The majority of theses activities occurred along the shorelines of Newman Sound and Clode Sound, which feature the unique interaction between the cold Atlantic Ocean and the rugged boreal forest of Newfoundland.

Before the park was established, the area along the shoreline from Headquarters Wharf to Big Brook estuary was referred to as Big Brook. At the beginning of the 20 th century, families from the Eastport and Bonavista Peninsulas' came to Big Brook to begin their saw milling operations.

George Hubert and Caleb Lane constructed their mill on a section of the current Coastal Trail known as Sandy Point, while George Squire built his mill near Pissamare Brook (the current location of the waterfall on the Coastal Trail). These sawmills were in operation from the end of the fishing season in the fall until the spring of the year, from the 1920s until the 1950s.

Log cabins in Newman Sound, circa 1930
Log cabins in Newman Sound, circa 1930
Annie J Tunner

Many of the working men brought their families to Big Brook and small winter communities were established. The current location of the Newman Sound Day-Use Area was the primary settlement location, consisting of over 60 dwellings of houses, barns, sheds and cellars. Women played an important role with these settlements. They were responsible for taking care of the children, baking, cooking, gardening, mending, knitting, cleaning and gathering wood and water.

Terra Nova's sheltered coastlines also provided the ideal location for shipbuilders. During the first half of the century, five schooners were built at Sandy Point and another was repaired further up the shore. Logging was also a popular form of employment due to the good stands of timber. Although these activities were not as dominant as sawmilling, local inhabitants considered themselves fortunate to have stable employment during such a challenging time.

Remnants of a concrete foundation found along the Coastal Trail
Remnants of a concrete foundation found along the Coastal Trail

There's plenty of evidence of this past lifestyle in Big Brook scattered throughout the park. Take a stroll along the Coastal Trail to discover remnants of the sawmills and the residential area. Visit Sandy Point during low tide and you'll find evidence of the shipbuilding operations, or take a hike to Minchin's Cove to visit the cemetery. These magnificent examples of Canadian Heritage are yours to discover.

Parc national du Canada Terra-Nova

Le fjord Newman avant 1957 : une mine de découvertes!

Newman Sound, 1939
Newman Sound, 1939
© Archives Provincial, 1939

Dans les 400 km 2 de territoire qui forment aujourd'hui le parc national du Canada Terra-Nova, il y avait autrefois des centres de construction de bateaux, des scieries et plusieurs villages habités. La majorité de ces activités se déroulaient sur les rives des fjords Newman et Clode, qui témoignent des interactions particulières entre les eaux froides de l'Atlantique et la forêt boréale farouche de Terre-Neuve.

Avant l'établissement du parc, on appelait Big Brook la zone de rivage qui allait du quai de l'Administration à l'estuaire du ruisseau Big. Au début du XX e siècle, des familles des péninsules d'Eastport et de Bonavista sont venues installer des usines de sciage à Big Brook.

George Hubert et Caleb Lane ont construit leur scierie dans un secteur du sentier côtier appelé Sandy Point; de son côté, George Squire a installé son usine près de la chute du ruisseau Pissamore, sur le sentier côtier. Ces deux scieries ont été exploitées des années 1920 aux années 1950, de la fin de la saison de la pêche à l'automne jusqu'au printemps.

Les cabanes en rondins à Newman Sound, circa 1930
Les cabanes en rondins à Newman Sound, circa 1930.
Annie J Tunner

Bon nombre de travailleurs ont amené leurs familles à Big Brook, ce qui s'est traduit par l'apparition de petits villages d'hiver. La plus vieille partie du village, constituée de plus de 60 maisons, étables, hangars et caveaux à légumes, s'élevait à l'endroit où se trouve aujourd'hui l'aire d'interprétation diurne de Newman Sound. Les femmes jouaient un rôle vital dans ce type de colonies : elles avaient la charge des enfants, de la cuisine, du jardinage, du tricot, du raccommodage, du nettoyage, du ramassage du bois et du transport de l'eau.

Grâce à son littoral abrité, Terra-Nova était aussi un site idéal pour la construction de bateaux. Durant la première moitié du siècle, cinq voiliers ont été construits à Sandy Point et un autre a été réparé plus loin sur la côte. La coupe du bois était aussi une occupation importante, étant donné les excellentes forêts de la région. Même si ces activités n'ont jamais eu l'envergure des opérations de sciage, les gens du coin ne trouvaient pas à se plaindre d'avoir des sources d'emploi stables durant cette période héroïque.

Vesitges d'une foundation de béton retrouvée le long du sentier côtier
Vesitges d'une foundation de béton retrouvée le long du sentier côtier

On trouve un peu partout dans le parc toutes sortes de vestiges des activités passées à Big Brook. En suivant le sentier côtier, vous verrez les ruines des scieries et du village. En visitant Sandy Point à marée basse, vous pourrez observer des vestiges des activités de construction de bateaux. Une randonnée à l'anse Minchins vous conduira à un ancien cimetière. À vous de découvrir ces exemples émouvants de l'histoire de notre pays.